Minutes:

Indiana Public Defender Council Board Meeting

Date:

June 19, 1997

Place:

Hyatt Regency Hotel

Board members in attendance:

Dan Toomey, Chair
Jeff Lantz, Vice-Chair
Quinton Ellis, Secretary
Susan Carpenter
David Hennessy
Douglas Garner

Jodie English Kitty Liell Don Pagos Terry Richmond



Staff members in attendance:

Larry Landis Teresa Campbell Donald Murphy Terry Harper

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 5:15 p.m.

Approval of Minutes:

Minutes for January 17, 1997, were approved. A motion passed to amend the minutes from March 14, 1997, meeting to allocate \$5000 for David Meyer to develop performance standards. Motion passed for Teresa to redo minutes as several things were missing from the minutes submitted.

Board Retreat:

Larry announced the board retreat will be held on Sept 26-28 at the Brown County Inn in Nashville, IN.

Quality Initiatives:

Don Murphy distributed a draft of the commentary to Performance Guidelines 1-3. and requested that board members submit any suggestions or corrections. The board discussed whether to retain David Meyers as a consultant to draft organizational standards for county public defender offices. Jeff Lantz moved to reassess David's work product after the standards were completed. Motion passed.

Awards:

The Board authorized a plaque be presented to Eric Koselke for his years of service as a board member. Motion passed to give special plaques to Senator Richard Bray and Les Duvall at the 20th Anniversary Reception. Jeff Lantz moved that Hope Fey receive the Gideon Award. Motion passed. David Hennessy moved that the entire board should vote for the Gideon Award winner, not just the Award Committee. Motion passed. The board passed a motion that no current board members can be nominated for the Gideon Award.

Motion passed to present Larry Landis with a plaque for his 20 years of contributions to the IPDC.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Next board meeting will be held on September 27, at the board retreat in Nashville, IN.

Submitted by

Teresa Campbell

Approved by

Daniel Toomey, Chair