

MEDIA CONTACT:

Charlee Beasor at (765) 720-0342 or CBeasor@che.in.gov Jess Nejad at (812) 499-0771 or JNejad@che.in.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

State Awards Nearly \$400,000 in Teacher Residency Grant Funding

Grants will support 26 teacher residents; six school corporations chosen for planning grants

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The <u>Indiana Commission for Higher Education</u> has selected 16 schools to receive Teacher Residency Pilot Program Grants for the 2020-2021 academic year, totaling \$396,000.

The Teacher Residency Grant Pilot Program was created in 2019 by the Indiana General Assembly. Modeled after medical residency and apprenticeship programs, teacher residency programs are full-year, paid teaching experiences for student educators. Students teach alongside an experienced mentor teacher, preparing them for the classroom after graduation. Two types of grants are supported through the program: residency grants and planning grants.

"These resident teachers are going to have an immersive experience and learn the true day-to-day workings of a classroom and a school under the guide of a mentor teacher," said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. "It is encouraging to see a mix of school types and district sizes throughout Indiana with the partnership and participation of a number of public and private higher education partners represented in this program."

Teacher Residency Grants Awarded to 10 Schools

The 10 grants will support 26 teacher residents, funded at \$15,000 per teacher residency. Funding can be used to pay resident and mentor teacher stipends, as well as support costs for higher education partners. Initial grant recipients are eligible for renewal of the grant for the 2021-22 school year.

Teacher Residency Grant recipients are:

School name	Location	School type	Indiana higher education partner	AY 2020-21 Award total
Community Montessori	New Albany	Charter	Indiana University Southeast	\$30,000
Community Schools of Frankfort	Frankfort	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$60,000
Frontier School Corporation	Chalmers	Public	Purdue University West Lafayette	\$15,000
KIPP Indy	Indianapolis	Charter	Relay Graduate School of Education	\$45,000
Lafayette Community Schools	Lafayette	Public	Purdue University West Lafayette	\$60,000
Maconaquah School Corporation	Bunker Hill	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$15,000
Metropolitan School District of Decatur Township	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$45,000
New Albany Floyd County Schools	New Albany	Public	Indiana University Southeast	\$30,000
Perry Township Schools	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$60,000
The Project School	Bloomington	Charter	IUPUI	\$30,000

Planning grants will help develop future programs

Six public school corporations were also selected to receive \$1,000 Residency Program Planning Grants to develop future teacher residency programs, totaling \$6,000. Grants will be used to cover costs as each school corporation works with an Indiana higher education partner to develop a teacher residency program that will begin in the 2021-22 academic year. Planning grant recipients are listed with the respective higher education partner in parentheses:

- Elkhart Community Schools (Indiana University South Bend)
- Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District (Purdue University Fort Wayne)
- Griffith Public Schools (Indiana University-Purdue University-Northwest)
- Indianapolis Public Schools (Relay Graduate School of Education)
- Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation (Huntington University)
- Warsaw Community School (Grace College)

Planning grant recipients who decide to move forward with the teacher residency program must apply for the residency grant funding for the 2021-22 academic year no later than January 31, 2021.

More information is available at https://www.in.gov/che/4519.htm.

###

About the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Created in 1971, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education plans, coordinates and defines Indiana's postsecondary education system to align higher learning with the needs of students and the state. The Commission also administers Indiana's financial aid programs, including the 21st Century Scholars early college promise scholarship, which celebrates 30 years in 2020. Learn more about the Commission's *Reaching Higher in a State of Change* strategic plan at www.in.gov/che.