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Honorable Sean M. Persin Tippecanoe Circuit Court 

Honorable Randy J. Williams Superior Court of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Steven P. Meyer Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Faith A. Graham Superior Court No. 3 of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Mathew S. Sandy Superior Court No. 4 of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Kristen E. McVey Superior Court No. 5 of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Michael A. Morrissey Superior Court No. 6 of Tippecanoe County 

Honorable Daniel J. Moore Superior Court No. 7 of Tippecanoe County 

 

LR79-AR 1(E). Rule 1 County Caseload 

 

As of the date of the Order adopting these Rules, and subject to any modifications which may 

subsequently be made, the Tippecanoe County Caseload reads as follows: 

 

All cases wherein the most serious charge alleged is Murder, a Class A, B, or C felony or a 

Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony and those Class D felonies or Level 6 felonies specified below shall be 

assigned to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, and Superior Court No. 

2 of Tippecanoe County, on a random basis according to the following ratio: 

 

Court Ratio 

Tippecanoe Circuit Court 1 

Tippecanoe Superior Court 1 2 

Tippecanoe Superior Court 2 2 

 

For any defendant who has a Class A, B, or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony case 

pending or who is serving a Class A, B, or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony sentence, whether 

executed or suspended, any new case in which the most serious charge alleged is a Class A, B, or C 

felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony shall be filed in the court having jurisdiction of the oldest such 

prior case. Upon learning that such a case has been filed in the wrong court, the prosecutor shall 

within 14 days move to transfer the case to the proper court. 

Class D felony and Level 6 felony cases assigned to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior Court 

of Tippecanoe County, and Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County are as follows: 

 

Battery on a Child 

Possession of Child Pornography 

Child Exploitation 

Vicarious Sexual Gratification 

Child Solicitation 

Child Seduction 

Dissemination of Matter Harmful to Minors 

Neglect of a Dependent 
Arson 

Sexual Conduct in Presence of Minor 

Kidnapping 
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All Class D felonies, Level 6 felonies, misdemeanors, and infractions alleging a violation of 

Indiana Code Title 9, Traffic Code, except cases in which the lead charge is Operating While 

Suspended with Prior Conviction, a Class A misdemeanor, and only those civil plenary cases with 

claims up to $10,000 shall be assigned to Superior Court No. 6 of Tippecanoe County. 

 

All traffic infractions or misdemeanors alleging a violation of Indiana Code Title 9, Traffic 

Code ONLY filed against an individual sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) years of age shall be filed in 

Superior Court No. 6 of Tippecanoe County. 

 

All cases in which Operating While Suspended with Prior Conviction, a Class A misdemeanor 

is the lead charge shall be filed in Superior Court No. 7. 

 

Civil cases intended to be subject to the small claims rules and jurisdictional limits, 

whether filed as SC or EV cases, shall be divided between Superior Court No. 4 and Superior 

Court No. 7, as follows: 

 

All SC cases involving landlord/tenant issues and EV (small claims) shall be 

filed in Superior Court No. 7. 

 

All SC cases involving issues other than landlord/tenant issues shall be filed in 

Superior Court No. 4. 

 

Civil cases involving landlord/tenant issues exceeding the small claims jurisdictional 

limit, whether filed as EV (civil) or other case type, shall be filed in Circuit Court, Superior 

Court, or Superior Court No. 2. 

All search warrants and 72 hour holds approved by the Tippecanoe County Magistrate shall 

be filed in Superior Court No. 4 of Tippecanoe County. 

 

All Class D felonies, Level 6 felonies, misdemeanors, and infractions alleging a violation of 

Indiana Code not specifically set forth in these rules shall be assigned to Superior Court No. 4, 

Superior Court No. 5 and Superior Court No. 7 of Tippecanoe County on a random basis according 

to the following ratio:. 

 

Court Ratio 

Superior Court No. 4 of Tippecanoe County 1 

Superior Court No. 5 of Tippecanoe County 1 

Superior Court No. 7 of Tippecanoe County 1 

Where it is alleged a defendant committed the offense of Escape or Failure to Return to 

Lawful Detention (I.C. 35-44.1-3-4) in violation of an order issued by a Tippecanoe County Court, 

the charge of Escape or Failure to Return to Lawful Detention shall be filed in the court which issued 

the order. 
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Where it is alleged a defendant committed the offense of Escape or Failure to Return to Lawful 

Detention (I.C. 35-44.1-3-4) in violation of an order issued by a court in any other county, state or 

jurisdiction, the charge of Escape or Failure to Return to Lawful Detention shall be filed in Tippecanoe 

Superior Court 5. 

 

Superior Court No. 3 of Tippecanoe County exercises juvenile jurisdiction only. All juvenile 

case types shall be filed in Superior Court No. 3. All MI case types involving Collaborative Care 

shall be filed in Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 3. All MI case types involving Petitions for Order 

Granting Minor Approval to Marry shall be filed in Superior Court No. 3 as a confidential case with 

payment of filing fees. No criminal cases shall be filed in Superior Court No. 

3. Cases wherein juvenile jurisdiction is waived shall be filed in accordance with LR79-AR 1 (County 

Caseload). 

When it is alleged that defendants jointly commit a crime or crimes and the most serious 

charge alleged is Murder, the cases shall be assigned together to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior 

Court of Tippecanoe County or Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County on a random basis in the 

ratio of 2:4:4 set forth above. 

 

Where it is alleged that defendants jointly commit a crime or crimes, and the most serious 

charge alleged is a Class A, B or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony, their cases shall be filed 

together in the same court. In any such cases where one or more of the defendants has a Class A, B 

or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony case pending or is serving a Class A, B, or C felony or a 

Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 sentence, whether executed or suspended, all the cases shall be filed in the court 

having jurisdiction of the oldest such prior case. Any case in which the most serious charge is a Class 

D felony, Level 6 felony, misdemeanor or infraction shall be filed as specified above, notwithstanding 

any charges against co-defendants. 

A judge, by appropriate order may transfer and reassign to any other court of record in the 

county, any pending case, subject to acceptance by the receiving court. 

 

A case transferred to Tippecanoe County by reason of change of venue from another county 

may be assigned to a court by agreement of the parties. In the absence of such an agreement, the case 

shall be filed in accordance with this Local Rule on Case Assignments. 

 

When the State of Indiana dismisses a case and chooses to re-file that case, the case shall be 

assigned to the court from which dismissal was taken. 

All petitions for civil orders of protection shall be filed initially in Superior Court No. 5 of 

Tippecanoe County. 

 

Petitions for dissolution of marriage in which a fee waiver is requested shall be filed in 

Superior Court No. 2. 

 

Petitions for Establishment of Paternity, Establishment/Enforcement of Child Support, Legal 

Separation to Establish Child Support, Reciprocal Support, Reciprocal Enforcement of Child Support 

(UIFSA), Modification of Support under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act, and/or 

Enforcement or Registration of Foreign Child Support Order initiated by State of Indiana IV-D Child 

Support Office shall be filed in Superior Court No. 3. 
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Petitions to expunge records under I.C. 35-38-9-1 shall be filed in the court in which the 

charges were filed under a new expungement (XP) cause without the payment of court costs, and if 

no charges were filed or the petition includes Section 1 requests from multiple courts, then said 

petitions shall be filed in Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 2 under a new expungement (XP) cause 

without the payment of court costs. 

 

Petitions to expunge misdemeanor convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-2, minor Class D or Level 

6 felony convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-3, less serious felony convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-4, and 

certain serious felony convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-5 shall be filed under a new expungement (XP) 

cause with the payment of court costs. Said petitions shall be filed in the court in which conviction 

was entered, unless the petition seeks to expunge causes from multiple courts, then the petition shall 

be filed in Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 2. The payment of court costs is required so long as the 

petition includes a request to expunge at least one conviction. 

 

Petitions to expunge records concerning a delinquent child or a child in need of services under 

I.C. 31-39-8 shall be filed in Superior Court 3 of Tippecanoe County in the original cause without 

payment of filing fees. Petitions to expunge substantiated reports of the Department of Child Services 

under I.C. 31-33-27-5 shall be filed in Superior Court No. 3 under a JM cause with payment of filing 

fees. Petitions to expunge juvenile records under I.C. 35-38-9-1 shall be filed in the original cause 

without payment of filing fees. 

 

The Presiding Judges of the Superior Courts 4, 5, 6 and 7 shall assign the Magistrate to serve 

any of the Tippecanoe Circuit or Superior Courts in a manner which provides greater assistance to 

the courts with greater caseloads. 

The Presiding Judge of Superior Court No. 3 of Tippecanoe County shall assign the Juvenile 

Magistrate to serve Superior Court No. 3 in a manner necessary to assist with the juvenile caseload. 

 

The Supervising Judge of Superior Court No. 3 of Tippecanoe County shall assign the IV-D 

Commissioner to serve Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior Court, Superior Court No. 2 and Superior 

Court No. 3 in a manner which provides assistance for caseloads involving the IV-D Child Support 

Office. All other civil cases, regardless of type, not otherwise mentioned herein, shall be filed in 

either Circuit Court, Superior Court 1, or Superior Court 2, except for civil cases designated DN 

which may also be filed in Superior Court No. 7 

 

Adopted Aug. 1, 2006, effective Jan. 1, 2007. Amended Nov. 30, 2007, effective Jan. 1, 2008; amended 

Jan. 6, 2010, effective Jan. 1, 2010; amended Oct. 10, 2011, effective retroactive to Jan. 1, 2011; 

amended effective September 1, 2012. Amended effective September 1, 2013. Amended effective July 

1, 2014. Amended effective July 1, 2015. Amended Effective April 1, 2017. Amended effective January 

1, 2020. Amended effective January 1, 2021, Amended effective June 1, 2022. 
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LR79-TR 5(E)-2 Filing 

A. Flat filing. All papers presented for filing with the Clerk or Court shall be flat and unfolded. 

 

B. Number of copies. All Orders submitted to the Court shall be in sufficient number so that the 

original and one copy may be retained by the clerk and a copy mailed to each party. 

 

C. Proposed orders required. The moving party, unless the Court directs otherwise, shall furnish the 

Court with proposed Orders in the following matters: motions for enlargement of time, for 

continuance, for default or default judgment, to compel discovery, for restraining order or injunction, 

for immediate possession of real estate or personal property, for appointment of receiver, for findings 

of fact and conclusions of law, for dismissal of an action, for judgment in a collection matter or 

mortgage or lien foreclosure, and in such other matters as the Court directs. 

 

LR79-TR 5(E)-3 Motion Hour 

If the Court conducts motion hour, the same shall be for the consideration of routine matters, 

procedural motions, setting dates for trials, pre-trial conferences, and hearings and for other matters 

which can ordinarily be heard without evidence or argument. Attorneys shall notify opposing counsel 

in advance before approaching the Judge at motion hour for any matter 

requiring action to be taken by the Court. 

 

LR79-TR 6(B)-4 Extensions of Time 

(1) Initial Extension. In a civil action where a party desires an initial 30 – day extension of time to 

file a responsive pleading or to respond to a discovery request, the party shall contact opposing 

counsel before the due date and solicit agreement to the extension. If there is no objection or opposing 

counsel cannot with due diligence be reached, the party seeking the extension shall file a notice with 

the Court reciting the lack of objection to the extension or that opposing counsel could not with due 

diligence be reached. No further filings with the Court nor action by the Court shall be required for 

the extension. If opposing counsel objects to the request for extension, the party seeking the extension 

shall file a formal motion for such extension and shall recite in the motion the efforts to obtain 

agreement. 

 

(2) Other extensions. Any other request for an extension of time, unless made in open Court or at a 

conference, shall be made by written motion. If opposing counsel objects to the request for 

extension, the party seeking the extension shall recite in the motion the effort to obtain agreement; 

or recite that there is no objection. 

 

(3) Due dates. Any notice or motion filed pursuant to this rule shall state the date such response was 

initially due and the date on which the response will be due after the extension. 

 

LR79-TR73-5 Telephone Conferencing 

A. Purpose. To expedite the Court’s business, the Court encourages telephone conferencing for the 

hearing of motions, for pre-trial and status conferences, and for other matters which may reasonably 

be conducted by telephone. 
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B. Hearing on motions or status conferences. Within five (5) days after receipt of notice of hearing 

on a motion, any party or attorney may request that the Court conduct the hearing by telephone 

conference with the Court. If the Court sets the hearing for telephone conference, the party requesting 

the telephone conference shall arrange and place the call, unless otherwise ordered by the Court. 

 

LR79-TR12-6 Motions 

A. Applicability. This rule shall apply to motions under Trial Rule 12, contested motions to 

continue hearings or trials, discovery motions, and any other contested motions. 

 

B. Briefs and Memoranda. Unless the procedure for a motion is governed otherwise by the Indiana 

Rules of Trial Procedure, an adverse party shall have fifteen (15) days after service of a motion in 

which to file a response, and the moving party shall have seven (7) days in which to file a reply. The 

court may in its discretion shorten or lengthen the time for a response or a reply. Failure to file a 

response or reply within the prescribed time shall subject such motions to summary ruling. Any party 

may request the court hold a hearing on a motion. 

 

C. Notice of hearing. If the movant procures a date for hearing on a motion, the movant shall 

promptly give notice to all adverse parties of the date and time of such scheduled hearing. 

 

LR79-TR-53.5-7 Continuances 

Before requesting a continuance of a matter, the moving party shall confer with the other parties to 

determine any objections and dates for rescheduling when all parties are available. Such objections 

and alternative dates shall be reported in the motion for continuance. 

LR79-TR-3.1-8 Withdrawal of Appearance 

Motions to withdraw an appearance shall be in writing with an attached notice to the client of intention 

to withdraw. The notice to the client of the intention to withdraw shall include an explanation to the 

client of (i) the present status of the case; (ii) the dates of scheduled hearings or other pending matters 

in the case; and (iii) the potential consequences to the client’s case resulting from failure of the client 

to act promptly or to secure new counsel. 

