
CHAPTER THREE

Points, Suspension 
and Insurance 
Requirements

Th e Point Study Committee assesses a point value for traffi  c violations. Th e 
point value relates to the severity and history of the violation as it relates to 
accidents. Points stay active on your driver record for two years from the 
conviction date.

Point Values
Points vary for speeding violations. Examples of speeding violation point 
totals include:

•  1 – 15 miles per hour over the speed limit ......................................... 2 points

•  16 – 25 miles per hour over the speed limit  ...................................... 4 points

•  26+ miles per hour over the speed limit............................................. 6 points

Examples of other violation point totals include:

•  Failure to use headlights .................................................................... 2 points

•  No brake or signal lights ................................................................... 2 points

•  Improper motorcycle headgear .......................................................... 4  points

•  Improper motorcycle passenger ......................................................... 4 points

•  Improper U-turn ............................................................................... 4 points

•  Unsafe lane movement ...................................................................... 4 points

•  Disregarding a stop sign or yield sign ................................................ 4 points

•  Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle ............................................ 6 points

•  Following another vehicle too closely ................................................ 6 points

•  Driving while suspended ................................................................... 8 points

•  Speed contest on road ....................................................................... 8 points
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Driver Safety Programs
Th e BMV has approved a limited number of Driver Safety Program (DSP) 
providers. A BMV-approved DSP is a defensive driving curriculum available 
in classroom, online or DVD instruction formats. A BMV-approved DSP 
course provides a summary of defensive driving techniques and is a benefi cial 
refresher course for drivers. 

Any Indiana driver may complete a DSP course from a BMV-approved 
provider and receive a four-point credit. However, Indiana drivers required by 
the BMV to participate in a DSP will receive a mailed notifi cation indicating 
that they must successfully complete a BMV-approved DSP within 90 days of 
the date on the notifi cation. Each driver is allowed one four-point credit during 
a three-year period. 

Th e BMV may require drivers 21 years of age and older who are convicted of 
two or more traffi  c off enses within a 12-month period to complete a BMV-
approved DSP course. 

Drivers who are less than 21 years of age and are convicted of two or more 
traffi  c off enses, involved in two or more accidents, or a combination of the two 
shall also be required to complete a DSP course. 

Failure to complete a DSP course within 90 days from the date of the BMV’s 
mailed notice will result in the suspension of your driving privileges. Th e 
suspension will remain on your driver record until such time as you successfully 
complete the DSP course and the completion is processed by the BMV. 

A judge may also order a driver who commits a traffi  c off ense to attend a DSP. 
If a court orders you to complete a DSP, it is at the court’s discretion as to 
which type of DSP you will be required to complete. However, the four-point 
credit will only be applied to your driver record if you complete a BMV-
approved DSP course. 

Th e maximum fee for any BMV-approved DSP is $55. Allow 7 to 10 business 
days for completion results to be processed by the BMV. Make your check or 
money order payable to the DSP provider. 

A list of DSP providers is available at myBMV.com or by calling 888-692-6841.

Insurance Requirements
Driving without a current liability insurance policy that meets the state minimum 
standard is against the law. Th e state minimum insurance standard is $25,000 
for bodily injury to, or the death of, one individual; $50,000 for bodily injury 
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to, or the death of, two or more people in any one accident; and $25,000 for 
property damages in any one accident. Th is is commonly referred to as 25/50/25 
liability insurance. To deter uninsured drivers, Indiana law requires the BMV to 
impose driving privilege suspensions and fi nancial penalties on motorists that 
are found to have operated a vehicle in Indiana without proof that they hold 
the state minimum requirement for auto insurance. Financial penalties include 
reinstatement fees and suspensions can range from 90 days to one year.  

Proof of Financial Responsibility
Do not delay when you receive a notifi cation from the BMV to provide proof 
of fi nancial responsibility (proof of insurance). Immediately contact your 
automobile insurance provider and request that they electronically submit a 
Certifi cate of Compliance (COC) to the BMV. You may receive a notice to 
verify fi nancial responsibility from the BMV as the result of any of the 
following situations: 

•  An auto accident 

•  A pointable moving traffi  c violation within one year of receiving two other 
pointable moving traffi  c violations

•  A serious traffi  c violation such as a misdemeanor or felony

•  Any pointable moving traffi  c violation by a driver who was previously 
suspended for failing to provide proof of fi nancial responsibility

A properly fi led COC will demonstrate that the vehicle you were operating at 
the time of the incident or accident was insured to the state’s minimum motor 
vehicle liability protection (25/50/25). Th e COC must be received electronically 
and processed by the BMV within 40 days of the BMV’s mailing of a request 
to verify fi nancial responsibility or your driving privileges will be suspended. 

