# OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS MEETING MINUTES Regular Meeting June 23, 2021 Virtual Attendance: MS Teams Physical Attendance: Indiana Government Center South, Room W472

## 2021-06-23-1 CALL TO ORDER

A hybrid virtual/physical meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, April 28, 2021, with four members present at the physical meeting location in compliance with IC 5-14-1.5-3.6(c). The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tammy Glickman, Designee for Lesley Crane, Commissioner, Department of Administration, at 10:04 a.m.

A roll call was conducted to determine members present constituting a quorum: Tammy Glickman (Department of Administration designee), Jerry Bonnet (Designee for Connie Lawson, Secretary of State), Luke Britt (Public Access Counselor), Jim Ehrenberg (Designee for Tracy Barnes, Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology), Chandler Lighty (Executive Director, Indiana Archives and Records Administration), Jacob Speer (Director, Indiana State Library), Scott Uecker (professional journalist, lay member).

**Members present at physical meeting:** Tammy Glickman, Luke Britt, Chandler Lighty, Jake Speer.

**Members absent:** Cynthia Carrasco, Governor's Designee, Tamara Hemmerlein, lay member, Beth Kelley, State Board of Accounts.

**IARA staff in attendance:** Meaghan Fukunaga, Deputy Director/Electronic Records; Claire Horton, Deputy Director/Archives, Kim Hagerty, Director/Digitization & Micrographics Services; Amy Robinson, Records Analyst; Amy Christiansen Janicki, Records Management Liaison.

Guests: Jeff Pitts, Indiana State Police

# 2021-06-23-2

## NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. in Indiana Government Center South, Conference Center Room 12.

## 2021-06-23-3

## **PREVIOUS MEETING**

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to approve the minutes of the last regular meeting of the OCPR held on Wednesday, April 28, 2021 as a virtual meeting. Motion carried.

## 2021-06-23-4

#### **DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from: Claire Horton, Deputy Director/Archives, Meaghan Fukunaga, Deputy Director/Electronic Records, Kim Hagerty/Director of ISML.

Recent attention has been focused on significant personnel changes due to resignation, retirement, and new hires, with a few vacancies remaining to fill.

IARA is on track to meet its budget for FY 2020-2021 despite the state budget constraints outlined in Financial Management Circular 20-2, and Chandler Lighty will speak before the Budget Committee later in the day regarding IARA's potential new building.

2021-06-23-5 NEW BUSINESS

## 1. Appointment of Beth Kelley, State Board of Accounts designee

The Oversight Committee on Public Records is in receipt of a letter from Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts, appointing Beth Kelley as his representative on the committee. The OCPR confirms and will welcome Ms Kelley to her first OCPR meeting on July 28, 2021.

#### 2021-06-23-6

## **RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES (Action needed)**

## 1. Department of Natural Resources/Law Enforcement

Luke Britt requested clarification on whether the retention schedule for Public Safety Agencies also applies to this division. It does not; that schedule covers county and local government offices only. However, the public safety items on the General Retention Schedule for All State Government Agencies do apply to DNR.

A motion was made by Jake Speer, seconded by Luke Britt, to adopt Schedule 1. Motion carried.

## 2. Department of Natural Resources/Outdoor Recreation

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to confirm the requested deactivation of Schedule 2. Motion carried.

## 2021-06-23-7

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business for discussion at this meeting.

## 2021-06-23-8

## ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Jake Speer, to adjourn the meeting at 10:14 a.m.