- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Department of Labor

DOL > Worker Safety Initiatives > Drive Now - TXT L8R Social Media Contest > Drive Now Txt L8r Winners! Drive Now Txt L8r Winners!

Resources - Rules - FAQ - Contact

Congratulations to our winners!


During Distracted Driving Awareness Month in April, nearly 200 students posted more than 7,000 tweets and almost 50 photos or videos using Instagram or Vine. Staff from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Indiana Criminal Justice Institute, Indiana Department of Labor, Indiana Department of Transportation and Indiana State Police tracked the posts and judged the entries that were the most creative.

We had excellent results! The safe driving messaging from our 17 Drive Now. TXT L8R winners was viewed over 10,000 times on Twitter, Vine and Instagram during the month of April! $5,000 will be deposited into the CollegeChoice 529 savings plans for each of the students listed below. Their creative work has helped remind not just Hoosiers, but drivers around the country that it's critical they drive now and text later. 

Our 17 winners were all invited to the Indiana State House to meet with Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann for an awards ceremony celebrating their achievements. You can view their winning entries below.  


  Our winners with Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann at the Dive Now, TXTL8R event



College Division          


1.      Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, College Division

Melanie Shebel from Purdue University North Central


2.      Most Creative on Instagram, College Division

Emily Morris from University of Indianapolis  - See Emily's winning entry here


3.      Most Likes on Instagram, College Division

Shakeya Caines from Ball State University - See Shakeya's winning entry here


4.      Most Creative on Vine, College Division

Austin Hoffman and Logan Schroering from University of Southern Indiana - See Austin and Logan's winning entry here


5.      Most Likes on Vine, College Division

Abdiel Garcia and Abner Garcia from Ivy Tech Community College - See Garcia and Abner's winning entry here


High School Division        


6.      Most Tweets, Retweets and Favorites on Twitter, High School Division

Hannah Kline and Marcos Navarro from Warsaw Community High School


7.      Most Creative on Instagram, High School Division

Skyler Blanton, Madi Rogers and Allie Bertram from Jennings County High School - See Skyler, Madi and Allie's winning entry here


8.      Most Likes on Instagram, High School Division

Laura Brown, Leah Hoff and Hunter Crispen from Rochester High School - See Laura, Lead and Hunter's winning entry here


9.      Most Creative on Vine, High School Division

Erica Brown from Pike High School - See Erica's winning entry here


10.  Most Likes on Vine, High School Division

Omar El-Khodary from Signature School - See Omar's winning entry here