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| POLICY

The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will evaluate every child
intake report it receives and make determinations about:
1. Whether or not the allegations meet the statutory definition
be assigned for assessment; and
2. Whether or not the report contains enough information
initiate an assessment; and
3. How quickly the assessment must be initiated.

The intake worker will relay the CA/N intake information to th isor for review. The
intake supervisor will review the intake as soon as i exceed 24 hours of the

i i ay only be bypassed if and
only if a one-hour response time is required immediately available. See

separate policy 3.5 Supervisory Review of eports.

DCS will immediately assign all inta
shelter or a shelter care facility, witho
custodian.

o voluntarily enters an emergency
consent of a parent, guardian or

Note: Per IC 31-36-
than forty-eight (48
shelter care fagility.

an assessment concerning the child no later
eiving notification from the emergency shelter or

-2: Family Law and Juvenile Law, Definitions
-1: Juvenile Law, Child in Need of Services
-3: Homeless Children

PROCEDURE

The intake worker will complete the following at the conclusion of the reporter’s initial call:

1. If time allows, conduct a search of current and historical DCS records (Child Welfare
Information Services (ICWIS) and Indiana Client Eligibility System (ICES)) and
summarize any findings in the allegations section of the CA/N intake report. Note: This
step may be completed by clerical staff.
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http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.5_Supv_Review_CAN.pdf
http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar9/ch2.html
http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar34/ch1.html
http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title31/ar36/ch3.html

wnN

Review the intake report and the information gained from the DCS records search.

Re-contact the reporter to expand upon or clarify information in the CA/N intake report

only if necessary to determine the appropriate DCS action.

Assign all intake reports involving a homeless unaccompanied minor receiving shelter

without the presence or consent of a parent, guardian or custodian made by an

emergency shelter, a shelter care facility, or a program that provides shelter to homeless

individual.

Determine if the allegations meet the statutory definition of CA/N. See separate policy,

3.8 Statutory Definition of CA/N.

Complete the following if he/she determines the statutory definition of C

met:

a. Recommend that the report be assigned for assessment.

b. Recommend how quickly the assessment must be initiated. S
Initiation Times for Assessment.

N has been

Note: When using ICWIS, review the timeframe assi . ake any
appropriate overrides.

d. Recommend appropriate links to an n 30 days or less, involving
i imilar allegations. See

separate policy, 3.12 Linking C Open Assessments.

Recommend the report for s
CA/N has not been met. See
Screen-Out.
Forward the intake r [ upervisor. This may be done electronically or in

determines the statutory definition of
.6 Recommending CA/N Reports for

upervisory review and assign the case to a Family
ssment if a one-hour response time is required and

e report with the supervisor.
arker may not bypass supervisory review on any reports he/she
DI screen-out.

receipt of the report unless supervisory review was bypassed. Ideally, this will
e by making direct contact with the supervisor either in-person or via phone. In
s where this is not practical, ensure receipt through a standardized delivery
process such as a high-priority in-box, an incoming intake report log, etc.

| PRACTICE GUIDANCE

Records Searches

ICWIS and ICES databases may reveal pertinent information about the subjects of a CA/N

report. The worker should examine all information for “red flags” that would cause a reasonable

person to have concerns for the child’s safety and well-being or worker safety.
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http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.8_Statutory_Definition_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.9_Init_Times_Invest__Assess.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.9_Init_Times_Invest__Assess.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.10_Instit_CAN_Intake.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.10_Instit_CAN_Intake.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.11_Transfer_Intercounty_CAN.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.29_Joint_Assessments_(Investigations).pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/3.12_Link_CAN_Reports.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.6_Recommend_CAN_Reports.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/pdf/policies/3.6_Recommend_CAN_Reports.pdf

Pertinent facts should be briefly summarized in the allegations section of the intake report, such
as dates and dispositions of previous DCS reports, assessments and cases.

Confirming Supervisory Receipt of Intake Reports
Whenever possible, it is good practice for the intake worker to get actual confirmation (e.g., in
person acknowledgement, a phone conversation, or a reply e-mail) of receipt of an intake
report. This is particularly important when an assessment must be initiated within one hour. By
getting a confirmation, the intake worker can assure that the assessment will be assigned and
initiated within the appropriate time frames. When a confirmation is not practical, a standardized
delivery process should be used such as a high-priority in-box, an incoming intake report log,
etc.

Reports with no allegation of abuse or neglect
If the report regarding an unaccompanied homeless child is made b er, a

or neglect is not alleged.

Homeless Unaccompanied Minor
A homeless unaccompanied minor is an individual
receiving shelter without a parent/guardian/cust

Emancipated Minors

35-41-4-2
The offens
misdemea

§ and are subject to the statute of limitation, after which time prosecution is barred.
A Class B, Class C or Class D felony cannot be prosecuted unless the prosecution is
commenced Within five (5) years after the commission of the offense; and the prosecution of a
misdemeanor must be commenced within two (2) years. A prosecution for murder or a Class A
felony may be commenced at any time. The time limit for certain sexual offences is extended,
as detailed further in IC 35-41-4-2.
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http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/IN_DCS_Intake_Decision_Tree.pdf
http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title35/ar41/ch4.html#IC35-41-4-2
http://www.ai.org/legislative/ic/code/title35/ar41/ch4.html#IC35-41-4-2
http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title35/ar41/ch4.html