 

LR79-TR 77-9 Withdrawal of Original Records 

Original pleadings, papers, exhibits or other official materials in the custody of the Clerk, reporter 

or other officer of the Court shall not be withdrawn from the officer having custody thereof except 

upon (i) the Order of the Judge of the Court where the record is held, and (ii) upon leaving a proper 

receipt with the Clerk, reporter or officer. 



10  

LR79-CR 2.2-10 Case Reassignment and Special Judges in Criminal Cases 

In the event a change of judge is granted pursuant to Indiana Criminal Rule 12 or it becomes 

necessary to assign another judge in any felony or misdemeanor proceeding, the case shall be 

returned to the Clerk of court for random selection of another court from among all the courts in 

Tippecanoe County other than Superior Court No. 3. On selection, the case shall be reassigned by 

the Clerk to the selected court. 

 

In the event no judge is available for assignment or reassignment of a felony or a misdemeanor case, 

such case shall be certified to the Indiana Supreme Court for the appointment of a special judge. In 

the event the judge presiding in a felony or misdemeanor case concludes that the unique 

circumstances presented in such proceeding require appointment by the Indiana Supreme Court of a 

special judge, the presiding judge may request the Indiana Supreme Court for such appointment. 

Amended effective June 1, 2010. 

 

LR79-TR79-11 Special Judge Selection in Civil Cases 

Pursuant to Trial Rule 79, within seven (7) days of notation in the chronological Case Summary 

(CCS) of an order granting change of judge or an order of disqualification or recusal, the parties may 

agree to an eligible special judge by filing a written agreement with the court. Absent such an 

agreement, a special judge shall be appointed as follows. 

 

Juvenile Cases: To ensure the effective use of all judicial resources within this Administrative 

District, the juvenile court shall maintain a list of eligible judges including judges (1) regularly 

presiding over juvenile cases within this Administrative District and (2) judges from contiguous 

counties who have agreed to serve as special judge in juvenile cases. When required to assign a special 

judge pursuant to Trial Rule 79, the juvenile court shall assign a judge from said list on a rotating 

basis for juvenile cases excluding paternity or child support cases initiated by the State of Indiana IV- 

D Child Support Office.. 

 

All Other Civil Cases: To ensure the effective use of judicial resources within the administrative 

district, the Tippecanoe County Clerk, with the assistance from the Tippecanoe County Department 

of Information Technology shall maintain a computer generated random selection list of eligible 

judges including (1) the seven (7) judges of Tippecanoe County(not having exclusive juvenile 

jurisdiction), (2) judges regularly presiding within the Administrative district, and (3) judges from 

other contiguous counties who have agreed to serve as special judge. Whenever a special judge needs 

to be assigned pursuant to Trial Rule 79, the court shall direct that a judge be randomly selected from 

said list in the following order: first from judges in Tippecanoe County, second from judges within 

the Administrative District and last from judges in other contiguous counties. 

 

In cases where no judge is eligible to serve as special judge, or where the particular circumstances 

warrant selection of a special judge by the Indiana Supreme Court, the judge of the court where the 

case is pending shall promptly submit certification of such to the Indiana Supreme Court. 

 

Adopted June 23, 2010, effective June 1, 2010; Amended effective Jan. 1, 2012; Amended effective 

April 1, 2013. Amended effective January 1, 2021. 
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LR-79-AD28-Rule 12 Alcohol and Drug Program Fees 

 
Pursuant to I.C. 12-23-14-16 and the Indiana Rules for Court Administered Alcohol and Drug 

Programs, Rule 28, the Tippecanoe County Probation Department may collect fees from participants 

of the Tippecanoe County Alcohol and Drug Program as follows: 

 

Alcohol and Drug Evaluation $200.00 

Case Management $150.00 

Transfer Fee $100.00 

2nd Case before 1st Case closed $100.00 

1st Reschedule Fee $25.00 

2nd Reschedule Fee $100.00 

Amended effective May 1, 2012. Amended effective August 1, 2015. Amended effective April 1, 2017. 

 

LR79-AR15-13 Court Reporter Services 

 
Section One. Definitions The following definitions shall apply under this local rule: 

(1) A Court Reporter is a person who is specifically designated by a court to perform the official 

court reporting services for the court including preparing a transcript of the record. 

(2) Equipment means all physical items owned by the court or other governmental entity and used 

by a court reporter in performing court reporting services. Equipment shall include, but not 

limited to, telephones, computer hardware, software programs, disks, tapes, and any other 

device used for recording and storing, and transcribing electronic data. 

 

(3) Work space means that portion of the court’s facilities dedicated to each court reporter, 

including but not limited to actual space in the courtroom and any designated office space. 

(4) Page means the page unit of transcript which results when a recording is transcribed in the form 

required by Indiana Rule of Appellate Procedure 7.2, and includes the index and table of contents 

pages. 

(5) Recording means the electronic, mechanical, stenographic, digital, or other recording made as 

required by Indiana Rule of Trial Procedure 74. 

(6) Regular hours worked means those hours which the court is regularly scheduled to work during 

any given work week. Depending on the particular court, these hours may vary from court to 

court within the county but remain the same for each work week. 

(7) Gap hours worked means those hours worked that are in excess of the regular hours worked but 

hours not in excess of forty (40) hours per work week. 

(8) Overtime hours worked means those hours worked in excess of forty (40) hours per work 

(9) Workweek means a seven (7) consecutive day week that consistently begins and ends on the 

same days throughout the year; i.e. Sunday through Saturday, Wednesday through Tuesday, 

Friday through Thursday. 
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(10) Court means the particular court for which the court reporter performs services. Court may also 

mean all of the courts in Tippecanoe County. 

(11) County indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from county funds and is for the 

use on behalf of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court. 

(12) State indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from state funds and is for the use on 

behalf of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court. 

(13) Private transcript means a transcript, including but not limited to a deposition transcript that is 

paid for by a private party. 

Section Two. Salaries and Per Page Fees 

(1) Court Reporters shall be paid an annual salary for time spent working under the control, 

direction and direct supervision of their supervising court during any regular work hours, gap 

hours or overtime hours. The supervising court shall enter into a written agreement with the 

court reporters which outlines the manner in which the court reporter is to be compensated for 

gap and overtime hours; i.e. monetary compensation or compensatory time off regular work 

hours. 

(2) Court reporters may contract to prepare transcripts outside the hours in which their attendance is 

required and outside hours they perform other work pursuant to their employment relationship. 

(a) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a county 

indigent transcript shall be $5.00. The court reporter shall submit a claim to the court 

reporter of Superior Court 2, or as otherwise directed by the their supervising Judge, who 

shall submit the claim to the county for the preparation of any county indigent transcripts. 

The ancillary court department shall have the responsibility of maintaining the budget for 

county indigent transcripts. 

 

(b) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a state 

indigent transcript shall be $5.00. The court reporter shall submit the invoice for state 

indigent transcripts directly to the state. 

 

(c) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a private 

transcript shall be $5.00. The court reporter shall submit the invoice for private transcripts 

directly to the attorney or party requesting the transcription. A deposit in the amount of the 

estimated work shall be required from the attorney or party making a private transcript 

request. 

(d) Request for expedited transcript to be prepared within 24 hours must be limited to 50 pages 

and shall be charged at the rate of $8.50 per page. Request for expedited transcript to be 

prepared within 5 days must be limited to 150 pages and shall be charged at a rate of $7.50 

per page. Any request over 150 pages to be completed within 15 days shall be considered 

expedited and shall be charged at the rate of $10.00 per page. Any other expedited rates may 

be approved by the Judge of the Court in which the proceeding originates. 

(e) An additional labor charge of $25.00 may be assessed for preparation of each volume and or 

binder which includes the cost of all office supplies and electronic submission if required. 
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(f) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for additional copies of a transcript 

(state indigent or private) shall be $1.00. The court reporter shall submit the invoice for the 

additional transcript copy directly to the attorney or party requesting the copy. 

(3)  Each court reporter shall report, at least on an annual basis, all transcript fees received for the 

preparation of county indigent, state indigent or private transcripts to the Indiana Supreme Court 

Office of Court Administration. The reporting shall be made on forms prescribed by the Office 

of Court Administration. 

(4)  A late fee of up to $25.00 may be assessed against any private pay transcript in the event 

payment is not made within 10 days from the date of the Notice of Filing of Transcript. 

Section Three. Private Practice 

(1)  If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition and/or 

preparing of a deposition transcript, and the court reporter desires to utilize the court’s equipment, 

work space and supplies, and the court agrees to the use of the court equipment for such purpose, 

the court and the court reporter shall enter into a written agreement which must, at a minimum, 

designate the following: 

 

(a) The reasonable market rate for the use of equipment, work space and supplies; 

(b) The method by which records are to be kept for the use of equipment, work space and 

supplies; and 

(c) The method by which the court reporter is to reimburse the court for the use of the 

equipment, work space and supplies. 

 

(2)  If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition 

and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, all such private practice work shall be conducted 

outside of regular working hours. 

 

(Amended and approved effective April 7, 2017; and further amended effective January 1, 2020) 

 

LR79-AR15-14 Assigned Counsel and Guardian Ad Litem Fees 

1. Assigned Counsel Fees 

a. Assigned counsel in pauper cases shall be paid by the court at the rate of $90.00 per hour, 

or at the rate required to continue receiving reimbursement from the Public Defense Fund, 

whichever is greater, unless state law requires a different rate of payment. 

b. Assigned counsel shall submit verified, itemized claims using units of time no larger than 

one-quarter hour, detailing the work for which they seek payment. 

2. Guardian Ad Litem Fees 

a. The order appointing a guardian ad litem shall specify the guardian's hourly fee, the 

amount of the retainer, and the allocation of the guardian's fee between the parties. 

b. Guardians ad litem may agree with the parties to a case upon the fee they will charge. 
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c. If there is a written agreement signed by the parties, or a court order entered at the time of 

appointment establishing the guardian's fees, the court will approve an agreed fee no greater 

than $200.00 per hour. 

d. A fee established by court order entered at the time of appointment or by written 

agreement may be enforced by judgment and supplemental proceedings. 

e. In the absence of a written agreement or court order entered at the time of appointment, 

the court shall enforce payment at the assigned counsel rate established by section 1 (a) of 

this order. 

f. If the guardian is unable to collect his or her fee from the parties, the guardian may apply 

for payment to the court. The court shall then conduct a hearing to determine if the delinquent 

party is indigent. If the court finds that the delinquent party is indigent, the court shall order 

payment of the guardian's fee from the Family Relations Fund. The payment from the Family 

Relations Fund shall be calculated by multiplying the total hours billed by the guardian by 

the assigned counsel rate and subtracting the total amount previously received by the 

guardian. 

 

LR79-JR4-15 Local Rule Regarding Jury Rules 

Pursuant to the Order of the Supreme Court of Indiana, adopted December 31, 2001, and amended July 

19, 2002, amending the Indiana Jury Rules, and in the exercise of its inherent authority to supervise 

the administration of all courts of this state, this Local Rule is adopted and promulgated. 

 

Jury Rule 4, Notice of Selection of Jury Pool and Summons for Jury Service, mandates that the Judges 

of the Courts of Record of Tippecanoe County select by Local Rule, one of the two procedures 

outlined therein for summoning jurors. 

 

The Judges of the Courts of Record of Tippecanoe County, being duly advised, hereby promulgate 

this Local Rule adopting the two-tier notice and summons system described in Jury Rule 4. The 

jury qualification form and notice will be the first tier and summoning the prospective juror at least 

one week before service will be the second tier. 

 

The Bailiff of each court of record, as well as the Clerk of Tippecanoe County, is hereby designated 

as a Jury Administrator. 
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LR79-CR26-16.  Bail Schedule 

 
Unless otherwise ordered by a judicial officer, the Sheriff of Tippecanoe County is hereby ordered to 

follow this bail schedule for the setting of bail for all persons arrested without warrants for criminal 

offenses committed in Tippecanoe County: 

 

 
OFFENSE CLASS 

 
CASH AMOUNT   + 

 
SURETY AMOUNT 

 
Murder 

 
No Bond 

 
No Bond 

 
Level 1 felony 

 
$10,000 

 
$100,000 

 
Level 2 felony 

 
$2,500 

 
$25,000 

 
Level 3 felony 

 
$1,500 

 
$15,000 

 
Level 4 felony 

 
$1,000 

 
$10,000 

 
Level 5 felony 

 
$500 

 
$5,000 

 
Level 6 felony 

 
$500 

 

 
Misdemeanors 

 
$250 

 

 

Escape (F6) 

Failure to Register (F6) 

  

 

$5,000 surety only 

 

Persons arrested for Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felonies must pay the CASH AMOUNT and the SURETY 

AMOUNT shown above. The CASH AMOUNT shown above represents a 10% cash bond amount 

paid if posted through the Clerk with an executed Agreement on Disposition of Bonds. 

 

A. Multiple offenses. If a person is arrested for allegedly committing more than one offense, 

bail shall be in the amount established for the most serious offense. 

 

B. Posting Bond. The total surety and total cash (100% of cash – not 10% cash) amounts may 

be paid in full with cash only or surety bond only, unless otherwise ordered by a judicial officer. 

