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Notice of Cost Share Restart

Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
PO Box 1810
Marion, IN 46952
Phone/Fax: 1-800-403-0864

	Payee	Name	:	Firstname M Lastname  

Case Number : 2000002428

AG Number : 4826

Program : Health Coverage

Mailing Date : DECEMBER 13, 2023

Firstname M Lastname
Abc St 1 Indianapolis, IN 
46203

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR HEALTH COVERAGE AFTER COVID-19 FEDERAL PUBLIC 
HEALTH EMERGENCY RULES END

Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, Indiana has not charged premiums, contributions or copays for Medicaid,
including the Children’s Health Insurance Program or CHIP; and Medicaid for Employees with Disabilities or M.E.D. Works,
coverage	since	March	of	2020.	Normal	rules	for	cost-sharing	will	resume	effective	MAY	01,	2024.

Based on your monthly countable income, you are not eligible for premium-free coverage.

Premium Information:
You	do	not	owe	any	premiums	for	coverage	prior	to	MAY	01,	2024.

After MAY 01, 2024 your premium amount each month will be $53.00. Families with multiple children on CHIP, and
married spouses who are both on M.E.D. Works, will have one shared premium amount.
The	bill	for	your	first	premium	will	be	sent	to	you	in	a	few	days	from	the	Package	C	(for	CHIP)	or	M.E.D.	Works	Premium
vendor. It is important that you pay the invoiced amount by the due date and continue paying on time each month, or your
health coverage will be closed. If you are closed because of unpaid premiums, you will have to reapply and may have a
waiting period before coverage will restart unless you catch up on all the payments that were due when you were closed.

Premium amounts are determined based on the countable income you have reported to FSSA, calculated as a percentage of
the Federal Poverty Level, which is updated each year by the federal government. The countable income we used to
determine your premium is $2400.00, which puts you at 242.42 percent of the FPL.
Copayment information:

M.E.D.Works Premium Amounts

Percent of 
FPL

MONTHLY	PMT
SINGLE MARRIED

150 - 175 $48.00 $65.00
176 - 200 $69.00 $93.00
201 - 250 $107.00 $145.00
251 - 300 $134.00 $182.00
301 - 350 $161.00 $218.00

351- $187.00 $254.00

CHIP Premium Amounts

Percent of 
FPL

MONTHLY	PMT
1 CHILD 2 OR MORE

151 - 175 $22.00 $33.00
176 - 200 $33.00 $50.00
201 - 225 $42.00 $53.00
226 - 250 $53.00 $70.00
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Medicaid will continue to cover COVID-19 testing and vaccines with no copayments, but copayments for other services in
CHIP	will	also	resume	effective	MAY	01,	2024.

Due to a change in state law, MEDWorks members do not have copayments.

If you are enrolled with a health plan, you can contact them if you have questions about what your copayment expectations
are. If you are not sure who your health plan is, please call 1-800-889-9949 for CHIP members or call 1-866-963-7383 for
M.E.D. Works members.

If you do not have a health plan, your copayment amounts are listed in the table below.
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Service Amount
Transportation	costing	$10	
or less 

$0.50

Prescription drugs $3.00

Service Amount
Transportation	costing	
$10.01 - $50.00 

$1.00
Service Amount
Transportation	costing	
$50.01 or more 

$2.00

Limitations on cost sharing
Cost sharing is based on monthly Medicaid premiums as well as Medicaid copayments for claims. It does not include costs
imposed by other programs, such as Medicare or other insurance, or costs for items and services Medicaid does not cover.

M.E.D.	Works	members’	cost	sharing	is	tracked	per	calendar	quarter	(three	months).	If	your	cost	sharing	reaches	5%	of	your
countable	income	in	a	calendar	quarter,	your	health	plan	or	Indiana	Medicaid	(if	you	do	not	have	a	health	plan)	will	send	you	a
notice that you do not have Medicaid cost sharing for the remainder of that calendar quarter.

CHIP	members’	cost	sharing	is	limited	to	5%	of	countable	income	per	year.	If	you	have	questions	or	think	your	family	has	met
your	5%	limit	for	cost	sharing	on	covered	services,	please	contact	your	health	plan	or	the	premium	vendor.

