

U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Transit Administration

REGION V Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin 200 West Adams Street Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5253 312-353-2789 312-886-0351 (fax)

March 19, 2009

Larry Buckel, Manager Office of Transit Indiana Department of Transportation 100 North Senate Avenue, Room N955 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2216

Re: FY 2008-2011 STIP Transit Amendments #18, #19, #20, #21, and #22

Dear Mr. Buckel:

This letter responds to your February 18, 19, 25, and 26, and March 5, 2009 requests to amend the FY 2008 - 2011 Indiana Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). The amendments incorporate programming revisions made to the Michiana Area Council of Governments' FY 2008 - 2012 Transportation Improvement Program, the Kokomo - Howard County Governmental Coordinating Council's SFY 2008 - 2011 Transportation Improvement Program, the Northeastern Indiana Regional Coordinating Council's FY 2009 - 2012 Transportation Improvement Program, the West Central Indiana Economic Development District's FY 2007 - 2010 Transportation Improvement Program (two amendments), the Delaware - Muncie Metropolitan Plan Commission's FY 2009 - 2012 Transportation Improvement Program, the Area Plan Commission of Tippecanoe County's FY 2009 - 2013 Transportation Improvement Program, and INDOT's FY 2009 Section 5311 Program of Projects.

We have determined that these STIP amendments are financially constrained and that the projects are consistent with the MPOs' and State's Transportation Plans. We also find that the above TIPs are the result of Metropolitan Transportation Planning processes that substantially comply with the requirements of 23 CFR 450. In accordance with 23 CFR 450.220, we approve these STIP amendments.

If you have any further questions concerning this approval, please contact Steve Polito at 312-353-1552.

Sincerely,

Marisol R. Simón Regional Administrator

Cc: Dan Avery, NIRCC
Rick Brown, SBPTC
Ken Housden, FWPTC
Larry Ives, KHCGCC
Larry King, MITS
Pat Macke, WCIEDD
Sandra Seanor, MACOG
Marty Sennett, GLPTC
Sally Fahey, APCTC