FAQs about Commercial Breeding of Dogs

In April 2009, the Indiana General Assembly approved a law requiring the Indiana State Board of Animal Health (BOAH) to register commercial dog brokers and breeding operations. Since Jan. 1, 2010, those who qualify are required to register with the Indiana Commercial Breeder and Broker Program.

What is a commercial dog breeder?

A commercial dog breeder is someone who maintains more than 20 unaltered female dogs 12 months of age or older.

What is a commercial dog broker?

A commercial dog broker meets the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) licensing requirements as listed in 9 CFR 1.1, with sales of at least 500 dogs or puppies annually. USDA defines a broker as a person whose business includes negotiating or arranging for the purchase, sale, or transport of dogs in commerce.

How do I register?

Registration may be completed by filling out the application available online or by calling the BOAH office. Registration must be renewed each year.

What are the exemptions to the registration requirement?

The following business are NOT required to register: animal shelters, humane societies, animal rescue operations (as long as they do not breed dogs), hobby breeders, and anyone who breeds at least 75 percent of their dogs for sporting, service or law enforcement/military purposes.

What are the annual fees for registration?

Brokers pay a flat rate of \$1000 annually to register.

Breeders pay based on the number of unaltered females older than 12 months of age maintained. The rates can be found in the guidance document.

What standards of care must be followed?

USDA standards of care as outlined in the Code of Federal Regulations (9 CFR 3.1-3.12) must be met, including housing, exercise, feeding and care. Indiana law stipulates three additional exercise standards for Indiana kennels.

What records must be kept and how long?

Records must be kept for each dog, including vaccination, deworming and any medical treatments. Copies must be provided to the consumer at the time of purchase. Records must be maintained for five years. This includes records for animals sold.

How will consumers know who is registered?

Every breeder or broker must post, in a place clearly visible to the public, certification that he/she is registered. Registration information may be available online in the future.

What are the penalties for failing to register?

Failure to register, along with falsifying information, is a Class A misdemeanor, with fines up to \$1000, in addition to twice the registration fee, along with other civil penalties, including prohibiting licensure.

Where do I get more information?

More information is available online at: www.in.gov/boah, or by contacting BOAH at 877-747-3038 or via email at: animalhealth@boah.in.gov.



Indiana Commercial Breeder and Broker 877/747-3038 animalhealth@boah.in.gov