Property bonds must first be approved by a Judge. When a 10% cash bond is posted with the Clerk, 

the arrested person and depositor must sign an Agreement on Disposition of cash bond, and the 10% 

cash bond must be posted in the arrested person’s name only. Upon non-filing, dismissal, or acquittal, 

the 10% cash bond posted may be returned less publicly paid costs of representation and the 

administration fee. Otherwise, after the sentencing of an arrested person, the 10% cash bond will be 

retained by the Clerk to pay public defender fees, restitution, court costs, fines or other fees ordered by 

the Court. 
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C. No bond until seen by judicial officer. This bail schedule shall not be used for any person 

arrested for committing an offense, attempting to commit an offense, or conspiracy to commit an 

offense, listed below: 

 

 

Child Molesting 

Child Solicitation 

Rape 

Criminal Deviate Conduct 

Vicarious Sexual Gratification 

Sexual Conduct in Presence of Minor 

Child Exploitation 

Child Seduction 

Sexual Battery 

Kidnapping of Minor 

Criminal Confinement of Minor 

Possession of Child Pornography 

Promoting Prostitution 

Promoting Human Trafficking of Minor 

Sexual Misconduct with a Minor 

Incest 

In these cases, the amount and conditions of bail will be set by a judicial officer following a bail 

hearing in open court not more than forty-eight (48) hours after the person has been arrested, except 

if the person is arrested when the courthouse is closed, then the bail hearing will be held on the next 

working day. The Sheriff shall notify the Magistrate’s Court and the Prosecuting Attorney’s Office 

of any persons held without bail pursuant to this provision. 

D. No-Contact Order and 12 Hour Hold Required. If a person is arrested for a “crime of 

domestic violence,” a crime of violence (other than a driving offense) resulting in bodily injury to a 

victim, or a crime listed below, the person shall be detained for twelve (12) hours without the 

opportunity to post bond. 

 

Battery resulting in bodily injury 

Aggravated Battery 

Domestic Battery 

Criminal Recklessness resulting in bodily injury 

Criminal Recklessness with a firearm 

Strangulation 

Criminal Confinement 

Custody Interference 

Intimidation 

Harassment 

Stalking 

Invasion of Privacy 
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After the expiration of twelve (12) hours, the person may be released upon the posting of bond in the 

amount set forth in the bond schedule above, and by signing and agreeing to follow a “10 DAY NO- 

CONTACT ORDER AS A CONDITION OF PRE-TRIAL RELEASE” as to the alleged victim(s), as 

set forth in Appendix A below. The person shall not be released without their signature, even if they 

post the monetary bond. When the person is released, the Sheriff shall provide notification to any 

alleged victims if so requested. 

 

E. Exceptions to the bond schedule. All persons living outside Tippecanoe County or its 

adjacent counties (including Benton, Carroll, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery, Warren and White) must 

post bond pursuant to the bail schedule above. However, the following exceptions apply to persons 

living in Tippecanoe County and its adjacent counties: 

 

1. Public Intoxication: Hold 12 hours, then release on own recognizance if not impaired. 

 

2. Operating While Intoxicated or Operating Over Legal Limit (Misdemeanor): Hold for 

time period specified below, then release on own recognizance. Felony charges related 

to Operating While Intoxicated or Operating Over the Legal Limit shall be held to the 

same retention schedule prior to any release on bond. Any charges involving operating 

with a controlled substance other than alcohol shall be held a minimum of twelve hours 

prior to any release. If a certified test result is unavailable for reasons other than a 

refusal, the jail staff may determine the hold time pursuant to this rule by administering 

a portable breath test. 

 

BAC HOLD TIME 

.08 - .099 6  hours 

.10 - .119 7  hours 

.12 - .139 8  hours 

.14 - .169 9  hours 

.17 - .179 11  hours 

.18 - .199 12  hours 

.20 - .209 13 hours 

.21 - .229 14 hours 

.23 - .239 16 hours 

.24 - .249 16 hours 

.25 - .259 17 hours 

.26 - .279 18 hours 

.28 - .289 19 hours 

.29 - .299 20 hours 

.30 or greater 

or Breath Test 

Refusal 

without 

Chemical test 

results 

24 hours 
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3. Minor Consuming (Class C Misdemeanor), Possession of Marijuana (Class A and Class 

B Misdemeanor), Possession of Paraphernalia (Class A and Class B Misdemeanor): If not 

impaired at time of arrest, book-in and immediately release on own recognizance. If impaired 

or actively using at the time of arrest, book-in, hold a minimum of four hours (and longer if still 

impaired after four hours) and then release on own recognizance. 

4. Operating While Suspended (Class A Misdemeanor), Operating While Never Receiving 

a License (Class C Misdemeanor), Theft (Class A Misdemeanor), or Criminal Conversion 

(Class A Misdemeanor): Release on own recognizance. 

F. Deviations from Bail Schedule. 

1. Before Initial Hearing: A judicial officer may deviate from the Bail 

Schedule, or order that the arrested person be held without bail until seen by a 

judicial officer, upon reviewing a verified motion concerning safety or flight, 

or upon evidence of medical or mental health need presented by the sheriff, 

arresting officer, attorney, and/or prosecutor. 

2. At Initial Hearing: A judicial officer may deviate from the Bail Schedule, anmay 

order other conditions of pre-trial release, including pursuant to the Pre-Trial 

Release Program outlined in Subsection I, after considering evidence at the 

Initial Hearing. 

 

3.  After Initial Hearing: Once a judicial officer has set the amount of bail or other 

conditions of pre-trial release after the Initial Hearing, motions to modify the 

order shall be presented to the respective court in writing, and proper notice of 

the hearing shall be given to the parties and attorneys of record. 

 

G. Waiver from Juvenile Court. When a child is waived to adult court, the initial bail amount 

set in the juvenile court shall remain in effect unless and until it is modified in the adult court. 

 

H. Conditions of Pre-Trial Release. Whether released after posting bond, or released on their 

own recognizance, the arrested person’s pre-trial release is conditioned upon maintaining good and 

lawful behavior, appearing in court for all court appearances, informing the respective court in writing of 

any change of address within 48 hours, not using or possessing illegal drugs or alcohol, and complying 

with all other conditions of pre-trial release set by a judicial officer. For all Class A, B, and C felony 

and Level 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 offenses, the arrested person may not leave the State of Indiana without prior 

approval of the court. A violation of any condition of pre-trial release may result in the court revoking 

the arrested person’s bond and the issuing a warrant for arrest. 

 

I. Pre-Trial Release Program. In accordance with Rule 26 of the Indiana Rules of 

Criminal Procedure, and so long as funding is available, Tippecanoe County shall perform pre-

trial release screenings to assist in bail and pre-trial release decisions. Said decisions shall be 

made by a judicial officer at or before an initial hearing and are not restricted by any other 

provisions of the Bail Schedule set out herein. All participants in pre-trial release under this 

subsection shall abide by all conditions of Subsection H of LR79-CR00-Rule 16. BAIL 

SCHEDULE. Pre-trial release decisions under this section shall be governed by the following 

provisions: 
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1. Eligible Defendants: Arrested individuals eligible for screening must voluntarily 

agree to participate in the screening process and shall include all individuals arrested 

in Tippecanoe County for non-violent misdemeanor 

and/or felony offenses excluding: a) Offenses listed in Ind. Code 35-50-1-2, 11-8-8-

4.5, and/or 11-8-8-5; offenses ineligible for direct placement on a community 

corrections program, and or offenses of Escape or Failure to Return to Lawful 

Detention; b) Any felony offense that has the use of a firearm or deadly weapon as an 

essential element or aggravating circumstance; 

 

c) Any Defendant currently on parole, probation, or pre-trial release for an offense 

prohibited by this rule; d) Any felony enhanced by the general Habitual Offender 

Statute; e) Any offender currently subject to the jurisdiction of any problem-solving 

court. 

 

2. Screening Procedure: Screeners shall be employees of Tippecanoe County and/or 

Tippecanoe County Community Corrections and shall perform screening on all newly 

arrested Eligible Defendants in the Tippecanoe County Jail. Screening shall be 

performed Monday through Friday, in advance of the Defendant’s initial hearing 

before the Magistrate. The Screening process may include a pre-trial questionnaire, the 

Pre-Trial IRAS, the Brief Jail Mental Health Screen, the Correctional Mental Health 

Screen, and/or other evidence base screening approved by the Magistrate or Elected 

Judicial Officers of Tippecanoe County. The screeners shall prepare a Risk Report 

which may include answers to the pre-trial questionnaire, the results of any evidence-

based screening tools, criminal history information, and/or failure to appear history. 

Said report shall be discoverable to the parties but shall not be accessible to the public. 

 

3. Admissibility: Pursuant to Rule 26 of the Indiana Rules of Criminal Procedure, except 

as outlined in Rule 26 (D)(2) of the Indiana Rules of Criminal Procedure, evidence of 

an arrestee’s statements and evidence derived from those statements made for use in 

preparing the pre-trial questionnaire, any of the assessment tools outlined herein, and/or 

the Risk Report are not admissible against the arrestee, in any criminal or civil 

proceeding, and may not be used in any other court except in a pretrial proceeding. The 

screening tools administered to the Eligible Defendants outlined herein shall not be 

disclosed to the parties without a court order, shall be maintained by Tippecanoe County 

Community Corrections, and may be destroyed one (1) year after the Defendant’s 

release from the Pre-Trial Program consistent with the retention schedule for records 

related to Work Release and/or Home Detention. 

 

4. Scope of Program: Release conditions may include: release on a Defendant’s own 

recognizance, with or without additional conditions; placement on Tippecanoe County 

Community Corrections; cash, surety, or property bond; and/or any other conditions of bail, 
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bond, or pre-trial release authorized by law. Tippecanoe County Community Corrections is 

authorized to collect data on this program, provide services related to this program, and/or 

perform any other functions related to this program as may be required by any funding sources, 

grants, or as authorized by the Judges of Tippecanoe County. 

 

5. Violations: Violations of any conditions of pre-trial release in this program shall be 

addressed by the filing of a written motion of the violation, prepared by any agency 

supervising the Defendant’s Pre-trial release, in the court where the Defendant’s case is 

pending. Upon filing of said written notice, the State may file a written notice to revoke 

or modify any conditions of the Defendant’s pre-trial release. The State may file a 

motion to revoke or modify pre-trial release irrespective of the filing of any written 

notice. Nothing in this Rule shall be read to limit the Court’s legal authority to address 

violations, issue warrants, modify conditions, and/or revoke release consistent with all 

applicable rules of law and procedure. The State may file a motion seeking to have pre-

trial release revoked upon filing of any notice from Tippecanoe County Community 

Corrections or without notice. 

 

6. Purpose: The purpose of the Pre-Trial Release Program outlined herein is to assess the 

risk posed by the release of individuals booked into the Tippecanoe County jail on a 

criminal charge, to set appropriate conditions and supervision of those who are released 

under the authority of the program, and to promote earlier identification of individuals 

suffering from mental health and/or addictions. 

J. No Admittance to Bail for DNA Collection Refusal 

 

No felony arrestee may be released on recognizance or admitted to bail upon a refusal to 

cooperate with the DNA collection procedures required by I.C. §10-13-6-10. Upon 

cooperating with DNA collection procedures, the arrestee may be released on recognizance 

or admitted to bail as per the pre-trial release program and bail schedule. 

Adopted April 1, 2013, effective April 1, 2013. Amended effective July 1, 2014. Amended effective 

January 1, 2020. Amended effective January 1, 2021. 
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LR79-CR00-1 Speedy Trial Requests 

 

All requests for an early trial pursuant to Rule 4 of the Indiana Rules of Criminal Procedure must be 

made in writing and, if defendant is represented by counsel, must be made in writing by counsel of 

record. Oral motions requesting an early trial pursuant to Rule 4 of the Indiana Rules of Criminal 

Procedure shall be denied if not also accompanied with an appropriate written motion as required 

herein. 

 

LR79-AR00-17. Evidence Handling, Retention and Disposition. 

 

A. Retention and Destruction of Evidence - APPLICATION OF RULE. These Rules shall apply to 

the retention of evidence by Tippecanoe Circuit and Superior Courts unless the Court directs a longer 

retention period after motion by any party or on its own motion. 

 

B. Retention Periods for Evidence introduced in Civil Proceedings Including Adoption, Paternity 

and Juvenile Proceedings, but not including Ordinance Violation or Infraction Proceedings. All 

models, diagrams, documents, or material admitted in evidence or pertaining to the case placed in 

the custody of the court reporter as exhibits shall be taken away by the parties offering them in 

evidence, except as otherwise ordered by the court, four (4) months after the case is decided unless 

an appeal is taken. If an appeal is taken, all such exhibits shall be retained by the court reporter for 

two (2) years from termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent appeal and termination, 

whichever is later. The Court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, 

shorthand or stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

 

C. Retention Periods for Evidence Introduced in Ordinance Violation, Infraction, Criminal 

Misdemeanor, Class D and Class C, Level 4, Level 5, Level 6 Felonies and Attempts. All models, 

diagrams, documents, or material admitted in evidence or pertaining to the case placed in the custody 

of the court reporter as exhibits shall be taken away by the parties offering them in evidence, except 

as otherwise ordered by the court, three (3) years after the case is dismissed, the defendant found not 

guilty, or the defendant is sentenced, unless an appeal is taken, If an appeal is taken, all such exhibits 

shall be retained by the court reporter for three (3) years from termination of the appeal, retrial, or 

subsequent appeal and termination, whichever is later, unless an action challenging the conviction or 

sentence, or post-conviction action, is pending. The Court reporter shall retain the mechanical or 

electronic records or tapes, shorthand or stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. 

 

D. Retention Periods for Evidence Introduced in Criminal Class A, Class B, Level 1, Level 2, Level 

3 Felonies, Murder and Attempts. All models, diagrams, documents, or material admitted in evidence 

or pertaining to the case placed in the custody of the court reporter as exhibits shall be taken away by 

the parties offering them in evidence, except as otherwise ordered by the court, twenty (20) years 

after the case is dismissed, the defendant found not guilty, or the defendant is sentenced, unless an 

appeal is taken. If an appeal is taken, all such exhibits shall be retained by the court reporter for twenty 

(20) years from termination of the appeal, retrial, or subsequent appeal and termination, whichever is 

later, unless an action challenging the conviction or sentence, or post- conviction action, is pending. 

