IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

State Parks > Programs > Indiana Master Naturalist Program > Indiana Master Naturalist classes Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state and depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about locations of a course near you, contact the state coordinator or check this website.

Schedule of classes

Adult IMN Courses

  1. Sullivan County Soil and Water Conservation District, Shelburn
    Jan. 7–March 14, 2015 (Mostly Wednesdays, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Larry Watson, ag1agent@aol.com or (812) 387-2952

  2. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    Jan. 8, 2015-Dec. 10, 2015 (second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Jeff Cummings, fortinterp@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

  3. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Feb. 2-April 6 2015 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102

  4. Karst Farm Park, Bloomington
    Feb. 5-April 23, 2015 (Thursdays, 6-8:30 p.m.) Contact: Cathy Meyer, cmeyer@co.monroe.in.us or (812) 349-2805

  5. Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne
    Feb. 24-May 9, 2015 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or (260) 471-5952

  6. Carmel-Clay Parks and Recreation, Carmel
    Feb. 26-April 16, 2015 (Thursdays, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Amanda Jackson, ajackson@carmelclayparks.com or (317) 573-5248

  7. Taltree Arboretum & Gardens, Valparaiso
    March 12–May 14, 2015 (Thursdays, 9 a.m.–noon)
    Maddie Grimm, mgrimm@taltree.org or (219) 742-6078

  8. Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    March 19 - May 17, 2015 (Thursdays 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Laura Whiteleather, uwnatdnr@dnr.IN.gov or (260) 468-2127

  9. O'Bannon Woods State Park, Corydon
    March 24-May 19, 2015 (Tuesdays, 5:30–8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Miranda Ulery, mulery@purdue.edu or (812) 738-4236
  10. Cope Environmental Center, Centerville
    March 31-May 19, 2015 (Tuesdays 6-9 p.m.)
    Aubrey Blue, a.blue@copeenvironmental.org or (765) 855-3188

  11. Benton County Retirement Village, Oxford
    April 7-May 26, 2015 (Tuesdays 6-9 p.m.)
    Michelle Scherer michelle.scherer@in.nacdnet.net or (765) 884-1090

  12. Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    July 9–Sept. 3 2015 (Thursdays, 6-9:15 p.m.)
    Contact: Tiffany Conrad, tconrad@indianamuseum.org or 260) 854-3790.

  13. Taltree Arboretum and Gardens, Valparaiso
    Aug. 20-Oct.22, 2015 (Thursday evenings, 6–9 p.m.)
    Contact: Maddie Grimm, mgrimm@taltree.org or (219) 742-6078
  14. Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Aug. 20-Oct. 22, 2015 (Thursdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or (317) 327-7148 

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  1. O'Bannon Woods State Park, Corydon
    Teen class for grades 5 through 8, March 24- May 19, 2015 (Tuesdays, 5:30–8:30 p.m., runs same time as Adult IMN class in different room)
    Contact: Miranda Ulery, mulery@purdue.edu or (812) 738-4236

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  1. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    March 11-May 20 2015 (Wednesdays, 1-3 p.m.)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102
  2. Allen County Parks, Fort Wayne
    March 30–April 3, 2015 (Spring break week, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Natalie Haley, nhaley@allencountyparks.org or (260) 449-3246

  3. Elkhart County Parks, Elkhart
    June 11–July 18, 2015 (Thursdays, 6-8:30 p.m. and one Saturday)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, Krista@elkhartcountyparks.org or (574) 875-7422