
POST CONSPICUOUSLY WHERE EMPLOYEES MAY READ 

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER INDIANA’S MINIMUM WAGE ACT 

(Applies to small employers that are not covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act) 

$5.85 per hour effective July 24, 2007 

$6.55 per hour effective July 24, 2008 

$7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009 

Training Wage—Employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25 per hour during 
their first 90 consecutive days of employment with an employer. 

Exemptions—Certain employees may be paid less than the minimum wage as  
provided by Indiana Code 22-2-2-3 subsections (a) through (p). 

Tip Credit—Employers of “Tipped Employees” must pay a cash wage of at least $2.13 
per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation.  If an
employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do 
not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.
Certain other conditions may apply. 

Overtime Pay
Under Indiana law, employers who are exempt from the federal Fair Labor Standards 
Act must pay at least 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a 
work week.  Tipped employees must receive at least $8.78 an hour for all hours worked 
over 40 in a work week.  Certain other conditions may apply. 

For Additional Information, contact the Indiana Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division at 
(317) 232-2655. 

Indiana Department of Labor 
Wage and Hour Division 
402 West Washington Street, Room W195 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 

Indiana’s Minimum Wage 



IC 22-2-2

Chapter 2. Minimum Wage

IC 22-2-2-1

Short title

Sec. 1. This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the

Minimum Wage Law of 1965.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.1.) As amended by P.L.144-1986,

SEC.1.

IC 22-2-2-2

Public policy

Sec. 2. There are persons employed in some occupations in the

state of Indiana at wages insufficient to provide adequate

maintenance for themselves and their families. Such employment

impairs the health, efficiency and well being of the persons so

employed and their families, constitutes unfair competition against

other employees and their employers, threatens the stability of

industry, and requires, in many cases, that income be supplemented

by the payment of public moneys for relief or the provision of other

public or private assistance. Employment of persons at such

insufficient rates of pay threatens the health and well being of the

people of the state of Indiana and injures the economy of the state.

Accordingly, it is hereby declared the policy of the state of

Indiana that such conditions be eliminated as rapidly as practicable

without substantially curtailing opportunities for employment. To

this end, the Minimum Wage Law of 1965 is enacted.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.2.)

IC 22-2-2-3

Definitions; exemptions

Sec. 3. As used in this chapter:

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor or the

commissioner's authorized representative.

"Department" means the department of labor.

"Occupation" means an industry, trade, business, or class of work

in which employees are gainfully employed.

"Employer" means any individual, partnership, association,

limited liability company, corporation, business trust, the state, or

other governmental agency or political subdivision during any work

week in which they have two (2) or more employees. However, it

shall not include any employer who is subject to the minimum wage

provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as

amended (29 U.S.C. 201-209).

"Employee" means any person employed or permitted to work or

perform any service for remuneration or under any contract of hire,

written or oral, express or implied by an employer in any occupation,

but shall not include any of the following:

(a) Persons less than sixteen (16) years of age.

(b) Persons engaged in an independently established trade,



occupation, profession, or business who, in performing the

services in question, are free from control or direction both

under a contract of service and in fact.

(c) Persons performing services not in the course of the

employing unit's trade or business.

(d) Persons employed on a commission basis.

(e) Persons employed by their own parent, spouse, or child.

(f) Members of any religious order performing any service for

that order, any ordained, commissioned, or licensed minister,

priest, rabbi, sexton, or Christian Science reader, and volunteers

performing services for any religious or charitable organization.

(g) Persons performing services as student nurses in the employ

of a hospital or nurses training school while enrolled and

regularly attending classes in a nurses training school chartered

or approved under law, or students performing services in the

employ of persons licensed as both funeral directors and

embalmers as a part of their requirements for apprenticeship to

secure an embalmer's license or a funeral director's license from

the state, or during their attendance at any schools required by

law for securing an embalmer's or funeral director's license.

(h) Persons who have completed a four (4) year course in a

medical school approved by law when employed as interns or

resident physicians by any accredited hospital.

(i) Students performing services for any school, college, or

university in which they are enrolled and are regularly attending

classes.

(j) Persons with physical or mental disabilities performing

services for nonprofit organizations organized primarily for the

purpose of providing employment for persons with disabilities

or for assisting in their therapy and rehabilitation.

(k) Persons employed as insurance producers, insurance

solicitors, and outside salesmen, if all their services are

performed for remuneration solely by commission.

(l) Persons performing services for any camping, recreational,

or guidance facilities operated by a charitable, religious, or

educational nonprofit organization.

