
Page 1 of 2 

Department of Local Government Finance 
Property Tax Assessment Appeals 
FACT SHEET 
September 2018 
 
A taxpayer may appeal an assessment by filing a form (“Form 130”) with the 
assessing official. The taxpayer must file a separate petition for each parcel. The 
petition may be filed any time after the assessing official’s action, but not later 
than the following:  
For assessments before January 1, 2019: a) 45 days after the date on which the 

Notice of Assessment (“Form 11”) is mailed by the county, or b) 45 days after 
the date on which the tax bill is mailed by the county treasurer regardless of 
whether the assessment was changed, whichever is earlier. 

For assessments after December 31, 2018: a) June 15 of the assessment year, if the 
notice of assessment is mailed by the county before May 1 of the assessment 
year, or b) June 15 of the year in which the tax bill is mailed by the county 
treasurer, if the notice of assessment is mailed by the county on or after May 1 
of the assessment year, whichever is first. 

 
Evidence to support the taxpayer’s case can be in the form of a sale of the subject 
property, sales of comparable properties, offers to purchase or an appraisal 
prepared by a licensed appraiser. Indiana law does not require a taxpayer to submit 
an appraisal of the subject property to appeal the assessment. While the Indiana 
Tax Court has held that an appraisal properly trended to the appropriate valuation 
date is the best evidence, it is not the only acceptable evidence. The county or 
township assessor has the burden of proof in an appeal where the assessment 
increased by more than 5% over the preceding assessment date.  
 
Upon receipt of the petition, the assessing official shall schedule a preliminary 
informal meeting for resolving the appeal. The taxpayer and the assessing official 
shall exchange at the time of the meeting, the information that each party is relying 
on to support the party’s respective position. After the meeting, the assessing 
official shall report to the Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals 
(“PTABOA”) on the results of the meeting upon receipt of the petition. The 
PTABOA shall hold a hearing not later than 180 days after the petition filing date. 
The PTABOA shall mail notice of the date, time, and place fixed for the hearing at 
least 30 days before the hearing. The PTABOA shall grant a written request for 
continuance showing good cause. The request must be filed at least 10 days before 
the hearing. The taxpayer may withdraw in writing an appeal at least 10 days 
before the hearing. If a taxpayer or tax representative fails to appear at the hearing 
and request for continuance is denied or not filed, the county assessor may impose 
a $50 penalty (A penalty may be appealed.) 
 
If a taxpayer is not satisfied with the decision of the PTABOA or if the PTABOA 
fails to issue a determination before 180 days have passed since the filing of the 
petition, the taxpayer has the right to appeal to the Indiana Board of Tax Review 
(“IBTR”) by filing a Form 131. After being heard by the IBTR, taxpayers may also 
seek review by the Indiana Tax Court and, subsequently, the Indiana Supreme 
Court. 

Facts 
 
Form 130:  
https://forms.in.gov/Downlo
ad.aspx?id=6979 
 
Indiana law does not require 
a taxpayer to submit an 
appraisal of the subject 
property in order to appeal 
the assessment.  
 
Related Memorandum:  
 
Memorandum on Legislative 
Changes to Procedures for 
Appeal of Assessment: 
http://in.gov/dlgf/files/pdf/1
70901%20-
%20Schaafsma%20Memo%
20-
%20Legislation%20Affectin
g%20Appeals.pdf 
 
Pertinent Evidence to 
Support a Taxpayer’s 
Case: 
• A sale of the subject 

property 
• Sales of comparable 

properties 
• Offers to purchase 
• An appraisal prepared by a 

licensed appraiser 
• For income producing 

property: capitalized 
income and expense 
information 
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Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Q: How do I know if my new assessed value is correct? 
A: The assessed value should reflect the amount a willing buyer would pay for the 
property at the time of the assessment (January 1). For 2018 pay 2019 property 
taxes, sales from 2017 were used to determine the assessed value as of January 1, 
2018.  
 
Q. Who should I contact to initiate an appeal of the assessed value of my 
property? 
A: The appeals process begins with written notification to your local assessing 
official. Appeals begin at the local level and can be appealed to the state only after 
being reviewed locally. Please visit the following link to locate your local 
assessing official: http://www.in.gov/dlgf/2440.htm.  
 
Q: When should I initiate an appeal? 
A: If you receive a Form 11, you should initiate an appeal not later than 45 days 
after the date of the notice. If no Form 11 is sent, the tax bill serves as the notice 
of assessment and you should initiate an appeal not later than May 10 of the year 
or 45 days after the date of the tax bill, whichever is later. 
 
Q: What is the PTABOA? 
A: The PTABOA is a three or five member board of individuals who are “knowledgeable in the valuation of property.”  
The county commissioners may determine whether to have a three or five member PTABOA. The county assessor is a 
non-voting member of the PTABOA regardless of the number of members. The members are appointed by the county 
commissioners and the county council. 
 
Q: What is the IBTR? 
A: The IBTR is the state agency charged with hearing appeals from the PTABOA. A taxpayer who disagrees with the 
PTABOA’s determination may petition the IBTR for further review. More information about the IBTR is available online 
at: http://www.in.gov/ibtr.  
 
Q: Do I need a tax representative in the appeal process? 
A: No. A taxpayer may represent himself. Additionally, the property owner may appoint a relative to represent them 
before the PTABOA. However, the relative may not represent the owner before the IBTR. 
 
Q: Is an appraisal required as evidence when appealing an assessment? 
A: No. State law does not require a taxpayer to submit an appraisal of the subject property in order to appeal the 
assessment. Information about acceptable evidence to support an appeal is available at http://www.in.gov/ibtr/2420.htm. If 
the value of the subject property has increased by more than 5% over the previous assessment date, the burden of proof 
rests with the local assessing official. 
 
Q: What happens if the PTABOA denies my appeal and I still disagree? 
A: A petitioner may appeal the PTABOA decision to the IBTR. After being heard by the IBTR, taxpayers may then seek 
review by the Indiana Tax Court. 
 
Q: I know my assessment is incorrect and I am filing an appeal. Do I have to pay the full amount of my tax bill, or 
can I wait for the results of my appeal? 
A: If you have initiated an appeal, you may pay only an amount of taxes based on the immediately preceding year’s 
assessment pending a final determination of your appeal. If you do not pay this amount when the property tax installment 
is due, you will be considered delinquent and assessed penalties based on that delinquency. 
 
For example, your property was assessed at $200,000 this year. You file an appeal contesting this assessment. Last year 
your property was assessed at $100,000. You may pay taxes based on an assessed value of $100,000 during the pending 
appeal with no penalty. 

Burden of proof falls to the 
township or county assessor 
if the assessment has 
increased by more than 5% 
over the previous year’s 
assessment 
 
 
Claim for Refund  
Form 17T: 
Taxpayers requesting 
refunds should also file a 
“Claim for Refund” Form 
17T with the county auditor. 