Once your driving privileges are suspended, you may have a BMV-imposed 
suspension removed from your driving record by having your insurance provider 
or employer submit proof of fi nancial responsibility. Th is typically requires your 
insurance provider to submit a COC covering you and the vehicle indicated 
in the citation or accident report for the date of the incident or accident or an 
Affi  davit – Proof of Financial Responsibility for Employer or Rental Vehicles. 
If you are convicted by an Indiana court for operating a vehicle without insurance, 
or by a court that is out of state, you must contact the court to determine if you 
can provide proof of insurance to them to remove the conviction from your 
driving record.
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If your driving privileges are suspended as a result of a court conviction or for 
failing to fi le insurance with the BMV, Indiana law requires that you have your 
insurance provider electronically fi le proof of future fi nancial responsibility 
with a SR22 form for your driving privileges to be reinstated.  A failure to fi le 
a SR22 will result in the continuation of a suspension on your driving record 
until your insurance provider fi les an eff ective SR22. 

SR22 Requirement Period 
Th e SR22 form demonstrates that you have a motor vehicle insurance policy 
that meets the state’s minimum standards and it cannot be canceled without 
prior notice given to the BMV. When you have an SR22 requirement, you 
must maintain an eff ective SR22 policy on fi le with the BMV for three years 
as a result of your fi rst and/or second no-insurance suspension; or fi ve years as 
a result of your third and subsequent no-insurance suspensions (if the suspension 
became eff ective after July 1, 2014). 

If the BMV receives an SR26 (cancellation of SR22 insurance) notice from 
your insurance provider, at any time during the three or fi ve year required 
period, Indiana law requires the BMV to suspend your driving privileges until 
we receive an eff ective SR22 policy, or until the SR22 required period expires. 

If you are convicted of operating without insurance more than one time in a 
fi ve-year period, the court may suspend your vehicle registration in addition 
to your driving privileges for one year.

No-Insurance Reinstatement Fees
A driver who operates a motor vehicle without a liability insurance policy 
that meets the state’s minimum standards is subject to a suspension of driving 
privileges. Additionally, once that insurance suspension has expired, Indiana 
law requires you to pay a fee to reinstate your driving privileges; this is in 
addition to the SR22 requirement. Reinstatement fees range from $250 for a 
fi rst no-insurance suspension, $500 for a second no-insurance suspension, and 
$1,000 for a third and subsequent no-insurance suspension(s) that occurred 
after January 1, 2015. For no-insurance suspensions prior to January 1, 2015 
reinstatement fees of $150 for a fi rst no-insurance suspension, $225 for a 
second no-insurance suspension, and $300 for a third and subsequent 
no-insurance suspension(s) will be required. 

You may pay reinstatement fees at myBMV.com , by telephone at 888-692-6841 
or by mail using the reinstatement fee coupon that you received in the mail 
from the BMV.
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Suspensions
Indiana law provides courts with the authority to order the BMV to suspend 
an individual’s driving privileges when he or she is found to have committed 
certain traffi  c violations. 

Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Traffi c Offenses
Failing to appear before a court of law in response to a citation issued by a law 
enforcement offi  cer or not paying for tickets after a judgment has been entered 
may lead to the suspension of your driving privileges. Th ese types of suspensions 
are indefi nite and will only end when the court notifi es the BMV that you 
appeared in court or paid for the citation. 

Driving While Suspended
Driving while suspended is a serious traffi  c violation. Driving while suspended 
with a prior off ense can result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction on your 
driving record. Th e penalties imposed by the court can be signifi cant and 
convictions can result in increased insurance premiums. Th e BMV strongly 
encourages you to not operate a motor vehicle with a suspended driver’s license.

Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated
Operating a vehicle while intoxicated or with a blood alcohol content in excess 
of the legal limit is a criminal off ense and has an immediate eff ect on your privilege 
to operate a vehicle. If a law enforcement offi  cer has probable cause to believe that 
a motorist committed an off ense under IC 9-30-5, IC 9-30-6, IC 9-30-9, or IC 
9-30-15, the offi  cer may ask the motorist to submit to a chemical test to determine 
the amount of alcohol in the person’s system. If a judge fi nds that probable 
cause exists, such that a person operated a vehicle while intoxicated, he or she 
may face a suspension of driving privileges. 

