- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana's Education Roundtable

Education Roundtable > About the Roundtable > Members Members

Pursuant to IC 20-19-4-2 et seq., members of the Education Roundtable are jointly appointed by the Governor and Superintendent of Public Instruction and must represent business and community leaders; elementary and secondary education, including special education; and higher education. Membership must be balanced with equal members representing K-12/higher education and business/community. Two legislators from the Indiana General Assembly are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate from different political parties. Two members of the General Assembly also are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives from different political parties. Historically, two State Board of Education members have been appointed to serve as non-voting members of the Roundtable and to serve as liaisons between the two respective entities.


Governor Mike Pence
State House, Room 206
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz
State House, Room 228
Indianapolis, IN 46204


Representing business and community:

  • Sergio Aguilera, retired Mexican Consul to Indianapolis

  • Vince Bertram, chief executive officer, Project Lead The Way

  • Dennis Bland, president, Center for Leadership Development, Inc., and member, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

  • Bruce Breeden, director of business development, Telamon Corporation

  • Kevin Brinegar, president, Indiana Chamber of Commerce

  • Amos Brown III, director of strategic research and host/managing editor, Afternoons with Amos, WTLC-AM

  • Steve Dwyer, president, Conexus Indiana

  • Jim Edwards, member, Indiana Works Council

  • Al Hubbard, president, E & A Industries, and member, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

  • Robert Hurst, mayor, City of Princeton

  • Patrick Kiely, president, Indiana Manufacturers Association

  • William Stanzcykiewicz, president and chief executive officer, Indiana Youth Institute

  • Glenn Tebbe, executive director, Indiana Catholic Conference and member, Greensburg City Council

Representing education:

  • Steve Baker, principal, Bluffton High School

  • Linda Day, second vice president, Indiana State School Boards Association

  • Daniel Elsener, member, State Board of Education* and president, Marian University

  • Stacey Hughes, research director, Indiana Education Employment Relations Board

  • Victor Lechtenberg, acting vice president for academic affairs and provost, Purdue University

  • Teresa Lubbers, commissioner, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

  • Michael McRobbie, president, Indiana University

  • Teresa Meredith, president, Indiana State Teachers Association

  • Patrick O'Rourke, president, Hammond Federation of Teachers

  • Wendy Robinson, superintendent, Fort Wayne Community Schools and member, Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents

  • Scott Sanders, commissioner of the Indiana Department of Workforce Development

  • Danny Shields, 5th and 6th grade teacher, Unionville Elementary School

  • Marvin Ward, former business manager, Brownsburg Community Schools and member, Indiana Association of School Business Officials

* non-voting members representing and serving as liaisons with the Indiana State Board of Education

Representing the Indiana General Assembly (appointed by legislative leadership):

  • Rep. Robert Behning, chair, House Education Committee

  • Sen. Dennis Kruse, chair, Senate Education Committee

  • Rep. Vernon Smith, ranking minority member, House Education Committee

  • Sen.Earline Rogers, ranking minority member, Senate Education Committee

Past Members