

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

MEDIA CONTACT:

Charlee Beasor

317-232-1016

CBeasor@che.in.gov

Higher Education Commission Welcomes Dr. Trent A. Engbers as New Faculty Member

University of Southern Indiana Professor's Term Will Run Through June 30, 2021

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Dr. Trent A. Engbers is joining the <u>Indiana Commission for Higher Education</u> as the body's Faculty Commission Member. Engbers is associate professor of political science and public administration and director of the master of public administration program at the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville.

Gov. Eric Holcomb announced Engbers' appointment to the 14-member Commission last week, following a recommendation from the Commission's Faculty Nominating Committee in May.

Engbers replaces the outgoing Dr. Kathy Parkison of Indiana University Kokomo, who was appointed in 2017. Faulty Commission Members serve two-year terms with the Commission.

"Indiana has some of the best institutions of higher education in the world, and I am honored to be appointed to help guide these institutions forward," Engbers said.

A former Peace Corp volunteer, Engbers is an experienced college educator and nonprofit consultant. Previous faculty experience include the University of Notre Dame Mendoza

College of Business and the Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs, among others. He earned degrees from Xavier University, the University of Maryland, University of Missouri and Indiana University. Engbers resides with his family in Evansville.

"Having been raised and raising my children in Indiana, I know how important our colleges and universities are for the state," he said. "I look forward to providing a faculty perspective to the decisions they face. I am excited to be a part of helping Indiana's colleges and universities build the workforce for tomorrow and confront the problems of today."

Faculty Commission Members must hold a full-time teaching, research or other position at a public institution of higher education and reside in Indiana. Engbers will serve as a full voting member of the Commission, which meets approximately 20-25 days per year. His term began July 1, 2019 and ends on June 30, 2021.



The Indiana Commission for Higher Education is a 14-member public body created in 1971 to define the missions of Indiana's colleges and universities, plan and coordinate the state's postsecondary education system, and ensure that Indiana's higher education system is aligned to meet the needs of students and the state. The Commission includes representatives from each Congressional district, three at-large members, a college faculty representative and a college student representative. Learn more about the Commission's *Reaching Higher, Delivering Value* strategic plan at www.in.gov/che/.

