Skip to content
Search events. View events.

Courts, Indiana

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[SUPREME] Judicial Nominating Commission Names Bradford, Massa and Seigel as Finalists for 107th Supreme Court Justice
Start Date: 2/23/2012
End Date: 2/23/2012
Entry Description
The Judicial Nominating Commission selected Judge Cale Bradford, Mr. Mark Massa and Ms. Jane Seigel as finalists for the upcoming vacancy on the Indiana Supreme Court.  The Governor will choose from the three candidates to select Indiana’s 107th Justice.  

In December, Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard announced he would step down from the bench in March 2012.  According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute the Judicial Nominating Commission recruits and interviews applicants to fill appellate court judicial vacancies.  The Commission provides three names to the Governor and the Governor makes the final selection.

The seven-member Commission is chaired by Chief Justice Randall T. Shepard.  It also includes three attorney members who are elected by other attorneys across the state and three non-attorney members who are appointed by the Governor.  The elected attorneys are James O. McDonald of Terre Haute, William E. Winingham of Indianapolis and John D. Ulmer of Goshen.  The Governor appointees are Molly Kitchell of Zionsville, Fred McCashland of Indianapolis and Jean Northenor of Warsaw.

The Commission received fifteen applications for the vacancy.  Abbreviated versions of the applications can be viewed at  The Court hosted a public viewing of the full applications including writing samples, transcripts and letters of recommendation on Jan. 30th.  

On Feb. 8th and 9th the Commission interviewed all fifteen applicants.  The interviews were open to the press and public.  The Judicial Nominating Commission met in executive session for deliberations.  The Commission considered legal education, legal writings, public service activities and other pertinent information to find the most qualified candidates.  The Commission voted to name seven semi-finalists in a public session.

On Feb. 23rd the Commission interviewed the seven semi-finalists in a session open to the press public.  The Commission considered those seven applicants in an executive session and then held a public vote.  Judge Bradford, Mr. Massa and Ms. Seigel  were selected.  The names of those individuals will be sent to Governor Mitch Daniels.  The Governor has 60 days to select Indiana's next justice. 

Information about the Judicial Nominating Commission, the merit selection process and photographs of the interviews can be found at  Media with questions can contact Supreme Court Public Information Officer, Kathryn Dolan at (317) 234-4722 or
Location Information:
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    Courts, Indiana

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search