

Indiana WIC Sanctions Overview

- see page 15 of vendor manual for full list and explanations-

Buying or selling WIC EBT cards for cash, guns, or drugs

- Penalty:
 - o More than once: Permanent disqualification and possible jail time
 - Only once: 6 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor
- 6. Buying or selling WIC EBT cards for alcohol or tobacco.
 - Penalty:
 - Any incident: 3 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor
- 8. Charging WIC clients more than non-WIC customers, charging more than the shelf price, or routinely charging over maximum price, either intentionally or unintentionally

Be aware of the price listed on the item, or on the shelf near the item. It must match the price that is listed on a WIC receipt. <u>As you change prices, you must update your stand beside device or POS system AND the price listed on the item, or on the shelf near the item.</u>

- Penalty:
 - O After two or more incidents, 3 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor

7. Claiming reimbursement in excess of documented inventory

Inventory purchase records may be requested during an inventory audit. Vendors will have 15 days to provide all WIC inventory purchase records for the requested period to the IN WIC State Office.

- Penalty:
 - o Fine equal to amount of undocumented inventory
 - o For period greater than two months, 3 year disqualification will be added

12. Failure to provide inventory records

Inventory purchase records may be requested during an inventory audit. Vendors will have 15 days to provide all WIC inventory purchase records for the requested period to IN WIC State Office. If the records are not provided by the first deadline, Indiana WIC will provide a warning and another 15-day deadline. If the records are not provided by the second deadline, Indiana WIC will impose a \$1,000 fine and provide another 15-day deadline. If the records are not provided by the third deadline, the vendor will be disqualified for 3 years. Keep all of your inventory records for a minimum of 3 years.

Penalty:

1st time: Warning
2nd time: \$1,000 fine

o 3rd time: 3 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor

- 18. Stocking or purchasing formula or WIC eligible nutritionals from supplier not authorized by WIC
 - Penalty:

o 1st time: Warning

o 2nd time: 1 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor

21. Redeeming benefits for foods which are not WIC food categories

This includes WIC items not listed on a customer's WIC card. Only scan the exact items being purchased at checkout. Approved WIC items may not be substituted with other products. All WIC items redeemed must reflect items listed on the customer's receipt.

- Penalty:
 - o 1st time: warning
 - o Repeat occurrences: fine or 1 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor
- 24. Failure to attend annual mandatory September WIC training by a store representative
 - Penalty:

o 1st time: warning

- o Repeat occurrences: fine or 1 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor
- 32. Failure to maintain the minimum stock of WIC foods on hand
 - Penalty:

o 1st time: warning

2nd time: warning and re-educations of WIC policies

o 3rd time: minimum fine of \$100

o 4th time: 1 year disqualification from being a WIC vendor

- 34. Failure to remove any out-of-date WIC foods from customer areas
 - Penalty:

o 1st time: warning

o 2nd time: warning and re-education of WIC policies

o 3rd time: minimum fine of \$100

- 36. Failure to show the price of WIC foods on the food package, container, shelf, or on a sign accurately
 - Penalty:

o 1st time: warning

2nd time: warning and re-education of WIC policies

o 3rd time: minimum fine of \$100

- 48. Failure to display WIC Program supplied shelf tags near WIC authorized foods accurately
 - Penalty:

1st time: warning

2nd time: warning and re-education of WIC policies

o 3rd time: minimum fine of \$100