Skip to content
Search events. View events.

House of Representatives Republican Caucus

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[r20] Rep Dermody: Homeowners’ payment extension result from 2012 amendment
Start Date: 1/14/2013 All Day
End Date: 1/14/2013
Entry Description

STATEHOUSE – State Rep. Tom Dermody (R-LaPorte), alongside LaPorte County Treasurer Nancy Hawkins, want to remind LaPorte County homeowners they have six months to pay the newly issued property tax bills.

Recently, LaPorte County taxpayers received their property tax bills for fiscal year 2010 –payable 2011. Some homeowners were confused, upon receipt of the bill, that they were required to pay the balance within 30 days of delivery.

“After receiving numerous phone calls regarding some confusion about the LaPorte County property tax bills, I would like to clarify any uncertainty regarding it,” said Rep. Dermody. “Last year, the intent of the amendment I filed was to protect LaPorte County homeowners that have been burdened with paying property tax bills dating back to 2007. The amendment was established to safeguard homeowners being forced to pay a bill within 30 days upon receipt – which is unreasonable.”

Last year, Rep. Dermody filed an amendment to Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 19 that gave the county council the authority to allow taxpayers 6 months to submit their payments or to set up a payment plan. Also, to make payments easier, the county treasurer will be required to accommodate individuals using a debit or credit card. Former Gov. Daniels signed SEA 19 into effect on March 19, 2012.

“This issue has plagued LaPorte County residents extensively, and I established this amendment to provide a long-term solution to this problem,” said Rep. Dermody. “I have confirmed with the Department of Local Government Finance and the LaPorte County Treasurer Nancy Hawkins that LaPorte County homeowners, who have received a property tax bill, have six months to make payments or set up a payment plan.”

For more information on SEA 19, visit


Contact Information:
Name: Ben Gavelek
Phone: 317-234-9290
Attachments For This Entry:
    > Rep Dermody: Homeowners’ payment extension result from 2012 amendment
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Announcements
  • Category:
  • Government
  • Agency Name
    House of Representatives Republican Caucus

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search