The court reporter shall retain the mechanical or electronic records or tapes, shorthand or 

stenographic notes as provided in Administrative Rule 7. Courts should be encouraged to photograph 

as much evidence as possible and courts and parties reminded of the requirements of Appellate Rule 29(B). 
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E. Non-documentary and Oversized Exhibits. Non-documentary and oversized exhibits shall not be 

sent to the Appellate level Court but shall remain in the custody of the trial court during the appeal. 

Such exhibits shall be briefly identified in the Transcript where they were admitted into evidence. 

Photographs of any exhibit may be included in the volume of documentary exhibits. Under no 

circumstances should drugs, currency or other dangerous or valuable items be included in appellate 

records. 

 

F. Notification and Disposition. 

 

(1) In all cases, the court shall provide notice, by mail, electronic mail, or as otherwise 

provided, herein, to all attorneys of record and to parties only if unrepresented by counsel, that 

the evidence will be destroyed within 45 days from the date of notice if not timely retrieved. 

Counsel and parties have the duty to keep the Court informed of their current addresses and 

notice to the last current address shall be sufficient. Court reporters should maintain a log of 

retained evidence and scheduled disposition dates and evidence should be held in a secure area. 

At the time of removal, a detailed receipt must be given to the court reporter by the party 

receiving and removing the evidence and the receipt will be made part of the court file. 

 

(2) The notice referred to above, for all cases filed prior to the effective date of this Rule, 

may be actual notice, if possible issued at the time of a final disposition in the case or, if a final 

disposition has been entered prior to the effective date of this Rule, at the time the evidence is 

scheduled for destruction. In the event it is not possible to give notice of destruction, the Court 

shall annually issue notice of intent to destroy evidence by posting at the County Courthouse. 

 

(3) Evidence which is not retaken after notice and expiration of the applicable retention 

period should be disposed of by the Sheriff, or his agent, on the Court’s Order. Paper 

evidence may be shredded by Court staff. The Sheriff should be ordered to destroy evidence 

if its possession is illegal or if it has negligible value. Evidence of some value may be 

auctioned by the Sheriff with proceeds going to the county general fund. These Rules and 

their retention periods will take precedence over inconsistent language in statutes, i.e. I.C. 

35-33-5-5 (c)(2). 

 

(4) Notwithstanding any provision of this rule to the contrary, the Judges of the Tippecanoe 

Circuit and Superior Courts shall have the authority to order the destruction of any evidence 

that is compromised by age, damage, lack of case identifiers or inadvertent destruction. 

 

(5) Nothing in this rule prevents the court reporter from immediately disposing of any 

documentary exhibits after they have been electronically imaged. 

 

G. Biological Contaminated or Firearm Evidence. A party who offers biologically 

contaminated or firearm evidence must file a pretrial notice with the trial court and serve all 

the parties so that the Court can consider the issue and rule appropriately before trial. A party 

can show the evidence or pass photographs of it to jurors. But no such evidence, however 

contained, shall be handled or passed to jurors, or sent to the jury room. 
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LR79-AR00-18. Cameras and Audio-Video Recording 

 

There shall be no audio or video recording of any kind of any proceedings or activity within any 

courtroom, hearing room or court office in Tippecanoe County without the specific, individual 

permission of the judicial officer in charge of that proceeding, activity, courtroom, hearing room or 

court office. This prohibition does not apply to the official court reporter recording the court 

proceedings as required. 

 

Anyone found to be violating, or to have violated this rule may: (1) have the recording device 

confiscated, and/or (2) be found in direct contempt of court. 
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APPENDIX A 

 

10 DAY NO-CONTACT ORDER 

AS A CONDITION OF PRE-TRIAL RELEASE 

 

The Arrested Person listed above has been arrested for committing a violent crime 

resulting in bodily injury to another person, a crime of domestic violence, or other 

crime concerning the safety of another person. As a condition of their release from 

jail, the Arrested Person shall have no contact with the Protected Person listed below, 

effective immediately, and lasting for ten (10) days after being released from jail. 

This order is issued in accordance with Tippecanoe County Local Rule 16 and Indiana 

Code 35-3-8-3.6. 

 

To be read and initialed by the Arrested Person: 

   For 10 days after my release from jail, I cannot have any contact with the 

Protected Person, directly or indirectly, even if they contact me first, and even if they 

tell me that it is okay. 

    “No contact” means that I cannot be within the eyesight of the Protected 

Person, their home, or any other place where I know they will likely be located. It also 

means that I cannot contact the Protected Person by telephone, text, correspondence, 

fax, Facebook, or any other means, even while I am in jail. 

    I cannot use or possess alcohol or illegal controlled substances while this 

matter is pending. 

    I cannot possess any firearms, ammunition or other dangerous weapons while this 

matter is pending, and I will surrender any such items to law enforcement for 

safekeeping until this matter is resolved. 

    If I intentionally violate this 10 Day No-Contact Order As A Condition Of Pre- 

Trial Release, my bond may be revoked (meaning I may be held in jail until my case 

is resolved) and/or I may be charged with a separate crime of Invasion of Privacy. 

I understand and agree to the above conditions. 
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TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT COURT PROBATE RULES 

LR79-PR-1 Scope and Title 

1.1 These Rules shall apply in the Tippecanoe Circuit Court (hereafter referenced as “the 

Court”) and shall be applicable as guidelines in all probate matters. 

 

1.2 These Rules are intended to be interpreted consistent with State statutes and any 

applicable regulations and Indiana Common Law as now existing and as may hereafter 

develop. 

1.3 These Rules shall be known as the “Tippecanoe Circuit Court Probate Rules” and are 

occasionally referenced herein as “these rules” 

 

LR79-PR-2 Access to Court and Representation 

2.1 The Court maintains regular business hours of 8:00 a.m. – Noon and 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m., 

Monday through Friday and is open to the public. Motion Hour is conducted on Mondays, 
Wednesdays, and Fridays from 8:30 -9::00 a.m., unless pre-empted due to a trial. Motion Hour is the 

time set aside by the Court to schedule contested hearings and consider routine motions. Counsel is 

encouraged to contact opposing counsel to arrange a mutually agreeable date and time to meet at 

Motion Hour rather than ask the court to order counsel to appear. Matters relevant to these rules (such 

as estates, guardianships, and adoptions) are complicated proceedings normally requiring the 

assistance of an attorney. Therefore, these Rules are adopted in the belief that an experienced attorney 

will represent parties before the Court. The Court and its employees cannot give legal advice or refer 

unrepresented persons to attorneys. 

2.2 All probate filings shall be typewritten or word processed and shall be consistent with 

these rules. Any deviation from these rules shall be brought to the Court’s attention when 

any document is submitted. When documents are filed by mail, or left with the Court for 

filing, a self-addressed, stamped envelope shall be included for return of documents unless 

other arrangements for document return are made. 

 

2.3 Routine pleadings such as Inventories, Inheritance Tax Schedules, and Final Reports may 

be filed with the Probate Commissioner for transmittal to the Court. Pro-forma hearings 

may also be set with the Commissioner. 

LR79-PR-3 Notice 

3.1 Whenever notice by publication or written notice by U.S. Mail is required to be given, 

the attorney shall prepare such notice and mailing envelopes (including postage) and 

shall ensure that such notice is properly published or served. In all respects, the notice 

shall comply with all statutory requirements. It shall be the attorney’s responsibility to 

ascertain and provide adequate proof that notice was properly served prior to bringing a 

matter to Court or that notice will be properly served as part of any proceeding. 
3.2 Copies of petitions shall be sent to interested parties along with all notices of hearings. 

3.3 Notice of the opening of an estate shall be sent by First Class United States Mail to all 
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reasonably ascertainable creditors; however, the use of certified mail, return receipt requested, 

to serve such notice is recommended. 

 

3.4 Notice of the hearing to be held on a Petition to determine if an Estate is insolvent shall 

be served on all interested parties, including the local representative of the Inheritance 

Tax Division of the Indiana Department of Revenue. 

 

LR79-PR-4 Bonds 

4.1 Bonds are required by statute in some circumstances. If discretionary, the Court intends 

to exercise that discretion for the protection of creditors, heirs, legatees or devisees, or 

other interested individuals or entities. 

 

4.2 Existing law requiring bond includes circumstances where the Will requires the 

execution and filing of a bond or the Court finds that a bond is necessary (see I.C. 29-1- 

11-1). 

 

4.3 A non-resident individual or corporate fiduciary serving jointly with a resident personal 

representative or a non-resident individual qualifying to serve as a personal 

representative or a personal representative who becomes a non-resident of Indiana (see 

I.C. 29-1-10-1) requires that a bond be filed. 

 

4.4 If the filing or amount of a bond is discretionary with the Court, the Court will consider 

factors such as provisions of decedent’s will and any consent filed by a creditor or heir, 

or other interested party regarding the amount or conditions of bond. 

 

LR79-PR-5 Inventory 

5.1 In supervised and unsupervised estates the personal representative shall within two 

months after the appointment of a personal representative furnish a copy of an Inventory 

complying with the requirements of I.C. 29-1-7.5-3.2 or I.C. 29-1-12-1 et. seq. to 

interested persons who request it unless the original of the Inventory or any supplement 

or amendment to it is filed with the court. 

 

LR79-PR-6 Confidentiality 

6.1 Most probate actions are matters of public record and the files thereof are open to review 

by the general public, subject to excluded and confidential information such as Indiana 

Tax Returns and reports thereon. Unless required by law or dictated by circumstances of 

the case, filings with the court need not include dates of birth, social security numbers, or 

other information which is not necessary for probate administration. 
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LR79-PR-7 Time Guidelines 

7.1 Orderly administration of estates requires at a minimum compliance with notice 

requirements, such as notice to creditors and preparing an inventory and timely 

preparation of an inheritance tax return to entitle the estate to a discount for payment of 

inheritance tax within nine months of a decedent’s death. Unless there is unavoidable 

delay in estate administration related to sale or making distribution of assets like real 

estate or a unique asset owned by a decedent or tax related matters such as awaiting an 

inheritance tax or estate tax closing letter, most estates should be concluded within one 

year. 

 

7.2 Closing Estates: 

 

7.21 Unsupervised Administration: Unless otherwise ordered by Court in a particular 

proceeding, closing statements complying with requirements of I.C. 29-1-7.5-4 

are sufficient to result in closing an estate. Any objections thereto will be 

scheduled for hearing. No orders approving closing statements will routinely be 

provided. 

 

7.22 Supervised Estates: As part of the closing process, the Court will accept 

Affidavits in Lieu of Vouchers. 

 

LR79-PR-8 Guardianships 

8.0 A Guardianship Registry Information Sheet shall accompany all requests to 

establish guardianship. 

 

8.1 In guardianship matters seeking to declare an adult incapacitated for any reason, the 

incapacitated person shall be present at the hearing or sufficient evidence shall be 

presented showing that notice of the hearing was given and that the incapacitated person 

is unable to appear. 

 

8.2 In guardianship matters seeking to declare an adult incapacitated for any reason, a report 

or similar statement or document from the doctor treating the alleged incapacitated 

person, or such additional evidence as the Court shall require, shall be presented to the 

Court at the time the petition is filed or on the hearing date. No determination will be 

made without a supporting medical report or other evidence clearly demonstrating the 

reasons supporting the need for a guardianship. 

 

8.3 An inventory of property within a guardian’s control shall be filed within ninety (90) days 

after the guardian’s appointment or within thirty (30) days of the appointment of a 

temporary guardian. A verified account of the guardian’s administration shall be filed as 

required by statute. In addition to the information required by law, the Court requires 

changes in the protected person’s physical or mental condition, place of residence, and 

the financial status of the guardianship estate to be included in any account of 

administration. The current report shall also contain information indicating that the living 

arrangements for the incapacitated person are appropriate. 
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8.4 In every petition for the appointment of a guardian of the person of a minor child, the 

following information shall be given: 

8.4.1 The child’s present address. 

8.4.2 The places where the child has lived within the past two years and the names and 

present addresses of persons with whom the child has lived during that period. 

 

8.4.3 Whether, to Petitioner’s knowledge, any other litigation is pending concerning the 

custody of the child in this or any other state. 

8.4.4 Whether, to Petitioner’s knowledge, any person not a party to the guardianship 

proceeding has physical custody of the child or claims to have custody or visitation rights 

with respect to the child. 

8.5 Nothing herein shall be deemed as amending, superseding or altering the Probate 

Rules and Regulations promulgated by the Veteran’s Administration of the United States 

of America, and every fiduciary and attorney shall comply with same if applicable. 

8.6 Other than for routine matters, unless permitted by law, the Guardian shall obtain 

Court approval prior to taking any action on any financial matter pertaining to carrying 

out the Guardian’s duties and responsibilities for the protected person. 

 

LR79-PR-9 Principles Applicable to Fee Determinations 

9.1 Attorney fees. Although fee guidelines have been promulgated by the Court in probate 

matters, those guidelines do not assure that all fees allowed by the Court will adhere to 

them and other factors may be considered by the Court in making any final determination 

which may be required. The Court may consider any of the following: 

 

9.1.1 The skill required to perform services properly in probate matters; the attorney's 

expertise in probate matters; the time and labor required; the novelty, complexity, 

or difficulty of the questions involved; and a determination as to how much of the 

attorney's time was devoted to legal matters and how much of it was devoted to 

ministerial functions. 

9.1.2 The nature and extent of the responsibilities assumed by the attorney and the 

results obtained; the identity of the personal representative; the character of the 

probate and non-probate transferred assets; and whether real estate or other assets 

are located outside of the State of Indiana. 

9.1.3 The sufficiency of assets properly available to pay for legal services, and whether 

the attorney's duties are expanded by the existence of non-probate assets because 

of their inclusion for tax purposes, either federal or state. 
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9.1.4 The timeliness with which the necessary services are performed consistent with 

statutory requirements; whether the attorney was engaged in a timely fashion or 

was required to perform services close to deadlines through no fault of such 

attorney; the Court's rules of procedure; and the Rules of Professional Conduct 

applicable thereto. 

