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POLICY [REVISED] 

 
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will fully initiate every Child Abuse and/or 
Neglect (CA/N) assessment within the appropriate timeframe as determined by Indiana Law. 
 
Assessments will be fully initiated within the following timeframes:  

1. Within one (1) hour if the allegations would cause a reasonable person to believe that the 
child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm; or  

2. Within 24 hours if the allegations involve abuse but the conditions in item one (1) above 
do not apply; or  

3. Within five (5) days if the allegations involve neglect and none of the conditions in items 
one (1) or two (2 ) above apply. 

 
 Note: See exceptions below.  

 
[REVISED] An assessment will be considered “fully initiated” upon face-to-face contact with the 
alleged victim or contact with another person (other than the alleged perpetrator) who can 
provide information on the allegations and conditions of the child. The Family Case Manager 
(FCM) will notify the parent, guardian, or custodian in person or via phone, of the face to face 
contact with the alleged victim.  Please see policies 4.6 Exigent Circumstances and 4.5 Consent 
to Interview Child for additional information. 

 
 [NEW] The local DCS office will request Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) assistance on all 
reports that require a one (1) hour response time as listed above. See Practice Guidance.  
 
[REVISED] Response times are measured from the conclusion of the call to the Indiana Child 
Abuse and Neglect Hotline. This means for one (1) hour assessments, the FCM must make 
face-to-face contact with the child and make efforts to notify the parents within one (1) hour of 
the conclusion of the call to the Indiana Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline. 
 
[REVISED] Assessments will be fully initiated regardless of the time of day (or night), and 
regardless of weekends or holidays, in order to meet the appropriate timeframes and ensure the 
safety of the child.  In situations where DCS is unable to fully initiate an assessment timely due 
to extreme circumstances (weather, etc.) LEA assistance will be requested to initiate one (1) 
hour assessments on behalf of DCS.  
 
For reports involving alleged domestic violence, DCS will fully initiate the assessment: 

1. If LEA is on the scene and has requested assistance, DCS will respond within one (1) 
hour to the scene;  

2. If the parent, guardian, custodian, or child(ren) calls to report alleged domestic violence, 
DCS will fully initiate the assessment within 24 hours; 

http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.6__Exigent_Circumstances.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.05_Consent_to_Interview_Child.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/4.05_Consent_to_Interview_Child.pdf
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3. If the alleged domestic violence occurred in the past 48 hours (regardless of the 
reporting source), DCS will fully initiate the assessment within 24 hours; or 

4. If the alleged domestic violence occurred in excess of 48 hours prior to the report and 
the child(ren) are not believed to be in physical danger, DCS will fully initiate the 
assessment within five (5) days.   

 
For reports concerning children who voluntarily enter an emergency shelter or a shelter care 
facility without the presence or consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian, DCS must conduct 
an assessment within 48 hours of receiving the report.  DCS must notify the parent, guardian, 
or custodian of the child within 72 hours of the child entering the shelter or a shelter care 
facility.  However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a victim of child abuse 
or neglect, the department may not notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian as to the 
specific shelter or facility the child has entered. 
 

DCS will respond within one (1) hour of receiving a report from a hospital.   
 
[NEW] Note: FCMs should evaluate the case and staff with his/her supervisor to  
determine whether LEA assistance should be requested. 
 
Code References 

1. IC 31-33-8-1:  Investigations by local child protection service; time of initiation 
2. IC 31-33-8-6:  Investigatory duties of local child protection service; purpose 
3. IC 31-36-3-3:  Homeless Children 
4. IC 34-6-2-34.5:  Domestic or family violence 
 

PROCEDURE 

 
[REVISED] The assigned FCM will: 

1. Consider all known information about the CA/N allegations; 
2. Request LEA assistance on all reports that require a one (1) hour response time and 

document LEA’s response in a contact; 
 
[NEW] Note: If LEA agrees to respond within the one (1) hour with DCS, the FCM will 
make contact with the responding officer to advise of the allegations and obtain any 
information LEA may have regarding the child or family before attempting to make initial 
contact with the child or family. 
 

3. Ensure the assessment has been fully initiated by making face-to-face contact with the 
alleged child victim and notifying the parent, guardian or custidan; or 

4. Ensure the assessment has been fully initiated through contact with “another person” 
(other than the alleged perpetrator) who can provide specific information on the 
allegations and the condition of the child. 

 

PRACTICE GUIDANCE 

 
[REVISED] Assessments can be fully initiated within the following timeframes: 
 
Within one (1) hour if the allegations would cause a reasonable person to believe that the child 
is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm. These responses can include but are not limited to 
allegations regarding: 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/008/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/031/articles/033/chapters/008/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/031/articles/036/chapters/003/
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2014/ic/titles/034/articles/006/chapters/002/
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a. Child fatality & Near Fatality,  
b. Shaken infants, 
c. A child who has suffered from serious physical injury to any part of the body due to 

suspected CA/N such as fractures, broken bones, head injuries, extensive and serious 
bruising, or internal injuries,  

d. A child is intentionally burned or scalded, 
e. A child too young or disabled to ensure his or her own safety is actively unsupervised. 

