


 

 
 
October 19, 2011 
 
Tax Professional: 
 
We are pleased to provide the 2011 “Tax Chapter.” We certainly hope this product will help you and your 
clients in preparing 2011 Indiana tax returns. 
 
Let me remind you that we are all trying to do the same two things: 

1. Follow the statutes established by the Indiana General Assembly to support Indiana taxpayers. 
2. Help Indiana taxpayers successfully and correctly complete their annual tax returns. 

Together we work toward these same goals. This Tax Chapter is intended to assist you in your work with 
Indiana taxpayers. We hope it serves you well and encourage any comments or suggestions for improvement 
you may have. 

Some key points to make about this year’s tax filing process: 

1. We encourage you to use one or more of the electronic filing systems available for both individual 
and business clients. These systems save time and money for both your clients and the state. 

2. If you work with businesses, keep INtax in mind. You can gain access to INtax to help your clients 
with trust taxes, both withholding and sales taxes. 

3. Remember, too, that electronic filing systems generally provide refunds, when due, much faster than 
other methods – for individual filers, 7-10 days versus 3-4 weeks for paper returns. 

4. There are many changes to the tax codes that are fully outlined in this “Chapter” for you. Please read 
it thoroughly. We have worked diligently to include everything you need. Also included is a line-by-
line listing of each tax code change. 

5. Finally, we have included some tips to help you and your clients with selected chronic problem 
areas. 

Again, we hope you find this “Chapter” useful. If you have comments or suggestions, don’t hesitate to get those 
to us. You can email them to Zachary Wade at zwade@dor.in.gov Your input can make this an even better 
product for next year. 

Thank you for the professional work you do for Indiana taxpayers. 

Sincerely, 

 

John Eckart 
Commissioner  
 

mailto:zwade@dor.in.gov�
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Indiana Department of Revenue 
 
Electronic filing 
 
I-File  Transitions to Free File 
For tax year 2011, the Department of Revenue has determined that transitioning to products supported 
by the Free File Alliance will provide a better service to both Indiana taxpayers and to the state. Thus, 
I-File, the state established individual electronic tax filing application will be retired in favor of Free 
File. 
 
There are many advantages to both the state and the Indiana taxpayer: 

1. A mature and robust set of systems provided by multiple vendors that allow taxpayers to 
file both federal and Indiana taxes together through one system. 

2. These services are free to selected Indiana taxpayers based on negotiated rules. Details 
on the vendors and the limits of this free service are at www.in.gov/dor/freefile.  

3. Electronic filing of individual tax returns provides taxpayers with faster service, 
especially when refunds are due. Filing electronically, taxpayers due a refund will realize 
the refund as quickly as 7-10 days versus 3-4 weeks with a paper return. 

4. Since EIC filers will no longer be able to use IT40EZ, Free File supports EIC filing and 
makes it much quicker and easier than ever. 

5. We have much more information available at www.in.gov/dor/freefile. 
6. Please encourage your clients to consider Free File or assist them with these filings. 

 
INTax 
We continue to move toward requiring all business to use INTax for the filing of all trust taxes. As 
you know, all newly registered businesses are required to use INTax. Please encourage your business 
clients to consider INTax. You can use INTax for them if you provide your business clients trust tax 
services. More on INTax at http://www.in.gov/dor/3963.htm.  
 
“Return Processing” Video 
To better understand, and to help clients understand, all the effort, resources, and expense that go into 
processing paper returns, please visit our web site at: www.in.gov/dor/4067.htm. 
 
This video walks you through every step of the paper-filing process and compares it to electronic 
filing. This video may be helpful for those clients who are hesitant to file electronically.  
 
 
2011 Update 
 
E-file Update – Electronic Filing Available for Form IT-40PNR and FormIT-40RNR Returns 
The Department accepts Form IT-40PNR and Form IT-40RNR electronically through fed/state filing 
on condition that the software vendor completes a certification process with the DOR. Check with 
your software vendor to find out if they off this functionality.  
 
New Add-Backs for 2010 and 2011 
 
The 2011 Indiana General Assembly did not conform to several provisions within the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) that were included in federal AGI as of Jan. 1, 2011 (HEA 1001 – P.L.229-

http://www.in.gov/dor/freefile�
http://www.in.gov/dor/freefile�
http://www.in.gov/dor/3963.htm�
http://www.in.gov/dor/4067.htm�
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2011). Therefore, these provisions must be added-back on the Indiana income tax return. (See the 
complete list of add-backs located within the 2011 Legislative Summary found later in this chapter.) 
 
These add-backs are effective retroactive to tax years beginning after Dec. 31, 2009. Many taxpayers 
have filed amended 2010 state tax returns to report the add-backs; several filing under extension 
netted the add-backs and reported the total as a “current year conformity add-back” when they filed. 
 
For those who have yet to report these add-backs for 2010 and do not wish to file an amended return, 
Indiana has a new policy on how they may be reported. Specifically, the taxpayer may elect to report 
the required add-back(s) for 2010 on the taxpayer’s 2011 state tax return.  
 
How to report 2010 add-backs on the 2011 tax return. The chart below lists the new add-backs 
along with two different 3-digit identification codes. Use the 300 series prior year 3-digit 
identification code when reporting an add-back for 2010 on the 2011 tax return. 
 
Example 1. Taxpayer included a $250 educator expense when completing his 2010 federal tax return. 
He did not add the expense back when filing his 2010 Indiana tax return. Since he did not wish to 
amend his 2010 Indiana tax return, he elected to add the $250 educator expense back on his 2011 
Indiana return, Schedule 1, and identified it with the 3-digit prior year code #324. 
 
Example 2. Same situation as above, but this taxpayer also claimed an educator expense on her 2011 
federal tax return. She will report the 2010 $250 educator expense on Indiana Schedule 1, and 
identify it with the 3-digit code #324; she will report the 2011 $250 educator expense on a separate 
line, and identify it with the current year 3-digit code #124. 
 
Note. One additional add-back is for certain trade or business deductions based on the employment of 
unauthorized alien(s) (SEA 590, P.L.171-2011). For taxable years beginning after June 30, 2011, 
individuals, corporations, life insurance companies, insurance companies, and trusts and estates are 
required to add back to adjusted gross income any wages, reimbursements, or other payments made 
for services if the person was prohibited from being hired as an employee because the person was an 
unauthorized alien. Since this is effective for tax years beginning after June 30, 2011, there is no 
corresponding prior year 3-digit code. 
 
3-Digit # 
Current Year 

3-Digit # 
Prior Year Add-Back 

121 321 Qualified environmental remediation add-back 
122 322 IRA charitable distribution add-back 
123 323 Tuition and fees add-back 
124 324 Educator expense add-back 
125 325 Employer-provided educational expense add-back 
126 326 Qualified advance mining safety equipment add-back 
127 327 Qualified transportation fringe add-back 
128 328 Student loan interest add-back* 
129 329 Qualified leasehold improvement property add-back 
130 330 Motorsports entertainment complex add-back 
131 331 Start-up expenditure add-back 

132 N/A Certain trade or business deductions based on employment of  
unauthorized alien add-back 

133 332 RIC dividends to nonresident aliens add-back 
134 334 Oil and gas well depletion deduction add-back 
135 335 Qualified electric utility amortization add-back 
136 336 Related CFC payments add-back 
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Credits 
 
Advance earned income credit. While the advance of the Indiana EIC is no longer available, that 
amount should be reported on the tax return if an employer made an EIC advance during the tax year.   
 
Earned Income Credit  
• Indiana’s earned income credit (EIC) has been decoupled from the federal current-year EIC. The 

state calculation will be based in part on the federal EIC as it existed before being amended by the 
Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010. Indiana 
will provide a publication with worksheets and an EIC table. 

• The Schedule IN-EIC must be included whenever this credit is claimed. 
• This credit may no longer be claimed on Form IT-40EZ. 
 
Economic development for a growing economy (Edge) credit. 
• Incremental withholding for purposes of the EDGE credit does not apply to any employee who is 

an unauthorized alien. 
• EDGE for retention does not apply to any employee who is an unauthorized alien. 
 
Maternity home credit. This credit: 
• may not be awarded after Dec. 31, 2011, and 
• the credits previously awarded may not be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be 

carried forward during 2014 and 2015. 
 
Health benefit plan credit. This credit: 
• may not be awarded after Dec. 31, 2011, and 
• the credits previously awarded may not be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be 

carried forward during 2014 and 2015. 
 
Industrial recovery site credit. For this credit: 
• the minimum age for a facility to be eligible for this credit has been reduced from 20 years to 15 

years; and 
• for a plant to qualify as a vacant industrial facility during the period from January 1, 2011 through 

December 31, 2014, the facility must have at least 50,000 square feet of floor space. After 
December 31, 2014 the facility must have at least 100,000 square feet of floor space. The facility 
has to be vacant for 1 year instead of 2 years, which was prior law. 

 
Small employer qualified wellness program credit. This credit: 
• may not be awarded after Dec. 31, 2011, and 
• the credits previously awarded may not be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be 

carried forward during 2014 and 2015. 
 
Teacher summer employment credit. This credit may not be awarded after Dec. 31, 2011.  
 
Venture capital tax credit. This credit: 
• has been extended from Dec. 31, 2012 to Dec. 31, 2014, and 
• the total amount of venture capital tax credits allowed for all taxpayers in a year has been 

increased from $500,000 to $1,000,000.  
 
Deductions 
 
Net operating loss deduction. The provision to carry back a net operating loss (NOL) has been 
eliminated for individuals and corporations. No state NOL carryback claim may be filed after Dec. 
31, 2011. 
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Private school/homeschool deduction. This deduction is available for individuals who have a 
dependent who is enrolled (K-12) in a private school or is homeschooled. If the taxpayer incurs any 
costs for tuition, fees, computer software, textbooks, or school supplies, they are eligible for a $1,000 
deduction per qualifying child. If married filing separately, a dependent may be claimed only once by 
one parent.  
 
