IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

myBMV > Watercraft > Watercraft Titles Watercraft Titles

All watercraft must be titled except for a watercraft that is exempt from registration.

Learn more about watercraft that are exempt from registration

You must apply for a certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase or an administrative penalty will be charged.

  • If you are a new Indiana resident, you must apply for a certificate of title within 60 days of becoming an Indiana resident or an administrative penalty will be charged.

A certificate of title is required to be presented as proof of ownership. If a certificate of title cannot be provided, you must obtain a court order prior to applying for a certificate of title.

Download the Court Order Title Application Packet

The following watercraft title exemptions were removed from Indiana law effective July 1, 2016, and a watercraft meeting the following criteria must be titled prior to applying for a registration:

  • Watercraft purchased prior to January 1, 1986.
  • Homemade watercraft.
  • Watercraft valued under $3,000 when new.

A person who owns a watercraft that was exempt from the title requirements before July 1, 2016 is not required to apply for a certificate of title prior to selling the watercraft. The seller must provide a bill of sale to the purchaser.

Learn more about selling or purchasing a vehicle/watercraft in Indiana

Learn more about title requirements for new Indiana residents

Learn more about ordering a duplicate Indiana title

Learn more about adding or removing a name from a title

Court Order Title Applications

If you are unable to establish ownership through any one of the available BMV title application processes, you must obtain a court order. Once you have received the court order, you may apply for a certificate of title through the BMV.

The Court Order Title Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required information is included.

Download the Court Order Title Application Packet

Abandoned Watercraft Title Application

A marina operator may sell a watercraft that has been left without permission at the marina for more than six months and recover the operator’s reasonable maintenance, repair, dockage, storage, and other charges. Upon fulfilling the statutory obligations contained in IC 32-34-10, the marina operator may complete an Affidavit of Sale– Abandoned Watercraft - State Form 50634 to assign ownership to a purchaser without a certificate of title.

The Abandoned Watercraft Title Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required information is included.

Download the Abandoned Watercraft Title Application Packet

Municipal and Law Enforcement Watercraft Title and Registration Application

Title and registration applications for municipal corporations, including law enforcement, must be processed by the BMV Central Office.

The Municipal Corporation and Law Enforcement Watercraft Title and Registration Application Packet provides a detailed list of the documents required to be submitted with the application. Prior to submitting each application, verify all required information is included.

Download the Municipal Corporation and Law Enforcement Watercraft Title and Registration Application Packet