(m) Persons engaged in agricultural labor. The term shall

include only services performed:

(1) on a farm, in connection with cultivating the soil, or in

connection with raising or harvesting any agricultural or

horticultural commodity, including the raising, shearing,

feeding, caring for, training, and management of livestock,

bees, poultry, and furbearing animals and wildlife;

(2) in the employ of the owner or tenant or other operator of

a farm, in connection with the operation, management,

conservation, improvement, or maintenance of the farm and

its tools and equipment if the major part of the service is

performed on a farm;

(3) in connection with:

(A) the production or harvesting of maple sugar or maple



syrup or any commodity defined as an agricultural

commodity in the Agricultural Marketing Act, as amended

(12 U.S.C. 1141j);

(B) the raising or harvesting of mushrooms;

(C) the hatching of poultry; or

(D) the operation or maintenance of ditches, canals,

reservoirs, or waterways used exclusively for supplying

and storing water for farming purposes; and

(4) in handling, planting, drying, packing, packaging,

processing, freezing, grading, storing, or delivering to

storage, to market, or to a carrier for transportation to

market, any agricultural or horticultural commodity, but only

if service is performed as an incident to ordinary farming

operation or, in the case of fruits and vegetables, as an

incident to the preparation of fruits and vegetables for

market. However, this exception shall not apply to services

performed in connection with any agricultural or

horticultural commodity after its delivery to a terminal

market or processor for preparation or distribution for

consumption.

As used in this subdivision, "farm" includes stock, dairy,

poultry, fruit, furbearing animals, and truck farms, nurseries,

orchards, or greenhouses or other similar structures used

primarily for the raising of agricultural or horticultural

commodities.

(n) Those persons employed in executive, administrative, or

professional occupations who have the authority to employ or

discharge and who earn one hundred fifty dollars ($150) or

more a week, and outside salesmen.

(o) Any person not employed for more than four (4) weeks in

any four (4) consecutive three (3) month periods.

(p) Any employee with respect to whom the Interstate

Commerce Commission has power to establish qualifications

and maximum hours of service under the federal Motor Carrier

Act of 1935 (49 U.S.C. 304(3)) or any employee of a carrier

subject to IC 8-2.1.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.3; Acts 1967, c.153, s.1.) As amended

by Acts 1977, P.L.259, SEC.1; P.L.37-1985, SEC.27; P.L.246-1985,

SEC.11; P.L.23-1988, SEC.110; P.L.99-1989, SEC.30; P.L.3-1989,

SEC.131; P.L.133-1990, SEC.1; P.L.23-1993, SEC.127; P.L.8-1993,

SEC.270; P.L.178-2003, SEC.8.

IC 22-2-2-4 Version a

Rates; discrimination

Note: This version of section effective until 7-1-2007. See also

following version of this section, effective 7-1-2007.

Sec. 4. (a) Every employer employing four (4) or more employees

during a work week shall:

(1) in any work week beginning on or after July 1, 1968, in

which he is subject to the provisions of this chapter, pay each



of his employees wages of not less than one dollar and

twenty-five cents ($1.25) per hour;

(2) in any work week beginning on or after July 1, 1977, in

which he is subject to this chapter, pay each of his employees

wages of not less than one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) per

hour;

(3) in any work week beginning on or after January 1, 1978, in

which he is subject to this chapter, pay each of his employees

wages of not less than one dollar and seventy-five cents ($1.75)

per hour; and

(4) in any work week beginning on or after January 1, 1979, in

which he is subject to this chapter, pay each of his employees

wages of not less than two dollars ($2) per hour.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on and after July

1, 1990, and before October 1, 1998, wages of not less than three

dollars and thirty-five cents ($3.35) per hour.

(c) An employer subject to subsection (b) is permitted to apply a

"tip credit" in determining the amount of cash wage paid to tipped

employees. In determining the wage an employer is required to pay

a tipped employee, the amount paid the employee by the employee's

employer shall be an amount equal to:

(1) the cash wage paid the employee which for purposes of the

determination shall be not less than the cash wage required to

be paid to employees covered under the federal Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 203(m)(1)) on

August 20, 1996, which amount is two dollars and thirteen cents

($2.13) an hour; and

(2) an additional amount on account of the tips received by the

employee, which amount is equal to the difference between the

wage specified in subdivision (1) and the wage in effect under

subsections (b), (f), and (g).

An employer is responsible for supporting the amount of tip credit

taken through reported tips by the employees.

(d) No employer having employees subject to any provisions of

this section shall discriminate, within any establishment in which

employees are employed, between employees on the basis of sex by

paying to employees in such establishment a rate less than the rate at

which he pays wages to employees of the opposite sex in such

establishment for equal work on jobs the performance of which

requires equal skill, effort, and responsibility, and which are

performed under similar working conditions, except where such

payment is made pursuant to:

(1) a seniority system;

(2) a merit system;

(3) a system which measures earnings by quantity or quality of

production; or

(4) a differential based on any other factor other than sex.



