OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS MEETING MINUTES

Regular meeting January 15, 2020

20-1-25-1

CALL TO ORDER

A regular meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, January 15, 2020. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tammy Glickman, Designee for Lesley Crane, Commissioner, Department of Administration at 10:08 a.m. Conference Room 10, Indiana Government Center, South-First Floor.

<u>Members present constituting a quorum</u>: Jerry Bonnet, Designee for Connie Lawson, Secretary of State; Luke Britt, Public Access Counselor; Cynthia Carrasco, Governor's Designee; Tamara Hemmerlein, lay member; Doug Kowalski, Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts; Chandler Lighty, Executive Director, Indiana Archives and Records Administration; Jacob Speer, Director, Indiana State Library.

(Due to other commitments, Graig Lubsen has withdrawn his participation on the Oversight Commission on Public Records. Jim Ehrenberg, General Counsel, Office of Technology has been appointed per letter from Robert Paglia, Interim Chief Information Officer/Office of Technology, to fill the Office of Technology position on OCPR.)

<u>Members absent</u>: Jim Ehrenberg, Designee for Robert Paglia, Interim Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology; Jay Phelps, County Clerk/Bartholomew County; Scott Uecker, professional journalist/lay member.

Guests: None

<u>IARA staff in attendance</u>: Marilyn Fernandez, Deputy Director, Meaghan Fukunaga, Deputy Director, Electronic Records; Kim Hagerty, Director/Digitization & Micrographic Services; Amy Robinson, Records Management.

20-1-15-2

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR will be held on Wednesday, February 19, 2020 at 10:00a.m., Conference Room 10, Indiana Government Center, First Floor.

20-1-15-3

PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made by Doug Kowalski, seconded by Luke Britt, to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2019 regular meeting of OCPR. Motion carried.

20-1-15-4

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from Claire Horton/Archives, Marilyn Fernandez/Records Management, Kim Hagerty/Digitization & Micrographics and Meaghan Fukunaga/Electronic Records.

On Statehood Day, December 11, the State Constitutions were installed in the display case in the Statehouse. The constitutions will remain on display until the end of the current legislative session. IARA was proud to recognize employee Joy Sipe on 35 years of service to the State of Indiana. Tomorrow Lt. Governor Crouch will launch a program at the Statehouse commemorating the Indiana's suffrage ratification. Resolutions will be introduced on the floor of the Senate and House as well.

20-1-15-5

NEW BUSINESS

1. Election of Officers

The annual election of officers (Chairman, Vice Chairman) of the Oversight Committee on Public Records for calendar year 2020 was held.

Point of information: the term of each officer (Chairman, Vice Chairman) shall be one (1) year. Officers may be re-elected to subsequent one (1) year terms, for a maximum of three (3) consecutive terms.

The secretary of the OCPR shall be the director of the Indiana Archives and Records Administration.

Doug Kowalski recognized Tammy Glickman's year of exceptional service as Chairman and placed her name in nomination to serve in that capacity for an additional year (2020). Jerry Bonnet seconded the nomination. Motion carried. This is Tammy Glickman's second year of continuous service as Chairman.

Tammy Glickman placed Doug Kowalski's name in nomination to serve as Vice Chairman for an additional year (2020). Luke Britt seconded the nomination. Motion carried. This is Doug Kowalski's third year of continuous service as Vice Chairman.

2. Records Center box pricing

Chandler Lighty displayed a sample records center file box. Through an IDOA contract, Fastenal produces these boxes and sells them to agencies and local governments outside of Marion County for \$2.97 per box. IARA has the opportunity to purchase the boxes at \$2.26 per box. IARA is authorized to sell the boxes to agencies within Marion County for the current rate of \$2.10 per box which does not cover the cost of production and servicing of the box sales.

A motion was made by Luke Britt to allow IARA to charge \$2.50 per box to cover production and servicing of the files boxes. Seconded by Cynthia Carrasco. Motion carried. A suggestion was made to add the box pricing to the IARA price list the next time it comes up for OCPR review. The cost of used file boxes will remain the same pending a later review.

20-1-15-6

AGENCY REQUESTS – RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES

There were no records retention and disposition schedules on the agenda or presented at this meeting

20-1-15-7

OLD BUSINESS

Review of draft for proposed motions OCPR Policy 20-01 and OCPR Policy 20-02

These policies have been previously distributed for review by OCPR. Director Lighty stated these policies will replace OCPR Policy 06-01 and OCPR Policy 12-01. The proposed changes modernize the language of the policies making it easier for agencies to understand and improve compliance. The stated purpose of OCPR Policy 20-01 is to ensure electronic records are retained in a trustworthy, accessible and appropriate manner. The stated purpose of OCPR Policy 20-02 is to establish consistent standards for the creation and maintenance of public electronic records. These standards relate to records retention policies/standards and do not address any technology related issues.

A motion was made to adopt OCPR Policy 20-01 and 20-02 by Cynthia Carrasco, seconded by Doug Kowalski. Motion carried. Policies were adopted effective January 15, 2020.

20-1-15-8

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Cynthia Carrasco, seconded by Doug Kowalski, to adjourn the meeting at 10:27 a.m.