Miscellaneous 
• New schedule. Schedule IN-DEP: Additional Dependent Child Information is required whenever 

an additional dependent exemption is claimed on Schedule 3: Exemptions. Required is the first 
and last name and Social Security number of each child being claimed. 

• The unemployment compensation add-back has been eliminated. This affects the Form IT-40 EZ, 
Form IT-40 Schedule 1, and Form IT-40 PNR Schedule B. 

• Form IT-40 PNR Schedule A, Column B: The educator expense reference has been removed 
because it is no longer allow to affect IN AGI; the student loan interest deduction has been 
reduced to old levels; and, the tuition and fees deduction reference has been eliminated. 

• If the state reserves at the end of a fiscal year exceed 10% of the general revenue appropriations 
for the current state fiscal year, 50% of the excess reserves shall be transferred to the pension 
stabilization fund and 50% shall be used to provide an automatic tax refund. To qualify for the 
refund, a taxpayer must have filed a resident individual income tax return for the last two years, 
and must have paid tax to the state during the previous taxable year. The amount of the refund is 
determined on a pro rata basis, based on the taxpayer’s portion of the total income tax liability 
paid by all qualifying taxpayers in the preceding year. 

• After Dec. 31, 2011, individuals who are receiving unemployment compensation from the Dept. 
of Workforce Development can elect to have Indiana state and local taxes withheld. 

• A taxpayer has 60 days to pay or protest a proposed assessment. Current law limits the time 
period to 45 days. 

 
Tips 
 
INtax is for Practitioners, too! 
Your client is not required to be registered with INtax before you can add the client, but will be 
notified that you are managing the account. The client can also register for INtax to view their 
account information and activity. 
 
Mailing Instructions have Changed 
• Returns with 2D barcode will no longer be mailed to a separate address. Where returns will be 

mailed is now determined by payment status. IND returns with payments will now go to P.O. Box 
7224 all other IND returns will be mailed to P.O. Box 40. 

• The same goes for WH3s. WH3s should be mailed to P.O. Box 7220 when claiming a refund. All 
other WH3s should go to P.O. Box 6108. 

• Correspondence regarding IND matters should be mailed to P.O. Box 7207. 
• Don’t forget that you can change the address on an IND account by visiting our website at 

www.in.gov/dor/3795.htm 
 
ePay 
With ePay you can check balances, make payments for an amount due, and even manage your 
estimated tax installment payments, including viewing your payment history. You can also pay online 
for one or more liabilities for cases, just don’t forget to use the case number found on the bill. You 
may access ePay by visiting our website at www.in.gov/dor/4340.htm 
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Income Statements 
Income statements (e.g. W-2, WH-18, 1099s) should only be included if they show Indiana state and 
or local withholding or unemployment compensation. Please don’t send W-2s with information on the 
front and back. Double sided returns slow processing. 
 
Include all Necessary Schedules 
Please ensure that all necessary and required schedules are included when submitting paper returns. 
Any missing schedules will delay processing. This happens quite frequently. However, if you or your 
client has already e-filed, do not submit a paper return. Also, if you are submitting a PFC after e-
filing do not send in a paper return with the payment. Finally, if you do submit a return by paper and 
are remitting a payment, please include the check.  
 
When Complete 
Don’t black out the 1D barcode found at the bottom of some forms. We use that information to 
quickly and efficiently process those forms. Also, if you are sending in photo copies of returns, please 
make sure they are readable before you send them.  And finally, please make sure that all schedules 
match the form type being submitted (e.g. Schedule CT-40 PNR with a Form IT-40 PNR). One last 
tip, please don’t three-hole punch, staple, or use any other attachment device. Only a paperclip is 
acceptable. 
 
Trust Tax Returns 
Submit only one check per trust tax return and one return per check. Returns and payments should 
only show a valid and complete TID. Do not use “applied for” in the TID field. Please don’t white out 
or make any handwritten changes on trust tax returns. 
 
Faxed Returns 
The Department will no longer accept faxed tax returns of any type. 
 
Certified 
Only use returns that were provided by DOR or preparation software that has been certified and 
approved by the Department. Also, make sure that your software is updated regularly. Older versions 
do not contain the most current versions of the forms or county tax rates. Using unapproved forms, or 
old forms, will cause delays in processing and delay refunds. 
 
 
IND Due Dates for 2012 
  
Date Form Type/Activity  
04/17/2012* IT-40;  IT-40EZ; IT-40PNR; IT-40RNR;  IT-40ES/ES-40 (1st qtr);  IT-9 
06/15/12 IT-40ES/ES-40 (2nd qtr) 
06/18/12 state IT-9 extension filing due date (next business day after June 17) 

07/02/12 SC-40; IT-40/IT-40PNR filing due date if claiming unified tax credit for the elderly 
(not including extensions) (next business day after June 30, 2012) 

09/17/12 IT-40ES/ES-40 (3rd qtr) 

11/19/12 state filing due date if filing under federal extension (Form 4868)  
(next business day after Nov. 17) 

01/15/13 IT-40ES/ES-40 (4th qtr) 
*Emancipation Day (observed in Washington D.C.) is Monday, April 16, 2012 
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WH-1 
Make sure to complete the county tax breakdown on the back of the form. Also, send the entire page 
(do not cut it off). 
 
Online Payment Plan Tool 
Individuals who have received a billing may be able to set up a payment plan online at 
www.intaxpay.in.gov. To take advantage of this option, they must owe more than $100, pay 10 
percent down, and have the case number found on the billing. 
 
Power of Attorney (Form POA-1) 
File one of three ways: 

• Fax to 317-625-2605 
• E-mail to poa1forms@dor.in.gov 
• Mail to: 

Indiana Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 7230 
Indianapolis, IN 46207-7230 

 
INtax  
Reduce the burden of managing business tax obligations with INtax. The Department’s online 
program provides business taxpayers and their preparers with direct access to all business tax 
accounts, instant access to file and pay Indiana taxes, the option to review account history, and more. 
For more information or to register, go to www.intax.in.gov. This site includes instructions and a 
series of tutorials to assist taxpayers and preparers. 
 
Automatic Updates 
Because of the importance of receiving vital information in a timely manner, the State of Indiana 
launched GovDelivery’s E-mail and Digital Subscription Management service. This tool will make it 
much easier for tax professionals to get the information they want and need. 
 
Once you have properly registered, the service will send you an e-mail whenever the Department 
updates the website. When we update the Tax Talk Blog, Departmental Notices, or even the Tax 
Dispatch, you will know. You can even select the update options that best serve your needs.  
 
To register: 

• Visit the Department’s home page: www.in.gov/dor  
• Click the link under the left-side navigation bar, and 
• Follow the steps for registration.  

 
This valuable tool will help you better serve your client’s needs. Accurate and reliable information 
will be available the moment it hits the Department’s Web site. 
  

mailto:poa1forms@dor.in.gov�
https://www.intax.in.gov/�
http://www.in.gov/dor�
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2011 Legislative Summary 
 
2011 ENROLLED ACTS  
 
House Bills  
 
HB 1001, SECTION 44, IC 4-10-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if the state 
reserves at the end of a fiscal year exceed 10% of the general revenue appropriations for the current 
state fiscal year, 50% of the excess reserves shall be transferred to the pension stabilization fund and 
50% shall be used to provide an automatic tax refund. To qualify for the refund, a taxpayer must have 
filed a resident individual income tax return for the last two years, and must have paid tax to the state 
during the previous taxable year. The amount of the refund is determined on a pro rata basis, based on 
the taxpayer’s portion of the total income tax liability paid by all qualifying taxpayers in the 
preceding year.  
 
SECTION 80, IC 6-2.5-3-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that use tax collected from 
remote sellers with respect to remote sales sourced to Indiana shall be transferred to the pension 
stabilization fund for the amount of tax collected from remote sales that exceeds $150,000,000 in the 
previous fiscal year.  
 
SECTION 81, IC 6-2.5-3-10; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – requires the Department to publish on 
its website information needed to communicate a person’s obligation to remit use tax on purchases 
made where no sales tax was collected, including purchases using the Internet or a catalog. 
 
SECTION 82, IC 6-2.5-10-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – changes the sales tax collection 
percentage deposited in the state general fund from 99.178% to 99.848%, and decreases the amount 
deposited in the public mass transportation fund from 0.67% to zero. 
 
SECTION 83, IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires add 
backs to the definition of Indiana adjusted gross income of several provisions that are deductible in 
the Internal Revenue Code.  

For individuals the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Charitable distributions from an individual retirement plan  
• Expenses for qualified tuition and related expenses 
• Expenses of elementary and secondary school teachers 
• Employer provided education expenses  
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified transportation fringe benefits that exceeds $100 per month 
• The amount of interest deducted for qualified student loans that exceeds the amount 

allowed prior to the enactment of P.L. 111-312 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 
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• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

For corporations, life insurance companies, and insurance companies, the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

For trusts and estates; the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

Note: SECTION 296 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; IC 6-3.1-21-
6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 

  
SECTION 84, IC 6-3-1-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – updates the 
reference to the Internal Revenue Code in the Indiana Code to be the Internal Revenue Code as it 
exists on January 1, 2011. The following provisions amended by Congress during 2010 are to be 
treated as though they had not been amended during 2010: 

• Section 1367(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to an adjustment of basis of 
the stock of shareholders 

• Section 871(k)(1)(c) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the treatment of certain 
dividends of regulated investment companies 

• Section 897(h)(4)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to regulated investment 
companies qualified entity treatment 

• Section 512(b)(13)(E)(iv) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the modification of 
tax treatment of certain payments to controlling exempt organizations 

• Section 613A(c)(6)(H)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the limitations on 
percentage depletion in the case of oil and gas wells 

• Section 451(i)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to special rules for sales or 
dispositions to implement Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or state electric 
restructuring policy for qualified electric utilities 

• Section 954(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the look-through treatment 
of payments between related controlled foreign corporations under foreign personal 
holding company rules 
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Note: SECTION 296 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; IC 6-3.1-21-
6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 
 
SECTION 85, IC 6-3-2-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – makes a 
technical change to the income tax deduction for expenses related to sending children to a private 
school or being home schooled.  
 