(e) An employer who is paying a wage rate differential in

violation of subsection (d) shall not, in order to comply with

subsection (d), reduce the wage rate of any employee, and no labor

organization, or its agents, representing employees of an employer

having employees subject to subsection (d) shall cause or attempt to

cause such an employer to discriminate against an employee in

violation of subsection (d).

(f) Except as provided in subsection (c), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on or after

October 1, 1998, and before March 1, 1999, wages of not less than

four dollars and twenty-five cents ($4.25) per hour.

(g) Except as provided in subsections (c) and (i), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on or after March

1, 1999, wages of not less than five dollars and fifteen cents ($5.15)

an hour.

(h) This section does not apply if an employee:

(1) provides companionship services to the aged and infirm (as

defined in 29 CFR 552.6); and

(2) is employed by an employer or agency other than the family

or household using the companionship services, as provided in

29 CFR 552.109 (a).

(i) This subsection applies only to an employee who has not

attained the age of twenty (20) years. Instead of the rates prescribed

by subsections (c), (f), and (g), an employer may pay an employee of

the employer, during the first ninety (90) consecutive calendar days

after the employee is initially employed by the employer, a wage

which is not less than four dollars and twenty-five cents ($4.25) per

hour, effective March 1, 1999. However, no employer may take any

action to displace employees (including partial displacements such

as reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits) for purposes

of hiring individuals at the wage authorized in this subsection.

(j) Except as otherwise provided in this section, no employer shall

employ any employee for a workweek longer than forty (40) hours

unless the employee receives compensation for employment in

excess of the hours above specified at a rate not less than one and

one-half (1.5) times the regular rate at which he is employed.

(k) For purposes of this section the following apply:

(1) "Overtime compensation" means the compensation required

by subsection (j).

(2) "Compensatory time" and "compensatory time off" mean

hours during which an employee is not working, which are not

counted as hours worked during the applicable workweek or

other work period for purposes of overtime compensation, and

for which the employee is compensated at the employee's

regular rate.

(3) "Regular rate" means the rate at which an employee is



employed is considered to include all remuneration for

employment paid to, or on behalf of, the employee, but is not

considered to include the following:

(A) Sums paid as gifts, payments in the nature of gifts made

at Christmas time or on other special occasions, as a reward

for service, the amounts of which are not measured by or

dependent on hours worked, production, or efficiency.

(B) Payments made for occasional periods when no work is

performed due to vacation, holiday, illness, failure of the

employer to provide sufficient work, or other similar cause,

reasonable payments for traveling expenses, or other

expenses, incurred by an employee in the furtherance of his

employer's interests and properly reimbursable by the

employer, and other similar payments to an employee which

are not made as compensation for his hours of employment.

(C) Sums paid in recognition of services performed during

a given period if:

(i) both the fact that payment is to be made and the amount

of the payment are determined at the sole discretion of the

employer at or near the end of the period and not pursuant

to any prior contract, agreement, or promise causing the

employee to expect the payments regularly;

(ii) the payments are made pursuant to a bona fide profit

sharing plan or trust or bona fide thrift or savings plan,

meeting the requirements of the administrator set forth in

appropriately issued regulations, having due regard among

other relevant factors, to the extent to which the amounts

paid to the employee are determined without regard to

hours of work, production, or efficiency; or

(iii) the payments are talent fees paid to performers,

including announcers, on radio and television programs.

(D) Contributions irrevocably made by an employer to a

trustee or third person pursuant to a bona fide plan for

providing old age, retirement, life, accident, or health

insurance or similar benefits for employees.

(E) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid for

certain hours worked by the employee in any day or

workweek because those hours are hours worked in excess

of eight (8) in a day or in excess of the maximum workweek

applicable to the employee under subsection (j) or in excess

of the employee's normal working hours or regular working

hours, as the case may be.

(F) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid for

work by the employee on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, or

regular days of rest, or on the sixth or seventh day of the

workweek, where the premium rate is not less than one and

one-half (1.5) times the rate established in good faith for like

work performed in nonovertime hours on other days.

(G) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid to

the employee, in pursuance of an applicable employment



contract or collective bargaining agreement, for work outside

of the hours established in good faith by the contract or

agreement as the basic, normal, or regular workday (not

exceeding eight hours) or workweek (not exceeding the

maximum workweek applicable to the employee under

subsection (j)) where the premium rate is not less than one

and one-half (1.5) times the rate established in good faith by

the contract or agreement for like work performed during the

workday or workweek.

