Indiana Poet Laureate

poet laureate writing in woods

The Indiana Poet Laureate represents the state and the art of poetry through the development and implementation of programming to the educational community and general public. Making formal presentations at various educational facilities and events, the State Poet Laureate pursues individual initiatives to advance the knowledge and appreciation of poetry throughout the state, and offers advice to the Commission regarding ways to further the art of poetry in Indiana. 

2016/2017 Poet Laureate, Shari Wagner, Biography
Bring the Indiana Poet Laureate to your school!
Arts Commission announces Adrian Matejka as new Indiana State Poet Laureate
For information regarding the Indiana Poet Laureate please contact Stephanie Haines,, (317) 232-1274.

Former Poets Laureate

  • Norbert Krapf, July 2008 through June 2010
  • Joyce Brinkman, July 2005 through June 2007 

In 2012 the Indiana Poet Laureate started serving a calendar year, two-year term.

  • Karen Kovacik, 2012, 2013
  • George Kalamaras, 2014, 2015
  • Shari Wagner, 2016, 2017


Related Links

Photo by Rachel Greenberg.