SECTION 86, IC 6-3-4-1.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – requires a professional preparer that files 
more than 50 returns in 2012 and more than 10 returns in 2013 to file the returns in an electronic 
format. Current law requires electronic filing if more than 100 returns are filed.  
 
SECTION 87, IC 6-3.1-21-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that 
the calculation of the earned income tax credit is based on the federal earned income tax credit as it 
existed before being amended by the Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job 
Creation Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-312). 
 
SECTION 94, IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires 
financial institutions to add back the following items to adjusted gross income: 

• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

Note: SECTION 296 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; IC 6-3.1-21-
6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 
 
SECTION 95, IC 6-7-1-28.1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – changes the distribution of the cigarette 
tax so that there are no funds distributed to the state retiree health benefit trust fund, and an additional 
5.74% is distributed to the general fund during the period from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013.  
 
SECTION 96, IC 6-9-7-7; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that 30% of the innkeepers’ 
tax in Tippecanoe County will be deposited in the state general fund for the period from July 1, 2015 
to June 30, 2017. 
 
SECTION 280, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the Council of State 
Governments is exempt from the sales tax for any food and beverage prepared, furnished, or served to 
any person under a contract with the Council of State Governments in connection with the conference 
to be held in July 2011. A caterer or other contractor is not required to collect taxes if the transaction 
is exempt.  
 
SECTION 296, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2010 (RETROACTIVE) – provides that 
IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after 
December 31, 2009.  
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HB 1003, SECTION 1, IC 6-3-2-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – 
authorizes a $1,000 income tax deduction per dependent who was enrolled in a private school or 
home schooled in grades K-12 and incurred costs for tuition, fees, computer software, textbooks, or 
school supplies. 
  
SECTION 4, IC 6-3.1-30.5-13; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – increases the cap on the total amount 
of credits that can be claimed in a fiscal year for contributions to scholarship granting organizations 
from $2,500,000 to $5,000,000.  
 
HB 1004, SECTION 2, IC 2-7-5-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent 
tax liability must be at a tax warrant stage before the Department will protest the renewal of a 
registered lobbyist.  
 
SECTION 8, IC 4-30-11-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent tax 
liability must be at a tax warrant stage before the Department will protest the payment to a person 
who has winnings from the Hoosier Lottery.  
 
SECTION 9, IC 4-31-6-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent tax liability 
must be at a tax warrant stage before the Department will protest a license issued by the horse racing 
commission. 
 
SECTION 10, IC 4-35-8-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that, after June 30, 2012, the 
wagering tax on slot machines at horse tracks will be based on 99% of the adjusted gross receipts.  
 
SECTION 50, IC 6-2.5-5-5.1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a refund claim for 
utilities used in direct consumption by a person engaged in manufacturing, processing, refining, 
repairing, mining, agriculture, horticulture, floriculture, or arboriculture may not cover transactions 
that occur more than 18 months before the date of the refund claim.  
 
SECTION 51, IC 6-2.5-8-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that a registered retail 
merchant’s certificate will not be renewed if the retail merchant is delinquent in remitting withholding 
taxes.  
 
SECTION 52, IC 6-2.5-8-7; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if the application fee 
or renewal fee for a registered retail merchant’s certificate is returned as unpaid by a financial 
institution, the person has five days to make the payment before the certificate will be revoked.  
 
SECTION 53, IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – eliminates outdated individual 
income tax deductions, and provides that interest earned on state and local obligations other than 
Indiana issues are subject to the adjusted gross income tax for obligations acquired after December 
31, 2011. This provision applies to individuals, corporations, life insurance companies, insurance 
companies, trusts and estates.  
 
SECTION 54, IC 6-3-2-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – reduces the corporate income tax by one-
half percent per year beginning July 1, 2012, until July 1, 2015 when the rate will be 6.5%. Provides 
for the proration of the rate based on the number of months in a taxpayer’s taxable year for which the 
rate is effective. The prorated rate will be rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent. 
 
SECTION 55, IC 6-3-2-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that 
income for corporations and nonresident persons will be considered derived from sources within 
Indiana to the extent that income from intangible personal property is apportioned to Indiana, 
allocated to Indiana, or considered to be derived from sources within Indiana.  
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SECTION 56, IC 6-3-2-2.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – eliminates the net operating loss 
carry back after December 31, 2011 for resident persons.  
 
SECTION 57, IC 6-3-2-2.6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – eliminates the net operating loss 
carry back after December 31, 2011 for corporations and nonresident persons. 
 
SECTION 58, IC 6-3-4-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that the due date for an 
acquired corporation will be the same due date as the acquiring corporation if the two entities have 
different taxable year ending dates.  
 
SECTION 59, IC 6-3-4-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires a 
taxpayer to notify the Department of a federal modification of adjusted gross income and file an 
amended return within 180 days after the modification. Current law requires the notification and 
amended return to be filed within 120 days.  
 
SECTION 60, IC 6-3-4-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – eliminates the 
provision that allowed for advanced payments of the earned income tax credit through reduced 
employee withholding.  
 
SECTION 61, IC 6-3.1-2-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the teacher summer 
employment credit may not be awarded after December 31, 2011. 
 
SECTION 62, IC 6-3.1-14-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the maternity home tax 
credit may not be awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits previously awarded may not be 
carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward during 2014 and 2015.  
 
SECTION 65, IC 6-3.1-21-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – eliminates reference to the advanced 
earned income tax credit in the earned income tax credit language.  
 
SECTION 67, IC 6-3.1-24-8; EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that, 
for calendar years beginning after December 31, 2010, the maximum venture capital tax credits 
available to a qualified business is $1,000,000. Prior law limited the tax credit per qualified business 
to $500,000.  
 
SECTION 68, IC 6-3.1-24-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – extends the venture capital investment 
tax credit from December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2014.  
 
SECTION 69, IC 6-3.1-31-14; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] - provides that the health benefit plan 
tax credit may not be awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits previously awarded may not 
be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward during 2014 and 2015.  
 
SECTION 71, IC 6-3.1-31.2-11; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] - provides that the small employer 
qualified wellness program tax credit may not be awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits 
previously awarded may not be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward 
during 2014 and 2015. 
 
SECTION 80, IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – requires an add back for 
investment companies equal to the amount of interest received from investment in state and local 
obligations of states or political subdivisions other than Indiana for obligations acquired after 
December 31, 2011. 
 
SECTION 81, IC 6-7-2-2.1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – defines moist snuff as tobacco that 
is not intended to be smoked or placed in the nasal cavity.  
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SECTION 82, IC 6-7-2-5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that the definition of other 
tobacco products includes moist snuff.  
 
SECTION 83, IC 6-7-2-7; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that moist snuff shall be 
taxed at $.40 per ounce instead of 24% of the wholesale price, which is the method of taxation for 
other tobacco products.  
 
SECTION 84, IC 6-7-2-12; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that other tobacco 
products distributors shall file a monthly return that includes the wholesale price for tobacco products 
other than moist snuff and for moist snuff, the weight of the moist snuff. 
 
SECTION 86, IC 6-8.1-5-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that a 
taxpayer has 60 days to pay or protest a proposed assessment. Current law limits the time period to 45 
days. 
 
SECTION 87, IC 6-8.1-8-2; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – clarifies that a county clerk is 
required to expunge a warrant if it is determined that the tax warrant was issued in error. This section 
also requires the Department to mail the release of the warrant and the order for the warrant to be 
expunged within seven days of the determination that the warrant was in error.  
 
SECTION 88, IC 6-8.1-8-16; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – adds a new section that provides 
that no demand notice, warrant, levy, or proceeding in court for the collection of a protested listed tax 
may be issued, commenced, or conducted against a taxpayer until the later of the expiration of the 
period in which the taxpayer may appeal the listed tax to the tax court, or a decision of the tax court 
concerning the protested listed tax becomes final, if the taxpayer filed a timely appeal.  
 
SECTION 89, IC 6-8.1-9-1; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – clarifies that the tax court does not 
have jurisdiction to hear a refund appeal if: (1) the appeal is filed more than three years after the date 
the claim for refund was filed with the Department (current law); or (2) the appeal is filed more than 
90 days after the later of the decision of denial of the claim or the decision made on the protest of the 
refund claim denial. This section also provides that a refund claim for sales tax based on predominant 
use under IC 6-2.5-4-5(c)(3) or the exemption provided under IC 6-2.5-5-5.1 for utilities must be filed 
with the Department within 18 months after the date of payment.  
 
SECTION 90, IC 6-9-2-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the Lake County Innkeepers’ 
Tax applies if a room is rented for less than 30 days by the same party in the same room. The tax is 
collected at the local level.  
 
SECTION 102, IC 6-9-10.5-6; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – authorizes White County to increase 
the innkeepers’ tax from 3% to 5%. The tax is collected at the local level.  
 
SECTION 110, IC 6-9-24-9; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – extends the Nashville Food and 
Beverage Tax from January 1, 2012 until January 1, 2022. 
 
