Skip to content
Search events. View events.

Senate Republican Caucus

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[s44] Sen. Brent Steele to Chair Commission on Courts
Start Date: 6/18/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 6/18/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description

STATEHOUSE (June 18, 2013) —Indiana Senate President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) has appointed State Sen. Brent Steele (R-Bedford) to serve as chair of the Commission on Courts and as a member of the Criminal Law and Sentencing Policy Study Committee for 2013.
“During the most recent session, the General Assembly passed landmark legislation reforming Indiana’s felony code,” said Steele, who sponsored House Enrolled Act 1006 in the Senate. “While the bulk of this criminal sentencing overhaul is complete, some work remains and will be an important component of this summer’s study committees. I look forward to working with my colleagues in the legislature and within the judicial system to make sure our felony system is fair and balanced.”

Each summer and fall — when Indiana’s part-time legislature is not in session — lawmakers are assigned to interim study committees that meet to review the state’s top issues, as identified by the General Assembly during the prior legislative session. 
“Study committees are an essential part of Indiana’s legislative process,” Long said. “Many of the issues that lawmakers consider during the summer and fall months are the foundation for legislation that will come before the General Assembly in the upcoming session.”

Steele was also appointed to serve on the following committees:

•Orange County Development Advisory Board
•Indiana Public Defender Commission
•Military Base Planning Council

Study committee topics are assigned by the Legislative Council, comprised of 16 voting members — eight from the House of Representatives and eight from the Senate.

A list of the 2013 Interim Study Committee assignments for Senate Republicans can be found here.


Contact Information:
Name: Molly Johnson
Phone: 317-234-9133
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    Senate Republican Caucus

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search