Conference: Agenda



8:00 – 8:15 a.m. Opening remarks
Chris Atkins, director of Office of Management and Budget
8:15 – 8:40 “The Impact of Different Taxes on Economic Growth"
Keynote Presentation
Allan Hubbard, president, E&A Industries (former director of the National Economic Council)
8:40 – 10:00 Panel: “How to succeed at tax simplification”
Moderated by John Ketzenberger, Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute
  • James Eads, Ryan & Associates (former executive director, Federation of Tax Administrators)
  • Grover Norquist, Americans for Tax Reform
  • Prof. Mike Hicks, Ball State Center for Business and Economic Research
  • Maurice Mctigue, Mercatus Center at George Mason University
10:15 – 11:30 Panel: “Individual income tax”
  • Prof. Lawrence Jegen, McKinney School of Law: Indiana University
  • Dave McDaniel, CPA, Indiana CPA Society
  • Andrew Stadler, Indiana Society of Enrolled Agents
  • Mark Everson, Alliantgroup (former Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service)
Panel: “Tax competitiveness”
  • Dagney Faulk, Center for Business and Economic Research, Ball State University
  • Scott Drenkard, Tax Foundation
  • Jenny Massey, FairWinds Advisors
  • Jeff Chapman, Pew Charitable Trusts
11:30 – 1:15

Remarks by Governor Mike Pence

Dr. Arthur Laffer, chairman, The Laffer Center at the Pacific Research Institute
1:15 – 2:45 Panel: “Sales and use tax”
  • Prof. John Mikesell, Indiana University—Bloomington
  • Tim Rushenberg, Indiana Manufacturers Association
  • Scott Wilson, Roche Diagnostics Operations, Inc.
  • Sheldon Laskin, Multistate Tax Commission
Panel: “Local tax”
  • Prof. Larry DeBoer, Purdue University
  • Jeff Quyle, Association of Indiana Counties
  • Justin Ross, Indiana University—Bloomington
  • Terry Flick, Kimball International, Inc.
3:00—4:30 Panel: “Corporate tax”
  • Tony Robinson, Ernst & Young
  • Mike Ralston, PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • David Brunori, Tax Analysts
  • David Lewis, Eli Lilly and Company
Panel: “Tax simplification”
  • Bill Waltz, Indiana Chamber of Commerce
  • Francina Dlouhy, Faegre Baker Daniels
  • Donna Niesen, Katz, Sapper & Miller
  • Fredrick Nicely, Council on State Taxation
  • Mark Richards, Ice Miller
4:40—5:00 p.m. Closing statements