OVERSIGHT COMMITT ON PUBLIC RECORDS MEETING MINUTES

Regular meeting on February 19, 2020

20-2-19-1

CALL TO ORDER

A regular meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, February 19, 2020. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tammy Glickman, Designee for Lesley Crane, Commissioner, Department of Administration at 10:00a.m., Conference Room 10, Indiana Government Center, South-First Floor.

Members present constituting a quorum: Jerry Bonnet, Designee for Connie Lawson, Secretary of State; Luke Britt, Public Access Counselor; Jim Ehrenberg, Designee for Paul Baltzell, Chief Information Officer, Office of Technology; Tamara Hemmerlein, lay member; Chandler Lighty, Executive Director, Indiana Archives and Records Administration; Jacob Speer, Director, Indiana State Library; Scott Uecker, professional journalist/lay member.

By call in: Jay Phelps, County Clerk/Bartholomew County

<u>Members absent</u>: Cynthia Carrasco, Governor's Designee; Doug Kowalski, Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts.

Guests: John Connell, INDOT

<u>IARA staff in attendance:</u> Marilyn Fernandez, Deputy Director; Meaghan Fukunaga, Deputy Director, Electronic Records; Kim Hagerty, Director, Digitization & Micrographic Services; Amy Robinson, Records Management; Imelda Gonzales, County Local Records Management

20-2-19-2

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR will be held on Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 10:00a.m., Conference Room 10, Indiana Government Center, First Floor.

20-2-19-3

PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein, to approve the minutes of the January 15, 2020 regular meeting of OCPR. Following a roll call vote, motion carried.

20-2-19-2

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Chandler Light submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from Claire Horton/Archives, Marilyn Fernandez/Records Management, Kim Hagerty/Digitization & Micrographics, Meaghan Fukunaga/Electronic Records and Costin Ritter/Records Center.

Chandler Lighty announced a new hire at the Archives, Meaghan Janeke who replaces Molly Herring. A new position, Records Management Liaison, has been posted in Success Factors. This person will interact with local county offices and offer records management information and support on that level. This position reports to Marilyn Fernandez. The Archives was able to contribute some documents to the recently opened Indiana State Museum opioid exhibit.

20-2-19-5

NEW BUSINESS

1. Review of updated language for OCPR Procedure for Election of Officers

No changes were made to the procedure but an update of the legal reference was deemed necessary to make the procedure current. Tammy Glickman reviewed and made the necessary updates to the statute citation. Election of Officers for 2020 was previously held at the January meeting. A motion was made by Scott Uecker, seconded by Luke Britt, to approve the updated Procedure for the Election of Officers. Following a roll call vote, the motion was approved effective February 19, 2020.

2. Review of Article 1.1 General Provisions Rule 1 Definitions; Collection of Religious Information; Lists

This Article is scheduled for readoption/revision/ repeal by the end of 2020 on the standard seven year review schedule. A copy was distributed for the information of the Committee members today. Chandler Lighty will further research and report back to the Committee for review, discussion and a possible vote at an upcoming date to be advised.

Team 365 –An OCPR Team is being created to allow Committee members to access files and information for future meetings. OCPR members will receive an invite to join Team OCPR. This should be up and running prior to the next scheduled meeting in April.

20-2-19-6

AGENCY REQUESTS-RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES

The Oversight Committee on Public Records took the following actions regarding retention and disposition schedules:

(Schedule was taken out of order to accommodate a guest from DOT)

6. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION/Environmental

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt schedule 6. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

1. FAMILY AND SOCIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION/Early Childhood and Out of School Learning

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Jacob Speer, to adopt schedule 1. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

2. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH/MICROBIOLOGY LAB

A motion was made by Jacob Speer, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein, to adopt schedule 2. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

3. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR/MINES AND MINE SAFETY

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt schedule 3. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

4. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR/QUALITY METRICS AND STATISTICS

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt schedule 4. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

5. STATE LIBRARY/Agencywide Schedule

A motion was made by Scott Uecker, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein, to adopt schedule 5. A roll call vote was taken of the membership present and by call-in by Jay Phelps. Motion carried.

20-2-19-7

OLD BUSINESS

There were no items under Old Business for today's agenda.

20-2-29-8

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Jacob Speer, second by Luke Britt, to adjourn the meeting at 10:16a.m.