In considering all of these factors, all attorneys are urged to discuss their fee and 

that of the personal representative at the time they are retained in all probate 

matters. Further, the parties are urged to enter into a written engagement agreement 

which documents their understandings in this regard. 

 

9.2 Administration-There are two methods by which fees are typically determined. One is on 

an hourly basis based upon the amount of time spent by the attorney in handling the matter. 

The other is based upon a percentage of the size of the gross estate. 

9.2.1 Hourly Method: The amount of an hourly fee can vary considerably. Among the 

factors taken into consideration in arriving at an hourly rate are the considerations 

listed in the paragraphs of 9.1 above. Additional considerations include the 

nature and length of the professional relationship between the attorney and the 

client as well as the experience, reputation and ability of the attorney performing 

the services. 

9.2.2 Percentage Method: In this method the fees are computed based upon the size of 

the gross estate. The following are typically normal services : Opening of the 

Estate; qualifying the Personal Representative; preparing the Inventory; paying 

claims; collecting assets; preparing and filing the Indiana Inheritance Tax Return 

IH-6; obtaining a Court Order IH-9 thereon, and paying Inheritance taxes; 

preparing and filing the Final Report or Closing Statement; obtaining an Order 

approving same; distributing assets as required; obtaining discharge of the 

Personal Representative; and preparing and serving all notices on interested 

parties and readily ascertainable creditors throughout the proceedings. Fees herein 

shall not include services for preparation or filing of federal or state income tax 

returns 1040, IT-40, 1041, IT-41, federal form 709, or forms relating to 

employment of third persons by the decedent or estate. This list shall not be 

considered to be exclusive. Percentage fees shall be computed on the Gross Estate 

as defined for purposes of the Indiana Inheritance Tax. The maximum fee for these 

normal services is computed as follows: 

Up to $ 100,000, not to exceed .................................... 6% 

Next $ 200,000, not to exceed. .................................... 4% 

Next $ 700,000, not to exceed. .................................... 3% 

Excess over $ 1,000,000, not to exceed. ....................... 1% 
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In addition to the normal services described above, many times additional services 

are necessary, for which an additional fee is appropriate. Such additional services 

and the maximum related fees may include for example the following: 

 

A. Sale of Real Estate: Minimum fee of $500.00 except that there shall be 

a fee no greater than 2½% (.025) of the gross sales price of the real estate 

where no real estate professional receives a commission 

 

B. Federal Estate Tax Return Form 706: Basic Fee-the greater of $3,000.00 or 

.15% (.0015) of the total gross estate as shown on Form 706, Part 2, Line 1, 

Page 1 Additional fee for non-probate assets ... 1.5% (.015) 

 

9.3 Miscellaneous-Fees shall be hourly for the following services: Spreading Will of Record, 

small estate settlement procedure, defending a will, construing a will, contesting claims, 

adjusting tax matters, any contested hearing, petition for instructions, heirship 

determination, and fees to continue a business or to generate additional income for the 

estate. 

 

9.4 Wrongful Death Administration 

Fees not to exceed: 

Settlement prior to filing ............................... 25% 

Settlement after filing and prior to Trial ....... 33 1/3% 

Trial .............................................................. 40% 

Appeal, or extra work. .................................. 50% 

The above fee schedule may be increased under circumstances where the litigation is 

complex and the potential for recovery is difficult, provided one of the following has 

occurred: 

A. All of the beneficiaries who will participate in the wrongful death recovery, or 

their legal representative(s), sign a written contingent fee contract providing for a 

fee greater than above. 

B. The Court, having probate jurisdiction of the estate, approves a contingent fee 

contract providing for a fee greater than the above. 

9.5 General-Except as otherwise specified above, fees in other proceedings involving 

guardianship and docketed trusts and related matters, will be computed on a hourly basis. 

Hourly fee services shall be rendered with specificity and may include: sale of personal 

property, sale of real property, partial distributions, contesting claims, adjusting tax 

matters, any contested hearing, petition for instructions, heirship determination, and fees 

to continue a business or to generate additional income for the trust or guardianship. 
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9.6 Personal Representative Fees 

 

9.6.1 Professional: Their applicable reasonable rate to be reviewed in light of all 

prevailing circumstances. 

 

9.62 Non-Professional: An amount not in excess of one-half (1/2) of the Attorney’s fee, 

computed via the method being employed by the attorney handling the estate. In 

determining the amount of the fee, consideration shall be given to the amount of 

work performed by the personal representative as compared to the attorney as well 

as the nature of the work performed by the personal representative. For example, 

the hourly rate to be charged for lawn care or house cleaning should be comparable 

to typical laborer charges as compared to the rate for negotiating a sale of property 

or the transfer of securities. Further, although some 

consideration should be given to the compensation ordinarily earned by a personal 

representative in their regular employment, the fact that they miss some work in 

order to perform their duties as personal representative does not automatically 

justify them to be compensated for such at their normal pay level. 
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TIPPECANOE COUNTY RULES OF FAMILY LAW 

PREAMBLE 

These local rules have been enacted to help effectuate a dignified and effective means of resolving 

all family law disputes, but especially those disputes involving minor children. While recognizing 

our adversarial system for resolving family law problems, these local rules mandate that attorneys not 

ignore but embrace their equally important roles as negotiators and advisors and their special 

responsibility for the quality of justice. 

These local rules are based upon the Lake County Rules of Family Law. The Lake County Rules 

contain extensive commentary which is incorporated herein by reference. The Judges of Tippecanoe 

County are grateful to Charlie Asher for advocating the philosophy of Cooperative Divorce and 

developing the websites incorporated into these rules. 

 

TR 79-FL00-1 Scope, Citation, and Definition, Cooperative Approach and Liberal 

Construction 

A. Scope. These rules shall apply to family cases in the Tippecanoe Circuit Court and all the 

Superior Courts, I, II, III, IV, V, and VI of Tippecanoe County. 

B. Citation. These rules may be cited as the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and 

abbreviated as F. L. R. 

C. Definition. Family cases shall include all cases involving claims for or related to marital 

dissolution or separation, paternity, child custody, parenting time or visitation with a child, and 

support of a child or spouse. 

 

TR 79-FL00-2 Statement of Policy and Purpose 

 

The Circuit and Superior Courts of Tippecanoe County are committed to a cooperative model 

for the handling of family cases by parents, attorneys, and judges. These rules shall be liberally 

construed and applied to serve the healthy and child-sensitive functioning of families. In all family 

cases with children, the goal will be protecting the best interests of those children. 

 

TR 79-FL00-3 General Obligations of Cooperation of Attorneys and Parties 

 

A. Attorneys and parties in family cases are expected to act with the courts as co-problem solvers, 

not mere problem-reporters. Attorneys shall both inform and remind their clients about the judicial 

expectations of cooperation in family cases, assist their clients to understand and observe these 

standards, and encourage clients to participate in co-parenting classes, counseling, mediation, and 

other appropriate problem-solving processes. 
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B. To establish and maintain an atmosphere which fosters cooperative problem-solving, all 

parties and attorneys shall: 

(1) explore resources which may reduce conflict, build cooperation, and protect 
children; 

(2) attempt reasonable cooperative measures before resorting to the court; 

 

(3) avoid disrespectful language and behavior; and, 

 

(4) avoid unnecessary motions or petitions, hearing and arguments. 

 

LR 79-FL00-4 Initial and Provisional Hearings 

 

Unless considerations of safety or other good cause make it unreasonable, before the date and time 

set for an initial or provisional hearing, counsel shall meet with each other (or any unrepresented 

party) in a good-faith attempt to resolve all matters. 

 

LR 79-FL00-5 Mandatory Website Work for Parents 

 

A. Dissolution of Marriage. In all dissolution cases where the parties have any children together 

under the age of 18, both parties shall complete the work on www.UpToParents.org within 30 days 

of initial filing. 

 

B. Legal Separation. In all separation cases where the parties have any children together under 

the age of 18, both parties shall complete the work on www.WhileWeHeal.org within 30 days of 

initial filing. 

 

C. Paternity. In all paternity cases, both parents shall complete the work on 

www.ProudToParent.org within 30 days of the court’s finding of paternity. 

 

D. Following completion of the website work required by this rule, the parents shall merge or 

exchange their chosen Commitments from their website work. 

 

LR 79-FL00-6 Co-Parenting Class 

 

A. Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation. Mandatory Attendance. In all dissolution and 

separation cases where the parties have any children together under the age of 18, both parties shall 

complete a co-parenting class. The court may order both parties to attend additional co-parenting 

classes in post-decree matters. 

 

B. Paternity. In all paternity cases the court may order the parties to attend and complete a co- 

parenting class. 

http://www.uptoparents.org/
http://www.whileweheal.org/
http://www.proudtoparent.org/
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LR 79-FL00-7 Proof of Compliance 

 

A. Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation. To monitor compliance, within 60 days of the 

initial filing of an action for dissolution or separation, each party shall file a verified certification of 

their completion of the mandatory website work as required under FLR. 5, above, and of any 

mandatory co-parenting class as required under FLR. 6, above, a sample form of which is attached 

hereto as Appendix “A”. 

 

B. Paternity. To monitor compliance, within 45 days of the court’s finding of paternity, each 

party shall file a verified certification of completion of the mandatory website work as required under 

FLR 5, above. A sample form is attached hereto as Appendix “B”. 

 

C. Any party failing to timely file such a certification may be subject to a hearing on such a 

failure. 

 

LR 79-FL00-8 Parenting Plan Proposals 

 

A. The Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines provide useful outlines of the minimum time each 

parent should have with the children to maintain frequent, meaningful, and continuing contact with 

them. Any parenting time plan submitted by agreement that provides for less then the minimum time 

allowed under the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines must contain a written explanation for deviating 

from those guidelines. Agreed parenting plans that exceed the minimum time allowed under the 

Guidelines will not require a written explanation. 

 

B. Unless they have already executed an agreed parenting plan, the parties shall each prepare and 

exchange their written Parenting Plan Proposals utilizing the form which is attached hereto as 

Appendix “C”. Parents, personally and with the help of counsel and all useful counseling, mediation 

and other problem-solving resources, shall continue to attempt to reach an agreed parenting plan. 

Parents shall bring their respective Parenting Plan Proposals to all hearings, mediation sessions, and 

settlement discussions. 

LR 79-FL00-9 Protocols after Initial Filing 

A. Duties Regarding Consultation. Except in emergencies or when it might create a danger or 

substantial prejudice or is otherwise unreasonable to do so, counsel and pro se parties shall have a 

personal or telephonic consultation to resolve any issue before filing or seeking any other relief 

through the court. Counsel and pro se parties contacted for a consultation shall make themselves 

reasonably available for consultation. The duty of consultation shall be continuing. 

 

B. Substance of Consultation. In the consultation, counsel and pro se parties shall: 

(1) attempt to resolve all matters at issue; 

(2) confirm the parties’ compliance with FLR 5, FLR 6, FLR 7 and FLR 8; 

and, 

(3) discuss the resources they believe the parents could use to resolve current and 

future issues and to build cooperation. 
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C. Cooperation Update - Mandatory. All motions and pleadings other than the initial filings shall 

include a statement confirming compliance with items (1) through (3), above, including the date of 

the required personal or telephonic consultation; or, shall recite the specific reasons for the lack of a 

consultation. 

 

D. Parents shall review and bring a copy of their website Commitments, as required by FLR 5 

and the current Parenting Plan Proposals, as required by FLR 8, to every hearing. 

 

LR 79-FL00-10    Requirements before Custody Evaluations 

 

All requests for custody evaluations must be (1) in writing (2) certify that both parties and their 

counsel, if any, have engaged in at least one good faith attempt to resolve the issues through the use 

of a settlement conference or mediation. 

 

The court will not grant a request for or otherwise order a custody evaluation except following a 

Status Conference in the presence of both parties and their attorneys, if any, during which the court 

has been satisfied that: 

A. both parties have completed the mandatory website work pursuant to FLR 6, 

above; and, 

B. both parents have completed any required co-parenting class pursuant to FLR 

7, above; and, 

C. both parties have exchanged Parenting Plan Proposals pursuant to FLR 8, 

above; and, 

D. both parties and their attorneys, if any, have engaged in at least one good faith 

attempt to resolve the issues through the use of a settlement conference or 

consultation pursuant to FLR 9, above; and, 

E. the court has carefully considered and reviewed, with both parties and their 

attorneys, if any, the use of other resources. 

 

LR 79-FL00-11    Case Captioning 

Parties in dissolution, separation, and paternity cases shall not be captioned or designated as 

“petitioner”, “respondent”, “plaintiff”, or “defendant”. The parties shall be designated as “Mother”, 

“Father”, “Husband”, or “Wife”, “Former Husband”, “Former Wife”, and “Putative Father”. All 

captions shall comply with applicable statutes and case law. 

LR 79-FL00-12    Form of Summons 

Parties in dissolution, separation, and paternity cases shall prepare and utilize forms of summons as 

set forth herein. 

 

A. Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation. In dissolution and separation cases, the 

appropriate summons shall be used and shall be substantially the same as the form(s) which attached 

hereto as Appendix “D” and “D-1”. 
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B. Paternity. In paternity cases, the summons shall be substantially the same as the form which 

is attached hereto as Appendix “E”. 

 

LR 79-FL00-13 Judges’ Notice 

 

Whenever the initial filing is prepared by an attorney, the attorney shall also prepare and provide the 

client and the Clerk with a sufficient number of copies of the appropriate the Judges’ Notice as 

required herein. In cases filed by pro se parties, the Clerk shall provide the appropriate Judges’ 

Notice. The Judges’ Notice to Parents Going Through Divorce is attached as Appendix “F” and 

Judges’ Notice to Parents in Paternity Cases is attached as Appendix “G”. 

