
 
LR51-CR00-3 BAIL BOND SCHEDULE 
 
 Effective July 1, 2014, the following bail procedures shall be in effect for all persons 

whose appearance is required in the Martin Circuit Court: 

1.  No Bail Requirement 
If the Court has not established bail in a particular case, no bail shall be set in the   

following cases until such time as the person arrested has been brought before the Court 
where the criminal charges are filed or are scheduled to be filed: 

(A) When a person has been arrested for Murder, a Level 1 Felony offense or 
a Level 2 Felony offense. 

(B) When a person has been returned to Indiana from another state to face a 
 criminal charge or where a person has been arrested in Indiana as a 
 fugitive from another state. 
(C) When a person has been arrested on a warrant for a failure to appear or for 
 a violation of probation and no bond is provided for in the Court’s Order. 
(D) When a person is on probation and has been arrested for the commission 
 of a felony offense. 
(E) When a person is charged as a habitual offender, or is shown to have two 
 (2) prior felony convictions. 
 

 2. Standard Bail Requirement 
 

A standard bail is hereby set in the following amounts for the offenses described 
and such bail may be posted by cash or surety: 

(A) Level 3 Felony offenses - $100,000/$10,000.00 10%; 
(B) Level 4 Felony offenses - $75,000.00/$7,500.00 10%; 
(C) Level 5 Felony offenses - $50,000.00/$5,000.00 10%; 
(D) Level 6 Felony offenses - $25,000.00/$2,500.00 10%. 
(E)  Class A Misdemeanor offenses - $20,000.00/$2,000.00   10%. 
(F)  Class B & C Misdemeanor offenses - $10,000.00/$1,000.00   10%. 
 

 For persons charged with resisting law enforcement or battery to a police officer, 
the bail shall double. 
 

  For persons who reside out-of-state, no 10% cash deposit shall be authorized. 
 

 Persons may always post the entire amount of the bond in cash instead of a surety 

bond.  



3. Computation of Bail Amount 
In those cases where a specific Court ordered bond has not been set, the Sheriff 

shall compute the standard bond for Levels 3 through 6 Felonies and for Misdemeanor 

offenses by referring only to the single most serious charge placed against the person.  

When multiple charges of the same degree are placed against the person, the standard 

bond for a single offense of that degree shall apply. 

 

4. Release on Recognizance 
No person who is scheduled to appear in Court shall be released on his or her 

recognizance without the express authority of the Judge of the Circuit Court. 

 

5. Notice Regarding Initial Hearing (Including Revocations) 
A person who has posted bail to secure his/her appearance in Court shall be 

informed by the Sheriff that the person is scheduled to appear in Court for an Initial 

Hearing and advise the individual of the hearing date.  All hearing dates and schedules 

shall be sent to the Court. 

The person shall be further advised that a failure to appear will result in a 

revocation of bail and the issuance of an arrest warrant for failure to appear.   

 

6. Domestic Violence Offenses – Holding Period 
 Domestic Violence offenses shall include the felony or misdemeanor offenses of 

battery, intimidation, confinement, invasion of privacy or for any violation of a Protective 

Order. 

All persons arrested for domestic violence offenses shall not be released from 

custody until 18 hours have elapsed from the time that they were booked in jail. 

Persons arrested for a second or subsequent Domestic Violence Offense shall be 

held without bail until the Initial Hearing. 

 

 

 



7. Violent Crime – No Contact with Victim 

If the defendant is charged with committing a violent crime (as defined in IC 5-2-

6.1-8) that results in bodily injury to a person, then as a condition of bail, the Defendant 

shall refrain from any direct or indirect contact with the victim until further Order of the 

Court. 

 

8. Procedure When No Bail Posted 
Unless otherwise advised by a Court, any person arrested for a criminal offense 

who has not posted bail shall be brought by the Sheriff to Court within forty-eight (48) 

hours following the day of his or her arrest (excluding weekends and holidays) for the 

purpose of an Initial Hearing.  If the prosecuting attorney advises the Court that more 

time is required to evaluate the case and determine whether charges should be filed, the 

Court may continue the Initial Hearing for up to seventy-two (72) hours. 

 

9. Duty of Recording Bail Information 
All original documentation regarding the posting of bail shall be submitted to the 

Clerk and the Clerk of the Court shall be responsible for entering the information on the 

Chronological Case Summary. 

 

10. Disposition of Cash Deposits 
 

  The Court, for good cause shown may allow the Defendant to execute a bail bond 

 by depositing cash or sureties with the Clerk of the Court in an amount not less than 10% 

 of the bail required by the Court.  The Clerk shall retain the 10% so deposited for the 

 publicly-paid costs of representation as authorized by Indiana Code 35-33-8-3.2 as 

 amended. 

The Clerk shall also retain from the deposit the fines, costs, fees and restitution as 

provided for by order of Court or by law. 

 

 

       


