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Legal Disclaimers

This presentation is for informational purposes only. The
presenters are employees of the Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco
Commission and Indiana Department of Revenue and can
not provide legal or tax advice to permit holders or their
representatives. Compliance with tobacco sales and excise
tax laws are the sole responsibility of the permit or
certificate holder.

Allimages used in this presentation are utilized for
g Shanahar educational purposes consistent with fair use allowance
under Section 107 of the Copyright Act of 1976.

"l wouldn't—there's an awful lot of scary-sounding legalese."



Enrolled Act Description Impacted Indiana Code Sections

SEA 149 Tobacco 7.1-3-18.5-3.2; 7.1-3-18.5-2; 7.1-3-18.5-2;
7.1-3-18.5-9.2; 7.1-5-10-26; 35-46-1-11.4

SEA 228 & Excise Tax 7.1-4-3-2; 7.1-4-4-3; 7.1-4-4.5-3

Impacted HEA 1120

Code Sections
by Enrolled
Act




SEA 149




SEA 149:
Tobacco Sales

Effective 7/1/2024

Prohibits a retail establishment from holding more than
one active tobacco sales certificate for a single location
at any time

Prohibits a tobacco sales certificate from being issued
to certain persons (special disqualifications)

Adds requirements if a majority interest in a business
that holds a tobacco sales certificate is sold

Specifies that an employee of a certificate holder must
possess a valid state or U.S. issued driver’s license or ID
card in order to sell tobacco products and must display
it upon request

Provides that a person who recklessly, knowingly, or
intentionally sells a tobacco product without a valid
certificate commits a Class C infraction.

Makes it a Class C misdemeanor for a person to operate
a tobacco and vaping business within 1,000 feet of
school property.



SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

Sale or Change of Ownership Requirements

Ind. Code 7.1-3-18.5-3.2
* If majority ownership of a business that holds a
tobacco sales certificate is sold or transferred:
(1) New owners must apply for new certificate
(2) The prior certificate is void upon issuance of the new
certificate or 90 days from date of sale, whichever is
sooner

Ind. Code 7.1-3-18.5-2
* When applying for a new certificate following sale or
purchase of business, applicant must provide:

(1) If new ownership of business is business entity, articles
of incorporation or organization, or any other formation
documents

(2) If new owners of business are individuals,
sales/purchase agreement, or affidavit signed by
applicant concerning sale/purchase of business,
including name and addresses of seller and purchaser

(3) The certificate held by previous ownership of the
business.



Special Disqualifications

* New section of Indiana Code (IC 7.1-3-18.5-2.4) sets
forth special disqualifications for all tobacco
certificate owners

* Intent was to mirror the special disqualifications for alcohol
permits

SEA 149' * Creates regulatory consistency
[ J

* Requires applicants to make sworn verification that
ALL owners satisfy requisite qualifications

Tobacco Sales

* Apply to applications received on or after July 1, 2024




SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

The ATC shall not issue a tobacco sales certificate to following
persons:

A person without lawful status (as defined in IC 9-13-2-92.3)

A person convicted within 5 years before application of:

a) Afederal crime having a sentence of at least one (1) year;

b) AlLevel 1, Level 2, Level 3, Level 4, or Level 5 Felony; or

c) Acrimein other state with penalty equal to that of Level 1—5 Felony
*Does not apply to convictions that have been expunged per IC 35-38-9*

A person who does not meet at least one of following:
a) Owns premises to which certificate applicable

b) Holds valid lease on premises at time of application, effective for duration of
period sells tobacco

c) Has franchise agreement with franchisor that owns premises OR has bona fide
lease for term certificate is to be issued

A person whose business is conducted by manager or agent
(unless manager or agent possess same qualifications required for
issuance of a tobacco sales certificate)



SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

The ATC shall not issue a tobacco sales certificate to the
following persons:

5) A minor*
6) A personnoncompos mentis
7) Apersonwho has held and had revoked a permit or

certificate of any type issued IC 7.1 within one (1) year prior
to date of application for tobacco sales certificate

