FAQ: Photo Exempt Identification Cards

Q: What documentation do I need to provide to obtain a photo exempt identification card?

A: The documentation requirements for a photo exempt identification card are the same as a
regular identification card requirements, except:

1. The applicant may provide IRS form 4029 as proof of exemption from a Social Security
number (SSN) and benefits. IRS form 4029 must be approved, signed and dated by an
authorized member of the Social Security Administration and the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS).

a. If IRS form 4029 is provided, the applicant must also provide a documented
statement that indicates he/she has a sincerely held religious belief against the
issuance of a SSN.

. If the applicant has already been issued an SSN, IRS Form 4029 is not required, but may
still be submitted with, or without, a documented statement indicating his/her sincerely
held religious belief against the issuance of a SSN.

. The applicant must provide a documented statement from a member of the applicant’s

clergy that indicates the congregation has a prohibition against the taking of a portrait

photograph.

The applicant must also have a documented statement that affirms he/she has a sincerely

held religious belief against the taking of a portrait photograph.

*Note the applicants may provide State Form 55920 in lieu of requirements #2, #3 and
#4 above.

Q: Can I hold a photo exempt identification card at the same time as I also hold a learner’s permit,
driver’s license or old identification card (with, or without, a photo)?

A: No, as with all other credential transactions, Indiana law requires applicants to surrender their
previous credential.

Q: Besides the absence of a photograph, what else is different with a photo exempt identification
card?

A: There are a number of differences with a photo exempt identification card, including:

1. A photo exempt identification card cannot be used for any federal identification purposes.
2. A photo exempt identification card cannot be amended, replaced, or renewed online

through myBMV.com.



3. An applicant can neither add an MDC — Class B endorsement to a photo exempt
identification card, nor can an applicant use a photo exempt identification card as authority
to operate a motor vehicle.

Q: Will I still be required to take a photograph for a photo exempt identification card?

A: Yes, Indiana law requires all applicants for photo exempt identification cards to take a digital
photo.

Q: Will the photograph display on my identification card?

A: No, it will be run through the facial recognition process to prevent fraud, but it will not display
on the identification card.

Q: What is the validity period of a photo exempt identification card?

A: A photo exempt identification card is valid for 6 years. The credential holder may apply for a
renewal up to 12 months prior to the expiration date listed on the identification card.

Q: If I have temporary lawful status in the United States can I obtain a photo exempt identification
card?

A: No, a photo exempt identification card may only be issued to United States Citizens and
Nationals.

Q: What is the fee for a photo exempt identification card?

A: The fee for an initial, renewal, amended, or replacement photo exempt identification card is
$11.50.

Q: Can the fee for a photo exempt identification card be waived if the applicant is of voting age?

A: No, the fee cannot be waived if the applicant is of voting age. A photo exempt identification
card is not valid for voting purposes.

Q: How does the renewal process work once I have a photo exempt identification card?

A: Once you have a photo exempt identification card, you may renew it up to 12 months prior to
the expiration date listed on the credential.

Q: If I lose my photo exempt identification card, can I obtain a replacement?

A: Yes, you may obtain a replacement photo exempt identification card, but you must visit your
local license branch to process the transaction.