SECTION 112, IC 7.1-3-21-15; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that taxpayers that 
have an alcoholic beverage permit and delinquent tax liabilities will not have their permit protested by 
the Department unless the tax delinquency has advanced to a tax warrant.  
 
SECTION 113, IC 13-14-1-9; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that all holders of 
licenses and permits issued by the Department of Environmental Management will not have their 
license or permit protested by the Department unless the tax delinquency has advanced to a tax 
warrant.  
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SECTION 114, IC 16-21-2-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a hospital, ambulatory outpatient surgical center, abortion clinic, or a birthing 
center if the facility is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list. 
 
SECTION 116, IC 16-25-3-4; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a hospice center if the center is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
SECTION 117, IC 16-27-1-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a home health agency providing home health services if the agency is on the 
Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
SECTION 118, IC 16-28-2-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a health facility if the facility is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
SECTION 119, IC 16-41-35-27; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a radiological technologist if the person is on the Department’s most recent tax 
warrant list.  
 
SECTION 121, IC 20-28-5-14; [EFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a teacher’s license 
will not be protested by the Department unless a tax delinquency has advanced to a tax warrant.  
 
SECTION 131, IC 25-1-6-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that all licenses issued by 
the professional licensing agency will not be protested by the Department unless a tax delinquency 
has advanced to a tax warrant.  
 
SECTION 132, IC 28-1-29-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012 – authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a debt management company if the company is on the Department’s most recent 
tax warrant list.  
 
SECTION 133, IC 28-7-5-5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a pawnbroker if the pawnbroker is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant 
list.  
 
SECTION 134, IC 28-8-4-20; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a money transmission company if the licensee is on the Department’s most 
recent tax warrant list.  
 
SECTION 135, IC 28-8-5-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to 
protest the license of a check cashing company if the licensee is on the Department’s most recent tax 
warrant list.  
 
SECTION 146, IC 36-7-13-15; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the total annual 
incremental sales and withholding tax distributions for CRED districts in Delaware County may not 
exceed $2,000,000.  
 
SECTION 162, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – repeals IC 6-3.1-19-5.5 that placed 
certain conditions on Delaware County and qualifications for the CRED tax credit. 
 
SECTION 166, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires the Office of Management 
and Budget, along with the Department and the Family and Social Services Administration to conduct 
a study of the issues related to the earned income tax credit.  
 
SECTION 167, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires, among other things, the 
Commission on State Tax and Financing Policy to study all aspects, including advantages and 
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disadvantages, of phasing out the state inheritance tax. Requires a study concerning sales tax holidays 
and Internet sales and taxation.  
 
SECTION 174, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the other tobacco products 
tax on wet snuff of $.40 per ounce applies to products brought into Indiana for distribution, 
manufactured in Indiana for distribution, or transported to a retail dealer in Indiana for resale by the 
retail dealer, by a distributor after December 31, 2011. 
 
HB 1005, SECTION 1, IC 6-3.1-11-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – 
provides that the minimum age for a facility to be eligible for the industrial recovery site tax credit 
has been reduced from 20 years to 15 years.  
 
SECTION 2, IC 6-3.1-11-15; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides for a 
plant to qualify as a vacant industrial facility during the period from January 1, 2011 through 
December 31, 2014, the facility must have at least 50,000 square feet of floor space. After December 
31, 2014 the facility must have at least 100,000 square feet of floor space. The facility has to be 
vacant for 1 year instead of 2 years, which was prior law.  
 
HB 1252, SECTION 1, IC 6-3.5-7-5; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the maximum 
CEDIT and COIT rate in Perry County may not exceed 1.75%. 
 
SECTION 4, IC 6-3.5-7-27.5; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – adds a new section to authorize 
Perry County to impose a CEDIT rate of five-tenths of one percent (0.5%) for use to construct, 
finance, acquire, improve, renovate, remodel, or equip the county jail and related buildings and 
parking facilities, including costs of demolition of existing buildings. 
 
HB 1275, SECTION 1, IC 6-3.5-7-12.7; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – allows a city, town, or 
county to transfer to its general fund money that has been deposited in the CEDIT fund or the rainy 
day fund.  
 
HB 1450, SECTION 15, IC 22-4-17-2.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that after 
December 31, 2011, an individual receiving unemployment compensation may elect to have state and 
local adjusted gross income taxes withheld from the individual’s payment of unemployment 
compensation based on withholding instructions issued by the Department.  
 
HB 1539, SECTION 1, IC 6-3.5-6-18; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that Marion County 
may use COIT revenue to fund the operation of a public library.  
 
 
Senate Bills  

 
SB 39, NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires the Commission on State Tax and 
Financing Policy to study how the tax structure in Indiana influences a senior’s decision on residency 
after retirement.  
 
SB 62, SECTIONS 1 THROUGH 10, IC 6-3.5-1.1-2; IC 6-3.5-1.1-2.3; IC 6-3.5-1.1-3; IC 6-3.5-1.1-
3.1; IC 6-3.5-1.1-4; IC 6-3.5-1.1-10; IC 6-3.5-1.1-11; IC 6-3.5-1.1-21; IC 6-3.5-1.1-21.1; IC 6-3.5-
1.1-24; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – conform references to ordinance adoption dates in the 
CAGIT laws to the dates specified in P.L. 113-210.  
 
SECTIONS 11 THROUGH 23, IC 6-3.5-6-2; IC 6-3.5-6-8; IC 6-3.5-6-9; IC 6-3.5-6-10; IC 6-3.5-6-
11; IC 6-3.5-6-12; IC 6-3.5-6-12.5; IC 6-3.5-6-13; IC 6-3.5-6-14; IC 6-3.5-6-28; IC 6-3.5-6-29; IC 6-
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3.5-6-30; IC 6-3.5-6-33; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] - conform references to ordinance 
adoption dates in the COIT laws to the dates specified in P.L. 113-210.  
 
SECTIONS 24 THROUGH 32, IC 6-3.5-7-5; IC 6-3.5-7-6; IC 6-3.5-7-7; IC 6-3.5-7-12; IC 6-3.5-7-
13.1; IC 6-3.5-7-16; IC 6-3.5-7-26; IC 6-3.5-7-27; IC 6-3.5-7-28; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] - 
conform references to ordinance adoption dates in the CEDIT laws to the dates specified in P.L. 113-
210. 
 
SB 127, SECTION 14, IC 9-24-6-5.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for periods after December 31, 
2011, transfers authority over truck driving schools from the Department to the Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles.   
 
SB 155, SECTION 1, IC 6-8.1-8-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a lien on real 
property is void if the person owing the tax provides written notice to the Department to file an action 
to foreclose on the lien, and the Department fails to file an action to foreclose on the lien within 180 
days after receiving the notice. After 180 days, the taxpayer may file an affidavit with the county 
clerk that the Department has not taken action to foreclose on the lien. Upon receipt of the affidavit, 
the circuit court clerk shall make an entry showing the release of the judgment lien in the judgment 
records for tax warrants.  
 
SECTION 2, IC 6-8.1-8-3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a county sheriff still has 
collection authority if the taxpayer has taken an action to have the Department foreclose on the lien 
and the judgment lien has been released.  
 
SECTION 3, IC 6-8.1-8-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the Department still has 
authority to levy or garnish for a tax liability where the taxpayer has had a lien released as a result of 
the Department not foreclosing on the lien.  
 
 
SB 458, SECTION 1, IC 6-6-4.1-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides an exemption from the 
motor carrier fuel use tax for vehicles with room for no more than nine passengers.  
 
SECTION 2, IC 6-6-4.1-10; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that all reports required to 
be filed, and taxes required to be remitted, for the motor carrier fuel use tax and the international fuel 
tax agreement shall be reported and filed electronically as prescribed by the Department. 
 
SECTION 3, IC 6-6-4.1-17; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if a motor carrier fails 
to report or remit in an electronic format as required, the Commissioner may suspend or revoke the 
motor carrier’s annual permit.  
 
SECTION 4, IC 8-2.1-22-36; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – authorizes the Department to grant 
temporary authority or emergency temporary authority to certain persons during the Super Bowl or 
the NCAA Final Four for a period of not more than 15 consecutive days.  
 
SECTION 5, IC 9-20-18-14.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that penalties for 
violations of oversize/overweight statutes are imposed on the person whose United States Department 
of Transportation number is registered on the vehicle transporting the load. This section also provides 
that civil penalties for violations of the statute are discretionary. The statute previously required a 
civil penalty of a specific amount, and the amendment allows the civil penalty to be up to a specific 
amount.  
 
SECTION 6, IC 9-24-6-0.8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds the term “downgrade” as defined in 
49 CFR 383.5 to the terms used concerning commercial driver’s license.  
 



 17 

SECTION 7, IC 9-24-6-0.9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds the term “medical examiner” as 
defined in 49 CFR 390.5 to the terms used concerning commercial driver’s license.  
 
SECTION 8, IC 9-24-6-2.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds a provision to require an applicant 
for a new commercial driver’s license to provide the bureau of motor vehicles with a copy of a 
current medical examination report and medical examiner’s certificate prepared by a medical 
examiner. If a medical examination report does not certify that a commercial driver’s license holder 
meets the physical standards required, or if the driver is otherwise unqualified, the commercial 
driver’s license or permit is disqualified.  
 
SECTION 9, IC 9-24-6-20; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds a provision to require the Bureau of 
Motor Vehicles to downgrade the commercial driver’s license of a driver if the driver’s medical 
certification expires, or the bureau receives notification that the driver’s federally granted medical 
variance was removed or rescinded. To prevent the driver’s license from being downgraded, the 
driver must submit a current and qualifying medical examination report or a federally granted medical 
variance within 60 days after the Bureau of Motor Vehicles has initiated the downgrade. The 
applicant for a commercial driver’s license is required to certify that they are going to operate either 
in interstate or intrastate commerce.  
 