8) A personwho has made application for a permit or
certificate of any type issued under this title within one (1)
year prior to date of application for certificate that was
denied for non-technical reasons

* Only exception is for minor who is a stockholder in a corporation



Unlawful Sales

* New section of Indiana Code (IC 7.1-5-10-26) establishes a new
penalty for unlawful sales of tobacco products

* Strengthens ability to enforce tobacco sales certificate
requirement
o IC 7.1-3-18.5-1 states that a tobacco sales certificate is required to
SEA 1 49. sell (or distribute in exchange for consideration) a tobacco product
(]

or electronic cigarette at retail without a valid tobacco sales
certificate issued by the ATC.

Tobacco Sales

o IC 7.1-3-18.5-7 states that a person who is required to hold a
certificate and who sells or distributes tobacco products or
electronic cigarettes at retail without a valid certificate commits a
Class Ainfraction.

o IC 7.1-5-10-26 (NEW) states that a person who recklessly,
knowingly, or intentionally sells a tobacco product without a valid
tobacco sales certificate commits a Class C infraction.

o Applies regardless of whether tobacco product is sold at retail or not
and has a broader scope than existing authority.




SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

Employees of Certificate Holders (IC 7.1-3-18.5-2)

e

Employees must hold a valid federal or state-issued ID in order to
sell tobacco products

Employees must produce ID upon request of a law enforcement
official (including Excise officer)

If an employee does not have ID in possession, must produce
evidence of valid ID within five (5) days

If an employee is unable to produce satisfactory ID, the ATC may
impose a civil penalty on the holder of the tobacco sales
certificate
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* Tracking employees to ensure lawful work status

* Tracking employees with history of violations

* |dentifying and reporting human trafficking

* Assisting Department of Labor with wage and hour investigations

SEA 149:
Tobacco Sales

Human Trafficking




SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

Distance from School Property (IC 35-46-1-11.4)

 Asofluly 1, 2024, new tobacco/vaping businesses are not eligible

for a certificate if premises is located within 1,000 feet of school
property
o Tobacco and vaping business = retail establishment in which tobacco

products, e-cigarettes, and e-liquid account for at least 85% of gross
sales

o Measured from nearest point of business and school property

* “School property” means any building or structure owned by a

school corporation or a public/private elementary or secondary
school

o Includes grounds adjacent to a school building



SEA 149:

Tobacco Sales

Restriction applies to new vape/tobacco businesses operating

after July 1, 2024
o Noimpact of existing certificate holders
o Noimpact on existing businesses at time of future transfer of
ownership

Restriction defined by distance from “school property” rather
than distance from “public or private elementary or secondary

school”
o Includes more facilities oriented toward children

Intent is to reduce prohibited sales of tobacco products to
minors by limiting new tobacco/vaping businesses from
operating near places children are present



An Overview of Alcohol Excise Taxes




Beer & Malt Beverage Excise Tax

* Whatis beer?

* An alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermentation of: (1) an infusion or decoction of
barley malt or other cereal and hops in water; or (2) cereal byproducts.

 What is flavored malt beverage? (must meet all three elements)

* An alcoholic beverage made from a malt beverage base that is flavored with aromatic
essences and other flavorings... that possesses a character and flavor distinctive from
the malt beverage base

* The label, packaging, container, and any advertising or depiction of the alcoholic
beverage disseminated or available in Indiana does not contain any of the following
words: beer, lager, pilsner, stout, porter, ale, cider, framboise, lambic, draft, liquor, bitter,
brew.

o May contain the words “flavored beer”

* The alcoholic beverage creates no foam that gives the appearance of beer when poured
from its container.



Beer & Malt Beverage Excise Tax

 Rate of tax

* Eleven and one-half cents ($0.115) per gallon imposed upon the sale of beer or
flavored malt beverage

* Who is responsible for paying tax?
 Abrewer is liable for the beer excise tax on the sale or gift of beer or flavored malt
beverage by the brewer to a person within Indiana.