(l) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(j) by employing any employee for a workweek in excess of that

specified in subsection (j) without paying the compensation for

overtime employment prescribed therein if the employee is so

employed:

(1) in pursuance of an agreement, made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees certified as bona

fide by the National Labor Relations Board, which provides that

no employee shall be employed more than one thousand forty

(1,040) hours during any period of twenty-six (26) consecutive

weeks; or

(2) in pursuance of an agreement, made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees certified as bona

fide by the National Labor Relations Board, which provides that

during a specified period of fifty-two (52) consecutive weeks

the employee shall be employed not more than two thousand

two hundred forty (2,240) hours and shall be guaranteed not

less than one thousand eight hundred forty (1,840) hours (or not

less than forty-six (46) weeks at the normal number of hours

worked per week, but not less than thirty (30) hours per week)

and not more than two thousand eighty (2,080) hours of

employment for which the employee shall receive compensation

for all hours guaranteed or worked at rates not less than those

applicable under the agreement to the work performed and for

all hours in excess of the guaranty which are also in excess of

the maximum workweek applicable to the employee under

subsection (j) or two thousand eighty (2,080) in that period at

rates not less than one and one-half (1.5) times the regular rate

at which the employee is employed.

(m) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(j) by employing any employee for a workweek in excess of the

maximum workweek applicable to the employee under subsection (j)

if the employee is employed pursuant to a bona fide individual

contract, or pursuant to an agreement made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees, if the duties of the

employee necessitate irregular hours of work, and the contract or

agreement includes the following:

(1) Specifies a regular rate of pay of not less than the minimum

hourly rate provided in subsections (c), (f), (g), and (i)

(whichever is applicable) and compensation at not less than one

and one-half (1.5) times that rate for all hours worked in excess



of the maximum workweek.

(2) Provides a weekly guaranty of pay for not more than sixty

hours based on the rates so specified.

(n) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(j) by employing any employee for a workweek in excess of the

maximum workweek applicable to the employee under that

subsection if, pursuant to an agreement or understanding arrived at

between the employer and the employee before performance of the

work, the amount paid to the employee for the number of hours

worked by him in the workweek in excess of the maximum

workweek applicable to the employee under that subsection:

(1) in the case of an employee employed at piece rates, is

computed at piece rates not less than one and one-half (1.5)

times the bona fide piece rates; applicable to the same work

when performed during nonovertime hours;

(2) in the case of an employee performing two (2) or more kinds

of work for which different hourly or piece rates have been

established, is computed at rates not less than one and one-half

(1.5) times those bona fide rates; applicable to the same work

when performed during nonovertime hours; or

(3) is computed at a rate not less than one and one-half (1.5)

times the rate established by the agreement or understanding as

the basic rate to be used in computing overtime compensation

thereunder, provided that the rate so established shall be

substantially equivalent to the average hourly earnings of the

employee, exclusive of overtime premiums, in the particular

work over a representative period of time;

and if the employee's average hourly earnings for the workweek

exclusive of payments described in this section are not less than the

minimum hourly rate required by applicable law, and extra overtime

compensation is properly computed and paid on other forms of

additional pay required to be included in computing the regular rate.

(o) Extra compensation paid as described in this section shall be

creditable toward overtime compensation payable pursuant to this

section.

(p) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(j) by employing any employee of a retail or service establishment

for a workweek in excess of the applicable workweek specified

therein, if:

(1) the regular rate of pay of the employee is in excess of one

and one-half (1.5) times the minimum hourly rate applicable to

the employee under section 2 of this chapter; and

(2) more than half of the employee's compensation for a

representative period (not less than one (1) month) represents

commissions on goods or services.

In determining the proportion of compensation representing

commissions, all earnings resulting from the application of a bona

fide commission rate shall be considered commissions on goods or

services without regard to whether the computed commissions

exceed the draw or guarantee.



(q) No employer engaged in the operation of a hospital or an

establishment which is an institution primarily engaged in the care

of the sick, the aged, or individuals with a mental illness or defect

who reside on the premises shall be considered to have violated

subsection (j) if, pursuant to an agreement or understanding arrived

at between the employer and the employee before performance of the

work, a work period of fourteen (14) consecutive days is accepted in

lieu of the workweek of seven (7) consecutive days for purposes of

overtime computation and if, for his employment in excess of eight

(8) hours in any workday and in excess of eighty (80) hours in that

fourteen (14) day period, the employee receives compensation at a

rate not less than one and one-half (1.5) times the regular rate at

which the employee is employed.

(r) No employer shall employ any employee in domestic service

in one (1) or more households for a workweek longer than forty (40)

hours unless the employee receives compensation for that

employment in accordance with subsection (j).

(s) In the case of an employee of an employer engaged in the

business of operating a street, suburban or interurban electric

railway, or local trolley or motorbus carrier (regardless of whether or

not the railway or carrier is public or private or operated for profit or

not for profit), in determining the hours of employment of such an

employee to which the rate prescribed by subsection (j) applies there

shall be excluded the hours the employee was employed in charter

activities by the employer if both of the following apply:

(1) The employee's employment in the charter activities was

pursuant to an agreement or understanding with the employer

arrived at before engaging in that employment.

(2) If employment in the charter activities is not part of the

employee's regular employment.