 

LR 79-FL00-14 Financial Declaration Form 

 

A. Requirement. In all relevant cases including dissolutions, separation, paternity, post-decree, 

or support proceedings and, irrespective of which court, each party shall prepare and exchange, within 

60 days of initial filing for dissolution or separation or within 30 days of filing of any paternity or 

post-decree matters, the appropriate Financial Declaration Form (see Appendix “I” and “J”). These 

time limits may be extended or shortened by court order for good cause shown. In those cases where 

there is service, but no appearance by counsel, it is the responsibility of the initiating party to provide 

the other party with the appropriate blank Form and to notify that party of the duty to prepare and 

serve the same. 

 

B. Exceptions. The Form need not be exchanged if: 

(1) the parties agree in writing within 60 days of the initial filing to waive 

exchange; 

(2) the parties have executed a written agreement which settles all financial 

issues; 

(3) the proceeding is merely at a provisional or emergency relief stage; 

(4) the proceeding is one in which the service is by publication and there is no 

response; or, 

(5) the proceeding is post-decree and concerns issues without financial 

implications. 

 

Provided, however, when the proceeding is post-decree and concerns an arrearage, the alleged 

delinquent party shall complete the entire Form, while the support recipient need complete merely 

the portion thereof which requires specification of the basis of the arrearage calculation (with 

appropriate supporting documentation). 

 

C. Use at trial. The Forms are intended primarily as mandatory discovery though, subject to 

appropriate objection, they shall be admissible at the request of any party. Therefore, particularly in 

view of the presumptive nature of the Indiana Child Support Guidelines, direct examination on form 

data shall address only unusual factors which require explanation or corrections and shall not, 

particularly with respect to issues of support, be routinely permitted. For evidentiary purposes, the 

pages of the Form shall be deemed severable. 
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D. Supporting documents. For the purposes of providing a full and complete verification of 

assets, liabilities, and values, each party shall attach to the form all information reasonably required 

and reasonably available. This shall include recent bills, wage and tax records, and bank, pension and 

year-end mortgage statements. “Reasonably available” means that material that may be obtained by 

letter accompanied with an authorization, but does not mean material that must be subpoenaed or is 

in the possession of the other party. Appraisals of real estate and pensions, or appraisals of personal 

property such as jewelry, antiques, or special collections (stamps, coins, or guns, for example) are not 

required. However, once an appraisal is obtained, it must be exchanged unless the appraisal was 

obtained in accordance with the provisions of Trial Rule 26(B) (4) (b) and is not expected to be 

utilized during trial. Moreover, the court may direct that an appraisal be obtained just as it may 

designate the appraiser. 

 

E. Privacy - Sealing of Forms. Whenever the interest of privacy so requires, the court may, upon 

motion, direct the admitted Forms sealed until further order. However, such requests shall not be 

made as a matter of course. 

 

When ordered sealed, the Court Reporter shall place the Forms in a flat manner in an envelope of 

sufficient size, seal the envelope, and affix a copy of the order. Forms may be withdrawn at the 

conclusion of the case on such terms as the court allows. 

 

F. Financial Declaration Form as Mandatory Discovery. The exchange of Forms constitutes 

mandatory discovery. Thus, Indiana Rules of Procedure, Trial Rule 37 sanctions apply. Additionally, 

pursuant to Trial Rule 26(E) (2) and (3), the Form shall be supplemented if additional material 

becomes available. Further, any additional discovery, such as a motion to produce, interrogatories, 

or depositions of the parties shall not commence until the Forms are exchanged and, once exchanged, 

shall not seek information already obtained. 

LR 79-FL00-15 Indiana Child Support Guidelines 

 

A. Worksheet Required. In all proceedings involving child support, each party shall file with any 

settlement or enter into evidence during any trial Indiana Child Support Guidelines Worksheets 

- one or more depending upon the facts. Further, the Worksheet(s) shall, when reasonably possible, 

be delivered to the other parent simultaneously with the Financial Declaration Form, but, in any event, 

within 10 days of receiving the other parent’s Form. The Worksheets shall be promptly supplemented 

if any changes occur prior to resolution. All Worksheets shall be signed by the party(ies) submitting 

the Worksheet. 

B. Support Settlement Agreements. If an agreement concerning support provides any deviation 

from the amount calculated under the Indiana Child Support Guidelines, the parents shall present the 

court with a written explanation justifying the deviation. 

 

LR 79-FL00-16    Preparation of Orders 

 

A. Exchange. It shall be the duty of the parties’ attorneys to prepare decrees and other orders as 

directed by the court. The attorney so directed is first to submit them to all other attorneys of record 



38  

or to the unrepresented party to enable them to challenge any provision thereof before submission to 

the court for entry. 

 

B. Additions. If the preparing attorney believes the other attorney or the other party, if the other 

party is proceeding pro se, is unreasonably withholding approval as to form, or if either believes the 

other is attempting to make additions not addressed by the court, either may submit a proposed form 

to the court and shall attach thereto a written explanation of the dispute. The other party shall have 7 

days to respond before the court enters any order. The court may enter sanctions against a party who 

has unreasonably withheld approval or attempted to make additions not addressed by the court. 

 

C. Signatures. The signature line for counsel or pro se litigant shall indicate Approved As To 

Form. Such signature indicates that the order correctly reflects the court’s ruling. It does not 

necessarily signify that the signing party or attorney agrees with the ruling. 

 

LR 79-FL00-17    Sanctions 

 

If a party or counsel fails to timely prepare, exchange or file a Financial Declaration Form or Child 

Support Worksheet or to cooperate in providing information therefore in a timely manner, either is 

subject to sanctions under Trial Rule 37. 

 

LR 79-FL00-18    Attorney Fee Requests 

A. Affidavits. When attorney fees (except those sought provisionally) are requested from the 

opposing party, the requesting attorney shall submit an appropriate affidavit, which, if the affidavit 

comports with these rules, the court shall admit as an exhibit. 

B. Content. The affidavit shall indicate the: 

(1) requested fee and the basis thereof; 

(2) amounts counsel has billed, contracted for, or been promised; and, 

(3) amount counsel has received from all sources. 

A copy of the written fee contract, if any, shall be attached to the affidavit and deemed a part thereof. 

Opposing counsel may cross examine the requesting attorney as to any of the submitted material. 

 

LR 79-FL00-19 Agreed Matters - Submission 

No agreed matter shall be submitted unless accompanied with a signed agreement, and other 
appropriate documents, such as the decree, a wage withholding order, or a qualified domestic 
relations order. However, if the parties reach a settlement on the courthouse steps, then the court 
shall accept evidence of that settlement on the record, and enter the appropriate order upon 
preparation and filing by counsel within 21 days after submission, or such additional time as the 
court may allow. 

LR 79-FL00-20 Orders Excluding Parent from the Residence 

 

In all instances where emergency or extraordinary relief is requested including, but not limited to, 

excluding a parent from the residence, the court shall require full compliance with the provisions of 

Trial Rules 65(B) and 65(E). In situations involving allegations of physical abuse, intimidation or 
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stalking, relief may be sought by a separate filing for an Order of Protection. 
(Effective January 1, 2102) 
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Financial Declaration Form: Paternity and Post-Decree Appendix I 
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Appendix A 

CAPTION 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE 

IN DISSOLUTION CASES 

 

 

The undersigned, as the (select: Mother or Father) in the within cause, does hereby certify 

 

that: 

 

1. On (type date) I did complete the mandatory website work as required by FLR 5 

and have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same; and, 

2. On (type date) I did complete the mandatory co-parenting class as required by 

FLR 6 and have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same. 

I affirm under the penalties for perjury that the foregoing representations are true. 

 

Date:     

(Type name), (select: Mother or Father) 
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Appendix B 
 

 

CAPTION 

 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE 

IN PATERNITY CASES 
 

 

 

that: 

The undersigned, as the (select: Mother or Father) in the within cause, does hereby certify 

 

On (type date) I did complete the mandatory website work as required by the FLR 5 and 

have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same. 

I affirm under the penalties for perjury that the foregoing representations are true. 

 

Date:              

       Parent name, Mother/Father 
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Appendix C 

In Re The (select: Marriage/Paternity) of:   

 

Cause No.:   

 

(Select: Mother’s/Father’s) Parenting Plan Proposal 

 

Parent’s Affirmation 

 

I hereby affirm, under the penalties for perjury, that before preparing this proposal I have: 

 

1. carefully read the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines, including the Preamble and General 

Rules and understand that they reflect the minimum parenting time; and, 

 

2. completed all the work assignments for parents at (select: www.UpToParents.org/ 

www.ProudToParent.org [delete paragraph # 3 in paternity cases] ; and, 

 

3. completed the co-parenting class required by the court. 

 

Dated:     

(Select: Mother/Father) 

 

Terms of This Proposal 

 

The following proposal for the parenting plan for our children was prepared and is submitted in 

compliance with the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and is part of the effort of both 

parents to devise a parenting plan to include the decision making and living arrangements that will 

serve to nurture and protect our children as the years progress. As stated in the Tippecanoe County 

Rules of Family Law, the following proposal was prepared and is submitted as part of the effort to 

compromise and settle these and other issues which now exist between the parents and, as a result, 

unless all of the terms of the following proposal are accepted as shown by the signature of both 

parents on page four (4) hereof, the following proposal and all of its terms, constitute privileged 

communications which are inadmissible for any purposes. 

 

1. As the parents, important decisions in our children’s lives (such as place of 

residence, school selection and other educational decisions, healthcare and religious upbringing) 

will be made as follows:          

            

            

            

             

 

 

http://www.uptoparents.org/
http://www.proudtoparent.org/
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2. The declared legal residence of our children for school and legal purposes will be: 

            

            

            

            

             

3. Due to the circumstances of the lives of the members of our family, including work 

schedules and the like, our parenting time schedule for our children to be with each of us will vary 

from the minimum set forth in the Indiana Parenting Guidelines, as follows: 

Weekdays:   

             

              

 

Weekends:   

             

              

 

Holidays and Special Days:   

             

              

 

Extended Parenting Time/Summer Vacation:   

             

              

4. In the event of disagreement, we will speak to one another first to try to resolve any 

parenting issues. If we are unable to resolve all the issues, then we will utilize the following: 

(Circle all that apply and add any additional ones.) 

A. Redoing the (select: www.UpToParents.org/www.ProudToParent.org) 

website work. 

B. Additional co-parenting classes, including re-attending the basic class or 

attending high-conflict classes. 

C. Mediation. 

D. Arbitration. 

E. Individual, joint, family, or child counseling. 

F. Appointment of a parenting time coordinator (PTC) to work with us. 

G. Appointment of a guardian ad litem (GAL) for our children. 

H. Other (specify):   

  

  

http://www.uptoparents.org/
http://www.proudtoparent.org/
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5. Other provisions of our parenting plan would be:   

  

   

 

Dated:     

(Select: Mother/Father) 
 

                

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.:   

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 

 

 

ACCEPTANCE 

 

 

By our signatures, we, as the parents, now agree to all of the terms set forth above as our 

Parenting Agreement and that this document is now admissible in to evidence in court. 

 

             

(Select: Mother/Father)      (Select: Mother/Father) 

Date:  , 20      .  Date:    , 20      . 

              

(attorney’s name)       (attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.:      Indiana Attorney No.:    

Firm name:       Firm Name:     

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father)    Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

Address:       Address:     

              

Phone:       Phone:      

 

As dedicated parents, we will do our best to: 

Remember that our children's only job is to be children, not our messengers, spies, counselors, 

confidants, or carriers of our hurt. 

Be sure to remember that our love for our children is greater than any issue we could have with each 

other. 

Respect each other’s parenting time while also being flexible, so the children's lives can be as 

normal as possible. 

Educate our extended families and close friends that they need to make peace as well. 

Pay special attention to keep our appointments and schedules with each other and calling promptly 

if any problems come up. 
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Appendix D 

STATE OF INDIANA ) IN THE (Title, Address and Phone Number of 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE ) SS:  Court) 

 
IN RE: THE MARRIAGE OF 

(Name of Filing Party), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) Cause No.   

and 

(Name of Spouse), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

 

S U M M O N S A N D N O T I C E O F H E A R I N G 

I N P R O C E E D I N G S F O R D I S S O L U T I O N O F M A R R I AG E 

 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO :  (name of spouse being served) 

(address) 

 

Your spouse has filed an action for dissolution of marriage in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in 

some cases, other documents) together with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are 

attached to or otherwise served with this Summons and contain important details regarding the nature of these 

proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe County require that both you and your spouse complete certain, specific tasks 

and you should immediately and carefully review those requirements. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that a hearing on Provisional Orders has been scheduled for  , 20_ , at 

 M. before this Court, in (room number) which is located on the ( floor), at the address listed in the upper right hand 

corner of this Summons. If you wish to hire an attorney to represent you in this matter, it is advisable to do so before 

that date. If you do not appear for that hearing, a provisional order could be entered by default which could remain in 

effect until this action is concluded. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that a final hearing has been scheduled for  , 20  , at  .M. 

before this Court, in (room number) which is located on the ( floor), at the address listed in the upper right hand corner 

of this Summons. If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on your spouse's attorney, you 

may not receive notice of any further proceedings in this action. If you do not make such an appearance, a final decree 

could be entered by default which grants the relief sought in your spouse's Petition after the expiration of sixty (60) days 

from the date of the filing of the Petition. You are not required to file any written Answer to respond to the Petition; 

however, certain grounds for dismissal must be asserted in a timely fashion or are waived; and, if you have a claim for 

relief against your spouse you may be required to assert such a claim in a written pleading which must be filed with the 

Clerk and served on your spouse's attorney. 

 

The following manner of service of this SUMMONS is hereby designated: 

Date: 
 

(Name of attorney for Filing Party) 

Indiana Attorney No: (insert) 
(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

(address) 

(phone number) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

By:    

Deputy Clerk 
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PREPARATION DATA: 

All summons are to be prepared in triplicate with the original of each to be placed in the Court file with two copies available for 

service. 