•  A motorist who fails a chemical test may have his or her driving privileges 
suspended for up to 180 days

•  A motorist who refuses to submit to a chemical test will face a suspension of 
driving privileges for up to two years

In addition to a probable cause suspension, a court may suspend a person’s 
driving privileges following a conviction for operating while intoxicated. 
Th e suspension periods may be longer for repeat off enders. Penalties for this 
off ense may include conditions placed on your driving privileges.
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If the motorist is eligible, the court may issue an order for specialized driving 
privileges. Th e court may also require the installation of an ignition interlock 
device, which mechanically tests the driver’s blood alcohol level before his or 
her car can be started. 

When a driver who is younger than 18 years of age is cited for operating a 
vehicle while intoxicated, the Juvenile Court may also recommend a suspension 
of his or her driving privileges.

Operating a Watercraft While Intoxicated
If you are convicted of operating a watercraft while intoxicated, your driving 
privileges are subject to the same penalties as an operator of a motor vehicle. 

A conviction of operating a watercraft while intoxicated is forwarded to the 
BMV and the conviction becomes part of your driver record. 

Other off enses related to the operation of a watercraft, such as reckless operation 
endangering the safety of others or operating a watercraft when your driving 
privileges have been suspended, will also be added to your driver record. 

Failure to Pay Child Support
A court that has determined a parent is delinquent in paying child support 
may order the BMV to immediately suspend the delinquent parent’s driving 
privileges until the BMV receives an order from the court to reinstate the p
arent’s driving privileges. 

If the local agency responsible for enforcing child support payments determines 
either that a parent failed to appear for a hearing or appeared and was found to 
be delinquent, then that agency may also send an order to the BMV requiring that 
the parent’s driving privileges be suspended until the BMV is notifi ed from the 
agency that the parent has paid or established a payment plan. 

Making Payment to the BMV with Dishonored Funds
Th e BMV will indefi nitely suspend your driving privileges if you submit 
payment to the BMV for any services or fees and that payment was not 
honored. To reinstate your driving privileges, you must pay the amount of 
the obligation plus all applicable service, collection and reinstatement fees.
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Checking Your Driver Record and Reinstatement
After you have cleared up any issues with your driver record, you may be 
anxious to obtain a valid credential and get back on the road. Your fi rst 
resource should be to check your driver record, which you may view anytime 
online at no charge at myBMV.com. For your fi rst visit, you will be required 
to establish a myBMV.com personal account. Th e “Viewable Driver Record” 
on myBMV.com includes your driver’s license status, as well as information 
about citations, suspensions and how to reinstate your driving privileges if you 
have outstanding requirements. 

Once you log into myBMV.com, select ”Driver Record” on the left-hand side 
of the page, then select the “Viewable Driver Record” to see your record. 
Th ere is also an “Offi  cial Driver Record” that may be purchased for $4. Any 
outstanding reinstatement requirements, along with the date you are eligible 
for reinstatement, will also be listed in the “Reinstatement Requirements” box 
near the top of the viewable driver record or on your Offi  cial Driver Record. 
Your driver record will be updated with the most current information available 
once you open the viewable driver record.

If your driving privileges are still suspended by a court, the court’s phone 
number will be listed with the associated court-ordered suspension. You may 
contact the court to fi nd out how to fulfi ll any of their requirements for a 
particular suspension. Once the court’s requirements are fulfi lled, the court will 
send reinstatement information directly to the BMV for processing. Processing 
by the BMV may take up to 10 business days once the information is received 
from the court. 

Note: Th e “Viewable Driver Record” cannot be printed and should not be 
used as an offi  cial transcript of your driver record. Th e “Offi  cial Driver Record” 
is an offi  cial transcript of your driver record and can be used by individuals, 
courts, state agencies and employers. You will be able to print your “Offi  cial 
Driver Record” for up to 30 days after you have purchased it. An electronic 
version of the “Offi  cial Driver Record” is also provided when purchased at 
myBMV.com. 

