IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Bureau of Motor Vehicles

myBMV > Learner's Permits and Driver's Licenses > Renewing a Driver's License or Identification Card Renewing a Driver's License or Identification Card

An Indiana credential may be renewed up to one year prior to expiration for most Hoosiers. Individuals with temporary lawful status can only renew up to 30 days prior to the expiration of their current credential. 

How long is my credential valid?

Your driver's license or identification card expires at midnight on your birthday. If your birthday falls on a day on which license branches are closed, your driver's license or identification card will expire at midnight on the next business day. 

  • A probationary operator’s license expires at midnight 30 days after your 21st birthday. An administrative penalty of $5.00 will be charged if the license is renewed after that date.
  • If you are under 75 years of age, your license validity period is six years. 
  • If you are at least 75 and younger than 85 years old, your license is valid for three years.
  • If you are 85 years or older, your license is valid for two years.
  • A credential issued to Foreign Nationals with temporary status expires on the end date of their lawful stay in the United States.

Renew Your Credential Online

If you are under the age of 75, you can renew your driver's license online if you meet the requirements listed below. You will need to provide your name, date of birth, residential address, and Social Security number in order to renew or replace your driver's license or identification card online.

You can renew your driver’s license online only if you meet the following conditions:

  • You have an operator’s or chauffeur’s license. Commercial driver's licenses or public passenger chauffer’s licenses cannot be renewed online. 
  • You are a citizen of the United States and an Indiana resident. 
  • There is no change in your name, residence address, or other information. 
  • Your previous renewal transaction was completed in a license branch. 
  • Your license is not expired for more than 180 days. 
  • You require no testing or medical certifications. 
  • You are within 12 months of your renewal date. 
  • You are under 75 years old. 
  • Your driver’s license  does not have restrictions J or 2 - 9 
    • J - Other 
    • 2- Habitual Traffic Violator Conditional License 
    • 3- Photo Exempt
    • 5- Conditional 
    • 6- Interlock Ignition Device 
    • 7- Seat Belt Exempt 
    • 8- Medical Condition 
    • 9- Temporary 
  • Your previous photo is on file 
  • You are not suspended, revoked or invalidated 
  • You do not have six or more active points on your driver record
  • You are not under 21 years old 

If you must visit a branch, here is a list of BMV locations.

Identification Card

You can renew your ID card online only if you meet the following conditions:

  • You are a citizen of the United States and an Indiana resident
  • There is no change in your name, address, or other information
  • Your ID card is not expired for more than 180 days
  • You are within 12 months of your renewal date
  • Your previous photo is on file  
  • Your record does not have restrictions 3 or 9
  • Renew your identification card online

When You Must Visit a License Branch to Renew

Most Hoosiers are eligible to renew their credential online every other renewal, which means that you only need to visit the license branch once every ten to twelve years for a credential renewal. However, there will be circumstances that require you to visit a license branch to change information on your credential or if you need to update your lawful status. 

Click here to learn more about amending your credential

Click here to learn more about lawful status

Here are a few more reasons why you may need to visit a license branch.

  • If you are renewing a driver’s license that is not expired because your last renewal was online, you must pass a standard vision screening test. 
  • If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for less than 180 days, you must pay a $5.00 delinquent fee and pass a standard vision screening test. 
  • If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for 180 days but not more than three years, you must pay a $5.00 administrative penalty, and pass a knowledge examination and a standard vision screening test. 
  • If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for more than three years, you must pay a $5.00 administrative penalty, and pass a knowledge examination, a driving skills test, and a standard vision screening test. Currently licensed drivers who are 75 years of age and older must visit a license branch to renew their credential. Foreign nationals with permanent or temporary lawful status must also visit a license branch and provide documentation of identity, lawful status, proof of Social Security Number (or proof of ineligibility) and Indiana residency for each renewal transaction.

If you have six or more points on your driving record, you must take the knowledge examination to renew your driver's license.

Renewing a License If You Are Away From Indiana

If your Indiana driver's license is expired, lost or stolen while you are out of the state, you may renew or replace your license online if you meet the requirements listed above, or you may request a 30-day extension from the date your driver's license expires. To obtain a 30-day extension of your driver's license or a 30-day interim credential you will need to download and complete a Request for Interim/Extension License, State Form 54580. After you have completed the form in its entirety, you may mail it to the address listed on the form.

If you are temporarily living outside Indiana because you are serving in the military, your license remains valid for 90 days following your discharge from service. If your license expires while outside of Indiana and you are not eligible for online renewal you may print a Military Extension Letter. While operating a motor vehicle, you should hold in your possession your most current license along with this letter and proof of your service in the Armed Forces. To obtain a renewed license after you have been discharged, you need to visit a license branch and show proof of discharge.

Still Have Questions? Contact the BMV