Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
State law requires drivers that commit two or more traffic offenses resulting in convictions within a 12-month period to complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Programs (DSP). Drivers who are under 18 years of age are required to complete a DSP if, within a 12-month period, they are convicted of two or more traffic offenses, involved in two or more accidents, or a combination of the two. When the BMV is notified of these convictions and incidents, the BMV will require you to complete a DSP course within 90 days, after which the person’s driving privileges will be suspended if notification of successful completion is not received from one of the BMV-approved DSP providers.
The BMV has approved a variety of DSPs for Indiana residents. The DSP curriculum is available in different learning formats including classroom, DVD, and online. All of the DSP providers have the same curriculum standards and all are a minimum of four hours in duration.
The BMV will apply a 4 point credit to a driver’s record for successfully completing a BMV-approved DSP. Any Indiana driver can take a DSP course from a BMV-approved provider and receive the 4 point credit. However, drivers required by the BMV to complete a DSP will receive a notification from the BMV that they must complete a BMV-approved DSP. Completing a DSP course, whether required, or voluntary, will only result in a 4 point credit once per three years.
Drivers are reminded that only a BMV-approved DSP course will satisfy a BMV issued DSP requirement and result in a 4 point credit. A court may also require a driver to complete a DSP course and use this requirement as an alternative to suspension of driving privileges; however, a court ordered DSP requirement may not require a driver to participate in a BMV-approved DSP. The DSP courses do not teach a person how to drive; however, the courses do provide information that will help improve defensive driving skills.
After completing the DSP and submitting the results, it may take 7 to 10 business days to post the results on a driver’s record.
The maximum cost for any of the BMV-approved DSP courses is $55. All drivers taking a DSP must pay any fees associated with the course.
Driver Safety Program courses are offered in three different formats: