- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Print This Page Rate This Page Suggest a Link E-mail This Page HELP Find a Person Find an Agency

Mobile Informational Call Act of 2011 Mobile Informational Call Act of 2011

Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller said consumers' telephone privacy is a little safer now that a federal proposal to allow automated calls to cell phones has died. Zoeller led an effort that culminated in a joint letter sent by the attorneys general asking Congress to oppose the "Mobile Informational Call Act of 2011" that would have amended the Communications Act of 1934 and allowed for robo-calling to all cell phones.

"Consumers' voices across the nation and the concerns recently expressed by attorneys general were heard in Congress," Zoeller said. "This proposal has highlighted the need to strengthen the Telephone Consumer Protection Act due to changes in technology to provide stronger consumer protections. As our state's chief consumer protection officer, I will continue stand up to protect telephone privacy for which the people of Indiana have come to know and expect."

Zoeller joined other consumer advocates in November to provide testimony in opposition to the legislation during a hearing before the U.S. House Subcommittee on Communications and Technology in Washington, D.C..

To read the story - click here.

House Resolution 3035 would have:

  • Stripped away Indiana's Do Not Call restrictions
  • Allowed robo-calls to cell phones
  • Permited businesses to contact Hoosiers without their consent

You can sign up for privacy alerts from the Attorney General's Office for updates on HR 3035 by clicking here.

For additional information on HR 3035, and to let your Congressional representative know your thoughts on this threat to your privacy click here.

To read the latest from the National Association of Consumer Advocates on HR 3035 click here. A letter to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce members is available here.