(t) Any employer may employ any employee for a period or

periods of not more than ten (10) hours in the aggregate in any

workweek in excess of the maximum workweek specified in

subsection (j) without paying the compensation for overtime

employment prescribed in subsection (j), if during that period or

periods the employee is receiving remedial education that:

(1) is provided to employees who lack a high school diploma or

educational attainment at the eighth grade level;

(2) is designed to provide reading and other basic skills at an

eighth grade level or below; and

(3) does not include job specific training.

(u) Subsection (j) does not apply to an employee of a motion

picture theater.

(v) Subsection (j) does not apply to an employee of a seasonal

amusement or recreational establishment, an organized camp, or a

religious or nonprofit educational conference center that is exempt

under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29

U.S.C. 213).

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.4; Acts 1967, c.153, s.2.) As amended

by Acts 1977, P.L.259, SEC.2; P.L.19-1986, SEC.38; P.L.133-1990,



SEC.2; P.L.39-1998, SEC.1; P.L.1-1999, SEC.53; P.L.234-1999,

SEC.6; P.L.99-2007, SEC.182.

IC 22-2-2-4 Version b

Rates; discrimination

Note: This version of section effective 7-1-2007. See also

preceding version of this section, effective until 7-1-2007.

Sec. 4. (a) Every employer employing four (4) or more employees

during a work week shall:

(1) in any work week beginning on or after July 1, 1968, in

which the employer is subject to the provisions of this chapter,

pay each of the employer's employees wages of not less than

one dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25) per hour;

(2) in any work week beginning on or after July 1, 1977, in

which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay each of the

employer's employees wages of not less than one dollar and

fifty cents ($1.50) per hour;

(3) in any work week beginning on or after January 1, 1978, in

which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay each of the

employer's employees wages of not less than one dollar and

seventy-five cents ($1.75) per hour; and

(4) in any work week beginning on or after January 1, 1979, in

which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay each of the

employer's employees wages of not less than two dollars ($2)

per hour.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on and after July

1, 1990, and before October 1, 1998, wages of not less than three

dollars and thirty-five cents ($3.35) per hour.

(c) An employer subject to subsection (b) is permitted to apply a

"tip credit" in determining the amount of cash wage paid to tipped

employees. In determining the wage an employer is required to pay

a tipped employee, the amount paid the employee by the employee's

employer shall be an amount equal to:

(1) the cash wage paid the employee, which for purposes of the

determination shall be not less than the cash wage required to

be paid to employees covered under the federal Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 203(m)(1)) on

August 20, 1996, which amount is two dollars and thirteen cents

($2.13) an hour; and

(2) an additional amount on account of the tips received by the

employee, which amount is equal to the difference between the

wage specified in subdivision (1) and the wage in effect under

subsections (b), (f), (g), and (h).

An employer is responsible for supporting the amount of tip credit

taken through reported tips by the employees.

(d) No employer having employees subject to any provisions of

this section shall discriminate, within any establishment in which



employees are employed, between employees on the basis of sex by

paying to employees in such establishment a rate less than the rate at

which the employer pays wages to employees of the opposite sex in

such establishment for equal work on jobs the performance of which

requires equal skill, effort, and responsibility, and which are

performed under similar working conditions, except where such

payment is made pursuant to:

(1) a seniority system;

(2) a merit system;

(3) a system which measures earnings by quantity or quality of

production; or

(4) a differential based on any other factor other than sex.

(e) An employer who is paying a wage rate differential in

violation of subsection (d) shall not, in order to comply with

subsection (d), reduce the wage rate of any employee, and no labor

organization, or its agents, representing employees of an employer

having employees subject to subsection (d) shall cause or attempt to

cause such an employer to discriminate against an employee in

violation of subsection (d).

(f) Except as provided in subsection (c), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on or after

October 1, 1998, and before March 1, 1999, wages of not less than

four dollars and twenty-five cents ($4.25) per hour.

(g) Except as provided in subsections (c) and (j), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on or after March

1, 1999, and before July 1, 2007, wages of not less than five dollars

and fifteen cents ($5.15) an hour.

(h) Except as provided in subsections (c) and (j), every employer

employing at least two (2) employees during a work week shall, in

any work week in which the employer is subject to this chapter, pay

each of the employees in any work week beginning on or after June

30, 2007, wages of not less than the minimum wage payable under

the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C.

201 et seq.).

(i) This section does not apply if an employee:

(1) provides companionship services to the aged and infirm (as

defined in 29 CFR 552.6); and

(2) is employed by an employer or agency other than the family

or household using the companionship services, as provided in

29 CFR 552.109 (a).

(j) This subsection applies only to an employee who has not

attained the age of twenty (20) years. Instead of the rates prescribed

by subsections (c), (f), (g), and (h), an employer may pay an

employee of the employer, during the first ninety (90) consecutive

calendar days after the employee is initially employed by the

employer, a wage which is not less than:



(1) four dollars and twenty-five cents ($4.25) per hour, effective

March 1, 1999; and

(2) the amount payable under the federal Fair Labor Standards

Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 201 et seq.), during the

first ninety (90) consecutive calendar days after initial

employment to an employee who has not attained twenty (20)

years of age, effective July 1, 2007.

