Skip to content

Indiana Department of Transportation

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.
  Transportation, Indiana Department of Submit Events
Welcome to the IN.gov Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.
Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search (New Search)
  From:
  To:

 

 

 


Submit
Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[INDOT] Freezing Rain Predicted for Central and Northern Indiana
Start Date: 1/26/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 1/26/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description

Freezing Rain Predicted for Central and Northern Indiana

Ice affects vehicles of all sizes, including four-wheel drive and plow trucks

 

INDIANAPOLIS – Weather forecasts are predicting freezing rain and ice to move across Central and Northern Indiana beginning Sunday afternoon.

 

The Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) is monitoring multiple evolving weather forecasts and its network of pavement sensors for shifts in the line of ice between rain, sleet and snow. Most interstates, U.S. highways and state routes are already pre-treated with salt from Friday’s snow storm. INDOT will adjust its planned deployment of manpower, trucks and materials as appropriate to address forecasted and observed road conditions.

 

Freezing rain and ice can be the most dangerous and difficult conditions for drivers and plow trucks because it affects vehicles of all sizes, including those with four-wheel drive. Motorists are strongly encouraged to avoid non-essential travel within the times and areas where a coating of ice is forecasted to accumulate.

 

Drivers can monitor road conditions and traffic alerts across the state at any time by phone, web or social media. Visit www.TrafficWise.IN.gov or dial toll-free 800-261-ROAD (7623) for INDOT’s TrafficWise Traveler Information Service. For social media updates, visit www.SocialMedia.indot.IN.gov.

 

--30--

 

MEDIA CONTACTS:

Nathan Riggs, Indianapolis: 317-467-3479 or nriggs@indot.in.gov

Harry Maginity, East Central Indiana: 317-467-3949 or hmaginity@indot.in.gov

Debbie Calder, West Central Indiana: 765-361-5236 or dcalder@indot.in.gov

Mary Foster, Northeast Indiana: 260-969-8219 or mafoster@indot.in.gov

Matt Deitchley, Northwest Indiana: 219-325-7526 or mdeitchley@indot.in.gov

Greg Prince, Southeast Indiana: 812-524-3926 or gprince@indot.in.gov

Cher Elliott, Southwest Indiana: 812-895-7310 or celliott@indot.in.gov

 

Default
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Alerts and Notification
  • IN.gov Category:
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Agency Name
    Transportation, Indiana Department of

    Calendar software powered by Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search






    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search