

CONTACT:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jylian Vigar Indiana Bicentennial Commission Communications Specialist 765-470-1035 jvigar@indiana2016.in.gov

INDIANA BICENTENNIAL COMMISSIONERS AND STAFF AWARDED SAGAMORE OF THE WABASH

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., December 15, 2016 – At the Indiana Bicentennial Gala, held Dec. 10, Vice-President elect Governor Mike Pence and Governor-Elect Lt. Governor Eric Holcomb presented the 15 members of the Bicentennial Commission and six staff members with the Sagamore of the Wabash for their work toward the success of Indiana's Bicentennial year.

The Sagamore of the Wabash is one of the highest distinctions in Indiana designated by the state's governor. The term "Sagamore" was used by Native American tribes of Indiana to describe lesser chiefs or a great man among the tribe whom the chief consulted for wisdom and advice.

The Indiana Bicentennial Commission was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels in 2011. The four pillars of the Bicentennial year are youth and education, historical celebration, community involvement and nature conservation. To ensure a truly statewide celebration the Commission endorsed Legacy Projects – local celebrations of the Bicentennial. Throughout the Bicentennial year the Commission endorsed more than 1,600 Legacy Projects, greatly exceeding the original goal of 200. These Legacy Projects represent all 92 counties as well as the pride and dedication of Hoosiers across the state. Indiana residents have embraced the Bicentennial year and demonstrated true Hoosier pride in the planning and execution of Bicentennial Legacy Projects.

Nine signature projects were also undertaken by the Commission with the help of partners and private sponsors. These include The Children of Indiana Nature Park, Bicentennial Plaza, Statehouse Education Center, Indiana State Archives, Bicentennial Nature Trust, Bicentennial Torch Relay, commemorative medal, commemorative books. Three events were also part of the signature projects. Hoosier Homecoming in October and Ignite the Future on Statehood Day were free events open to the public. The Bicentennial Gala was an invitation-only event held to honor the dedicated volunteers, partners, sponsors, dignitaries and leaders who contributed to the success of the Bicentennial year.

To learn more about Indiana's Bicentennial celebration or to find Commissioner biographies, visit www.indiana2016.org.

Indiana Public Broadcast Stations created a one-hour highlight program of the Gala which can be viewed here, indianapublicmedia.org/bicentennialgala.

A complete list of Indiana Bicentennial Commission Members:

Becky Skillman, Co-Chair – Bloomington Lee Hamilton, Co-Chair – Bloomington Judge Sarah Evans Barker – Indianapolis Charlie Brown – Gary Stephen L. Ferguson – Bloomington Anton H. George – Indianapolis Brenda Gerber Vincent – Fort Wayne P.E. MacAllister – Indianapolis James H. Madison – Bloomington Michael S. Mauer – Carmel Mary McConnell – Indianapolis C. James McCormick – Vincennes James W. Merritt, Jr. – Indianapolis Ellen M. Rosenthal – Indianapolis Randall T. Shepard – Indianapolis

Indiana Bicentennial Commission Staff:

Perry Hammock – Lebanon Renè Stanley – Lebanon Valeri Beamer – Muncie Sam Alderfer – Indianapolis Adrienne Smith – Noblesville Jylian Vigar – Peru

###