ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICT 19 CLAY, PUTNAM, SULLIVAN AND VIGO COUNTIES GOVERNANCE PLAN (Effective 04/01/13)

- (A) Special Judge Plans: Our District has reviewed the TR 79 plans in each county and have determined each plan is current and allows for the efficient operation of special judge assignments in the District. Our District will only use judges within the District 19 for reassignment in Civil Cases.
- **(B)** Criminal Rule 2.2: Our District has reviewed the current Criminal Rule 2.2 Plans for the counties in our District. We have determined that the counties in our District currently follow the provisions of Criminal Rules 2.2, 12, and 13.
- (C) Leadership: From among the alternatives suggested to comply with AR 3(B), our District reviewed the suggested choices: (1) administrative judge/committee or (2) other specified organization established by the district. We have decided to select option two. We have selected Judge Christopher Newton, to fulfill this role from April 1, 2013, through December 31, 2013, based on a seniority system we have been using in the past among the trial judges/magistrates in our District, for specific administrative matters only. He will be known as the "Administrative Judge." Thereafter, the administrative judge will be chosen by the seniority list currently in effect that was utilized to select Judge Newton to this position in calendar year 2013. The Seniority List is attached hereto for examination. By election, we have selected, a different judge, Judge Joseph Trout, as our representative to the Judicial Conference Board. Judge Trout will be our sole representative to the Board and will have the authority to cast all of the District's votes allotted to the District. His term shall expire on December 31, 2014.
- **(D) Selection Process for Leadership:** The term for the administrative judge shall be one year. The trial judges/magistrates in the District met and elected to continue the current seniority based system for choosing the administrative judge. At the end of each calendar year, the current administrative judge will notify his successor based on the seniority list and forward all necessary documentation and computer files to him/her by January 10th of the new year. The term for the representative to the Judicial Conference Board shall be two (2) years. At the expiration of the two (2) year term, the current Board representative will solicit nominees from among the trial judges to be successor representative and a ballet vote will be taken among all trial judges/magistrates in District 19 either at a scheduled District Meeting or by accepted electronic means.

(E) Number of meetings: This District will hold one meeting per year and it will be organized by the administrative judge. A majority of the judges in the District will constitute a quorum to conduct business. Proxy votes at the District meeting can be cast as long as the administrative judge receives a written notice by facsimile or email prior to the start of the meeting designating the judge's proxy or the proxy provides an executed proxy instrument prior to or at the commencement of the meeting. Meetings will be conducted in person or electronically, or via conference call as determined by the needs of the District.

(F) District Activities:

- 1) Our District is cooperating on TR 79 and CR 2.2 Plans.
- 2) Our District has an established Pro Bono Program.
- Our District currently shares judicial resources in Civil Tort cases. Sullivan County accepts one hundred (100) Civil Tort cases per year from Vigo County to alleviate congestion of Vigo County's Civil Court dockets. The District will continue to investigate sharing of judicial resources when more resources become available.
- **(G) Local Rules:** Local District Rules including this Governance Plan will be reviewed at the annual District Meeting. Any changes, additions, and/or revisions will be approved by a majority of the judicial officers in the District.

(H) Compliance:

It will remain in effect until further notice.
contemplated by AR 3(B). A majority of the judges in the District agreed to this plan on
Our District Plan complies with the minimum requirements for District governance

SENIORITY LIST FOR ADMINISTRATIVE DISTRICT 19 GOVERNANCE PLAN (Effective 04/01/2013)

Judge Christopher A. Newton
Judge Matthew L. Headley
Judge Michael J. Lewis
Judge Joseph D. Trout
Judge Charles D. Bridges
Judge Robert E. Springer
Judge Michael R. Rader
Magistrate Daniel W. Kelly
Judge John T. Roach
Judge P.J. Pierson
Judge Phillip I. Adler
Magistrate Ann Smith Mischler
Judge Blaine J. Akers
Judge David R. Bolk