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	Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline: 800-800-5556


NOTICE TO RELATIVES
Insert Date
Name of Relative
Address
City, State, Zip
RE: Insert Child's First and Last Name
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) is required by law to notify you that the minor child listed above has been removed from the home of their parent(s).  Facts regarding the removal of the child are confidential and can not be shared with you by DCS.  As a relative of this child, you may have the opportunity to participate in the child’s care.    
As a relative of this child, the following options may be available to you:

1. You may request that you be considered as a potential caregiver for the child.  In order to become a caregiver, you and the other members of your household will be subject to a background check for any criminal convictions or any history of child abuse or neglect.  If you are interested in having this child stay with you at this time, please contact me for more information.  
2. You may also apply to become a licensed foster parent for the child.  Please see the enclosed document for more information about becoming a licensed foster parent in Indiana.  If you reside in a state other than Indiana, you will need to contact your state’s child welfare system for information about the requirements to become a licensed foster parent.  If you become a licensed foster parent of the child, you may be eligible to receive financial assistance to care for the child; health care coverage through Medicaid for the child; and case management services for the child when they are in your care.  
3. You may also be considered for participation in:

a. Visitation with the child, and 
b. Child and Family Team (CFT) Meetings where decisions about his or her care will be made.   
To find out more information about any of the items listed above, please contact me as soon as possible.  This is the only notice you will receive.  If you do not respond to this notice, you may not be able to participate in the child’s care.  I look forward to speaking with you soon about Insert Child's Name and can be reached at Enter FCM's Phone Number.  








Sincerely,









Insert FCM Name
Family Case Manager









Insert Phone Number
Requirements to Be Considered as a Relative Caregiver (Placement) in Indiana

· All household members age 18 and over must pass a background check which includes:

· Fingerprint based  national criminal history check

· Child Protection Services (CPS) history check

· Sex and Violent Offender Check

· Local Law Enforcement Check

· All household members age 14-17 must complete a CPS history check and a Sex and Violent Offender Check

· All household members age 0-13 must complete a CPS history check. 

· Complete an application for initial licensure (relative caregivers are not required to be licensed, but must complete the initial application).  

Summary of Requirements to Become a Licensed Foster Parent in Indiana

· Be at least 21 years of age (both individuals and couples may apply)

· Complete an application packet.  

· Complete 20 hours of pre-service training (additional training is required to obtain a therapeutic foster care license). 

· All household members age 18 and over must pass a background check which includes:

· Fingerprint based  national criminal history check

· Child Protection Services (CPS) history check

· Sex and Violent Offender Check

· Local Law Enforcement Check

· All household members age 14-17 must complete a CPS history check and a Sex and Violent Offender Check

· All household members age 0-13 must complete a CPS history check Pass a physical examination.

· Have home visits with a child welfare worker to complete a home study (a comprehensive history and assessment of your current family life and past experiences affecting your capacity to parent foster children); review and complete paperwork; and address basic home safety issues (smoke detectors; fire extinguishers, etc.).  

· Complete CPR, First Aid, and Universal Precautions training.  

Once licensed, foster parents are required to complete 10 hours of in-service training each year (20 hours of in-service training is required for special needs and therapeutic licenses).  
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Protecting our children, families and future
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