

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, August 22, 2018

MEDIA CONTACT: Kate Stuard 309-533-2206

kstuard@che.in.gov

YVONNE HEFLIN RECEIVES DISTINGUISHED HOOSIER AWARD

The <u>Indiana Commission for Higher Education</u> announces today that Student Support Specialist Yvonne Heflin received a Distinguished Hoosier Award from Gov. Eric Holcomb. The award honors Heflin's 40 years of service to Hoosier students and the state.

Yvonne Heflin began her state government career at the State Student Assistance Commission of Indiana (SSACI) in 1978. For 40 years, Heflin has been helping students and their families navigate issues related to financial aid. In 2012, SSACI combined with the Commission for Higher Education and Heflin stepped up to ensure a smooth transition. Today, Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers presented the Distinguished Hoosier Award to Heflin on her 40th anniversary with the state.

"What stands out most about Yvonne's 40 years of service is her commitment to making postsecondary education attainable for all Hoosier students, regardless of financial need," said Commissioner Lubbers. "When I walk by her desk and hear her talking to students about their financial aid concerns, I can guarantee that when the conversation is over, they know exactly what they need to do and have been treated with compassion and respect."

The Distinguished Hoosier Award is one of the highest honors given by the State of Indiana to its citizens. The award is granted at the discretion of the governor to outstanding residents for their accomplishments and contributions to their communities.

###

About the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education is a 14-member public body created in 1971 to define the missions of Indiana's colleges and universities, plan and coordinate the state's postsecondary education system, and ensure that Indiana's higher education system is aligned to meet the needs of students and the state. The Commission includes representatives from each Congressional district, three at-large members, a college faculty representative and a college student representative.

Learn more about the Commission's Reaching Higher, Delivering Value strategic plan at www.in.gov/che/.