
Safe Driving Tips  
For Parents of Young Drivers 

 EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2009 EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2010 

 
LEARNER'S  

PERMIT 

 
15 years with driver's education;  

16 years without driver's education 

 
15 years 180 days with  

driver's education 

DRIVER'S  
EDUCATION 

 Minimum starting age 
 of 15 years 180 days 

PERMIT HOLDING 
PERIOD 

 
60 days 

 
180 days 

PROBATIONARY 
LICENSE 

16 years one month with driver's 
education; 16 years six months  

without driver's education 

16 years 180 days with driver's 
education; 16 years 270 days 

without driver's education 

TELE-
COMMUNICATIONS 

RESTRICTIONS 

Telecommunications devices (cell 
phones, texting, etc.) are prohibited 

until the age of 18 with the 
exception of  9-1-1 emergency calls 

 

PASSENGER 
RESTRICTIONS 

No passengers for the first 180 days 
unless there is another licensed 
driver at least 25 years old, a 

certified driving instructor, or a 
parent/guardian over the age of 21  

in the front seat, with exceptions for 
a child, sibling or spouse 

 

 

NIGHTTIME 
DRIVING 

RESTRICTIONS 

10 p.m. - 5 a.m. every day for the 
first 180 days of holding a license; 
Sunday-Thursday 11 p.m.-5 a.m.; 

Friday-Saturday 1 a.m.-5 a.m. until 
age 18, with exceptions for school, 
work, and church-related functions 

 

MIN. AGE  
WITH NO 

RESTRICTIONS 
18 years old  

 

CERTIFIED 
DRIVING HOURS 

 50 hours of supervised driving 
practice, 10 of which must be at 

night, with a certified driving 
instructor or licensed driver  
that is at least 25 years old  
or the individual's spouse  

that is at least 21 years of age 

PARENTS 
 

One of the most  
important things parents 

can do to protect new 
drivers behind the wheel  
is familiarize themselves 

with the state’s new  
GDL law.  

www.in.gov/cji 

Indiana Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Requirements 

HOW TO BE A GOOD  
ROAD MODEL 



 Risk factors for young driver collisions include: 

- Inexperience 
- Greater propensity for risk-taking 
-  Inadequate driving skills 
- Driving while impaired  
- In-vehicle driver distractions  
(e.g. passengers, telecommunications 
 devices, etc) 
 
Research also shows that teen  
drivers and passengers are less likely 
than any other age group to wear their seatbelts.   

Motor vehicle collisions are the 
leading cause of death among 
American teens. In fact, 
thousands of young drivers are 
killed each year on our nation’s 
roadways. In Indiana alone, 136 
fatal collisions involved young 
drivers in 2008. 
 
If your teen is just about to 
receive their license or if they’ve had it for some time, it’s important to 
remind them that driving is a privilege and not a right.  

Setting a positive example and encouraging safe driving behaviors could 
save your teen’s life. 
 
 
 
As a parent, you should: 

-  Avoid eating, talking on your cell phone,  
     or playing with the radio while driving.   

-  Expose your teen to different driving 
     conditions such as wet roads, snow,  
     and highways both day and night. 

- Take time to supervise your teen while 
     they are driving even after they receive 
     their license.   

- Become familiar with Indiana’s Graduated 
    Driver’s Licensing (GDL) laws.   
 

With three or more  
passengers, your teen is 
four to five times more 

likely to be involved in a 
fatal crash. 

Did You  
Know? 

TIPS ON BEING A BETTER ROAD MODEL 

Set the Rules—And Live By Them 

- Educate your teen on Indiana’s GDL law.  

- Make your teen responsible for their own tickets. 

- Limit the number of passengers while your teen is driving— 
even after their first 180 days with a license. 

- Enforce severe, long-term consequences for driving   
under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs or riding with someone  
who is. 

- Require your teen to wear a seatbelt at all times —it’s the law and 
could save their life! 

Learning Starts With You 

YOUR RULES TODAY MAY  
SAVE YOUR TEEN’S LIFE TOMORROW! 

 

Seatbelts can  
increase your 

chances of  
survival in a crash 

by 45 percent.     

 

Safety 
Fact 

34%

19%
17%

11%

19%

Leading Causes of  Teen Death

Motor Vehicle 
Collisions

Other

Homicide

Suicide

Poisoning
Data obtained from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 