SB 459, SECTION 1, IC 6-2.5-4-6; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – makes a technical change in 
the provision concerning the retail transaction of telecommunications service to coincide with the 
amendment concerning prepaid calling services made in IC 6-2.5-4-13. 
 
SECTION 2, IC 6-2.5-4-13; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – changes the terminology of a 
prepaid telephone calling card to a prepaid calling service or prepaid wireless calling service to 
coincide with the requirements of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.  
 
SECTION 3, IC 6-2.5-5-18; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the sale and rental of 
durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, prosthetic devices, artificial limbs, 
orthopedic devices, dental prosthetic devices, eyeglasses, contact lenses, and other medical supplies 
and devices are treated in the same fashion and that there is no difference in the exemption whether 
the equipment is sold or rented.  
 
SECTION 4, IC 6-2.5-11-10; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that sellers, including 
certified service providers and sellers using a certified automated system, are not liable for sales or 
use tax collection errors that result from the Department’s certification or taxability matrix. 
 
SB 490, SECTION 134, IC 6-2.5-3-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative 
intent of P.L. 70-1993 as it amended section 1 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of 
persons, corporations, partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers.  
 
SECTION 135, IC 6-2.5-5-0.4; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of 
P.L. 70-1993 as it amended section 36 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, 
corporations, partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers.  
 
SECTION 137, IC 6-2.5-8-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of 
P.L. 70-1993 as it amended sections 8.5 and 11of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of 
persons, corporations, partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers.  
 
SECTION 138, IC 6-3-2-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of 
P.L. 70-1993 as it amended section 2.3 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, 
corporations, partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers.  
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SB 590, SECTION 4, IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for taxable years beginning after 
June 30, 2011 requires individuals, corporations, life insurance companies, insurance companies, and 
trusts and estates to add back to adjusted gross income any wages, reimbursements, or other payments 
made for services if the person was prohibited from being hired as an employee because the person 
was an unauthorized alien.  
 
SECTION 5, IC 6-3.1-13-5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that incremental withholding 
for purposes of the Economic Development for a Growing Economy Tax Credit (EDGE) does not 
apply to any employee who is an unauthorized alien.  
 
SECTION 6, IC 6-3.1-13-18; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that EDGE for retention does 
not apply to any employee who is an unauthorized alien.  
 
SECTION 7, IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for taxable years beginning after June 30, 
2011 requires financial institutions to add back to adjusted gross income any wages, reimbursements, 
or other payments made for services if the person was prohibited from being hired as an employee 
because the person was an unauthorized alien.  

 
TAXES AFFECTED BY CODE CITATION 
 
Sales and Use Tax (IC 6-2.5)  
 
IC 6-2.5-3-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of P.L. 70-1993 as 
it amended section 1 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, corporations, 
partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers. 
 
IC 6-2.5-3-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that use tax collected from remote sellers with 
respect to remote sales sourced to Indiana shall be transferred to the pension stabilization fund for the 
amount of tax collected from remote sales that exceeds $150,000,000 in the previous fiscal year. 
 
IC 6-2.5-3-10; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – requires the Department to publish on its website 
information needed to communicate a person’s obligation to remit use tax on purchases made where 
no sales tax was collected, including purchases using the Internet or a catalog. 
 
IC 6-2.5-4-6; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – makes a technical change in the provision 
concerning the retail transaction of telecommunications service to coincide with the amendment 
concerning prepaid calling services made in IC 6-2.5-4-13. 
 
IC 6-2.5-4-13; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – changes the terminology of a prepaid telephone 
calling card to a prepaid calling service or prepaid wireless calling service to coincide with the 
requirements of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement. 
 
IC 6-2.5-5-0.4; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of P.L. 70-1993 as 
it amended section 36 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, corporations, 
partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers. 
 
IC 6-2.5-5-5.1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a refund claim for utilities used in direct 
consumption by a person engaged in manufacturing, processing, refining, repairing, mining, 
agriculture, horticulture, floriculture, or arboriculture may not cover transactions that occur more than 
18 months before the date of the refund claim. 
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IC 6-2.5-5-18; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the sale and rental of durable 
medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, prosthetic devices, artificial limbs, orthopedic 
devices, dental prosthetic devices, eyeglasses, contact lenses, and other medical supplies and devices 
are treated in the same fashion and that there is no difference in the exemption whether the equipment 
is sold or rented. 
 
IC 6-2.5-8-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of P.L. 70-1993 as 
it amended sections 8.5 and 11of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, 
corporations, partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers. 
 
IC 6-2.5-8-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that a registered retail merchant’s 
certificate will not be renewed if the retail merchant is delinquent in remitting withholding taxes.  
 
IC 6-2.5-8-7; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if the application fee or renewal fee 
for a registered retail merchant’s certificate is returned as unpaid by a financial institution, the person 
has five days to make the payment before the certificate will be revoked. 
 
IC 6-2.5-10-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – changes the sales tax collection percentage deposited 
in the state general fund from 99.178% to 99.848%, and decreases the amount deposited in the public 
mass transportation fund from 0.67% to zero.  
 
IC 6-2.5-11-10; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that sellers, including certified service 
providers and sellers using a certified automated system, are not liable for sales or use tax collection 
errors that result from the Department’s certification or taxability matrix. 
 
NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the Council of State Governments is 
exempt from the sales tax for any food and beverage prepared, furnished, or served to any person 
under a contract with the Council of State Governments in connection with the conference to be held 
in July 2011. A caterer or other contractor is not required to collect taxes if the transaction is exempt. 
 
 
Adjusted Gross Income Tax (IC 6-3) 

 
IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] (See NONCODE SECTION 296) – eliminates 
outdated individual income tax deductions, and provides that interest earned on state and local 
obligations other than Indiana issues are subject to the adjusted gross income tax for obligations 
acquired after December 31, 2011. This provision applies to individuals, corporations, life insurance 
companies, insurance companies, trusts and estates. 
 
IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for taxable years beginning after June 30, 2011 requires 
individuals, corporations, life insurance companies, insurance companies, and trusts and estates to 
add back to adjusted gross income any wages, reimbursements, or other payments made for services 
if the person was prohibited from being hired as an employee because the person was an unauthorized 
alien. 
 
IC 6-3-1-3.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires add backs to the 
definition of Indiana adjusted gross income of several provisions that are deductible in the Internal 
Revenue Code.  

For individuals the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Charitable distributions from an individual retirement plan  
• Expenses for qualified tuition and related expenses 
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• Expenses of elementary and secondary school teachers 
• Employer provided education expenses  
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified transportation fringe benefits that exceeds $100 per month 
• The amount of interest deducted for qualified student loans that exceeds the amount 

allowed prior to the enactment of P.L. 111-312 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

For corporations, life insurance companies, and insurance companies, the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

For trusts and estates; the add backs are: 
• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

Note: SECTION 296 of HB 1001 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; 
IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 

 
IC 6-3-1-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – updates the reference to the 
Internal Revenue Code in the Indiana Code to be the Internal Revenue Code as it exists on January 1, 
2011. The following provisions amended by Congress during 2010 are to be treated as though they 
had not been amended during 2010: 

• Section 1367(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to an adjustment of basis of 
the stock of shareholders 
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• Section 871(k)(1)(c) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the treatment of certain 
dividends of regulated investment companies 

• Section 897(h)(4)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to regulated investment 
companies qualified entity treatment 

• Section 512(b)(13)(E)(iv) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the modification of 
tax treatment of certain payments to controlling exempt organizations 

• Section 613A(c)(6)(H)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the limitations on 
percentage depletion in the case of oil and gas wells 

• Section 451(i)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to special rules for sales or 
dispositions to implement Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or state electric 
restructuring policy for qualified electric utilities 

• Section 954(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code pertaining to the look-through treatment 
of payments between related controlled foreign corporations under foreign personal 
holding company rules 

Note: SECTION 296 of HB 1001 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; 
IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 
 
IC 6-3-2-0.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the legislative intent of P.L. 70-1993 as it 
amended section 2.3 of this chapter is to be construed liberally in favor of persons, corporations, 
partnerships, or other entities contracting with commercial printers. 
 
IC 6-3-2-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – reduces the corporate income tax by one-half percent per 
year beginning July 1, 2012, until July 1, 2015 when the rate will be 6.5%. Provides for the proration 
of the rate based on the number of months in a taxpayer’s taxable year for which the rate is effective. 
The prorated rate will be rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent. 
 
IC 6-3-2-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that income for 
corporations and nonresident persons will be considered derived from sources within Indiana to the 
extent that income from intangible personal property is apportioned to Indiana, allocated to Indiana, 
or considered to be derived from sources within Indiana.  
 
IC 6-3-2-2.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – eliminates the net operating loss carry back after 
December 31, 2011 for resident persons.  
 
IC 6-3-2-2.6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – eliminates the net operating loss carry back after 
December 31, 2011 for corporations and nonresident persons. 
 
IC 6-3-4-1.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – requires a professional preparer that files more than 50 
returns in 2012 and more than 10 returns in 2013 to file the returns in an electronic format. Current 
law requires electronic filing if more than 100 returns are filed. 
 
IC 6-3-4-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that the due date for an acquired 
corporation will be the same due date as the acquiring corporation if the two entities have different 
taxable year ending dates.  
 
IC 6-3-4-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires a taxpayer to notify the 
Department of a federal modification of adjusted gross income and file an amended return within 180 
days after the modification. Current law requires the notification and amended return to be filed 
within 120 days.  
 
