#### OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS MEETING MINUTES Regular Meeting December 2, 2020 (Virtual meeting)

#### 20-12-2-1 CALL TO ORDER

A virtual meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, December 2, 2020. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tammy Glickman, Designee for Lesley Crane, Commissioner, Department of Administration, at 10:01a.m.

#### A roll call was conducted to determine members present constituting a quorum:

Jerry Bonnet, Designee for Connie Lawson, Secretary of State; Luke Britt, Public Access Counselor; Cynthia Carrasco, Governor's Designee; Jim Ehrenberg, Designee for Tracy Barnes, Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology; Tamara Hemmerlein, lay member; Doug Kowalski, Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts; Chandler Lighty, Executive Director, Indiana Archives and Records Administration; Jay Phelps, County Clerk, Bartholomew County; Jacob Speer, Director, Indiana State Library; Scott Uecker, professional journalist, lay member.

#### Members absent: None

<u>IARA staff in attendance</u>: Marilyn Fernandez, Deputy Director/Records Management; Meaghan Fukunaga, Deputy Director/Electronic Records; Claire Horton, Deputy Director/Archives; Kim Hagerty, Director/Digitization & Micrographic Services; Amy Robinson, Records Management; Amy Christian Janicki, Records Management Liaison.

#### Guests: None

## 20-12-2-2

## NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, January 27, 2020 at 10:00a.m. as a virtual meeting.

## 20-12-2-3

## PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made by Cynthia Carrasco, seconded by Doug Kowalski, to approve the minutes of the Wednesday, October 28, 2020 regular meeting of the OCPR. Motion carried.

## 20-12-2-4

## DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from Claire Horton/Archives, Marilyn Fernande/Records Management, Meaghan Fukunaga/Electronic Records and Kim Hagerty/ISML. The Records Center has added 2 new employees which has resulted in increased productivity. The Archives continues with scheduled patron appointments and has worked hard on accessioning a number of records. Records management continues to support state agencies and county offices in a variety of ways and offering advice on how to conduct virtual county commission meetings. The administrative rule regarding mental health records has gotten past the moratoriums and is making its way through official channels.

## 20-12-2-5 NEW BUSINESS

# 1. OCPR Policy 02-01 Accession Policy of Indiana State Archives/Collection Development Policy

Claire Horton presented an updated revision of the accession policy expanding it to include collection development. This is a typical policy utilized by other archival entities. It is helpful to to clarify authority for accessioning and ownership of collections. Not all records transfer to the Archives and oftentimes the appraisal happens at a later date.

Tammy Glickman recommends not referencing an exact policy number within a policy statement to avoid having to change references in upcoming documents.

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt OCPR Policy 02-01 Accession Policy of Indiana State Archives/Collection Development Policy with the last line to be deleted. Motion carried.

This policy is so revised and will be added to the IARA website for reference.

#### 2. Election of Officers for 2021

The chairman and vice-chairman are the two positions to be voted on annually. An incumbent may hold the office for a maximum of 3 years. The secretary position, by statute, is filled by the director of Indiana Archives and Records Administration.

Doug Kowalski, seconded by Luke Britt, nominated Tammy Glickman to serve as chairman for an additional year (2021). There were no other nominations from the floor. Motion carried unanimously.

Tammy Glickman, seconded by Cynthia Carrasco, nominated Doug Kowalski to serve as vicechairman for an additional year(2021). There were no other nominations from the floor. Motion carried unanimously.

## 20-12-2-6 RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES (Action needed)

# 1. Family and Social Services Administration/Disability & Rehabilitation Services (DDRS)/Child Development

A motion was made by Doug Kowalski, seconded by Cynthia Carrasco, to adopt schedule 1. Motion carried.

#### 2. Department of Workforce Development/Adult Education

A motion was made by Tamara Hemmerlein, seconded by Cynthia Carrasco, to adopt schedule 2. Motion carried.

#### 20-12-2-7 OLD BUSINESS

Meaghan Fukunaga referenced a summary previously presented to OCPR members.

Based on the structure of Illinois administrative code and adhering to standards makers such as ISO and AIIM, the proposed 60 IAC articles *Imaging Standards* and *Management of Electronic Records* give IARA the ability to modernize and update procedures while also providing much needed state of the art guidance to State and County/Local agencies.

To avoid confusion, Tammy Glickman made the suggestion to not reference a specific policy number in a rule. Further, according to rules, the reference should be Indiana State Archives, rather than Indiana Archives.

## 60 IAC A Imaging Standards for Original Records

A motion was made by Jerry Bonnet, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt this rule. Motion carried.

## 60 IAC B Management of Electronic Records

A motion was made by Jay Phelps, seconded by Doug Kowalski, to adopt this rule. Motion carried.

Upon approval, these rules will move through the process for promulgation and implementation.

#### 20-12-2-8 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Doug Kowalski, to adjourn the meeting at 10:30a.m.