Indiana New Hire Reporting Center

Indiana Code Section 22-4-10-8 and the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of
1996, 42 U.S.C.6534a, require all employers who employ persons within the state of Indiana to report all newly hired or rehired
employees to the state directory within 20 days of the hire or rehire date.

What is new hire reporting?

All employers who employ persons with in the State of Indiana are required to report all newly hired or rehired employees in
Indiana within twenty (20) days of the employee’s first day of work.

What happens if an employer fails to report?

The Indiana Department of Workforce Development can impose a fine of $25 for each failure to timely report an employee. If
the Department finds that an employer and employee conspired to not report or to provide a false or incomplete report, then
the Department can fine the employer $500.

Why is new hire reporting important?

Timely new hire reporting reduces fraudulent unemployment insurance payments and workers’ compensation claims. Timely
reports by employers provide notification to the Indiana Department of Workforce Development that an individual is em-
ployed, allowing the Department to stop any further payments on unemployment claims.

Furthermore, timely new hire reports ensure that Indiana children receive court-ordered financial support. Ultimately, new hire
reporting is an easy, yet vital process designed to help employers have a positive impact on their communities.

How do | report new hires?

There are a variety of simple and easy ways to report new hires and rehires including online reporting, electronic
reporting, mail, or fax. Reporting electronically, however, is the fastest and easiest way to report. Reporting electronically
saves time and money. If you use a payroll or accounting service, you may ask the service to report your new hires for you.
Or, you can easily report them yourself using one of the convenient methods listed below.

Electronic: www.IN-NewHire.com Non-Electronic:

- Interactive Internet reporting « New Hire Reporting Form

Secure file upload (available at www.IN-NewHire.com)

- Electronic File Transfer Protocol (FTP) O G

« W-4 Form (add company name, company address,

« Secure account and password exclusively fo .
ur , password exclusively tof FEIN, employee’s date of hire, and employee’s date

your company

of birth)
« Confirmation receipt
What information do | need to report?
Employer information: Employee information:
- Employer or business name - Employee’s name
- Employer address « Employee’s address
- Employer federal tax identification - Employee’s Social Security Number

number — Federal Employer Identification

- Employee’s date of hire
Number (FEIN)

« Employee’s state of hire (required if reporting
as multi-state Employer)

Timely new hire reporting is critical to the prevention of fraud, waste, and abuse in public services

and to the provision of court-ordered support to children.



http://www.IN-NewHire.com
http://www.IN-NewHire.com

Multistate Employers

Multistate employers have the option of designating one state to which they will report all new hires. Employers who choose
this option must provide written notification to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) of
their intention to do so. Employers may contact the Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) to request a form at
(410) 277-9470 or visit www.acf.hhs.gov to download a form.

Will the information be kept private?

All of the information submitted to the New Hire Reporting Center will be kept private and secure. As allowed by law, the
information may be shared with government agencies to help reduce fraud in areas such as workers’ compensation, unem-
ployment, and welfare benefits.

Claims Resolution Act of 2010

Section 802 of the CRA, effective June 8, 2011, requires employers to provide the date an employee first performed services
for pay to the state New Hire Reporting Center. Employers can input this information using the existing “Employee’s Date of
Hire” field.

Using a Third -Party Vendor

If you use a third-party vendor to report your new hires, please verify that the vendor is reporting accurate information on your
behalf to ensure compliance with Indiana Code Section 22-4-10-8 and section 313 of the Federal Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a.

Feel free to call our office to speak with a customer service representative.

IN-NewHire.com

Indiana New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 3006
Dublin, OH 43016

Phone: 866-879-0198
Fax: 800-408-1388

DEPARTMENT OF

WORKFORCE
DEVELOPMENT

Timely new hire reporting is critical to the prevention of fraud, waste, and abuse in public services

and to the provision of court-ordered support to children.



https://www.in-newhire.com/default
https://www.in.gov/dwd/
http://www.acf.hhs.gov