IC 6-3-4-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – eliminates the provision that 
allowed for advanced payments of the earned income tax credit through reduced employee 
withholding. 
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IC 6-3-2-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – makes a technical change to 
the income tax deduction for expenses related to sending children to a private school or being home 
schooled. 
 
IC 6-3-2-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – authorizes a $1,000 income tax 
deduction per dependent who was enrolled in a private school or home schooled in grades K-12 and 
incurred costs for tuition, fees, computer software, textbooks, or school supplies. 
 
 
Income Tax Credits (IC 6-3.1) 

 
IC 6-3.1-2-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the teacher summer employment credit 
may not be awarded after December 31, 2011. 
 
IC 6-3.1-11-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that the minimum 
age for a facility to be eligible for the industrial recovery site tax credit has been reduced from 20 
years to 15 years. 
  
IC 6-3.1-11-15; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides for a plant to 
qualify as a vacant industrial facility during the period from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 
2014, the facility must have at least 50,000 square feet of floor space. After December 31, 2014 the 
facility must have at least 100,000 square feet of floor space. The facility has to be vacant for 1 year 
instead of 2 years, which was prior law. 
 
IC 6-3.1-13-5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that incremental withholding for purposes of 
the Economic Development for a Growing Economy Tax Credit (EDGE) does not apply to any 
employee who is an unauthorized alien. 
 
IC 6-3.1-13-18; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that EDGE for retention does not apply to 
any employee who is an unauthorized alien. 
 
IC 6-3.1-14-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the maternity home tax credit may not be 
awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits previously awarded may not be carried forward 
during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward during 2014 and 2015.  
 
IC 6-3.1-21-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that the calculation 
of the earned income tax credit is based on the federal earned income tax credit as it existed before 
being amended by the Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 
2010 (P.L. 111-312). 
Note: SECTION 296 of HB 1001 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; 
IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 
 
IC 6-3.1-21-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – eliminates reference to the advanced earned income 
tax credit in the earned income tax credit language.  
 
IC 6-3.1-24-8; EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that, for calendar 
years beginning after December 31, 2010, the maximum venture capital tax credits available to a 
qualified business is $1,000,000. Prior law limited the tax credit per qualified business to $500,000.  
 
IC 6-3.1-24-9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – extends the venture capital investment tax credit from 
December 31, 2012 to December 31, 2014.  
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IC 6-3.1-30.5-13; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – increases the cap on the total amount of credits that 
can be claimed in a fiscal year for contributions to scholarship granting organizations from 
$2,500,000 to $5,000,000. 
 
IC 6-3.1-31-14; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] - provides that the health benefit plan tax credit may 
not be awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits previously awarded may not be carried 
forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward during 2014 and 2015.  
 
IC 6-3.1-31.2-11; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] - provides that the small employer qualified wellness 
program tax credit may not be awarded after December 31, 2011, and that credits previously awarded 
may not be carried forward during 2012 and 2013, but may be carried forward during 2014 and 2015. 
 
NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – repeals IC 6-3.1-19-5.5 that placed certain 
conditions on Delaware County and qualifications for the CRED tax credit. 

 
 

County Adjusted Gross Income Tax (CAGIT) (IC 6-3.5-
1.1) 

 
IC 6-3.5-1.1-2; IC 6-3.5-1.1-2.3; IC 6-3.5-1.1-3; IC 6-3.5-1.1-3.1; IC 6-3.5-1.1-4; IC 6-3.5-1.1-10; IC 
6-3.5-1.1-11; IC 6-3.5-1.1-21; IC 6-3.5-1.1-21.1; IC 6-3.5-1.1-24; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] 
– conform references to ordinance adoption dates in the CAGIT laws to the dates specified in P.L. 
113-210. 
 
 
County Option Income Tax (COIT) (IC 6-3.5-6)  

 
IC 6-3.5-6-2; IC 6-3.5-6-8; IC 6-3.5-6-9; IC 6-3.5-6-10; IC 6-3.5-6-11; IC 6-3.5-6-12; IC 6-3.5-6-
12.5; IC 6-3.5-6-13; IC 6-3.5-6-14; IC 6-3.5-6-28; IC 6-3.5-6-29; IC 6-3.5-6-30; IC 6-3.5-6-33; 
[EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] - conform references to ordinance adoption dates in the COIT laws 
to the dates specified in P.L. 113-210. 
 
IC 6-3.5-6-18; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that Marion County may use COIT revenue 
to fund the operation of a public library. 
 
 

County Economic Development Income Tax (CEDIT)  
(IC 6-3.5-7) 

 
IC 6-3.5-7-5; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the maximum CEDIT and COIT rate 
in Perry County may not exceed 1.75%. 
 
IC 6-3.5-7-12.7; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – allows a city, town, or county to transfer to its 
general fund money that has been deposited in the CEDIT fund or the rainy day fund. 
 
IC 6-3.5-7-27.5; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – adds a new section to authorize Perry County to 
impose a CEDIT rate of five-tenths of one percent (0.5%) for use to construct, finance, acquire, 
improve, renovate, remodel, or equip the county jail and related buildings and parking facilities, 
including costs of demolition of existing buildings. 
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IC 6-3.5-7-5; IC 6-3.5-7-6; IC 6-3.5-7-7; IC 6-3.5-7-12; IC 6-3.5-7-13.1; IC 6-3.5-7-16; IC 6-3.5-7-
26; IC 6-3.5-7-27; IC 6-3.5-7-28; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] - conform references to 
ordinance adoption dates in the CEDIT laws to the dates specified in P.L. 113-210. 
 
 

Financial Institutions Tax (IC 6-5.5) 
 

IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – requires financial institutions 
to add back the following items to adjusted gross income: 

• Expensing of environmental remediation costs 
• Expenses for qualified mine safety equipment property deducted under Section 179E of 

the Internal Revenue Code 
• The amount of qualified leasehold improvement property in service during the taxable 

year and that was classified as 15 year property under Section 168(e)(3)(C)(iii) of the 
Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of income of any taxpayer that placed a motor sports entertainment complex 
in service during the taxable year that was classified as 7 year property under Section 
168(e)(3)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 

• The amount of start-up expenditures that exceeds the amount the taxpayer could deduct 
under Section 195 of the Internal Revenue Code before it was amended by P.L.111-240 

• The amount of income for which tax was not imposed on the net recognized built-in gain 
of an S corporation under Section 1374(d)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code 

Note: SECTION 296 of HB 1001 (a NONCODE provision) provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-3-1-11; 
IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009. 
 
IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – requires an add back for investment companies 
equal to the amount of interest received from investment in state and local obligations of states or 
political subdivisions other than Indiana for obligations acquired after December 31, 2011. 
 
IC 6-5.5-1-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for taxable years beginning after June 30, 2011 requires 
financial institutions to add back to adjusted gross income any wages, reimbursements, or other 
payments made for services if the person was prohibited from being hired as an employee because the 
person was an unauthorized alien. 
 
 

Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax (IC 6-6-4.1) 
 

IC 6-6-4.1-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides an exemption from the motor carrier fuel use 
tax for vehicles with room for no more than nine passengers.  
 
IC 6-6-4.1-10; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that all reports required to be filed, and 
taxes required to be remitted, for the motor carrier fuel use tax and the international fuel tax 
agreement shall be reported and filed electronically as prescribed by the Department. 
 
IC 6-6-4.1-17; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if a motor carrier fails to report or 
remit in an electronic format as required, the Commissioner may suspend or revoke the motor 
carrier’s annual permit. 
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Cigarette Tax (IC 6-7-1) 
 

IC 6-7-1-28.1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – changes the distribution of the cigarette tax so that 
there are no funds distributed to the state retiree health benefit trust fund, and an additional 5.74% is 
distributed to the general fund during the period from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013. 
 
 

Other Tobacco Products Tax (IC 6-7-2) 
 

IC 6-7-2-2.1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – defines moist snuff as tobacco that is not intended 
to be smoked or placed in the nasal cavity.  
 
IC 6-7-2-5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that the definition of other tobacco 
products includes moist snuff.  
 
IC 6-7-2-7; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that moist snuff shall be taxed at $.40 per 
ounce instead of 24% of the wholesale price, which is the method of taxation for other tobacco 
products. 
 
IC 6-7-2-12; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that other tobacco products distributors 
shall file a monthly return that includes the wholesale price for tobacco products other than moist 
snuff and for moist snuff, the weight of the moist snuff. 
 
NONCODE; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the other tobacco products tax on wet 
snuff of $.40 per ounce applies to products brought into Indiana for distribution, manufactured in 
Indiana for distribution, or transported to a retail dealer in Indiana for resale by the retail dealer, by a 
distributor after December 31, 2011. 

 
 

Tax Administration (IC 6-8.1)  
 

IC 6-8.1-5-1; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2011 (RETROACTIVE)] – provides that a taxpayer has 
60 days to pay or protest a proposed assessment. Current law limits the time period to 45 days. 
 
IC 6-8.1-8-2; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – clarifies that a county clerk is required to expunge a 
warrant if it is determined that the tax warrant was issued in error. This section also requires the 
Department to mail the release of the warrant and the order for the warrant to be expunged within 
seven days of the determination that the warrant was in error.  
 
IC 6-8.1-8-2; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a lien on real property is void if the person 
owing the tax provides written notice to the Department to file an action to foreclose on the lien, and 
the Department fails to file an action to foreclose on the lien within 180 days after receiving the 
notice. After 180 days, the taxpayer may file an affidavit with the county clerk that the Department 
has not taken action to foreclose on the lien. Upon receipt of the affidavit, the circuit court clerk shall 
make an entry showing the release of the judgment lien in the judgment records for tax warrants. 
 