However, no employer may take any action to displace employees

(including partial displacements such as reduction in hours, wages,

or employment benefits) for purposes of hiring individuals at the

wage authorized in this subsection.

(k) Except as otherwise provided in this section, no employer

shall employ any employee for a work week longer than forty (40)

hours unless the employee receives compensation for employment in

excess of the hours above specified at a rate not less than one and

one-half (1.5) times the regular rate at which the employee is

employed.

(l) For purposes of this section the following apply:

(1) "Overtime compensation" means the compensation required

by subsection (k).

(2) "Compensatory time" and "compensatory time off" mean

hours during which an employee is not working, which are not

counted as hours worked during the applicable work week or

other work period for purposes of overtime compensation, and

for which the employee is compensated at the employee's

regular rate.

(3) "Regular rate" means the rate at which an employee is

employed is considered to include all remuneration for

employment paid to, or on behalf of, the employee, but is not

considered to include the following:

(A) Sums paid as gifts, payments in the nature of gifts made

at Christmas time or on other special occasions, as a reward

for service, the amounts of which are not measured by or

dependent on hours worked, production, or efficiency.

(B) Payments made for occasional periods when no work is

performed due to vacation, holiday, illness, failure of the

employer to provide sufficient work, or other similar cause,

reasonable payments for traveling expenses, or other

expenses, incurred by an employee in the furtherance of the

employer's interests and properly reimbursable by the

employer, and other similar payments to an employee which

are not made as compensation for the employee's hours of

employment.

(C) Sums paid in recognition of services performed during

a given period if:

(i) both the fact that payment is to be made and the amount

of the payment are determined at the sole discretion of the

employer at or near the end of the period and not pursuant

to any prior contract, agreement, or promise causing the

employee to expect the payments regularly;



(ii) the payments are made pursuant to a bona fide profit

sharing plan or trust or bona fide thrift or savings plan,

meeting the requirements of the administrator set forth in

appropriately issued regulations, having due regard among

other relevant factors, to the extent to which the amounts

paid to the employee are determined without regard to

hours of work, production, or efficiency; or

(iii) the payments are talent fees paid to performers,

including announcers, on radio and television programs.

(D) Contributions irrevocably made by an employer to a

trustee or third person pursuant to a bona fide plan for

providing old age, retirement, life, accident, or health

insurance or similar benefits for employees.

(E) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid for

certain hours worked by the employee in any day or work

week because those hours are hours worked in excess of

eight (8) in a day or in excess of the maximum work week

applicable to the employee under subsection (k) or in excess

of the employee's normal working hours or regular working

hours, as the case may be.

(F) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid for

work by the employee on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, or

regular days of rest, or on the sixth or seventh day of the

work week, where the premium rate is not less than one and

one-half (1.5) times the rate established in good faith for like

work performed in nonovertime hours on other days.

(G) Extra compensation provided by a premium rate paid to

the employee, in pursuance of an applicable employment

contract or collective bargaining agreement, for work outside

of the hours established in good faith by the contract or

agreement as the basic, normal, or regular workday (not

exceeding eight (8) hours) or work week (not exceeding the

maximum work week applicable to the employee under

subsection (k)) where the premium rate is not less than one

and one-half (1.5) times the rate established in good faith by

the contract or agreement for like work performed during the

workday or work week.

(m) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(k) by employing any employee for a work week in excess of that

specified in subsection (k) without paying the compensation for

overtime employment prescribed therein if the employee is so

employed:

(1) in pursuance of an agreement, made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees certified as bona

fide by the National Labor Relations Board, which provides that

no employee shall be employed more than one thousand forty

(1,040) hours during any period of twenty-six (26) consecutive

weeks; or

(2) in pursuance of an agreement, made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees certified as bona



fide by the National Labor Relations Board, which provides that

during a specified period of fifty-two (52) consecutive weeks

the employee shall be employed not more than two thousand

two hundred forty (2,240) hours and shall be guaranteed not

less than one thousand eight hundred forty (1,840) hours (or not

less than forty-six (46) weeks at the normal number of hours

worked per week, but not less than thirty (30) hours per week)

and not more than two thousand eighty (2,080) hours of

employment for which the employee shall receive compensation

for all hours guaranteed or worked at rates not less than those

applicable under the agreement to the work performed and for

all hours in excess of the guaranty which are also in excess of

the maximum work week applicable to the employee under

subsection (k) or two thousand eighty (2,080) in that period at

rates not less than one and one-half (1.5) times the regular rate

at which the employee is employed.

