Skip to content
Search events. View events.

Courts, Indiana

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[SUPREME] Judicial Officers Recognized for Service and Enhanced Education
Start Date: 10/30/2012 All Day
End Date: 10/30/2012
Entry Description
Dozens of judicial officers were recognized for their commitment to higher education and their long-time service to the judicial branch during 2012.  Chief Justice Brent E. Dickson said, “More than fifty judicial officers were honored this year for their participation in a number of different judicial education programs.  I commend these judicial officers for their commitment to ensuring justice for the citizens of Indiana.”  

Eighteen judicial officers received an Indiana Judicial College certificate, one judge completed the Indiana Master’s Certificate Program, thirty judicial officers completed the Graduate Program for Judges and eight judicial officers were honored for 24 years of service on the bench. The honors were presented at a 2012 judicial conference.

Indiana Judicial College Certificate Graduates: A judicial officer must complete 120 hours of judicial education presented by the Indiana Judicial Center to receive this certificate. The programs offered are designed for judicial officers to enhance their legal knowledge and improve their personal and professional growth and development. 

Judge Lloyd Mark Bailey, Indiana Court of Appeals
Judge Gail Bardach, Hamilton County
Judge David R. Bolk, Vigo County
Judge Diane Ross Boswell, Lake County 
Judge David J. Certo, Marion County
Judge Donald L. Daniel, Tippecanoe County
Judge Michael Gerald Gotsch, St. Joseph County
Judge Maria D. Granger, Floyd County 
Magistrate Christopher B. Haile, Marion County
Judge Matthew G. Hanson, Morgan County
Judge Rebecca S. McClure, Boone County
Magistrate David K. Najjar, Hamilton County
Judge Robert Pigman, Vanderburgh County
Judge John D. Potter, Jasper County
Master Commissioner Deborah J. Shook, Marion County
Justice Frank Sullivan, Jr., Indiana Supreme Court 
Magistrate Jerry Ummel, Allen County
Judge Charles Carter Wicks, Elkhart County 

To view and download photographs of the Judicial College Graduates, please visit our Flickr page at 

Indiana Master’s Certificate Program: To receive a Master’s Certificate, a judicial officer must complete the Graduate Program.  In addition, the judicial officer must also complete 120 hours of master’s courses and submit an original writing piece or project.  One judge completed this program in 2012.  

Judge Mary G. Willis, Henry County

To view and download pictures of Judge Mary Willis, please visit

Indiana Graduate Program for Judges: The Graduate Program is an in-depth and intensive learning experience which requires one week of course work for two consecutive summers with additional assignments.
Judge James Robert Ahler, Jasper County
Judge Gail Bardach, Hamilton County
Judge Kevin Michael Barton, Johnson County
Judge Stephen R. Bowers, Elkhart County
Judge Elaine Becher Brown, Indiana Court of Appeals 
Judge Monte L. Brown, DeKalb County
Judge Jonathan Neil Cleary, Dearborn County
Judge Kathleen Tighe Coriden, Bartholomew County
Judge Richard George D'Amour, Vanderburgh County
Judge Paul Arthur Felix, Hamilton County
Magistrate Greta Stirling Friedman, LaPorte County
Magistrate Geoffrey Arlyss Gaither, Marion County
Judge Frances Gull, Allen County
Judge Valeri Haughton, Monroe County
Judge Matthew Lloyd Headley, Putnam County
Judge Jerry F. Jacobi, Clark County
Judge Rex William Kepner, Benton County
Judge Robert Edward Kirsch, Noble County
Judge Kathleen Bom Lang, LaPorte County
Judge Stephenie LeMay-Luken, Hendricks County
Magistrate Marcia Linsky, Allen County
Judge Rick Maughmer, Cass County
Judge Michael A. Morrissey, Tippecanoe County
Judge Carol J. Orbison, Marion County
Judge James Benjamin Osborn, Marion County
Magistrate Michael Neil Pagano, Lake County
Judge G. George Pancol, Madison County
Judge Marc Thorn Rothenberg, Marion County
Judge Richard Robert Stalbrink, Jr., LaPorte County
Judge Elizabeth Frances Tavitas, Lake County 

To view and download photographs of the Graduate Program for Judges, please visit our Flickr page at 

24 Year Certificates: This award is presented to judicial officers with 24 years of service on the bench.  Eight individuals were honored for their long-time service.
Judge Cynthia Jane Ayers, Marion County
Judge Thomas J. Carroll, Marion County
Magistrate Phillip E. Houk, Allen County
Judge William J. Hughes, Hamilton County
Judge John F. Surbeck, Jr., Allen County
Magistrate Jerry L. Ummel, Allen County
Judge Richard D. Culver, Hancock County
Judge James S. Kirsch, Indiana Court of Appeals

To view and download the 24 Year Certificate Awards photos, please visit 

The Indiana Judicial Center serves as the state’s judicial research and continuing judicial education agency.  It develops and sponsors continuing education programming for judges, probation officers and other court personnel.  The Center works to enhance the performance of the judicial system as a whole by continuously improving the professional competence of judicial officers.  For more information on the Center, visit  
Location Information:
Contact Information:
Name: Kathryn Dolan
Phone: 317-234-4722
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    Courts, Indiana

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search