Habitual Traffi c Violators
Indiana law provides serious penalties for drivers who have repeatedly 
committed traffi  c off enses over a 10-year period. Th e BMV uses the criteria 
in statute, which are summarized on the next page to determine whether a 
driver qualifi es as a Habitual Traffi  c Violator (HTV). 
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Section A (10-Year or Life Suspension): Two Major Offenses 
Resulting in Injury or Death
An HTV is a person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates two judgments 
resulting in injury or death. Below is a reference of some of the criminal off enses 
that will result in an HTV status being placed on your driving privileges: 

•  Reckless homicide resulting from operation of a motor vehicle

•  Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a 
motor vehicle 

•  An operator involved in an accident resulting in death or injury who fails 
to stop at the scene of the accident to provide information and assistance

•  Operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated resulting in death

•  Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or more 
resulting in death

Drivers who, within a 10-year period, accumulate two judgments from the 
above list will have their driving privileges suspended for 10 years. 

Drivers who accumulate two judgments within a 10-year period for operating a 
motor vehicle while intoxicated resulting in death or operating a motor vehicle 
with blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more resulting in death will have 
their driving privileges suspended for life. 

Prior to June 30, 2001, drivers who accumulated two judgments within a 10-year 
period for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated resulting in death, or 
operating a motor vehicle with blood alcohol content of .10 percent and 210 
liters of their breath or more resulting in death,  have had their driving privileges 
suspended for life. 

Section B (10-Year Suspension): Three Major Offenses
An HTV is a person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates three 
judgments including: 

•  Driving while intoxicated or with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent 
or more; or

•  Prior to June 30, 2001 drivers who are convicted of operating a motor 
vehicle with blood alcohol content of .10 percent and 210 liters of their 
breath or more

•  Prior to July 1, 1997 drivers who are convicted of operating a motor vehicle 
while intoxicated resulting in death or operating a motor vehicle with blood 
alcohol content of .10 percent and 210 liters of their breath or more
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•  Reckless driving

•  Criminal recklessness as a felony involving the operation of a motor vehicle

•  Drag racing or engaging in a speed contest in violation of the law

•  Leaving the scene of an accident or failing to notify authorities of an accident 
when required

•  Resisting law enforcement under IC 35-44.1-3-1

•  Any felony under an Indiana motor vehicle statute or any felony in which 
the operation of a vehicle is an element of the off ense

•  Operating a Motor Driven Cycle – Class B in violation of IC 9-24-1-1(b)

•  Any of the off enses listed in Section A

Drivers who, within a 10-year period, accumulate three judgments from the 
above list will have their driving privileges suspended for 10 years. 

Section C: Nine Traffi c Violations Plus One Major Offense
An HTV under this section is subject to a fi ve-year driving privilege suspension 
and has accumulated 10 or more traffi  c violations in a 10-year period, one of 
which is a major off ense as listed in Section A or B or one of the following: 

•  Operating a motor vehicle while the person’s license has been suspended or 
revoked as a result of the person’s convictions of an off ense under IC 9-1-4-52 
(repealed July 1, 1991), IC 9-24-18-5(b) (repealed July 1, 2000), IC 9-24-19-2, 
or IC 9-24-19-3

•  Operating a motor vehicle without ever having obtained an operator’s license

For example, a person with nine speeding tickets and one reckless driving 
conviction in a 10-year period will be subject to a fi ve-year suspension as 
an HTV. 

Operating a Vehicle While Suspended as an HTV
Indiana law provides that a person who is convicted of operating a vehicle 
while suspended as an HTV may have their other driving privileges suspended 
for a period set by the court. 
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Restriction 5: Probationary or Specialized Driving Privileges
A “Restriction 5” is placed on the driver’s license of a person who has been 
granted hardship, probationary, conditional or specialized driving privileges 
by court order. 

Restriction 2 will no longer be added to driver records for HTV suspensions/HTV 
probationary driver’s licenses expiring on or after January 1, 2015.

SR22 Insurance and Specialized Driving Privileges
A person who has been granted specialized driving privileges by a court shall: 

•  Maintain an eff ective SR22 on fi le with the BMV for the duration of
specialized driving privileges

•  Carry a copy of the court order granting specialized driving privileges or
have the order in the vehicle being operated by the person

•  Produce the copy of the order granting specialized driving privileges upon
the request of a law enforcement

•  Carry a validly issued credential with them during the operation of any
motor vehicle

If an HTV suspension ends on or after January 1, 2015, an eff ective SR22 is 
not required as a condition of reinstatement to be on fi le with the BMV. 
However, if an HTV suspension ends prior to January 1, 2015, then the SR22 
shall be required for three years after the expiration of the HTV suspension. 
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