IC 6-8.1-8-3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that a county sheriff still has collection 
authority if the taxpayer has taken an action to have the Department foreclose on the lien and the 
judgment lien has been released. 
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IC 6-8.1-8-8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the Department still has authority to levy 
or garnish for a tax liability where the taxpayer has had a lien released as a result of the Department 
not foreclosing on the lien. 
 
IC 6-8.1-8-16; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – adds a new section that provides that no demand 
notice, warrant, levy, or proceeding in court for the collection of a protested listed tax may be issued, 
commenced, or conducted against a taxpayer until the later of the expiration of the period in which 
the taxpayer may appeal the listed tax to the tax court, or a decision of the tax court concerning the 
protested listed tax becomes final, if the taxpayer filed a timely appeal.  
 
IC 6-8.1-9-1; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – clarifies that the tax court does not have 
jurisdiction to hear a refund appeal if: (1) the appeal is filed more than three years after the date the 
claim for refund was filed with the Department (current law); or (2) the appeal is filed more than 90 
days after the later of the decision of denial of the claim or the decision made on the protest of the 
refund claim denial. This section also provides that a refund claim for sales tax based on predominant 
use under IC 6-2.5-4-5(c)(3) or the exemption provided under IC 6-2.5-5-5.1 for utilities must be filed 
with the Department within 18 months after the date of payment. 

 
 
 

Innkeepers’ Taxes, Other Local Taxes (IC 6-9)  
 

IC 6-9-2-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that the Lake County Innkeepers’ Tax applies if 
a room is rented for less than 30 days by the same party in the same room. The tax is collected at the 
local level. 
 
IC 6-9-7-7; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that 30% of the innkeepers’ tax in 
Tippecanoe County will be deposited in the state general fund for the period from July 1, 2015 to 
June 30, 2017. 
 
IC 6-9-10.5-6; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – authorizes White County to increase the innkeepers’ 
tax from 3% to 5%. The tax is collected at the local level.  
 
IC 6-9-24-9; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – extends the Nashville Food and Beverage Tax from 
January 1, 2012 until January 1, 2022. 
 
 

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes & Permits (IC 7.1) 
 

IC 7.1-3-21-15; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that taxpayers that have an alcoholic 
beverage permit and delinquent tax liabilities will not have their permit protested by the Department 
unless the tax delinquency has advanced to a tax warrant. 
 
 

Motor Carrier Services (IC 8-2.1 & IC 9) 
 

IC 8-2.1-22-36; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – authorizes the Department to grant temporary 
authority or emergency temporary authority to certain persons during the Super Bowl or the NCAA 
Final Four for a period of not more than 15 consecutive days. 
 
IC 9-20-18-14.5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that penalties for violations of 
oversize/overweight statutes are imposed on the person whose United States Department of 
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Transportation number is registered on the vehicle transporting the load. This section also provides 
that civil penalties for violations of the statute are discretionary. The statute previously required a 
civil penalty of a specific amount, and the amendment allows the civil penalty to be up to a specific 
amount.  
 
IC 9-24-6-0.8; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds the term “downgrade” as defined in 49 CFR 
383.5 to the terms used concerning commercial driver’s license.  
 
IC 9-24-6-0.9; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds the term “medical examiner” as defined in 49 
CFR 390.5 to the terms used concerning commercial driver’s license.  
 
IC 9-24-6-2.3; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds a provision to require an applicant for a new 
commercial driver’s license to provide the bureau of motor vehicles with a copy of a current medical 
examination report and medical examiner’s certificate prepared by a medical examiner. If a medical 
examination report does not certify that a commercial driver’s license holder meets the physical 
standards required, or if the driver is otherwise unqualified, the commercial driver’s license or permit 
is disqualified.  
 
IC 9-24-6-5.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – for periods after December 31, 2011, transfers 
authority over truck driving schools from the Department to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. 
 
IC 9-24-6-20; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – adds a provision to require the Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles to downgrade the commercial driver’s license of a driver if the driver’s medical certification 
expires, or the bureau receives notification that the driver’s federally granted medical variance was 
removed or rescinded. To prevent the driver’s license from being downgraded, the driver must submit 
a current and qualifying medical examination report or a federally granted medical variance within 60 
days after the Bureau of Motor Vehicles has initiated the downgrade. The applicant for a commercial 
driver’s license is required to certify that they are going to operate either in interstate or intrastate 
commerce. 

 
 

License Protest Provisions 
 

IC 2-7-5-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent tax liability must be at a 
tax warrant stage before the Department will protest the renewal of a registered lobbyist. 
 
IC 4-30-11-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent tax liability must be at 
a tax warrant stage before the Department will protest the payment to a person who has winnings 
from the Hoosier Lottery.  
 
IC 4-31-6-6; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a delinquent tax liability must be at a 
tax warrant stage before the Department will protest a license issued by the horse racing commission. 
 
IC 13-14-1-9; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that all holders of licenses and permits 
issued by the Department of Environmental Management will not have their license or permit 
protested by the Department unless the tax delinquency has advanced to a tax warrant.  
 
IC 16-21-2-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to protest the license 
of a hospital, ambulatory outpatient surgical center, abortion clinic, or a birthing center if the facility 
is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list. 
 
IC 16-25-3-4; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to protest the license 
of a hospice center if the center is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
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IC 16-27-1-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to protest the license 
of a home health agency providing home health services if the agency is on the Department’s most 
recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 16-28-2-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to protest the license 
of a health facility if the facility is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 16-41-35-27; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – authorizes the Department to protest the 
license of a radiological technologist if the person is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 20-28-5-14; [EFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that a teacher’s license will not be 
protested by the Department unless a tax delinquency has advanced to a tax warrant.  
 
IC 25-1-6-8; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – clarifies that all licenses issued by the professional 
licensing agency will not be protested by the Department unless a tax delinquency has advanced to a 
tax warrant.  
 
IC 28-1-29-3; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012 – authorizes the Department to protest the license of 
a debt management company if the company is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 28-7-5-5; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to protest the license of 
a pawnbroker if the pawnbroker is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 28-8-4-20; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to protest the license of 
a money transmission company if the licensee is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list.  
 
IC 28-8-5-11; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] - authorizes the Department to protest the license of 
a check cashing company if the licensee is on the Department’s most recent tax warrant list. 
 
 

Miscellaneous 
 
IC 4-10-22; [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2012] – provides that if the state reserves at the end of a 
fiscal year exceed 10% of the general revenue appropriations for the current state fiscal year, 50% of 
the excess reserves shall be transferred to the pension stabilization fund and 50% shall be used to 
provide an automatic tax refund. To qualify for the refund, a taxpayer must have filed a resident 
individual income tax return for the last two years, and must have paid tax to the state during the 
previous taxable year. The amount of the refund is determined on a pro rata basis, based on the 
taxpayer’s portion of the total income tax liability paid by all qualifying taxpayers in the preceding 
year. 
 
IC 4-35-8-1; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that, after June 30, 2012, the wagering tax on 
slot machines at horse tracks will be based on 99% of the adjusted gross receipts. 
 
IC 22-4-17-2.5; [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011] – provides that after December 31, 2011, an individual 
receiving unemployment compensation may elect to have state and local adjusted gross income taxes 
withheld from the individual’s payment of unemployment compensation based on withholding 
instructions issued by the Department. 
 
IC 36-7-13-15; [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – provides that the total annual incremental sales 
and withholding tax distributions for CRED districts in Delaware County may not exceed $2,000,000.  
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Noncode Sections 
 
NONCODE [EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2010 (RETROACTIVE) – provides that IC 6-3-1-3.5; IC 6-
3-1-11; IC 6-3.1-21-6; and IC 6-5.5-1-2 apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 2009.  
 
NONCODE [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires the Office of Management and Budget, 
along with the Department and the Family and Social Services Administration to conduct a study of 
the issues related to the earned income tax credit.  
 
NONCODE [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires, among other things, the Commission on 
State Tax and Financing Policy to study all aspects, including advantages and disadvantages, of 
phasing out the state inheritance tax. Requires a study concerning sales tax holidays and Internet sales 
and taxation.  
 
NONCODE [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE] – requires the Commission on State Tax and 
Financing Policy to study how the tax structure in Indiana influences a senior’s decision on residency 
after retirement. 
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2011 Areas of Recurring Taxpayer Noncompliance 
 
Returns Processing 
The vast majority of returns and forms sent to the Department each year are prepared correctly, and 
the Department has been able to process them using the latest technology available. The Department 
annually receives in excess of 4.2 million documents and an additional 2.5 million W-2 forms to be 
processed. Some of those items are received with incomplete information or no basic information 
from the taxpayer (such as checks without an accompanying coupon). It then becomes the 
Department’s responsibility to make decisions about what to do with the information or money it has 
received. The Department strives each year to process returns and checks more efficiently and 
accurately. 
 
To do this, the Department works to gain the mutual cooperation of Indiana taxpayers and their 
preparers to help identify where they can eliminate errors before they get to the Department. The 
agency also is committed to identifying and resolving internal flaws that result in filing and 
processing errors. 
 
The following is a list of the most common filing errors found in the tax-filing process: 
 
Duplication of filing 
Duplicate filing usually occurs when a taxpayer files a return electronically and then sends the 
Department a paper copy of the return, along with the payment or as an informational return. After 
this duplicate filing is identified, an employee must go into the system to mark the second filing as 
“information only” to ensure accuracy. 
 
Calculation errors 
When a calculation error is detected, the Department system flags the return. An employee must then 
review the return and determine whether the error is truly a calculation error; is a problem with how 
the information was interpreted in the data-capture process; or was placed on an incorrect form line, 
which can cause the columns on the tax return to total incorrectly. After the error has been determined 
and corrected, the return posts properly. 
 