(n) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(k) by employing any employee for a work week in excess of the

maximum work week applicable to the employee under subsection

(k) if the employee is employed pursuant to a bona fide individual

contract, or pursuant to an agreement made as a result of collective

bargaining by representatives of employees, if the duties of the

employee necessitate irregular hours of work, and the contract or

agreement includes the following:

(1) Specifies a regular rate of pay of not less than the minimum

hourly rate provided in subsections (c), (h), and (j) (whichever

is applicable) and compensation at not less than one and

one-half (1.5) times that rate for all hours worked in excess of

the maximum work week.

(2) Provides a weekly guaranty of pay for not more than sixty

(60) hours based on the rates so specified.

(o) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(k) by employing any employee for a work week in excess of the

maximum work week applicable to the employee under that

subsection if, pursuant to an agreement or understanding arrived at

between the employer and the employee before performance of the

work, the amount paid to the employee for the number of hours

worked by the employee in the work week in excess of the maximum

work week applicable to the employee under that subsection:

(1) in the case of an employee employed at piece rates, is

computed at piece rates not less than one and one-half (1.5)

times the bona fide piece rates applicable to the same work

when performed during nonovertime hours;

(2) in the case of an employee performing two (2) or more kinds

of work for which different hourly or piece rates have been

established, is computed at rates not less than one and one-half

(1.5) times those bona fide rates applicable to the same work

when performed during nonovertime hours; or

(3) is computed at a rate not less than one and one-half (1.5)

times the rate established by the agreement or understanding as



the basic rate to be used in computing overtime compensation

thereunder, provided that the rate so established shall be

substantially equivalent to the average hourly earnings of the

employee, exclusive of overtime premiums, in the particular

work over a representative period of time;

and if the employee's average hourly earnings for the work week

exclusive of payments described in this section are not less than the

minimum hourly rate required by applicable law, and extra overtime

compensation is properly computed and paid on other forms of

additional pay required to be included in computing the regular rate.

(p) Extra compensation paid as described in this section shall be

creditable toward overtime compensation payable pursuant to this

section.

(q) No employer shall be considered to have violated subsection

(k) by employing any employee of a retail or service establishment

for a work week in excess of the applicable work week specified

therein, if:

(1) the regular rate of pay of the employee is in excess of one

and one-half (1.5) times the minimum hourly rate applicable to

the employee under section 2 of this chapter; and

(2) more than half of the employee's compensation for a

representative period (not less than one (1) month) represents

commissions on goods or services.

In determining the proportion of compensation representing

commissions, all earnings resulting from the application of a bona

fide commission rate shall be considered commissions on goods or

services without regard to whether the computed commissions

exceed the draw or guarantee.

(r) No employer engaged in the operation of a hospital or an

establishment which is an institution primarily engaged in the care

of the sick, the aged, or individuals with a mental illness or defect

who reside on the premises shall be considered to have violated

subsection (k) if, pursuant to an agreement or understanding arrived

at between the employer and the employee before performance of the

work, a work period of fourteen (14) consecutive days is accepted in

lieu of the work week of seven (7) consecutive days for purposes of

overtime computation and if, for the employee's employment in

excess of eight (8) hours in any workday and in excess of eighty (80)

hours in that fourteen (14) day period, the employee receives

compensation at a rate not less than one and one-half (1.5) times the

regular rate at which the employee is employed.

(s) No employer shall employ any employee in domestic service

in one (1) or more households for a work week longer than forty (40)

hours unless the employee receives compensation for that

employment in accordance with subsection (k).

(t) In the case of an employee of an employer engaged in the

business of operating a street, a suburban or interurban electric

railway, or a local trolley or motorbus carrier (regardless of whether

or not the railway or carrier is public or private or operated for profit

or not for profit), in determining the hours of employment of such an



employee to which the rate prescribed by subsection (k) applies,

there shall be excluded the hours the employee was employed in

charter activities by the employer if both of the following apply:

(1) The employee's employment in the charter activities was

pursuant to an agreement or understanding with the employer

arrived at before engaging in that employment.

(2) If employment in the charter activities is not part of the

employee's regular employment.

(u) Any employer may employ any employee for a period or

periods of not more than ten (10) hours in the aggregate in any work

week in excess of the maximum work week specified in subsection

(k) without paying the compensation for overtime employment

prescribed in subsection (k), if during that period or periods the

employee is receiving remedial education that:

(1) is provided to employees who lack a high school diploma or

educational attainment at the eighth grade level;

(2) is designed to provide reading and other basic skills at an

eighth grade level or below; and

(3) does not include job specific training.

(v) Subsection (k) does not apply to an employee of a motion

picture theater.

(w) Subsection (k) does not apply to an employee of a seasonal

amusement or recreational establishment, an organized camp, or a

religious or nonprofit educational conference center that is exempt

under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29

U.S.C. 213).