Disabilities include but are not limited to sight or hearing impairments, limited mental 
capabilities or other severe handicapping conditions, 

f. A child who has been abandoned or deserted, 
g. Failure to thrive resulting in immediate need for medical attention, 
h. A child is sexually abused and the alleged perpetrator has access to the child, 
i. A child, parent, guardian or custodian is actively attempting suicide, 
j. Active domestic violence present in home or a child has been injured as a result of 

domestic violence,  
k. The presence of an active methamphetamine lab, or 
l. Specific allegations that a parent, guardian or custodian is actively using illicit drugs or 

abusing prescription medications. 
 

[NEW] Note: FCMs should evaluate the case and staff with his/her supervisor to 

determine whether LEA assistance should be requested or if the contact should be for 
the purpose of notification.  

. 
Twenty-four (24) hours responses can include but are not limited to allegations regarding: 

a. Reported bruising, scratches, welts 
b. Suspected inflicted injury to a child, 
c. Serious injury is threatened, or 
d. A child, parent, guardian or custodian has previously attempted suicide. 

 
Five (5) day responses can include but are not limited to allegations regarding: 

a. Supervision concerns, 
b. Insufficient food, shelter, or clothing, 
c. Unsanitary living conditions, or  
d. Educational Neglect. 

 
[NEW] FCMs will consider any relevant factors or information  regarding the assessment in 
determining if contact with “another person” is the best way to ensure safety of the child.  
 
Example:  David is placed in a residential facility.  He revealed his previous roommate forced 
him to engage in sexual activity approximately 6 months ago. The facility filed a 310 and the 
assessment was assigned.  The assessor contacted the director of the facility and found that 
the alleged perpetrator has not been David’s roommate for over a month. He and David reside 
in separate areas of the facility and have no contact.  Though the FCM has not yet had face-to-
face contact with David, the assessment has been initiated through contact with the facility 
director, who assured David’s safety. A face-to-face interview with David would take place no 
later than the next business day.  
 
[NEW] It is important to make the distinction between fully initiating and response times.  If an 
FCM has responded in the appropriate timeframe, it does not necessarily mean that the 
assessment has been fully initiated.  If an FCM responds, and is unsuccessful in making contact 
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with the alleged victim or with another person who can speak to the condition of the child (other 
than the perpetrator) the assessment has not been fully initiated. 
 
Example:  The Indiana Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline received a report that 4 year-old Mary 
has bruising on her buttocks from a spanking she received from her mother.  The 310 was 
assigned and the FCM made a visit to Mary’s residence within 30 minutes of receiving the 
report.  Mary’s mother answered the door and talked with the FCM; however, she said Mary 
was visiting a relative and would not return until the next morning.  The assessment is not yet 
fully initiated because the FCM has not assured Mary’s safety through face-to-face contact or 
through contact with another person other than the alleged perpetrator. 
 
[NEW] In situations where children have serious injuries (head injuries, broken bones) or 
injuries that are time sensitive (i.e. bruises, burns) it is important to make sure the evidence 
collected is reflective of the seriousness of the injury. 
 
Example:  Five year-old Sara just returned home Friday evening from her court-ordered 
visitation with her father. She had several belt marks on her upper thighs and one belt mark on 
the back of her hand. She also had a partial hand print on the side of her face.  Sara told her 
mother that her father got really angry and whipped her for getting her clothes dirty right before 
they were getting ready to leave.  Sara’s mother called in a report to the Indiana Child Abuse 
and Neglect Hotline and the case was assigned to an on-call FCM about 6 PM.  The FCM 
contacted Mother who said Sara was not scheduled to visit with her father again until the 
following Wednesday.  The FCM made arrangements to see the child at Mother’s home that 
evening.  The FCM could assure the safety of the child through the mother. 
 

FORMS AND TOOLS 

  
N/A 

 

RELATED INFORMATION 

IC 31-36-3-3 Notification to department; investigation of a child; notification to parents 
     Sec. 3. (a) Except as provided in subsection (d), if a child voluntarily enters an emergency 
shelter or a shelter care facility, the shelter or facility shall notify the department, not later than 
twenty-four (24) hours after the child enters the shelter or facility, of the following: 
        (1) The name of the child. 
        (2) The location of the shelter or facility. 
        (3) Whether the child alleges that the child is the subject of abuse or neglect. 
    (b) The department shall conduct an investigation concerning the child not later than forty-
eight (48) hours after receiving notification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility 
under subsection (a). 
    (c) The department shall notify the child's parent, guardian, or custodian that the child is in an 
emergency shelter or a shelter care facility not later than seventy-two (72) hours after the child 
enters the shelter or facility. However, if the department has reason to believe that the child is a 
victim of child abuse or neglect, the department may not notify the child's parent, guardian, or 
custodian as to the specific shelter or facility the child has entered. 
    (d) An emergency shelter or a shelter care facility is not required to notify the department of a 
child who is an emancipated minor. 
 