Claiming credits incorrectly 
Credit commonly is claimed even when they cannot be substantiated or the proper documentation is 
not included with the return. This causes the credit to be denied; otherwise, an employee must contact 
the taxpayer to get the information. 
 
Failure to complete a tax return or filing 
When returns are received lacking all the necessary information, including all W-2s, schedules, 
required attachments and documentation, the return is processed with only the information provided 
or is delayed. This can cause any deductions and/or credits not verified to be denied and could result 
in a reduced refund or possible notice of tax due. The Department then sends the taxpayer a letter 
explaining the reason for the denial or reduction. 
 
Use of non-Departmental payment coupons 
The Department provides taxpayers with automation-friendly coupons, according to tax type, for 
many of the taxes due to the State of Indiana. These coupons are preprinted with information such as 
the taxpayer’s name, the account number, the tax type and the period for which the coupon is being 
filed. The information about the taxpayer is included in the scan line at the bottom of the coupon. The 
automation-friendly equipment used to process the document and money then reads the information 
from the scan line and posts the information accordingly. If these coupons are not used correctly, or 
are used by a taxpayer for another account number, the return and payment are posted to the incorrect 
account. Therefore, if a taxpayer does not have the correct documents for the account printed out of a 



 31 

software package or provided by the Department, the taxpayer needs to contact a Department 
taxpayer representative to have the coupon replaced or to receive instructions as to how the payment 
should be processed to ensure proper posting. 
 
Post-filing coupons (PFC) 
For the past 13 years, the Department has worked with a number of software vendors to allow 
taxpayers to file individual income tax returns electronically. As part of this effort between the 
Department and software vendors, taxpayers can file electronically as early in the year as they prefer 
but delay payment until the filing deadline date. Therefore, post-filing coupons (PFCs) were 
developed according to Department standards so that automation-friendly coupons could be generated 
from software packages at home or by the tax preparer. This practice has become widespread during 
the past 13 years, but with that success has come one distinct problem: The scan line printed from the 
software is not printed in OCR-A Extended font. The user can download this font, or the software 
vendor can embed it into the form. However, this must be done so that the Department can read the 
information correctly to ensure accuracy. This is an issue for all payment vouchers, but it is most 
common on the PFCs because of the high volume received and the wider variety of printers owned by 
individual taxpayers. 
 
Nonstandard printing of forms 
Efficient and accurate capturing of data from returns and payment vouchers requires consistent 
printing of forms. Data is captured using a template of each form that indicates where each piece of 
information can be found. The default print option on many taxpayers’ printers causes the forms to 
print in a smaller area than what is intended. If a form is printed using any type of resizing (shrinking 
of the image), the OCR/ICR process might not read the form correctly. Data might be captured from 
the wrong field or not captured at all. When such errors occur, manual keying by Department 
personnel is required to correct them.  
 
Reporting errors 
Reporting errors occur on virtually every type of tax return, including, but not limited to, income, 
sales, fuel, cigarette and motor carrier tax types. Typical errors include, but are not limited to, 
unsigned forms, lack of an identifying account number, the wrong form or form revision, missing 
schedules or W-2 forms, lack of documentation, duplication of a credit or deduction and failure to 
calculate county tax. These errors can result in the form being returned to the taxpayer, a 
representative from the Department contacting the customer, a bill being sent for the amount of 
perceived tax due and the inability to post the return or payment properly. 
 
Unidentified checks  
Each year the Department receives more than 28,000 checks without an accompanying tax return. 
These checks might or might not have a note attached. The Department then must contact the 
taxpayer to determine how and where the check should be applied. If the customer cannot be located, 
the Department must then research the situation to determine how to apply the check. This process 
occurs because the taxpayer either has failed to register his or her account properly but submitted a 
return anyway or has sent the Department a check because he or she lost the return but knows the due 
date is looming. The Department also has a number of customers who file their returns through INtax 
but send a paper check instead of paying via one of the Internet payment options. Any time a payment 
is received without a return, there is an opportunity for the Department to incorrectly post the 
payment.  
 
Onion skin W-2 forms 
The use of onion skin W-2 forms by employers has created a number of problems for the Department 
in processing both the WH-3s and W-2s submitted by employers and individuals. The Department 
processes both types of returns through an imaging process. The onion skin W-2 forms, because they 
are so thin, do not image well and, in a number of cases, the print is completely washed out. When the 
image of the document is presented to be captured, it appears that there is no information on the form. 
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Therefore, nothing is reported and the system may reduce the withholding by the amount that could 
not be read on the image.  
 
Multiple returns filed with one check, or one return filed with multiple checks  
Both of these instances cause the return(s) and check(s) to be taken out of the automated processing 
system and require manual processing, which can cause delays in posting the payment(s) and 
return(s) to the proper accounts. In the event that one check is received with multiple returns for 
different accounts, it is highly likely that the check could be applied with the first return to create an 
overpayment situation for that account and billings (including penalty and interest) for all of the 
subsequent accounts. When this happens, it takes a great deal of work on the part of the Department 
employee and the customer(s) to resolve the problem. 
 
WH-3 and W-2 forms 
Legislation requires any withholding agent who completes more than 25 W-2 forms to submit them 
electronically through INtax. While this legislative mandate has reduced the number of documents the 
Department has to key in or image, there are still a number of issues with those received by the 
Department. Many WH-3s sent to the Department cannot be processed because they do not have W-2 
forms attached, do not have account numbers (TID), do not have a barcode on the form, or 
incomplete W-2 forms are attached.  
 
There are also those businesses that, despite the new law, still mail in their WH-3 with more than 25 
W-2 forms attached. The Department has to then contact the taxpayers and have them resubmit their 
WH-3 electronically. 
  
Filing of the incorrect tax form 
Filing the incorrect tax form also causes delays. If taxpayers live the entire year in a state that has a 
reciprocal agreement with Indiana (Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin), and the 
only source of Indiana income was wages, then they should use Form IT-40RNR. If the taxpayer is in 
the military, received gambling winnings from Indiana or is not a resident of one of the five 
reciprocal states, then he or she must file an IT-40PNR. 
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Filing Statistics 

Tax Year 2010 Individual Income Tax Returns Posted by Filing Method Through September 06, 
2011* 

*The statistics below represent current-year individual income tax returns that have completed 
processing for tax year 2010.  

Filing 
Method  

Total Number of 
Returns Posted 

Total Amount 
Due Returns 

Total 
Number of 

Overpaid Returns 

Total Number of  
In-Balance Returns 
(No Amount Due & 

Not Overpaid)  
2D Barcode  282,537 95,448 169,821 17,268 
Fed/State 
Electronic 2,048,313 564,532 1,407,529 76,252 

Indiana 
Internet  185,019 40,490 138,210 6,319 

Paper 480,884 144,902 273,649 62,333 

Total 2010 2,996,753 845,372 1,989,209 162,172 
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Contact Us 
 
Practitioner Hotline       800.462.6320 enter code 4367 
       www.in.gov/dor/3338.htm 
 
Individual Income Tax Questions    317.232.2240 
 
Business Tax Questions     317.233.4015 
 
Corporate Income Tax      317.232.0129 
 
e-file Questions      317.232.0059  
 
Streamlined Sales Tax      317.233.4015  
       www.in.gov/dor/3341.htm 
Automated Information Line   317.233.4018 
To check on the status of refunds, prerecorded tax topics, or tax liability balances 
 
Collection/Liability Inquiries   317.232.2165 
 
Motor Carrier Services “One Stop Shop”    317.615.7200 
 
Tax Forms Order Line    317.615.2581 
 
 
To access tax forms, information bulletins and directives, tax publications and more, visit our website 
at www.in.gov/dor 
 
If you have any suggestions regarding forms or forms processing, please send an e-mail to: 
feedback@dor.in.gov 
 
If you need additional assistance, please call us at any of the phone numbers listed below or visit one 
of our district offices listed on the next page. Our normal office hours are Monday through Friday 
from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  
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District Office Locations 
 
Indianapolis (Main Office) 
Indiana Government Center 
North, Room N105 
100 N. Senate Avenue 
Indianapolis, IN 46204 
(317) 232-2240 
 
Bloomington 
410 Landmark Avenue 
Bloomington, IN 47403 
(812) 339-1119 
 
Clarksville 
Physical Location 
1446 Horn Street 
Clarksville, IN 47129 
(812) 282-7729 
 
Mailing Address 
P.O. Box 3249 
Clarksville, IN 47131-3249 
 
Columbus 
3520 Two Mile House Rd. 
Columbus, IN 47201 
(812) 376-3049 
 
Evansville 
500 S. Green River Rd. 
Goodwill Building 
Suite 202 
Evansville, IN 47715 
(812) 479-9261 
 
Fort Wayne 
1415 Magnavox Way 
Suite 100 
Fort Wayne, IN 46804 

Kokomo 
117 E. Superior St. 
Kokomo, IN 46901 
(765) 457-0525 
 
Lafayette 
100 Executive Dr. 
Suite B 
Lafayette, IN 47905 
(765) 448-6626 
 
Merrillville 
1411 E. 85th Ave. 
Merrillville, IN 46410 
(219) 769-4267 
 
Muncie  
3640 N. Briarwood Lane 
Suite 5 
Muncie, IN 47304 
(765) 289-6196 
 
South Bend 
1025 Widener Lane, Suite B 
South Bend, IN 46614 
(574) 291-8270 
 
Terre Haute 
30 N. 8th  St., 3rd Floor 
Terre Haute, IN 47807 
(812) 235-6046 
 
 
Note

(260) 436-5663 

: Addresses and telephone numbers 
are subject to changes. Check your local 
listings. 
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