IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

myBMV > Plates and Registrations > Indiana's Standard and Specialty License Plates > Municipal License Plates Municipal License Plates

Title and registration applications for Municipal Corporations and Law Enforcement are processed by the BMV Municipal processing Department to improve the security and efficiency of these transactions.  Prior to submitting each application, please verify t h a t all required information is included.  Contact 888-692-6841 with any questions.

Mail the completed packet to:
Central Office Municipal Processing
100 North Senate Avenue, Room N415
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Title A Municipal Vehicle

Title Application Requirements:

  • Completed and signed Application for Certificate of Title – State Form 44049
  • Original Certificate of Title or Certificate of Origin
  • Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft – State Form 39530.  Required for vehicles purchased outside of Indiana
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement – State Form 43230, if odometer statement is not completed on the certificate of title or certificate of origin. Trailers and motor vehicles over 16,000 lbs exempt.
  • Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption – State Form 48841 
  • $15 title application fee. Fees are payable by credit card (MasterCard or Visa), check, electronic check, or money order.  A $21 delinquent fee will be assessed on packets received 31 days after the purchase date listed on the certificate of title or certificate of origin. 

Register A Municipal Vehicle

Registration Application Requirements:

  • Application for new and/or Transferred License Plates for Municipal Corporations and Law Enforcement – State Form 53565
  • Copy of Certificate of Title or Application for Certificate of Title – State Form 44049 (if already titled to applicant)
  • Copy of the lease agreement or Statement of Existing Lease Agreement – State Form 12787 if the vehicle is being leased from a leasing company.
  • Safety Inspection completed by ISP for all municipally owned school buses

Transfer Plates Between Municipal Vehicles

Municipal License Plate Fees

Title Fee

A $15 title application fee will be charged for each municipal and law enforcement vehicle.

Delinquent Title Fee

A $21 delinquent fee will be charged for a title application that is not made within 31 days of the date of purchase.

Registration Fee

There is no charge to register a vehicle with a municipal or law enforcement license plate.

Transfer Plate Fee

There is no charge to transfer an existing plate between municipal or law enforcement vehicles.

Duplicate Registration Fee

A $6 duplicate registration fee will be charged to replace a lost, stolen, or destroyed certificate of vehicle registration.

Replacement Plate Fee

A $10 replacement plate fee will be charged when a qualified entity requests that a previously registered plate number is remade. This fee covers the administrative cost of these special orders. There is no charge if a replacement plate is requested where a specific license plate number is not specified.

License Plate Stickers And Frames

Your plate should have stickers showing the day, month, and year of your next registration renewal, and the county in which your vehicle is registered. Indiana law prohibits license plate frames or covers that obscure stickers, text, or numbers on your plate.

Still Have Questions? Contact The BMV