 Abeer wholesaler is liable for the beer excise tax on the sale or gift of beer or flavored
malt beverage received from a brewer located outside of Indiana.

* Awine wholesaler is liable for the beer excise tax on the sale or gift of flavored malt
beverage within Indiana.



Hard Cider Excise Tax

* What is hard cider?

* An alcoholic beverage that: (1) is made from the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice
of sound, ripe apples; and (2) contains at least 0.5% alcohol by volume but no more than
7% alcohol by volume.

* Includes flavored, sparkling, or carbonated cider and cider made from condensed apple.

 Rate of tax

* Eleven and one-half cents ($0.115) per gallon imposed on manufacture and sale or gift of
hard cider within Indiana.

* Persons liable for tax

* Avintner, farm winery, wine wholesaler, direct wine seller, beer wholesaler, dining car
permittee, or boat permittee is liable for paying the excise taxes on the hard cider that is
manufactured or imported into state of Indiana.



Wine Excise Tax

* What is wine?

o An alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermentation of the natural sugar content of fruit, fruit
juice, or other agricultural products containing sugar, including necessary additions to
correct defects due to climatic, saccharine, and seasonal conditions, and also the alcoholic
fortification of the beverage.

o Includes hard cider, except for excise tax purposes.

* Applicability
o Wine that contains less than 21% alcohol by volume (ABV)

o Wine that contains 15% or less of alcohol by volume that is mixed with carbonated water or
potable ingredients (or both) which is suitable for immediate consumption from original
container.



Wine Excise Tax

* Rate of tax

* Forty-seven cents ($0.47) per gallon of wine manufactured and sold or gifted within
Indiana.

* Persons liable for tax

o Avintner, farm winery, wine wholesaler, direct wine seller, dining car permittee, or
boat permittee is liable for wine excise tax on wine manufactured or imported in the
state of Indiana.



Liguor Excise Tax

* Whatis liquor?
* An alcoholic beverage containing alcohol obtained by distillation.
* The term also means a wine that contains 21% or more of alcohol by volume.
* Does notinclude industrial alcohol.

* Rate of tax

* Two dollars and sixty-eight cents ($2.68) per gallon of liquor or wine that contains 21%
or more alcohol by volume that is sold or gifted within Indiana.



Liguor Excise Tax

* Persons liable for tax

* An artisan distiller, distiller, rectifier, liquor wholesaler, vintner, wine
wholesaler, dining car permittee, or boat permittee is liable for liquor excise tax.

* Exceptions:

* Does not apply to the sale and delivery of liquor or wine that contains 21%+
outside the state of Indiana

* Does not apply to the sale of wine to a pastor, rabbi, or priest for sacramental or
religious purposes only.



SEA 228 & HEA 1120




* Purpose was to clarify who is responsible for collecting
and remitting tax when multiple permittees involved in

SEA 228 & transaction
H EA 1 1 20 * Code was not clear before this

* Should hopefully not create any substantive changes
to anyone




* IC7.1isa 1973 recodification of IC 7, which itself was a recodification
of code that was originally enacted as part of the Alcohol Beverage Act
of 1935

* Much of the language in IC 7.1 has not substantially changed since
various provisions added by Acts in the 1930’s and 40’s

* Example:
o IC 7.1-4-3-5: “The liquor excise tax shall not apply to the sale for
delivery outside this state, or the withdrawal for sale for delivery
S EA 228 & outside this state, of liquor and wine that contains more than
twenty-one percent (21%) of absolute alcohol reckoned by
H EA 1 1 20 volume. The liquor excise tax shall not apply to the sale or

withdrawal for sale of wine to a pastor, rabbi, or priest for
sacramental or religious purposes only.”

o Act of 1935: “The excise tax hereinabove provided, however, shall
not apply to or be payable on the sale for delivery outside of the
State of Indiana, or withdrawal for sale for delivery outside of the
State of Indiana of such wine tonics and/or alcoholic spirituous
beverages, including wines, containing more than twenty-one per
centum (21%) of absolute alcohol (reckoned by volume and not
by weight); nor shall it apply to or be payable on the sale or
withdrawal for sale of wine to any pastor, rabbi, and/or priest for
sacramental or religious purposes only.”




