
* Dollar Amount Subject to Change Every July 1st of Even Numbered Years   

 

INDIANA SMALL LOAN LAW  

Effective July 1, 2012 
  
BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES  
Please take the time to carefully review the information contained in this pamphlet. It is designed to advise you of 
your rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining a small loan in Indiana pursuant to Indiana Code 
24-4.5-7-101 et seq. If you have any questions about small loans or want additional information, you may contact 
the State of Indiana Department of Financial Institutions toll free at (800) 382-4880 or on the Internet at 
http://www.in.gov/dfi/.  

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a small loan is right for you. Alternatives may include, 
among other things, less expensive short-term financing from another financial institution, family, or friends, a cash 
advance on a credit card, an account with overdraft protection, or a loan repayable over several months.  

Notice from Lender: The lender is required to provide you with a clear and conspicuous printed notice advising 
you that, among other things, a small loan is not intended to meet long-term financial needs and that you should 
use a small loan only to meet short-term cash needs.  

Limitations on Security Interest: The lender cannot require you to provide more than one check or authorization 
to debit your account as security for any small loan. The check or authorization to debit may not exceed the 
amount advanced to or on behalf of the borrower plus loan finance charges contracted for and permitted. A small 
loan may not be secured by personal property of any type other than a check or electronic debit authorization.  
You are not required to provide your Personal Identification Number to the lender.  

*$605 Maximum/Fourteen Day Minimum Term: A lender cannot have loans (either single or in the aggregate) 
outstanding with you at any one time if the aggregate principal amount/amount financed exceeds $605. A lender 
cannot make a small loan to a borrower who has two or more small loans outstanding, regardless of the total value 
of the small loan. By law, the due date of your loan must be at least fourteen days after the date that money is 
advanced to you.  

Loan Amount, Charges, etc.: The lender is prohibited from making a small loan to you that exceeds 20% of your 
monthly gross income. Finance charges on the first $250 of a small loan are limited to 15% of the principal (i.e. $30 
on a $200 advance). Finance charges on a small loan greater than $250 and less than or equal to $400 are limited 
to 13% of the amount over $250 and less than or equal to $400 (i.e. $44 on a $300 advance). Finance charges on 
the amount of the small loan greater than $400 and not more than $605 are limited to 10% of the amount over $400 
and not more than $605 (i.e. $62 on a $450 advance). Other than the specific fees and costs discussed in the 
section of this pamphlet entitled “Failure to Repay” (see below), no additional amounts may be directly or indirectly 
charged, contracted for, collected, received, or recovered by the lender. You may receive your loan proceeds in the 
form of a check from the lender. The lender cannot charge you a fee for cashing their check. Similarly, a check 
casher affiliated with the lender cannot charge you a fee for cashing the lender’s check.  

Written Agreement: The lender must provide you with a written loan agreement, which must be signed by both 
you and an authorized representative of the lender. The loan agreement is a binding, legal document which 
requires you to repay the loan. Make sure you read the entire loan agreement carefully before signing and dating 
it. The lender must provide you with a duplicate of the original loan agreement at the time of your loan 
transaction.  

 
 



Right to Cancel: You have the right to cancel your small loan at any time prior to the close of business on the 
next day the lender is open following the date your small loan is made by paying the lender the amount advanced 
to you in cash, certified check, authorized account debit, cashier’s check, money order or, if the lender is 
equipped to handle such payments, by using a credit or debit card.  

Partial Payments: You have the right to make partial payments in any amount on your small loan at any time 
before the due date without charge. You have the right to receive signed, dated receipts for each payment made 
showing the amount paid and the balance due on the small loan.  
 
No Renewals: The lender cannot renew, repay, refinance, or consolidate your small loan with the proceeds of 
another small loan made to you by the lender. On the due date of your loan you may pay the lender in full by cash, 
or the lender may deposit the personal check they are holding or they may debit your account if you signed a debit 
authorization.  

Consecutive Small Loans: After an initial loan and three subsequent consecutive small loans, the lender is 
required to offer you an extended payment plan (EPP) at the time you enter the fourth small loan agreement if you 
are not in default on your existing loan. The EPP can be entered into at any time after the fourth loan. No additional 
fees may be added to this payment plan. You should review all disclosures and contractual materials presented to 
you to determine if you want to enter into such an agreement.  Once you have entered into an extended payment 
plan, you will not be able to enter into another small loan transaction with any small loan lender until the extended 
payment plan is paid in full and the seven day waiting period has expired. A seven day cooling-off period applies 
after you have had a total of six loans (an initial loan followed by five consecutive loans) with any one lender.  

Failure to Repay: Pay back your loan! Know when your payment is due and be sure to repay your loan on time and 
in full. You are responsible for having sufficient funds in your checking account on the due date of your loan so that 
your check does not bounce if the lender deposits it in his account. If you cannot or do not repay the loan, then the 
lender is permitted to recover from you a charge, not to exceed $25, for each returned check, dishonored check, etc. 
This charge may be assessed only one time regardless of how many times a check or authorization to debit your 
account is dishonored. The lender is prohibited from threatening or beginning criminal proceedings against you if a 
check you provide to the lender is returned unpaid from your depository institution.  

Debt Management and Credit Counseling Services: Debt management companies can provide assistance to 
consumers who need help reorganizing their debts. In addition, consumer credit counseling services can provide 
valuable financial education and budgeting advice. They can work with consumers and their creditors to coordinate 
repayment agreements and to help make their finances more manageable. To obtain a list of such companies, 
consult the business section of your phone book. The use of a credit counseling service will most likely result in 
charges to be paid by the consumer; therefore, when seeking help from a credit counselor, the consumer should ask 
for a full disclosure of the total cost, the benefits to be provided, and all other related information. Many 
organizations offer this service at charges much less than their competitors, so the consumer should always 
compare costs.  

Complaints and Contacting the Department of Financial Institutions. For assistance with any complaints you 
may have against a small loan lender, please contact the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions toll-free at 
(800) 382-4880 or on the Internet at http://www.in.gov/dfi/.  
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