IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

State Parks > Programs > Indiana Master Naturalist Program > Indiana Master Naturalist classes Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.

Adult IMN Courses

  1. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis - FULL
    Jan. 14-Dec. 8, 2016 (second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Jeff Cummings, fortinterp@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122
     
  2. Kosciusko County Soil and Water, Warsaw - FULL
    March 10–Nov. 10, 2016 (Once a month, second Tuesday, 5:30-8:30p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or (574) 267-5853
     
  3. Coffee Creek Watershed Conservancy, Inc, Chesterton
    April 5–June 7, 2016 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Katie Rizer, katie@coffeecreekwc.org or (219) 926-1842
     
  4. The Monon Community Center, Carmel, IN
    Advanced IMN Class- Designed for IMN graduates
    May 5-June 9, 2016 (Thursdays, 6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Amanda Jackson, ajackson@carmelclayparks.com or (317) 843-3861
  5. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis, IN
    June 13-17, 2016 (one-week course, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Don Gorney, dongorney@yahoo.com, (317) 501-4212

  6. Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    July 7–Sept. 1, 2016 (Thursdays, 6-9:15 p.m.)
    Contact: Tiffany Conrad, tconrad@indianamuseum.org or (260) 854-3790

  7. Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Aug. 11-Oct. 13, 2015 (Thursdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or (317) 327-7148

  8. Taltree Arboretum & Gardens, Valparaiso
    Aug. 18–Oct. 27, 2016 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Maddie Grimm, mgrimm@taltree.org or (219) 742-6078
  9. Purdue Extension - Vermillion County, Newport
    Aug. 25-Oct. 13, 2016 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Phil Cox, cox119@purdue.edu or (765) 492-5335

  10. The Morgan County Administration Building, Martinsville
    Aug. 25-Nov. 17, 2016 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Greg Marlett, swcdOffice@morgancounty.in.gov or (765) 349-2060
  11. Elkhart County Soil and Water Concervation District, Goshen
    Sept. 8-Nov. 10, 2016 (Thursdays, 4-7 p.m.)
    Contact: Nancy J. Brown, nancy.brown@in.nacdnet.net or (574) 533-4383 ext. 3

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • No classes at this time.

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  1. Ouabache State Park, Bluffton
    June 13-17, 2016 (Day camp, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or (260) 437-8650

  2. Elkhart County Parks, Elkhart
    June 20–22, 2016 (Day Camp, 9:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, Krista@elkhartcountyparks.org or (574) 875-7422

  3. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    June 20-24, 2016 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-3 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, fortinterp@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

  4. Camp George C. Cullom, Frankfort, IN
    June 8- August 3, 2016 (Wednesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Leah Harden, leah.harden@in.nacdnet.net or (765) 659-1223 X 3