 Languagein|C 7.1-4-3-2,7.1-4-4-3, and 7.1-4-4.5-3:

* The [tax] shall be [paid by/levied against] [holders of
permits] to which the tax is applicable and that is
manufactured or imported by the person into this

state. However, the same article shall be taxed only
SEA 228 & once for [tax] purposes.

H EA 1 1 20  This does not address situations where liquor, wine, and
cider products are transferred among multiple
permittees, including when the product is transferred
from a producer/supplier outside of Indiana.

* DOR Special Tax Division frequently encountered
confusion as to who was responsible for the excise tax.




e Solution: Use language from IC 7.1-4-2-2:

(a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c), a
brewer is liable for the beer excise tax on the sale
or gift, or withdrawal for sale or gift, of beer or
flavored malt beverage by the brewer to a person
within Indiana.

S EA 228 & (b) In the case of a beer wholesaler receiving beer or

flavored malt beverage from a brewer located
H EA 1 1 20 outside of Indiana, the beer wholesaler, not the

brewer, is liable for the beer excise tax imposed
upon the transaction.

(c) Inthe case of a wine wholesaler receiving, selling,
or giving flavored malt beverage within Indiana,
the wine wholesaler, not the brewer, is liable for
the beer excise tax imposed upon the transaction.




e Subsections (b) and (c) from IC 7.1-4-2-2 were
essentially added to 7.1-4-3-2, 7.1-4-4-3, and 7.1-4-4.5-
3.

* The provisions added in SEA 228 are intended to clarify
which Indiana permittee is responsible for remitting the
excise tax in various scenarios where liquor, wine, and

SEA 228 & cider products are transferred among multiple

permittees, including when the product is transferred

H EA 1 1 20 from a producer/supplier outside of Indiana.

e Similarto whatis in the OTP tax chapter providing that
the tax is owed by the distributor who “first receives the
tobacco products or alternative nicotine products in
Indiana in the case of a distributor or distributor
transactions.”




* New subsection (d)

* Clarifies that nothing in the provisions of the law
pertaining to the collection of these taxes should be

SEA 228 & cor)strue.d to a.uthorize an otherwise unlawful sale
of liquor in Indiana or relieve an out-of-state seller
H EA 1 1 20 from having to obtain a permit described in
subsections (a) of these sections that the out-of-
state selleris required to obtain under the alcohol
article prior to the sale of liquor in Indiana.




Example: Who pays the
tax in this scenario?

* |Indiana Manufacturer (located in the State of Indiana)
manufacturers pure liquor, and sells the pure liquor to
Indiana Distiller, who produces and sells finished liquor
product to Indiana Wholesaler. The entire transaction chain [
occurs within the State of Indiana. f

]
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* Manufacturer’s liquor does not meet the definition of liquor ’/
under IC 7.1-1-3-21 (“an alcoholic beverage containing , ;‘f
alcohol obtained by distillation. . . . However, the term does ;

not include industrial alcohol”).
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* The new language would mean that Distiller is the first
permittee in line and must collect the tax, even if they sell to
another permittee, and any other sale down the line no longer
needs to collect the tax.

o NOTE: if the alcohol being transferred is fit for human
consumption and thus meets the definition of an “alcoholic
beverage”, then the Indiana Manufacturer would be liable for
the excise taxes.



e Collin Davis (DOR)
o CDavis@dor.IN.gov
o (317) 233-5209

e Chris Serak (ATC)
o cserak@atc.in.gov

QUeStiOHS? 0 317-232-2462

* Ashley Merritt (ATC)
o amerritt@atc.in.gov
o 317-232-2469

Don’t forget to submit your CLE attendance form to
atc-rules@atc.in.gov by Tuesday, May 21s!!




