

MEDIA CONTACT:

Allison Kuehr at (317) 232-1016 or AKuehr@che.in.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

State Awards Over \$1 Million in Teacher Residency Grant Funding

Grants support over 70 teacher residents and 27 school corporations during 2022-23 academic year

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Fifteen new school corporations and 12 continuing corporations will host more than 70 teacher residents through the <u>Indiana Commission for Higher Education</u> Teacher Residency Grant Pilot Program. A total of \$1,050,000 in residency grants were awarded for the 2022-23 academic year.

The Teacher Residency Grant Pilot Program was created in 2019 by the Indiana General Assembly. Modeled after medical residency and apprenticeship programs, teacher residency programs are year-long, paid teaching experiences for student educators who plan on teaching kindergarten through 12th grade. Students teach alongside an experienced mentor teacher, preparing them for the classroom after graduation. School corporations partner with an Indiana postsecondary institution to execute the program in their district. Institutions provide resources to the corporations, including program monitoring and evaluation, and sourcing of residency candidates.

"The school corporations selected are making strides to develop a pipeline of well-prepared future educators all across Indiana," said Associate Commissioner for Legislation and Program Implementation Josh Garrison. "Under the teacher residency model, mentor teachers will prepare resident teachers for the challenges they will face in the classroom."

Teacher Residency Grants Awarded to 27 School Corporations

School corporations are awarded \$15,000 for each resident teacher it hosts. Funding can be used to pay resident and mentor teacher stipends, as well as support costs for postsecondary partners. Initial grant recipients are eligible for renewal of the grant for the 2023-24 school year contingent on continued funding and initial outcomes.

New Teacher Residency Grant recipients are:

School Name	Location	School	Indiana Postsecondary Partner	AY 2022-23
		Туре		Award
Alexandria Community Schools	Alexandria	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Beech Grove City Schools	Beech Grove	Public	Marian University	\$60,000
Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District	Garrett	Public	Purdue University Fort Wayne	\$30,000
Hamilton Heights School Corporation	Arcadia	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$15,000
Logansport Community School Corporation	Logansport	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$60,000
Madison-Grant United School Corporation	Fairmount	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Mississinewa Community Schools	Gas City	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Noblesville Schools	Noblesville	Public	Indiana University Bloomington	\$60,000

Oak Hill United School Corporation	Converse	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Seymour Community Schools	Seymour	Public	Indiana University Southeast	\$15,000
Southwest Parke Community	Montezuma	Public	Indiana State University	\$30,000
Schools				
Tipton Community School	Tipton	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Corporation				
Vigo County School Corporation	Terre Haute	Public	Indiana State University	\$60,000
Western School Corporation	Russiaville	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Whitley Consolidated Schools	Columbia	Public	Purdue University Fort Wayne	\$30,000
	City			

Continuing Teacher Residency Grant recipients are:

School Name	Location	School	Indiana Postsecondary Partner	AY 2022-23
		Туре		Award
Community Montessori	New Albany	Charter	Indiana University Southeast	\$45,000
Community Schools of Frankfort	Frankfort	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$60,000
Elkhart Community Schools	Elkhart	Public	Indiana University South Bend	\$45,000
Frontier School Corporation	Chalmers	Public	Purdue University West Lafayette	\$15,000
KIPP Indy	Indianapolis	Charter	Relay Graduate School of	\$45,000
			Education	
Lafayette Community Schools	Lafayette	Public	Purdue University West Lafayette	\$75,000
Maconaquah School Corporation	Bunker Hill	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Metropolitan School District of	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$45,000
Decatur Township				
New Albany Floyd County Schools	New Albany	Public	Indiana University Southeast	\$30,000
Perry Township Schools	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$60,000
The Project School	Bloomington	Charter	Indiana University-Purdue	\$30,000
			University Indianapolis	
Warsaw Community Schools	Warsaw	Public	Grace College	\$30,000

More information is available at https://www.in.gov/che/4519.htm.

###

About the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Created in 1971, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education plans, coordinates and defines Indiana's postsecondary education system to align higher learning with the needs of students and the state. The Commission also administers Indiana's financial aid programs, including the 21st Century Scholars early college promise scholarship, which celebrated 30 years in 2020. Learn more about the Commission's Reaching Higher in a State of Change strategic plan at www.in.gov/che.