IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

myBMV > Learner's Permits and Driver's Licenses > Frequently Asked Questions For Hire Endorsement Frequently Asked Questions For Hire Endorsement

If I currently hold a Chauffeur or Public Passenger Chauffeur license (PPC), do I have to obtain an Operator’s license with for-hire endorsement on January 1, 2017?

Your Chauffeur’s or PPC license will remain valid until the expiration date that is printed on the license. If you wish to renew, replace, or amend your Chauffeur’s or PPC license you will receive an Operator’s license with a for hire endorsement.

Will my operating privileges remain the same as with the Chauffeur’s or PPC license?

Yes, however, if you currently hold a Chauffeur’s license, you will also have authority to transport no more than 15 passengers, including the driver, for hire with the for-hire endorsement.

How will I replace my Chauffeur’s or PPC license if it is stolen/lost or mutilated?

If your Chauffeur’s or PPC license is stolen, lost or mutilated, Indiana law requires the BMV to issue an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement. You will be required to visit any BMV license branch to apply for an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement.

How do I amend my Chauffeur’s or PPC license?

If information on your Chauffeur’s or PPC license needs to be amended, Indiana law requires the BMV to issue an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement. You will be required to visit any license branch to apply for an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement. Please bring any supporting documentation needed to amend your credential.

When I renew my Chauffeur’s or PPC license, will I be required to take the for-hire knowledge exam to apply for an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement?

No, a for-hire knowledge exam is only required when making an initial application an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement, or if your Chauffeur’s or PPC license has been expired for more than 180 days.

Can I renew my Chauffeur’s or PPC license to an Operator’s license with for-hire endorsement online, or must I visit a license branch?

No, you must visit a BMV license branch to replace, renew or amend your Chauffeur’s or PPC license.

Additional information on renewal requirements is located on the myBMV website at Renewing a Driver's License Or Identification Card.

When I renew my PPC license to an Operator’s with the for-hire endorsement, will the PPC Medical Certification – State Form 3337 be required?

No, the PPC Medical Certification – State Form 3337 is not required when applying for an Operator’s license with a for-hire endorsement. However, drivers may be required to possess a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC) while operating a vehicle. Additional information on medical requirements may be viewed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.

What are the qualifications to add the for-hire endorsement to my driver’s license?

You must be at least 18 years of age, have held a valid driver’s license for more than one year and pass the for-hire knowledge exam.

What is the cost of the for-hire endorsement?

The endorsement fee costs $19.00 and is only charged when adding the for-hire endorsement to your driver’s license for the first time.

Since I currently hold a Chauffeur’s or PPC license, will I be charged the endorsement fee when I apply for an Operator’s license with the for-hire endorsement?

No, the endorsement fee will not be required as the for-hire endorsement is replacing the Chauffeur’s and/or PPC license.

How do I transfer my out-of-state Chauffeur’s or PPC license?

New Indiana residents who hold a valid driver’s license with a for-hire endorsement, Chauffeur’s license or a PPC license from another state may apply for an Indiana Operator’s license with a for-hire endorsement after passing the Operator knowledge exam and the for-hire endorsement knowledge exam.

How long is my for-hire endorsement valid?

Your for-hire endorsement is valid for the same period as your driver’s license.

I passed the chauffeur’s knowledge exam within the last 180 days but I did not obtain my license. Do I have to take the for-hire knowledge exam to add the endorsement to my driver’s license?

No, the Chauffeur’s knowledge exam and the for-hire knowledge exam are considered the same knowledge exam.

If I am under 18 years of age and I need to obtain a for-hire endorsement, can I request a waiver of age or experience like you could for a chauffeur’s license?

No, Indiana law does not grant the BMV the authority to waive any age or experience requirements for a for-hire endorsement.