If you think your premium amount is incorrect
If you disagree with the amount of your premium, you may need to update your income with us. If you have a change to
report, please call or fax information to the FSSA Document Center at 800-403-0864, mail to FSSA Document Center, PO
Box	1810,	Marion,	IN	46952	or	submit	a	change	request	through	the	FSSA	Benefits	portal	at	https://fssabenefits.in.gov

You	can	appeal	the	amount	of	your	premium	(see	instructions	below),	but	please	note,	the	decision	to	restart	premiums	and
copayments due to the end of the public health emergency is not appealable.
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If you disagree with our decision

You have the right to appeal our determinations such as your monthly income, POWER account contribution amount, or
category of benefits. This notice includes instructions for filing an appeal. Please read this information carefully.

Timelines and process for appealing

You must file your appeal in writing by close of business within thirty-three (33) days of the date of the notice or the adverse
action, whichever is later. Please note that close of business means 4:30 PM local time where the appeal is received. If a
deadline falls on a weekend or a holiday, we must receive your appeal by the next business day. If you mail your appeal, your
appeal will be considered received on the date of receipt and not on the postmarked date.

You should expect a short interruption in coverage if we receive your appeal request near the deadline.

An FSSA representative will notify you of the next steps. If FSSA schedules a hearing we will notify you in writing of the date,
time, and place for the hearing. You may speak for yourself at the hearing or bring someone else such as an attorney, friend
or relative.

How will the appeal impact my benefits?

If you submit your request for appeal prior to the effective date of the change in your coverage listed in this notice, you will be
able to receive the same level of benefits you are currently receiving while your appeal is pending. However, if you are
enrolled in HIP Plus or HIP State Plan Plus, you must continue making the required monthly POWER account contribution
during your appeal in order to continue receiving HIP Plus or HIP State Plan Plus benefits. Your appeal does not remove this
requirement. If you do not make your required POWER account contributions on time during your appeal, you will lose access
to HIP Plus or HIP State Plan Plus benefits and you may lose your HIP eligibility.

You should expect a short delay in having your current coverage continue if we receive your appeal request near the
deadline, but we will restore the benefits retroactively so that you have no break in coverage.

If you submit your request for appeal after the effective date of the change in your coverage listed in this notice, you will
receive your new benefits while your appeal is pending.

Can I maintain my current benefits during the appeal?

As indicated in this notice, you will maintain your current HIP benefits while your appeal is pending if you submit your request
for appeal prior to the effective date of the discontinuation of benefits listed in this notice. However, if you are enrolled in HIP
Plus or HIP State Plan Plus, you must continue making the required monthly POWER account contribution during your appeal
in order to continue receiving HIP Plus or HIP State Plan Plus benefits. Your appeal does not remove this requirement. If you
do not make your required POWER account contributions on time during your appeal, you will lose access to HIP Plus or HIP
State Plan Plus benefits and you may lose your HIP eligibility.

Back payments for HIP POWER account

If you become ineligible for any HIP services during your appeal and the ALJ rules in your favor, your coverage will be
restored back to the date of discontinuance or the appropriate date in which you should have been found eligible. Importantly,
you will be responsible for paying back any missed POWER account payments that accrued during your appeal. You will lose
HIP eligibility or access to HIP Plus benefits if you do not repay this entire amount timely.
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How to file an appeal

You	can	mail,	fax,	or	hand	deliver	your	written	appeal	request.

To	appeal,	please	send	a	signed	letter	with	as	much	information	as	possible	including	your	Name,	Case	Number,	and	Reason	
for the appeal, along with a copy of this entire notice to one of the following locations listed below. For your case, this
information is provided below for your convenience.

Case	Number:	2000002428Name:	Firstname M Lastname	

Date of Notice: DECEMBER 13, 2023 County: 49

1. Mail your written appeal to:

FSSA Document Center
PO Box 1810
Marion, IN 46952

Or,

2. Fax your written appeal to FSSA Document Center: 1-800-403-0864

Or,

3. Take	your	written	appeal	to	your	local	Office	of	the	Division	of	Family	Resources	during	regular	business	hours.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE FAIR HEARING PROCESS

If	you	have	questions	please	call	us	at	1-800-403-0864.	You	can	also	read	about	the	fair	hearing	process	on	our	website	at	
www.in.gov/fssa.

Local	Office	of	Family	Resources
MARION	COUNTY	DFR
3826 South Madison
Indianapolis, IN 46227
PHONE: 1-800-403-0864
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