Skip to content

Indiana Department of Revenue

Search events. View events.

Revenue, Indiana Department of

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
Tax Tips for Hoosiers – Part 3
Start Date: 4/7/2015 All Day
End Date: 4/7/2015
Entry Description

Tax Tips for Hoosiers – Part 3
Frequently Asked Taxpayer Questions

INDIANAPOLIS (April 7, 2015) – There is only one week left in the Indiana individual income tax season. Taxpayers must file and pay by April 15, 2015. The Indiana Department of Revenue has received more than 2 million returns and expects another 1.3 million returns.

Can I file for free?
Yes! Indiana freefile is a free online tax filing program for qualified taxpayers. Taxpayers with an adjusted gross income (AGI) of $60,000 or less are likely to qualify. Visit to see if you are eligible to complete your state and federal taxes using INfreefile. More than 76,000 Hoosiers have filed with INfreefile so far this year.

What are the most commonly claimed tax deductions and credits?
The most commonly claimed deductions include deductions for Indiana property tax or rent paid on a home. Visit for a full list. Common credits include the Indiana College Choice 529 Credit and the Earned Income Tax Credit. Visit for a full list.

What’s the fastest way to get my refund?
File online and elect to have your refund electronically deposited. E-filed returns typically are processed within 14 days; paper returns are processed within 12 weeks.

You can check the status of your refund 24 hours a day, seven days a week at or by calling the automated refund line at (317) 233-4018. To check the status of your refund, you will need your social security number and the exact amount of the requested refund.

What if I owe? 
You must file a tax return by April 15 even if you cannot pay any tax due. The easiest way to pay is through the department’s secure ePay site at If you cannot pay the full amount due, you can:

  1. Send as much of the amount owed as possible when you file your return. Penalty and interest will be due on the unpaid amount. The more you pay when you file, the less penalty and interest you will owe. The department will send a bill within a few weeks of your filing with the remaining amount due.
  1. If you cannot pay any amount, send in your tax return without payment. The department will send a bill within a few weeks with the full amount due plus penalty and interest.

Taxpayers can qualify for a payment plan if they owe more than $100 and can pay at least 20 percent down. After receiving a bill, taxpayers can set up a payment plan online or request it by contacting the department. Once the plan is approved, payments can be made online or by mail.

If you believe you qualify for a payment plan, please call (317) 232-2165.

This is the third Hoosier Tax Tips before the individual income tax deadline on April 15, 2015.


DOR logo
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Deadlines
  • Kids and Families
  • Media Advisory
  • Hearings
  • Seasonal Events
  • Category:
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Government
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Agency Name
    Revenue, Indiana Department of

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search