Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Indiana law gives courts the authority to order the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to suspend a motorist’s driving privileges when he or she is found to have committed certain traffic violations.
Indiana law assesses a point value for each conviction of a moving violation. The point value relates to the seriousness of the offense in posing a risk to traffic safety. Point values for offenses range from two to eight points, depending on the violation. Points stay active on an individual’s driving record for two years from the conviction date of the citation.
Motorists who accumulate 18 or more active points during a two-year period will be required to attend an administrative hearing conducted by the BMV. At the hearing, the presiding officer will make a determination whether to place the driver on probation; suspend the person’s driving privileges for 30 days to one year; or impose additional requirements beyond the order of probation or suspension such as requiring attendance at a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program.
If a motorist fails to appear for the administrative hearing at the time and place designated, the hearing will be held in his or her absence, and the administrative hearing officer will make the decision of the action to be rendered in the case.
|Common Point Values|
|1 – 15 mph over the speed limit||2 point violation|
|16 – 25 mph over the speed limit||4 point violation|
|26+ mph over the speed limit||6 point violation|
|Failure to use headlights||2 point violation|
|No brake or signal lights||2 point violation|
|Disregard stop/yield sign||6 point violation|
|Fail to yield to emergency vehicle||8 point violation|
|Improper U-turn||4 point violation|
|Following too closely||6 point violation|
|Unsafe lane movement||4 point violation|
|Failure to yield||6 point violation|
|Speed contest on road||8 point violation|
|Improper motorcycle headgear||4 point violation|
|Improper motorcycle passenger||4 point violation|
|Driving while suspended||8 point violation|
A court may require a driver to complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program (DSP) and use this requirement as an alternative to suspension of driving privileges. State law also requires a driver who commits two or more traffic offenses resulting in convictions within a 12-month period to complete a BMV-approved DSP. Drivers who are under 18 years of age are required to complete a DSP if, within a 12-month period, they are convicted of two or more traffic offenses, involved in two or more accidents, or a combination of the two. Failure to complete the course within the specified time period will result in the suspension of the individual's driving privileges.