If service is by certified mail a properly addressed envelope shall be provided for the party being served. Certified mail labels and 

return receipts must also be furnished for each mailing and the cause number must appear on each return receipt, which shall be 

returnable to the Clerk at the address of the Court. 

 

CLERK'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING 

 

I hereby certify that on the   day of  , 20  , I mailed a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to 

the party being served, , by mail, requesting a return receipt, at the address furnished by the filing party. 

 

JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

 

Dated:   BY:   

Deputy Clerk 

 

RETURN ON SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY MAIL 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition mailed to 

the party being served,  , was accepted by the party being served on the   day of 

 , 20  . 

 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition was 

returned not accepted on the   day of  , 20  . 

JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

 

Dated:  , 20 . BY:    

Deputy Clerk 

RETURN OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY SHERIFF 

 

I hereby certify that I have served the within Summons: 

1) By delivering on  , 20 , a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to each of the within 

named person(s). 

2) By leaving on  , 20 , for each of the within named person(s) a copy of the Summons and a copy of 

the Petition at the respective dwelling house or usual place of abode, in , Indiana, with a person of suitable age and discretion residing 

within, whose usual duties or activities include prompt communication of such information to the person served, or by otherwise 

leaving such process thereat, and by mailing a copy of the Summons without the Petition to the said named person(s) at the address 

listed herein. 

3) This Summons came to hand this date,   , 20 . The within named   was not 

found in my bailiwick this date  , 20  . 

ALL DONE IN TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA. 

BOB GOLDSMITH 
SHERIFF OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA 

By:  

SERVICE ACKNOWLEDGED 

I hereby acknowledge that I received a copy of the within Summons and a copy of the Petition at in 

 , Indiana, on this date,  , 20   . 
        

Signature of Party Served 
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Appendix D-1 
STATE OF INDIANA 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE, SS: 

IN THE (Title, Address and Phone Number of 

Court) 

IN RE: THE MARRIAGE OF 

(Name of Filing Party), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 

(Name of Spouse), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

Cause No. 

S U M M O N S 

I N P R O C E E D I N G S F O R D I S S O L U T I O N O F M A R R I AG E 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO : (name of spouse being served) 

(address) 

Your spouse has filed an action for dissolution of marriage in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in some cases, 

other documents) together with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are attached to or otherwise served 

with this Summons and contain important details regarding the nature of these proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe County 

require that both you and your spouse complete certain, specific tasks and you should immediately and carefully review those 

requirements. 

If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on your spouse's attorney, you may not receive notice of any 

further proceedings in this action. If you do not make such an appearance, a final decree could be entered by default which grants the 

relief sought in your spouse's Petition after the expiration of sixty (60) days from the date of the filing of the Petition. You are not 

required to file any written Answer to respond to the Petition; however, certain grounds for dismissal must be asserted in a timely 

fashion or are waived; and, if you have a claim for relief against your spouse you may be required to assert such a claim in a written 

pleading which must be filed with the Clerk and served on your spouse's attorney. 
The following manner of service of this SUMMONS is hereby designated: 

(select: Registered or certified mail, return receipt # 

Sheriff of Tippecanoe County 

Private service by: 

Other (specify): ) 

Date: 

(Name of attorney for Filing Party) 

Indiana Attorney No: (insert) 
(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

(address) 

(phone number) 

JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

By: 

Deputy Clerk 
PREPARATION DATA: 

All summons are to be prepared in triplicate with the original of each to be placed in the Court file with two copies available for service. 

If service is by certified mail a properly addressed envelope shall be provided for the party being served. Certified mail labels and return receipts must 

also be furnished for each mailing and the cause number must appear on each return receipt, which shall be returnable to the Clerk at the address of 
the Court. 
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Appendix E 

STATE OF INDIANA IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

JUVENILE DIVISION, 301 Main Street 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE Lafayette, Indiana 47901 (765) 423-9295 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PATERNITY OF:   

CAUSE NO. 79D03-0107-JP-0000 

(Name of Child) 

(Gender and Date of Birth) 

(Name of Father), 

Putative Father, 

and 

(Name of Mother). 

Mother 

(Name of Child) b/n/f (Name of Petitioner) 

SUMMONS 

AND NOTICE OF INITIAL HEARING IN A PATERNITY CASE 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO: (Name of Respondent) 

(Address of Respondent) 

 

A paternity action has been filed in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in come cases, other documents) together 

with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are attached to or otherwise served with this Summons and 

contain important details regarding the nature of these proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe County require that both parties to 

this case complete certain specific tasks. You should immediately and carefully review those requirements. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that an Initial Hearing to Establish Paternity is scheduled for the   day of  , 

20 , at   o’clock  .m. at the address listed in the upper right hand corner of this Summons. If you wish to hire an attorney to 

represent you in this matter, it is advisable to do so before that date. If you do not appear for that hearing, a final order could be 

entered by default determining paternity, custody, parenting time and child support. 

If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on the attorney whose name and address is set forth at the 

bottom of this page, you may not receive notice of any further proceedings in this action. You are not required to file any written 

Answer to respond to the Petition; however, certain grounds for dismissal must be asserted in a timely fashion or are waived; and, if 

you have a claim for relief against the person who filed the Petition, you may be required to assert such a claim in a written pleading 

which must be filed with the Clerk and served upon the attorney whose name and address is set forth at the bottom of this page. 

The following manner of service is designated: Sheriff (or CMRRR, or Private Server etc.) 

Date: JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, SUPERIOR COURT OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

Attorney for Putative Father By:   

(Address of Attorney) 

 

 
CLERK'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING 

I hereby certify that on the day of  , 20 , I mailed a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to the party being 

served, , by mail, requesting a return receipt, at the address furnished by the filing party. 

JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

Dated:  , 20   . BY:   

Deputy Clerk 

RETURN ON SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY MAIL 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition mailed to 

the party being served, , was accepted by the party being served on the   day of  , 20  . 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition was 

returned not accepted on the   day of , 20 . 
JULIE ROUSH 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

Dated:  , 20  . BY:   

Deputy Clerk 



50  

RETURN OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY SHERIFF 

I hereby certify that I have served the within Summons: 

1. By delivering on  , 20 , a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to each of the within 

named person(s). 

2. By leaving on  , 20  , for each of the within named person(s) a copy of the Summons and a copy of the 

Petition at the respective dwelling house or usual place of abode, in , Indiana, with a person of suitable age and discretion residing 

within, whose usual duties or activities include prompt communication of such information to the person served, or by otherwise 

leaving such process thereat, and by mailing a copy of the Summons without the Petition to the said named person(s) at the address 

listed herein. 

3. This Summons came to hand this date,   , 20 . The within named   was 

not found in my bailiwick this date,  , 20  . 

ALL DONE IN TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA. 

BOB GOLDSMITH 

SHERIFF OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA 
By:  

SERVICE ACKNOWLEDGED 

I hereby acknowledge that I received a copy of the within Summons and a copy of the Petition at in  , Indiana, 

on this date,  , 20  . 
      

Signature of Party Served 



51  

Appendix F 

JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS GOING THROUGH DIVORCE 

 

We, the Judges and Magistrates of Tippecanoe County, share the following information so 

that you will know of our commitment to the best interests of children. Please read this information 

carefully, as we expect you and all other persons involved in your case to be partners in serving 

those best interests. 

1. As soon as possible, read the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law for important 

information about how divorce cases will be handled to: 

ensure safety; 

reduce conflict; 

build cooperation; and, 

protect the best interests of all family members, especially all children. 

 

2. If you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18, you must do the 

following within 30 days: 

 

a. Register for a co-parenting class. 

 

b. Complete the work on www.UpToParents.org, and take your completed work to 

your co-parenting class, give a copy to your attorney, and bring it with you to all 

court appearances and other meetings. 

 

3. If you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18, you should attempt to 

establish your own plan for the decision making and living arrangements that will serve to nurture 

and protect your children. A plan which is worked out between the parents to fit the needs of their 

children and family is almost always the best. You should review the Indiana Parenting Time 

Guidelines. The Court considers those Guidelines to be the minimum parenting time for each 

parent to have frequent, meaningful, and continuing contact with their children. 

 

4. You and your spouse must complete and exchange Financial Declaration Forms with 

all required attachments. 

http://www.uptoparents.org/
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Appendix G 

JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS IN PATERNITY CASES 

 

We, the Judges and Magistrates of Tippecanoe County, share the following information so that you 

will know of our commitment to the best interests of children. Please read this information 

carefully, as we expect you and all other persons involved in your case to be partners in serving 

those best interests. 

 

1. If either of you question whether or not the man named as the father in this case is the 

father, and the man named as the father has not signed a paternity affidavit admitting 

paternity of the child at issue, the Court will order genetic testing at the initial hearing to establish 

paternity. If the man named as father is found not to be the father by genetic testing, the case will be 

dismissed. 

 

2. If paternity is established, whether by agreement or otherwise, or following genetic testing, 

the Local Rules of the Circuit and Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, Indiana, require you to do 

the following: 

 

A. Complete the work on www.ProudToParent.org and furnish the Court with a 

certification that you have done so. 

 

B. Complete and exchange Financial Declaration Forms with all required 

attachments. 

 

3. In addition, if paternity is established, whether by agreement or otherwise, or following 

genetic testing, you will be expected to do the following: 

 

A. Devise a Parenting Plan for your children. A Parenting Plan consists of the 

decision making and living and financial arrangements that will serve to nurture and 

protect your children as the years progress. A plan which is worked out between the 

parents to fit the needs of their children and family is almost always best. You should 

review the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines. The Court considers those 

Guidelines to be the minimum parenting time for each parent to have frequent, 

meaningful, and continuing contact with their children. If you fail to devise a 

successful Parenting Plan for your children, this Court may require you to attend and 

complete, at your own expense, a co-parenting class. 

 

B. Read the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and the Indiana Parenting 

Time Guidelines for additional important information on the Court’s expectation 

that everyone involved in your case will be a partner in: 

ensuring safety; 

reducing conflict; 

building cooperation; and, 

protecting the best interests of all family members, especially all children. 

http://www.proudtoparent.org/
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Appendix H 

DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM 

STATE OF INDIANA: CIRCUIT AND SUPERIOR COURTS OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

 

IN RE THE MARRIAGE OF: Cause No.   
           

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 
           

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

 

FINANCIAL DECLARATION OF:   

 

This declaration is considered mandatory discovery and must be exchanged between the 

parties within 60 days of the initial filing of the Dissolution of Marriage. Parties not represented by 

counsel are required to comply with these practices. Failure by either party to complete and 

exchange this form as required will authorize the court to impose sanctions set forth in Rule 6 of 

the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law. If appraisals or verifications are not available within 

60 days the from must be exchanged within 60 days with a notation that appraisals or verifications 

are being obtained and then the Declaration shall be supplemented within 30 days thereafter. 
Husband:       Wife:        

Address:       Address:       

              

Soc. Sec. No.:      Soc. Sec. No.:       

Badge/Payroll No.:      Badge/Payroll No.:      

Occupation:       Occupation:       

Employer:       Employer:       

Date started this employment:     Date started this employment:    

Birth Date:       Birth Date:       

Date of Marriage:      

Date of Physical Separation:     

Date of Filing:      

 

List Names, dates of birth, and social security numbers of all children of this relationship, whether by birth 

or adoption:            

             

              

 

List Names and dates of birth of any other children living at the residence of the person responding 

(identify if these are children of the responding party) and for each such person indicate the amount of 

support, if any, that is received:         
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Part I. INCOME AND EXPENSES STATEMENT 

Attach COMPLETE copies of your Federal Income Tax Returns for the last three taxable years 

including all W2's and 1099's. Also attach proof of all wages earned in the present year up to the date 

of your response. If current wage statement shows year to date wages and itemized deductions this is 

sufficient. If current wage statement does not indicate year to date earnings and deductions attach the 8 most 

recent pay stubs. 

 

Person Responding 

A. Gross yearly income from Salary and Wages, including commissions, bonuses, allowances and overtime 

received in most recent year.   

Average gross pay per pay period (indicate whether you are paid weekly each 2 weeks or twice per month) 
       

B. Gross Monthly Income From Other Sources1 

List and explain in detail any Rents received, Dividend income, or Pension, Retirement, Social 

Security, Disability and/or Unemployment Insurance benefits - or any other source including Public 

assistance, food stamps, and child support received for any child not born of the parties of this marriage. 
             

             

              

 

C. SELECTED LIVING EXPENSES: List names and relations of each member of the household of 

the Responding party whose expenses are included. 

              

              
               

 

For each expense attach verification of payment even if it is not specifically requested on this form – 

please note that Indiana uses an Income Shares model for determining support and thus in most cases the 

expenses that a party has or does not have are not relevant in determining support under the Indiana Support 

Guidelines. 

However if you claim your expenses justify a deviation from the support guidelines attach a detailed list of 

expenses together with verification of same. 

Person Responding:       

Rent or Mortgage payments (residence)     

Real Property Taxes (residence) if not included in mortgage payment       

Real Property Insurance (residence) if not included in mortgage payment      

Cost of all Medical Insurance - specify time period -        

Attach verification of payment if not on pay stub         

Cost of only that medical insurance that is related to the children of this action - specify time period – attach 

verification from employer or insurance company         

              

Child care costs - to permit work - specify time period (per day, week, month) - attach verification  

              

Pre-School Costs (specify time period week, semester or year)        

School Tuition - per semester (Grade or High School)        

Book Costs - per semester (Grade or High School)        

 



55  

For Post High School Attach separate list with explanation of loans and scholarships and grants  

         

 

Child support paid for children other than those involved in this case - attach proof of payment  

  

 

D. IN ALL CASES INVOLVING CHILD SUPPORT: Prepare and attach any Indiana Child Support 

Guideline Worksheet (with documentation verifying your income); or, supplement with such a Worksheet 

within ten (10) days of the exchange of this Form. 