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.4; Acts 1967, c.153, s.2.) As amended

by Acts 1977, P.L.259, SEC.2; P.L.19-1986, SEC.38; P.L.133-1990,

SEC.2; P.L.39-1998, SEC.1; P.L.1-1999, SEC.53; P.L.234-1999,

SEC.6; P.L.99-2007, SEC.182; P.L.165-2007, SEC.1.

IC 22-2-2-5

Repealed

(Repealed by P.L.37-1985, SEC.60.)

IC 22-2-2-6

Repealed

(Repealed by P.L.37-1985, SEC.60.)

IC 22-2-2-7

Repealed

(Repealed by P.L.37-1985, SEC.60.)

IC 22-2-2-8

Statement of hours and wages; furnishing employees; posting law

Sec. 8. Every employer subject to the provisions of this chapter or

to any rule or order issued under this chapter shall furnish to each

employee a statement of the hours worked by the employee and the

wages paid to him listing deductions made each pay period, and the

employer shall furnish the commissioner upon demand a sworn



statement of the same. Such records shall be open to inspection by

the commissioner, his deputy, or any authorized agent of the

department at any reasonable time. Every employer subject to the

provisions of this chapter or to any rule or order issued under this

chapter shall keep a copy of them posted in a conspicuous place in

the area where employees are employed. The commissioner shall

furnish copies of this chapter and the rules and orders to employers

without charge.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.8.) As amended by P.L.144-1986,

SEC.2.

IC 22-2-2-9

Actions and proceedings; damages; limitation of actions; defenses

Sec. 9. Any employer who violates the provisions of section 4 of

this chapter shall be liable to the employee or employees affected in

the amount of their unpaid minimum wages and in an equal

additional amount as liquidated damages. Action to recover such

liability may be maintained within three (3) years after the cause of

action therefor arises in the circuit or superior court of the county in

which the services out of which the claim arises were performed or

in which the defendant resides or transacts business. Such action may

be brought by any one (1) or more employees for and on behalf of

himself or themselves and all other employees of the same employer

who are similarly situated. No employee shall be a party plaintiff to

any such action unless he gives his consent in writing to become such

a party and such consent is filed in the court in which such action is

brought. The court in such action shall, in addition to any judgment

awarded to the plaintiffs, allow recovery of a reasonable attorney's

fee and costs of the action. No contract or agreement between the

employee and the employer nor any acceptance of a lesser wage by

the employee shall be a defense to the action.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.9.) As amended by P.L.144-1986,

SEC.3.

IC 22-2-2-10

Other statutes; application of law

Sec. 10. Nothing in this chapter shall be deemed to authorize or

permit the payment to any employee of a lower rate of pay than may

be prescribed by any other applicable law.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.10.) As amended by P.L.144-1986,

SEC.4.

IC 22-2-2-11

Violations

Sec. 11. (a) An employer or his agent who:

(1) discharges or otherwise discriminates in regard to tenure or

condition of employment against any employee because the

employee has:

(A) instituted or participated in the institution of any action

to recover wages under this chapter; or



(B) demanded the payment of wages under this chapter;

(2) pays or agrees to pay any employee less than the minimum

wage prescribed by section 4 of this chapter; or

(3) fails to keep records required by section 8 of this chapter;

commits a Class C infraction.

(b) An employer or the employer's agent who knowingly or

intentionally violates section 4 or 8 of this chapter commits a Class

A infraction.

(c) An employer or the employer's agent who violates section 4 of

this chapter, having a prior unrelated judgment for a violation of

section 4 of this chapter, commits a Class B misdemeanor.

(d) An employer or the employer's agent who violates section 8 of

this chapter, having a prior unrelated judgment for a violation of

section 8 of this chapter, commits a Class B misdemeanor.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.11.) As amended by Acts 1978, P.L.2,

SEC.2202; P.L.37-1985, SEC.28; P.L.133-1990, SEC.3.

IC 22-2-2-12

Discharging persons within four weeks; offense

Sec. 12. An employer who consistently discharges persons within

four (4) weeks of their employment and replaces the discharged

person without work stoppage commits a Class A infraction.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.14; Acts 1967, c.153, s.4.) As

amended by Acts 1977, P.L.259, SEC.3; Acts 1978, P.L.2, SEC.2203;

P.L.133-1990, SEC.4.

IC 22-2-2-13

Collective bargaining agreements; applicability

Sec. 13. The equal pay provisions of section 4 of this chapter shall

not apply to employees covered by a bona fide collective bargaining

agreement in effect on March 2, 1965, until the termination of such

collective bargaining agreement or July 1, 1968, whichever shall

occur first.

(Formerly: Acts 1965, c.134, s.15; Acts 1967, c.153, s.5.) As

amended by P.L.144-1986, SEC.5.


