- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.


Agency Links Links
Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Career Council

Indiana Career Council > Career Council Taskforces > Core 40 Subcommittee > Diploma Content & Structure Taskforce Diploma Content & Structure Taskforce

The Diploma Structure and Diploma Content task forces merged in October 2014 into the Diploma Content & Structure Taskforce. The merger was based on the shared scope of the two task forces and endorsed by members.

The Core 40 Subcommittee has charged the Diploma Content & Structure Taskforce to:

  • Examine in-depth each of the diploma structures (General, Core 40, Academic Honors, and Technical Honors) to understand what value each of them hold with employers and postsecondary providers.
  • Explore best practices for ensuring that graduation plans, career pathway plans, and post-secondary degree mapping align for all students.
  • Consider best practices for showing the competencies that students have earned while in high school, regardless of which diploma they have achieved.
  • Investigate innovative practices in scheduling that allow for expanded access and greater flexibility in the number of courses offered.
  • Determine recommendations for changes to diploma structure, including whether or not there is a need for a career and technical education diploma.
  • Determine which course offerings are aligned with Indiana’s college and career ready standards and can crosswalk to fulfill multiple requirements within the diploma structure
  • Recommend changes to course requirements for general, core 40, academic honors, and technical honors diplomas to ensure each Indiana student has enough flexibility in his or her schedule to pursue a college and career pathway plan appropriate for his or her individual goals, knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Meetings Dates

Diploma Content & Structure Taskforce



Diploma Content Taskforce

Diploma Structure Taskforce


  • Rick Barnett, Indiana Marujun
  • Jason Bearce, Commission for Higher Education
  • Jennifer Berry, Indiana Dept. of Education
  • Amanda Culhan, Indiana Dept. of Education
  • Nichole Detrick, International School of Indiana
  • Carroll Easterday, Westfield Washington Schools
  • Kris Emaus, Retired from NIPSCO
  • Vickie Ferrell, Retired Administrator, Speedway Schools
  • Pamela Horne, Purdue University
  • James Little, Logansport Community School Corp.
  • Chris Lowery, Ivy Tech
  • Teresa Lubbers, Commission for Higher Education
  • Marie Mackintosh, Indiana Department of Workforce Development
  • Heather Moffatt, Vincennes University
  • Martin Padgett, Clark Memorial Hospital
  • Glenda Ritz, Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • TJ Rivard, Indiana University
  • Brad Rohrer, Subaru
  • Dave Shane, LDI
  • Daniel Tyree, Plymouth Community School Corp.

More Online Services »