Further, if there exists a parenting plan or pattern then state the number of overnights the non-custodial 

parent will have the child during the year. 

The yearly number of overnights is   

 

E. POST HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION EXPENSE 

If any of the children subject to this case are attending post high school classes, or will attend within 

the next six months list the following information for each such student. Further attach to this financial 

affidavit any documentation you have in support of these answers. 

Name of Student   

Name of School    

Cost of School per year - If applicable, include room and board   

Identify all student financial aid including grants, scholarships, and loans and for each indicate what it 

is and how much will be received:  

   
 

Note in those cases where it is appropriate parties may want to engage in additional discovery 

concerning assets that might be applied to education such as IRA’s, 401 K’s etc. Note further that 

withdrawals from IRA’s for educational expenses do not suffer a 10% penalty (IRC code sec 72 (t) 2 (e). 

 

F. Debts And Obligations: (Include credit union) attach additional sheets as needed. Indicate any special 

circumstances, i.e., premarital debts, debts in arrears on the date of physical separation, or date of filing and 

the amount or number of payments in arrears. 

 

ATTACH A COPY OF THE MOST RECENT STATEMENT FOR EACH LISTED DEBT 

 

Creditor’s Name & Persons on 

Account 

Balance 

Monthly Payment 

PART II. NET WORTH - ATTACH ALL AVAILABLE DOCUMENTATION TO VERIFY 

VALUES - 

List all property owned either individually or jointly. Indication who holds or how the title is held: (H) 

Husband, (W) Wife, or (J) Jointly or other appropriate indication. WHERE SPACE IS INSUFFICIENT FOR 

COMPLETE INFORMATION OR LISTING PLEASE ATTACH SEPARATE PAGE. 

A. Household Furnishings: (Value of Furniture, Appliances, and Equipment, as a whole - You need not 

itemize - indicate whether you use replacement cost or garage sale value)   

B. Automobiles, Boats, Snowmobiles, Motorcycles, Etc.: 

Year 

Make 

Present Value 

Titled Owner  

Balance Owed 
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C. Cash and Deposit Accounts: (including ALL banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions, thrift 

plans, mutual funds, certificate of deposit, savings and/or checking accounts, IRA’s and annuities). 

This also includes listing the contents of any safety deposit boxes. Use additional page if necessary. 

Name of Institution & 

Type of Account 

Owners 

Account No. 

Balance 

D. Securities: (Stocks, Bonds, Etc) - use additional page if necessary 

Company Name 

Owner 

Shares 

Value 

 

E. Real Estate: (attach separate sheet with the following information for each separate piece of real estate). 

Address:   Type of Property:   

  Date of Acquisition:   

Original Cost:     Present Value:    

Basis for Valuation:    

(Attach appraisal if obtained) 

1st MORTGAGE BALANCE AS OF DATE OF ANSWER:   

Other liens (amount and type):     

Monthly payment on each mortgage: 1st:   2nd:    

To whom paid:    

Taxes (if not included in Mtg. payment):     

Insurance (if not included in Mtg. payment):     

Special Assessments (including utility or condo assessments):     

Identify Individual contributions to the real estate (for example, inheritance, pre-marital assets, personal 

loans, etc.):   

  

   

 

F. Retirement Plans: List monthly amount you would be entitled to at earliest retirement date (indicating 

that date) if you stopped work today. Your response should indicate date of valuation. Further, if it is a 

defined interest plan list present amount in plan and date of valuation. 

Also, identify whose plan it is and list both the name and the address of administrator of plan - indicate 

whether plan is vested - if not vested, indicate when it will vest: 

             

             

             

              

 

 

Attach documents from each plan verifying information. If not yet received, attach a copy of your 

written request to the plan(s). 
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G. Life Insurance: Give name of insured, beneficiary, company issuing, policy #, type of insurance (term, 

whole life, group), face value, cash value and any loans against - include plans provided by employer: 

              

              

               

 

H. Business or Professional Interests: Indicate name, share, type of business, value less indebtedness, etc.: 

              

              
               

 

I. Other Assets: (this includes coin, stamp or gun collections or other items of unusual value). Use additional 

pages as needed: 

              

              
               

 

PART III. VERIFICATION 

I declare, under the penalty of perjury, that the foregoing, including any valuations and attachments, is 

true and correct and that I have made a complete and absolute disclosure of all of my assets and liabilities. 

Furthermore, I understand that if, in the future, it is proven to this court that I have intentionally failed to 

disclosure any asset or liability, I may lose the asset and may be required to pay the liability. Finally, I 

acknowledge that sanctions may be imposed against me, including reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses 

incurred in the investigation, preparation and prosecution of any claim or action that proves my failure to 

disclose income, assets or liabilities. 

DATE:     

PARTY’S SIGNATURE 

 

PART IV. ATTORNEY’S CERTIFICATION 

I have reviewed with my client the foregoing information, including any valuations and attachments, 

and sign this certificate consistent with my obligation under Trial Rule 11 of the Indiana Rules of Procedure. 

DATE:   
       

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: 
(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 
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Appendix I 

 

PATERNITY & POST DECREE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM 

STATE OF INDIANA: CIRCUIT AND SUPERIOR COURTS OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

IN RE THE MARRIAGE OF: Cause No.   
       

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 
       

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

FINANCIAL DECLARATION OF:   

This declaration is considered mandatory discovery and must be exchanged between the parties within 30 

days of the filing of any paternity case or any post decree matter. Parties not represented by counsel are 

required to comply with these practices. Failure by either party to complete and exchange this form as 

required will authorize the court to impose the sanctions set forth in Rule 6 of the Tippecanoe County Rules 

of Family Law, these include costs and attorney fees. 

 

Father:       Mother:       

Address:       Address:       

              

Soc. Sec. No.:      Soc. Sec. No.:       

Badge/Payroll No.:      Badge/Payroll No.:      

Occupation:       Occupation:       

Employer:       Employer:       

Date started this employment:     Date started this employment:    

Birth Date:       Birth Date:       

List the following dates as applicable: 

Date of Dissolution:     Date of most recent support order:   

Date of filing of this paternity action:           

Date of filing of this post decree action:         

List Names, dates of birth, and social security numbers of all children of this relationship, whether by 

birth or adoption:           

             

              

 

List Names and dates of birth of any other children living at the residence of the person responding 

(identify if these are children of the responding party) and for each such person indicate the amount of 

support, if any, that is received:         
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Part I. INCOME AND EXPENSES STATEMENT 

Attach COMPLETE copies of your Federal Income Tax Returns for the last three taxable years 

including all W2's and 1099's. Also attach proof of all wages earned in the present year up to the date 

of your response. If current wage statement shows year to date wages and itemized deductions this is 

sufficient. If current wage statement does not indicate year to date earnings and deductions attach the 8 most 

recent pay stubs. 

 

Person Responding 

A. Gross yearly income from Salary and Wages, including commissions, bonuses, allowances and overtime 

received in most recent year.   

Average gross pay per pay period (indicate whether you are paid weekly each 2 weeks or twice per month) 
     

B. Gross Monthly Income From Other Sources2 

2Some of these items may not apply to support or maintenance computations. 

List and explain in detail any Rents received, Dividend income, or Pension, Retirement, Social 

Security, Disability and/or Unemployment Insurance benefits - or any other source including Public 

assistance, food stamps, and child support received for any child not born of the parties of this marriage. 

             

             

              

 

C. SELECTED LIVING EXPENSES: List names and relations of each member of the household of 

the Responding party whose expenses are included. 

              

              

               

 

For each expense attach verification of payment even if it is not specifically requested on this form – 

please note that Indiana uses an Income Shares model for determining support and thus in most cases the 

expenses that a party has or does not have are not relevant in determining support under the Indiana Support 

Guidelines. 

However if you claim your expenses justify a deviation from the support guidelines attach a detailed list of 

expenses together with verification of same. 

Person Responding:      

Rent or Mortgage payments (residence)    

Real Property Taxes (residence) if not included in mortgage payment    

Real Property Insurance (residence) if not included in mortgage payment   

Cost of all Medical Insurance - specify time period:     
Attach verification of payment if not on pay stub      

Cost of only that medical insurance that is related to the children of this action - specify time period – attach 

verification from employer or insurance company     

Child care costs - to permit work - specify time period (per day, week, month) - attach verification 
           

Pre-School Costs (specify time period week, semester or year)     

School Tuition - per semester (Grade or High School)      

Book Costs - per semester (Grade or High School)      

For Post High School Attach separate list with explanation of loans and 

scholarships and grants         

Child support paid for children other than those involved in this case - attach proof of payment   
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D. IN ALL CASES INVOLVING CHILD SUPPORT: Prepare and attach any Indiana Child Support 

Guideline Worksheet (with documentation verifying your income); or, supplement with such a Worksheet 

within ten (10) days of the exchange of this Form. 

Further, if there exists a parenting plan or pattern then state the number of overnights the non-custodial 

parent will have the child during the year. 

The yearly number of overnights is   

 

PART II. ARREARAGE COMPUTATION 

If case involves a claim of a support or other arrearage, attach all records or other exhibits regarding 

payment history and compute the arrearage as of the date of the filing of the petition or motion which raises 

that issue. Explain in detail how arrearage is calculated. 

             

              

PART III. POST HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION EXPENSE 

If any of the children subject to this case are attending post high school classes, or will attend within 

the next six months list the following information for each such student. Further attach to this financial 

affidavit any documentation you have in support of these answers. 

Name of Student   

Name of School    

Cost of School per year - If applicable, include room and board   

Identify all student financial aid including grants, scholarships, and loans and for each indicate what it 

is and how much will be received: 

             

             

             

              

 

Note in those cases where it is appropriate parties may want to engage in additional discovery 

concerning assets that might be applied to education such as IRA’s, 401 K’s etc. Note further that 

withdrawals from IRA’s for educational expenses do not suffer a 10% penalty (IRC code sec 72 (t) 2 (e). 

PART IV. VERIFICATION 

I declare, under the penalty of perjury, that the foregoing, is true and correct and that I have made a 

complete and absolute disclosure of all of my income and expenses as asked. I acknowledge that sanctions 

may be imposed against me, including reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses incurred in the investigation, 

preparation and prosecution of any claim or action that proves my failure to disclose income or liabilities. 
DATE:     

PARTY’S SIGNATURE 

 

PART V. ATTORNEY’S CERTIFICATION 

I have reviewed with my client the foregoing information, including any valuations and attachments, 

and sign this certificate consistent with my obligation under Trial Rule 11 of the Indiana Rules of Procedure. 
DATE:     

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 


	TABLE OF CONTENTS
	TIPPECANOE TRIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
	LR79-AR 1(E). Rule 1 County Caseload
	LR79-TR 5(E)-2 Filing
	LR79-TR 5(E)-3 Motion Hour
	LR79-TR 6(B)-4 Extensions of Time
	LR79-TR73-5 Telephone Conferencing
	LR79-TR12-6 Motions
	LR79-TR-53.5-7 Continuances
	LR79-TR-3.1-8 Withdrawal of Appearance
	LR79-TR 77-9 Withdrawal of Original Records
	LR79-CR 2.2-10 Case Reassignment and Special Judges in Criminal Cases
	LR79-TR79-11 Special Judge Selection in Civil Cases
	LR-79-AD28-Rule 12 Alcohol and Drug Program Fees
	LR79-AR15-13 Court Reporter Services
	LR79-AR15-14 Assigned Counsel and Guardian Ad Litem Fees
	LR79-JR4-15 Local Rule Regarding Jury Rules
	LR79-CR26-16.  Bail Schedule

	TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT COURT PROBATE RULES
	PROBATE RULES
	LR79-PR-1 Scope and Title
	LR79-PR-2 Access to Court and Representation
	LR79-PR-3 Notice
	LR79-PR-4 Bonds
	LR79-PR-5 Inventory
	LR79-PR-6 Confidentiality
	LR79-PR-7 Time Guidelines
	LR79-PR-8 Guardianships
	LR79-PR-9 Principles Applicable to Fee Determinations

	TIPPECANOE FAMILY LAW RULES
	PREAMBLE
	TR 79-FL00-1 Scope, Citation, and Definition, Cooperative Approach and Liberal Construction
	TR 79-FL00-2 Statement of Policy and Purpose
	TR 79-FL00-3 General Obligations of Cooperation of Attorneys and Parties
	LR 79-FL00-4 Initial and Provisional Hearings
	LR 79-FL00-5 Mandatory Website Work for Parents
	LR 79-FL00-6 Co-Parenting Class
	LR 79-FL00-7 Proof of Compliance
	LR 79-FL00-8 Parenting Plan Proposals
	LR 79-FL00-9 Protocols after Initial Filing
	LR 79-FL00-10 Requirements before Custody Evaluations
	LR 79-FL00-11 Case Captioning
	LR 79-FL00-12 Form of Summons
	LR 79-FL00-13 Judges' Notice
	LR 79-FL00-14 Financial Declaration Form
	LR 79-FL00-15 Indiana Child Support Guidelines
	LR 79-FL00-16 Preparation of Orders
	LR 79-FL00-17 Sanctions
	LR 79-FL00-18 Attorney Fee Requests
	LR 79-FL00-19 Agreed Matters - Submission
	LR 79-FL00-20 Orders Excluding Parent from the Residence
	Appendix A
	CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE IN DISSOLUTION CASES

	Appendix B
	CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE IN PATERNITY CASES

	Appendix C
	ACCEPTANCE

	Appendix D
	S U M M O N S A N D N O T I C E O F H E A R I N G

	Appendix D-1
	S U M M O N S

	Appendix E
	SUMMONS

	Appendix F
	JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS GOING THROUGH DIVORCE

	Appendix G
	JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS IN PATERNITY CASES

	Appendix H
	DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM
	PATERNITY & POST DECREE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM







