Skip to content

Indiana Governor Mike Pence

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.


Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
Start Date: 6/20/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 6/20/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description

Indianapolis – Governor Mike Pence today appointed members to the Indiana University Board of Trustees. Effective July 1, 2013, appointees will serve three-year terms, with the student trustee serving for two years.  

“The leadership, public service, and personal accomplishments of the individuals named today will bring tremendous experience and insight to the Indiana University Board of Trustees,” said Governor Pence. “Under their guidance, I am confident Indiana University will continue to serve, educate and inspire the thousands of young Hoosiers working toward degrees on its campuses all around the state.” 

Chief Financial Officer for Eli Lilly and Company, Derica Rice, of Indianapolis, has been reappointed to the Indiana University Board of Trustees. 

Jim Morris, President of Pacers Sports and Entertainment has also been named to the Board.  Previously, Morris, of Indianapolis, served as Executive Director of the United Nations World Food Programme from 2002 to 2007. During his tenure, Morris traveled to most of the 80 countries where WFP is operational and met with leadership to develop and address methods of reducing hunger. In 2006, under his leadership, the World Food Programme fed 56 million children, including special efforts to feed 22 million children in school meal programs. As the Security General’s Special Envoy for Southern Africa, Morris is credited with leading the effort to bring together U.N. and humanitarian agencies to address crises such as food insecurity, HIV and the needs of orphans in the region. Morris has also served as Chairman and CEO of IWC Resources Corporation and the Indianapolis Water Company, and as President at the Lilly Endowment. He has dedicated countless hours to public service, including his time spent serving on numerous local and national boards. Morris earned his undergraduate degree from Indiana University and his masters degree from Butler University.  Morris served as Treasurer of the US Olympic Committee and is Chair of the Riley Children’s Foundation. He served on the Indiana University Board of Trustees from 1996 to 2002, serving as chair from 2000 to 2002. 

With extensive experience in both the corporate world and public service, Ambassador Randall L. Tobias has been appointed to the Indiana University Board of Trustees. Raised in Remington, Indiana, Tobias is retired chairman and CEO of Eli Lilly and Company and former chairman and CEO of AT&T International. Following his corporate career he was the nation’s first US Global AIDS Coordinator with the rank of Ambassador.  Later, he was the first Director of US Foreign Assistance and Administrator of the US Agency for International Development (USAID). Tobias has served as a director of the IU Foundation and the Varsity Club, chairman of the Kelley School’s Dean Advisory Council and chairman and trustee on the Duke University board of trustees. For his leadership and service, he was presented the NCAA’s Flying Wedge Award. Tobias earned his undergraduate degree from Indiana University and holds an honorary LL.D. from Indiana University as well as five other honorary degrees.

A student at the Indiana University School of Medicine, Janice Farlow will serve as the Student Trustee for Indiana University. Farlow, of Indianapolis, is expected to graduate in 2017 with a medical degree and a Ph.D. in medical and molecular genetics. She has both local and national leadership and community service experience, serving as chair of the Indiana University Student Outreach Clinic, in a variety of roles on the Medical Student Council, as well as the Association of American Medical Colleges Organization of Student Representatives, and formerly the American Academy of Pediatrics and the March of Dimes National Youth Council. Helping to guide the future of medical studies at Indiana University, Farlow worked as the sole student on a committee tasked with identifying the next Dean of the Indiana University School of Medicine. Conversational in Spanish, she put her skills to use while studying abroad in Spain, Costa Rica and Honduras. Farlow is the recipient of a number of prestigious recognitions including the 2012 American Medical Association Foundation Leadership Award, a national honor presented annually to approximately 30 medical students, residents, fellows or early career physicians to recognize leadership skills in advocacy, community service and education. Farlow graduated summa cum laude in 2009 from Indiana University, earning undergraduate degrees with honors in biology and Romance languages.  


Location Information:
Contact Information:
Name: Kara Brooks
Phone: 317-232-1622
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search