Skip to content
Search events. View events.

Courts, Indiana

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[SUPREME] Letter delivered to Governor with finalists for St. Joseph County judicial position
Start Date: 3/27/2013 All Day
End Date: 3/27/2013
Entry Description

The St. Joseph County Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission delivered a letter to Governor Mike Pence listing five finalists to fill an upcoming judicial vacancy. Commission Chairman and Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa provided the official list of eligible finalists as follows:

Andre B. Gammage, managing partner at Berger & Gammage
Steven L. Hostetler, a partner at Thorne Grodnik, LLP
Mark F. James, associate at Anderson, Agostino & Keller, public defender
John M. Maciejczyk, assistant United States Attorney
Jeffrey L. Sanford, sole practitioner, deputy public defender, South Bend deputy city attorney

Under state law, the Commission must submit to the governor a list of five candidates with written evaluations of the qualifications of each candidate. The letter submitted to the Governor on March 26th is the official submission. Governor Pence now has 60 days in which to make his appointment to the St. Joseph Superior Court. In the event he does not do so, the Chief Justice of Indiana shall make the appointment from the list of nominees.

A vacancy on the St. Joseph Superior Court will occur June 3, 2013, when Judge Michael P. Scopelitis retires. In February 2013, the Commission announced applications for the position were available. In March, the Commission interviewed candidates and selected finalists. Before the list of finalists was submitted to the Governor, one finalist became ineligible. Elizabeth C. Hurley was appointed to fill a different upcoming judicial vacancy. The Commission selected John Maciejczyk to replace her as one of the five finalists for the June vacancy.

The Nominating Commission was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 1973. It consists of seven members. Three of the members must be admitted to the bar and are selected by the lawyers of the county and three must be non-lawyers appointed by a committee consisting of the judge of the St. Joseph Circuit Court, the mayors of South Bend and Mishawaka, and the president of the board of St. Joseph County commissioners. The seventh member, who serves as the chairman of the Commission, must be a justice of the Indiana Supreme Court or a judge of the Court of Appeals appointed by the Chief Justice of Indiana. Justice Massa serves as Chairman.

Location Information:
St. Joseph County
Contact Information:
Name: Kathryn Dolan
Phone: 317-234-4722
Attachments For This Entry:
    > Letter to Governor Listing Finalists
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    Courts, Indiana

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search